Author Topic: Video - dual iso for 5D2  (Read 24730 times)

waza57

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 41
Video - dual iso for 5D2
« on: March 13, 2016, 11:32:10 AM »
@reddeercity

http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=6751.msg163491#msg163491

I make some changes in dual-iso.c and this seems to work for the 5D2 in video mode .

I would like to share it's changes for test.
I don't know exactly how to proceed to respect the forum's rules.

Can I publish here a new module dual_iso.mo or his code?
Thanks

Danne

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6641
Re: Video - dual iso for 5D2
« Reply #1 on: March 13, 2016, 11:34:51 AM »
Nice work! Hope you get some testers trying it out. I don,t own a 5D mark 2 unfortunately.

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7312
Re: Video - dual iso for 5D2
« Reply #2 on: March 13, 2016, 11:44:09 AM »
Proper procedure will take place here:
https://bitbucket.org/hudson/magic-lantern/overview
Create a branch, put your changes there and assign some peers to look over it.
http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=9524.0
Photogs and videographers: Assist in proof reading upcoming in-camera help!. Your input is wanted and needed!

nikfreak

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1171
Re: Video - dual iso for 5D2
« Reply #3 on: March 13, 2016, 11:51:18 AM »
70D is affected, too. So either do like Walter instructed or share the code (not module) here.
70D.112 & 100D.101

waza57

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 41
Re: Video - dual iso for 5D2
« Reply #4 on: March 13, 2016, 12:47:12 PM »
@Walter Schulz
I just tried but I do not see how to create a branch.
So I created a fork. It's Ok?
I make changes in this fork?

@nikfreak
Why would 70D also affected?

nikfreak

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1171
Re: Video - dual iso for 5D2
« Reply #5 on: March 13, 2016, 12:49:54 PM »
cause 70D only has dualiso working for photo mode - like 7D / 50D / 5D2
70D.112 & 100D.101

DeafEyeJedi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3391
  • 5D3 | M1 | 7D | 70D | SL1 | M2 | 50D
Re: Video - dual iso for 5D2
« Reply #6 on: March 13, 2016, 05:40:42 PM »
Dude ... This is HISTORY in the making!!!
5D3.113 | 5D3.123 | EOSM.203 | 7D.203 | 70D.112 | 100D.101 | EOSM2.* | 50D.109

dfort

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3751
Re: Video - dual iso for 5D2
« Reply #7 on: March 13, 2016, 06:45:13 PM »
I just tried but I do not see how to create a branch.
So I created a fork. It's Ok?
I make changes in this fork?

Read dmilligan's excellent Mercurial Tips: http://magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=9524

Basically if you created a fork of the main repository that's step #1.



Now in your bitbucket workspace make sure you're in the unified branch and create a new branch.



When you're done making your changes create a pull request.



You can do this all on the bitbucket website or use the sourcetree app.

Hope this helps. Looking forward to your contribution.
5D3.* 7D.206 700D.115 EOSM.203 EOSM2.103 M50.102

waza57

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 41
Re: Video - dual iso for 5D2
« Reply #8 on: March 13, 2016, 07:23:09 PM »
So...

I made  a repository on bitbucket with a specific branch : https://bitbucket.org/waza57/magic-lantern/branch/dual_iso_video_5d2

My changes in dual_iso.c:
https://bitbucket.org/waza57/magic-lantern/src/7be4cd7f975ef25e98143d10da26712e5ec8ca77/modules/dual_iso/dual_iso.c?at=dual_iso_video_5d2&fileviewer=file-view-default

I think it's not yet perfect because sometimes the Screen freezes.
when it's appear I must to restart and disable dual iso to restart again.
I have to continue to improve this certainly but I would really appreciate if someone could tell me if it's already the right direction.

@ nikfreak

The 5D2 problem is/was that there is/was only one register to store the values iso.
Unfortunately I do not know what is the problem for the 70D. I do not have any.

Regarding the 50d, someone should try to manually compare (with ADTG-gui) the actual values CMOS[0] for the iso photo mode with those of the video mode(for the same iso).
iso 100, 200, 400, 800, 1600.

@dfort
Thanks , I think it's ok.

dfort

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3751
Re: Video - dual iso for 5D2
« Reply #9 on: March 13, 2016, 09:36:16 PM »
@waza57

You might consider uploading your compiled module to the Downloads area of your bitbucket project for users that aren't able to compile Magic Lantern. You could also do a pull request to the main unified branch -- hudson/magic-lantern/branch/unified to get developers' attention.

