Author Topic: Canon 50D  (Read 398911 times)

oc_masta

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 29
Re: Canon 50D
« Reply #100 on: April 28, 2014, 07:33:28 PM »
Created a short piece for a charity.
This is my 1st attempt at videography, let alone raw video. Any criticism is highly appreciated. I will Vimeo it soon.

Majority shot at 1920x1080 (5x crop mode) Raw, using the kit IS lens.
The first and last shot is at 1584x1058 full sensor (hence the moire/aliasing).
Went straight from Rawanizer into ProRes444 proxy for editing in After Effects.
Finally, exported to .mov (probably a mistake).

Simple but effective workflow, but wish to optimize this in learning more complicated workflows that I keep seeing.


simulacro

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 96
  • Learning
Re: Canon 50D
« Reply #101 on: April 28, 2014, 10:18:41 PM »
Hi y'all,

Some beautiful shots of the river! thanks for sharing
simulacrofilms.blogspot.com

podkan

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Canon 50D
« Reply #102 on: April 29, 2014, 03:58:27 PM »
Guys I've been looking for solving my problem everywhere and can't find answer for my questions.

I've been reinstalling ML about 10 times everything is done right and I still don't get the RAW recording option anywhere in the menu (I've checked it all). Do you know why it is?

Secound thing is when I've got mov file recorded with the cam it on the cam can't play it, is it normal?

johnhenryrupe

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • Pro–am
Re: Canon 50D
« Reply #103 on: April 29, 2014, 05:08:06 PM »
Guys I've been looking for solving my problem everywhere and can't find answer for my questions.

I've been reinstalling ML about 10 times everything is done right and I still don't get the RAW recording option anywhere in the menu (I've checked it all). Do you know why it is?

Secound thing is when I've got mov file recorded with the cam it on the cam can't play it, is it normal?

Hi podkan,
    My guess is you haven't enabled the raw_rec module in the modules menu. In the Magic Lantern menus, the modules are one of the menus toward the right. In there enable all the fun stuff; raw_rec, mlv_rec, etc. Then turn your camera on/off, and RAW options will appear in the magic lantern movie menu.
    Don't know about your second question, haven't tried that yet.
    Good luck!

PS, was just rereading your question. Also make sure you're using one of the nightly builds, not the main Magic Lantern Stable 2.3 (that won't have RAW recording), http://builds.magiclantern.fm/#/

podkan

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Canon 50D
« Reply #104 on: April 29, 2014, 05:21:59 PM »
I know about this thing with modules menu, but i can't see it in my cam, take a look at the screenshot - theres no such thing

http://s10.postimg.org/8rno0wbih/TEST.png

or I'm blind or something



PS.
ok i havent red all your post I think now it gonna work

johnhenryrupe

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • Pro–am
Re: Canon 50D
« Reply #105 on: April 29, 2014, 05:26:26 PM »
I know about this thing with modules menu, but i can't see it in my cam, take a look at the screenshot - theres no such thing

http://s10.postimg.org/8rno0wbih/TEST.png

or I'm blind or something

Are you using a nightly build or the stable 2.3. Check out my edit to my first reply.

http://builds.magiclantern.fm/#/

podkan

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Canon 50D
« Reply #106 on: April 29, 2014, 06:49:29 PM »
Ok, now it works thank you very much :)

I got one more question - is there possibility to play recerded videos on the camera? Any format

johnhenryrupe

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • Pro–am
Re: Canon 50D
« Reply #107 on: April 29, 2014, 06:59:23 PM »
Ok, now it works thank you very much :)

I got one more question - is there possibility to play recerded videos on the camera? Any format

Great! I'm glad it works now. Now you have the whole can of worms that is post processing to deal with! :) Don't worry though it's super fun.

And yes you can play RAW, and MLV clips back in-camera. I forget exactly what modules have to be loaded, I'm pretty sure it's mlv_play, and file_man. You can then play clips from the file manager found in the Magic Lantern menus, or you can play clips by pushing the normal "play/preview" button. Doing that also has some controls for navigating to different clips and playing either in color or black n white.

enjoy!

menoc

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 272
Re: Canon 50D
« Reply #108 on: April 29, 2014, 08:17:20 PM »
Hi podkan,
    My guess is you haven't enabled the raw_rec module in the modules menu. In the Magic Lantern menus, the modules are one of the menus toward the right. In there enable all the fun stuff; raw_rec, mlv_rec, etc. Then turn your camera on/off, and RAW options will appear in the magic lantern movie menu.
    Don't know about your second question, haven't tried that yet.
    Good luck!

