16:9 Standard Definition video please!

Started by drmoreau, January 08, 2014, 06:00:32 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

drmoreau

Being a wedding videographer I still deliver 95% of my weddings in SD (DVD) and it's a pain to work with larger HD files that take up more space and make render times longer. It would be incredibly helpful if I could shoot at 16:9 SD 30fps.

Is this possible? Thanks!

jose_ugs

Yes... of course. It's a pain to get continuous 1080p :)
720p is there and a whole lot of other res' as well...

dmilligan

Quote from: drmoreau on January 08, 2014, 06:00:32 PM
Being a wedding videographer I still deliver 95% of my weddings in SD (DVD) and it's a pain to work with larger HD files that take up more space and make render times longer. It would be incredibly helpful if I could shoot at 16:9 SD 30fps.

Is this possible? Thanks!

I assume you're talking about h.264 not raw? You also neglected to mention what camera.

I don't think there's any way to change the h.264 encoder to support custom resolutions, so you're stuck with the built-in 640x480 for SD. If file size is your concern, why not use 720p (w/ FPS override to 30) and drop the bitrate to the minimum?

Even though you're eventually going down to DVD quality, recording at a higher resolution and only dropping the resolution in the final render can be advantageous, and make a noticable difference in the quality of the DVD with proper sharpening and downsampling in post.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Oversampling

drmoreau

Yes, I love 1080p when it's called for, but smaller file sizes and longer record times as well as footage that is easier to work with in post would be nice.

I hadn't thought about 720p with a forced 30fps, that will probably work. I liked using 720p but the 60fps meant sacrificing low-light which in the wedding business is a no no.

drmoreau