Like others that have commented on your posts I don't have a 5D2 so you might want to advertise your module on the 5D2 camera specific topic to pick up some testers.
5D3.* 7D.206 700D.115 EOSM.203 EOSM2.103 M50.102

waza57

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 41
Re: Video - dual iso for 5D2
« Reply #10 on: March 13, 2016, 11:32:58 PM »
@dfort
thank you very much, excellent advice.
I was wondering exactly how to do next.
so, I'm going to do all this.


reddeercity

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2221
Re: Video - dual iso for 5D2
« Reply #11 on: March 14, 2016, 12:54:31 AM »
@reddeercity
http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=6751.msg163491#msg163491
I make some changes in dual-iso.c and this seems to work for the 5D2 in video mode .
Thanks
Great stuff , thanks for the PM . Downloaded the module and will report here , as I said in the PM thanks for pushing this thought
and once we get all the bugs worked out if any , then hopefully it will be included in the nightly builds and the rest of the Non video dual iso
camera will be supported finally  :)

jpegmasterjesse

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 100
Re: Video - dual iso for 5D2
« Reply #12 on: March 14, 2016, 01:55:21 AM »
I would love to help test this - but I'm afraid I don't know how to start.  Where can I download the module?

reddeercity

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2221
Re: Video - dual iso for 5D2
« Reply #13 on: March 14, 2016, 05:16:37 AM »
Cool Works , No lockup of freezes yet used magiclantern-Nightly.2016Feb13.5D2212 with the Dual ISO Video module.
1856x928 23.976p + audio ,  ISO 100/800 on Lexar 1066x 64GB CF card Records continuous , at least up to 1:00 from the initial test.
 

reddeercity

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2221
Re: Video - dual iso for 5D2
« Reply #14 on: March 14, 2016, 07:00:37 AM »
Well that impressive ! :D
Just processing the dual iso now , So far MLVFS for Mac seems to the one can process (didn't Try MLP from Danne Yet I downloaded it thou)
Just toggle the dual iso 20bit on with default setting then Loaded the Virtual file folder in to Resolve 12 adjusted the raw base setting and export to prores4444xq.
I didn't notice any excessive  aliasing and moirĂ© pattern in fact I didn't see any at all , but I wasn't really try to produce any .
It's only a 60 second test , but it look killer . So if normally on the 5d2 you get up to 11.92 EV of dynamic range dual ISO at 100/800
(I only tested those number)  adds 2.5-3 stops for a total of up to about 15 stops of usable DR , that's amazing for a 6 year old camera .
I'll post some images in day or two , when I had more time to do a more comparative test .

waza57

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 41
Re: Video - dual iso for 5D2
« Reply #15 on: March 14, 2016, 07:51:42 AM »

DeafEyeJedi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3391
  • 5D3 | M1 | 7D | 70D | SL1 | M2 | 50D
Video - dual iso for 5D2
« Reply #16 on: March 14, 2016, 05:53:52 PM »
I have a friend whom has a 5D2 ... I can test this on it for y'all ... @reddeercity I'd suggest to try @Danne's MLP for Dual ISO footage. Not only it's faster but it seems to spit out results about 1-stop brighter than if used w MLVFS which is closer than original exposure from the shot.

Still trying to investigate and figure out why Dual ISO comes out about 1-stop underexposed.

Try it out and you'll see what I mean.
5D3.113 | 5D3.123 | EOSM.203 | 7D.203 | 70D.112 | 100D.101 | EOSM2.* | 50D.109

DeafEyeJedi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3391
  • 5D3 | M1 | 7D | 70D | SL1 | M2 | 50D
Video - dual iso for 5D2
« Reply #17 on: March 15, 2016, 11:54:16 PM »
According to my friend's 5D2 test footage that I shot in Dual-ISO (100/1600) which shows a lot of green cast (or possible incorrect metadata for Blacklevels and/or more others?) ... Any of you guys getting those as well?

Dual-ISO

Non Dual-ISO

Files were converted with @Danne's MLP and here are the samples files (MLV plus a single DNG from each) from 5D2 below for those that want to play.