PS, was just rereading your question. Also make sure you're using one of the nightly builds, not the main Magic Lantern Stable 2.3 (that won't have RAW recording), http://builds.magiclantern.fm/#/

Actually, don't enable raw_rec and mlv_rec at the same time - one or the other.

simulacro

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 96
  • Learning
Re: Canon 50D
« Reply #109 on: April 29, 2014, 10:22:58 PM »
You can't play h.264 videos on camera, only raw and MLV. This is a photo DSLR firmware modified to record video
simulacrofilms.blogspot.com

arboldeconfianza

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: Canon 50D
« Reply #110 on: May 04, 2014, 06:31:38 PM »
Hello people of the 50d!, Eh learned quite a bit in the forum and I thank you for your contributions!, With a year ago that sold my 650d and bought a 50D and do not regret it at all!, I'm very happy with the desicion, finally I found the last upgrade fix deep black, and when using the DUMP MLV to take them to DNG is not exactly what value to place on the BLACK FIX, which is the value that corresponds to 50D, there are several threads about this but eh not had time to read them exhaustively, I would appreciate your contribution to avoid getting the best performance in the picture and I did not stay magenta!. Greetings from the PATAGONIA ARGENTINA.

PS: sorry for the grammar I'm using google translator.

dogmydog

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 90
Re: Canon 50D
« Reply #111 on: May 05, 2014, 06:21:09 PM »
Is the DR improvement ever being ported to the 50d?
http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=10111.0

Thanks!
Opposite of Sex
www.oppositeofsex.com
Canon 50D, 60D and 7D

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6796
Re: Canon 50D
« Reply #112 on: May 05, 2014, 06:26:43 PM »
Quoting your linked post:
"- Confirmed working on 5D3, 550D, 600D, 650D, 700D, 60D, 6D, 5D2, 50D and 500D."
Photogs and videographers: Assist in proof reading upcoming in-camera help!. Your input is wanted and needed!

dogmydog

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 90
Re: Canon 50D
« Reply #113 on: May 05, 2014, 06:41:20 PM »
Quoting your linked post:
"- Confirmed working on 5D3, 550D, 600D, 650D, 700D, 60D, 6D, 5D2, 50D and 500D."

Oh, sorry, didn't catch that!
Does it work with MLV raw video? How do I enable it? Sorry for the confusion :)
Opposite of Sex
www.oppositeofsex.com
Canon 50D, 60D and 7D

ayshih

  • Contributor
  • Senior
  • *****
  • Posts: 266
Re: Canon 50D
« Reply #114 on: May 06, 2014, 09:19:59 PM »
Does it work with MLV raw video? How do I enable it? Sorry for the confusion :)
The short answer is that it's not ready yet in an easy-to-use fashion, for any camera.  It's possible to "enable" by modifying the ADTG registers, but I would recommend the casual user to wait until something straightforward (and safe) is available.
Canon EOS 50D | 17–40mm f/4L & 70–300mm f/4.5–5.6 DO IS | Lexar 1066x

sync24fps

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Canon 50D
« Reply #115 on: May 08, 2014, 12:59:20 AM »
When I install the latest nightly build of ML, I'm getting extreme magenta/ pink frames when recording in .MLV and processing with MLV Converter or MLV2DNG.  Does anyone else have this issue? 

arboldeconfianza

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: Canon 50D
« Reply #116 on: May 08, 2014, 05:49:17 AM »
SYNC24fps, my solution to this was to use ExifTool and give BLACKLEVEL value = 1800, because with MLVDUMP could not.

LINK link http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=11664.0



drkamikaze

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Canon 50D
« Reply #117 on: May 10, 2014, 09:13:38 AM »
Hi all,

I've been lurking in the forums, and finally got my 50D installed and working. I'm not proficient in computer coding so I can't contribute by helping with the builds, but I did go ahead a document my install and set up process, as I found I had to search a lot far and wide to figure out how to get everything working.

There are two posts, one on installing, and the other on setting up and recording.

http://altcinema.com/2014/05/10/diy-filmmaking-and-the-canon-50d/
http://altcinema.com/2014/05/10/magic-lantern-setup-settings-and-shooting-raw-hd-on-the-50d/

I hope people find it helpful!

Oh, and here is my test footage. I was only able to get up to about 1400 frames in 1920x1080 with the Transcend 64GB 1000x card, which maxed out at 81MB/s, so I am sending it back in favor of the Komputerbay, which I found out after the fact seems to be getting faster results.


drkamikaze

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Canon 50D
« Reply #118 on: May 10, 2014, 09:28:30 AM »
Oh, and if it is helpful, I got this errant frame in my H.264 test recording in the link above. Everything looked fine, except for this one frame flash:

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0BwrHbMZUU5Rqb2Q0MEQ3VnFvZTQ


Jip-Hop

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 86
Re: Canon 50D
« Reply #119 on: May 10, 2014, 04:59:09 PM »
Dear drkamikaze,

I found some conflicting info and I'm not sure which is right.
You've written in your article:

"In the Canon menu, change your record settings under the first red menu with a camera icon to JPEG and turn off raw.  You do this under the “Quality” menu. Also, make sure Exposure Simulation is on, which you can do under the second yellow wrench > Live View function settings > Expo. Simulation. Apparently this helps buffer speeds."