DNG's -- https://mega.nz/#F!qgFDVIYY!Qe6XZc8FyVnbM6C4_OtdsA

MLV's -- https://mega.nz/#F!Wo8SDLaR!KD98tGfnzJMHlLy-cllB1A
5D3.113 | 5D3.123 | EOSM.203 | 7D.203 | 70D.112 | 100D.101 | EOSM2.* | 50D.109

reddeercity

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2221
Re: Video - dual iso for 5D2
« Reply #18 on: March 16, 2016, 01:46:36 AM »
Ok here is my Screen shots with dual iso 100/800 from 5d2
First one I used MLVFS Mac ver. basic raw camera setting in resolve add 3+
for exposure , color space BMFilm that it.

ScreenShot Windows7 Resolve12MLVFS_dualISO
by RedDeerCityTV, on Flickr


This one I use BarracudaGUI for cr2hdr dual iso raw post-processing and you can see a green cast , or black level issue , same setting as the first
I like it on windows , it's use 100% of my over clocked 4.9Ghz AMD FX8350 ,
(don't laugh it killer fast like my over clocked  i7 Hackintoss) and process way faster then MLVFS


ScreenShot Windows7 Resolve12_CR2HDR_dualISO
by RedDeerCityTV, on Flickr

Danson Delta-40

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 46
  • GOING POSTAL SINCE 1995 - 7D FTW
Re: Video - dual iso for 5D2
« Reply #19 on: March 16, 2016, 04:23:14 AM »
You guys are amazing. Keep it up. I downloaded it myself, but I only have a 7D. Will it fry my 7d or should I got ahead and test it out anyways?
GOING POSTAL SINCE 1995 BABY

Danne

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6641
Re: Video - dual iso for 5D2
« Reply #20 on: March 16, 2016, 09:07:15 AM »
Tried the files you uploaded deafeyejedi and compared the files that seems to be working with MLVFS but not with cr2hdr. Tested changing the black levels to the same as in mlvfs but it seems more things are off the charts. Might be good to post the testfiles in the dual iso thread and ask if the necessary changes in cr2hdr can be made. That is, if dual iso in 5D mark II is here to stay.

waza57

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 41
Re: Video - dual iso for 5D2
« Reply #21 on: March 16, 2016, 03:13:52 PM »
@DeafEyeJedi


In my case it' works  with :
extracting dng files from Mlrawviewer and doing a cr2hdr-20bit.exe or cr2hdr.exe.

And make exiftool.exe -TAG -Blacklevel=7400 -Whitelevel=64000 (or values around this)on each DNG files.

I don't know  why I must do exiftool yet.

nikfreak

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1171
Re: Video - dual iso for 5D2
« Reply #22 on: March 16, 2016, 04:25:53 PM »
@waza57:

can you please post output values of ADTG CMOS (either written in text or as screenshot) from your 5D2 for ISO100 and ISO200? Examining your code the address doesn't change for all ISO's?
70D.112 & 100D.101

waza57

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 41
Re: Video - dual iso for 5D2
« Reply #23 on: March 16, 2016, 06:36:15 PM »
@nikfreak

movie mode -->  cmos[0] at 0x404b4590

                          iso100 cmos[0]= 0x203 (nrzi=0x3fd)
                          iso200 cmos[0]= 0x207 (nrzi=0x3fa)           ....only cmos[0] values changes , not the address.
                         
photo mode -->                at 0x404b3b5c
                       
                          iso100                 0x203 (nrzi=0x3fd)
                         
                                        at 0x404b3b6a                               Then in photo mode in contrary the cmos[0] address changes to according with different iso !!

                          iso200                  0x207 (nrzi=0x3fa)
 
In dual iso photo mode:
                                        at 0x404b3b5c                                the same address that iso100 in normal photo mode but with the dual value of cmos[0]
                         iso100-1600           0x383 (nrzi=0x2fd)

So, To have dual iso video with 5d2 my idea is to put these different values of "cmos[0] photo-dual iso" in cmos[0] of movie mode always at the same address 0x404b4590.
Ouf......I do not know if this is useful and I'm quite understandable
             

nikfreak

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1171
Re: Video - dual iso for 5D2
« Reply #24 on: March 16, 2016, 07:13:02 PM »
@waza57: thank you very much.
@a1ex: is the output with the method described really dual-iso?
70D.112 & 100D.101