But in the first post of Topic: How to record: -- 30/24/25 fps RAW VIDEO ON 5D3 & others (http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=5451.0) there's written:

Latest findings to prevent frame drops:

You should check that in Canon Menu:
Image Quality = Raw
Auto Lighting Optimizer = OFF
Long exp. noise reduction = OFF
High ISO speed NR = OFF
Highlight tone priority = OFF
Multiple Exposure = Disable
HDR Mode = Disable HDR

So it seems Image Quality should be set to RAW.
I know that post hasn't been updated since september 2013 and it has been written for the RAW_rec module (instead of the MLV_rec) but I suppose those settings still apply. Maybe you can update your article with above settings?

Hi all,

I've been lurking in the forums, and finally got my 50D installed and working. I'm not proficient in computer coding so I can't contribute by helping with the builds, but I did go ahead a document my install and set up process, as I found I had to search a lot far and wide to figure out how to get everything working.

There are two posts, one on installing, and the other on setting up and recording.

http://altcinema.com/2014/05/10/diy-filmmaking-and-the-canon-50d/
http://altcinema.com/2014/05/10/magic-lantern-setup-settings-and-shooting-raw-hd-on-the-50d/

I hope people find it helpful!

Oh, and here is my test footage. I was only able to get up to about 1400 frames in 1920x1080 with the Transcend 64GB 1000x card, which maxed out at 81MB/s, so I am sending it back in favor of the Komputerbay, which I found out after the fact seems to be getting faster results.


Jip-Hop

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 86
Re: Canon 50D
« Reply #120 on: May 10, 2014, 10:11:12 PM »
I've been testing my two 64gb 1000x Komputerbay CF cards today on my 50D with the MLV_rec and RAW_rec module. I'm looking for settings that would allow true continuous recording until the card space is filled up. I was thinking it should be possible with these cards and MLV_rec, but I can't get reliable/consistent results. Recording always stopped after a few minutes. The settings I was using were:

In the canon menu:
Image Quality = Raw
Auto Lighting Optimizer = OFF
Long exp. noise reduction = OFF
High ISO speed NR = OFF
Highlight tone priority = OFF

In the MLV menu:
Resolution: 1568x882
Global Draw: off
Frame Skipping: on
Preview: Hacked No Prev
Status when recording: debug
Extra Hacks: on
Fix black level: off
Show buffer graph: on

I've tried various settings and both cards, but I supposed the settings that I just mentioned would deliver the highest write speeds. Though, I didn't achieve continuous recording. I tried lowering the resolution a bit, but the buffers continued to fill up after a while.

Trying RAW_rec worked much better for me and I was able to fill up the entire 64gb in one shot. Does any of you get continuous recording with MLV_rec on the 50D with Komputerbay cards? I'm wondering if I should return my cards... I'm using magiclantern-Nightly.2014May08.50D109.

handbanana

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 88
Re: Canon 50D
« Reply #121 on: May 11, 2014, 04:22:21 AM »
Has anyone else noticed that the max resolution has dropped from 1584 to 1568 wide? I guess this isn't a huge deal, but what gives?

Also, the latest nightly I downloaded doesn't seem to have mlv_play on it :(

arboldeconfianza

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: Canon 50D
« Reply #122 on: May 11, 2014, 08:28:14 PM »
A mi me paso lo mismo con las NIGTHBUILD, no tenia el MLV PLAY, instale unas NIGTHBUILD de abril y sobreescribi la ultima para poder tener el MLVPLAY!, no se si esto sirva a la larga, pero espero no saquen el MODULE MLV_PLAY, entiendo que todos estos cambios deben tener que ver con la unificacion del codigo.


ImagineFlight

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Always: Imagine Flight
Re: Canon 50D
« Reply #123 on: May 12, 2014, 12:13:30 AM »
Can someone help me understand the shutter speed values displayed on Live View? After upgrading to the most recent nightly build, (after using V2.3 with this RAW build - http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=5586.0) my shutter speed values are now confusing me.

My camera's setting, (based on the top of my camera) is on 1/50, since I shoot 23.976 and the fewer frames offer greater resolution shooting.

BUT in Live View it reads a completely different shutter speed and the Live View picture is whitewashed when shooting outdoors, (even though photographs I take with the same settings are exposed correctly). For example, the camera is set to 1/50, but in live view it will read as 1/92 (or any number it would like to). In fact, even when I adjust my aperture I've found that this number changes. I'm not certain of how my frames are being exposed. I also get confusing readings within the ML menu, like "1/92, 94°." When this value is changed within Magic Lantern, my photo settings change on the top of my camera as well. It also appears to loop around through settings when I rotate my click wheel far enough.

All in all, I would like some help in setting an accurate solid shutter speed for 23.976 fps raw video recording, and an understanding of what these units represent. Do I follow what's on my camera's top display or what ML tells me?

Regards and much thanks, ImagineFlight
Imagine Flight Media House

simulacro

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 96
  • Learning
Re: Canon 50D
« Reply #124 on: May 12, 2014, 12:39:50 AM »
for video, the screen values are the good ones. The ones from the top of the camera, are for pictures (as far as I know)
simulacrofilms.blogspot.com