Author Topic: Canon 7D Mark I  (Read 1023322 times)

white.coop

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Canon 7D
« Reply #950 on: June 23, 2015, 07:43:15 PM »
Hey guys,

Thanks for your great work on magic lantern! I've used it on multiple cameras for a while and it's been really helpful.

Today I installed the latest build (magiclantern-Nightly.2015Jun23.7D203.zip) on my 7D. When auto-restart is on, it restarts the camera even when I stop recording by pressing the button myself (rather than only restarting when the camera stops recording on its own). Is that a known bug?

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8343

feureau

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 604
Re: Canon 7D
« Reply #952 on: June 25, 2015, 03:22:30 AM »
Some assert logs
Code: [Select]
ML ASSERT:
lv
at ../../src/raw.c:1690 (raw_lv_request), task shoot_task
lv:0 mode:2


Magic Lantern version : Nightly.2015Jun20.7D203
Mercurial changeset   : db3ebdf8fd05 (unified) tip
Built on 2015-06-19 22:31:00 UTC by jenkins@magiclantern.fm.
Free Memory  : 238K + 2706K

ML ASSERT:
lv
at ../../src/raw.c:1690 (raw_lv_request), task shoot_task
lv:0 mode:2


Magic Lantern version : Nightly.2015Jun20.7D203
Mercurial changeset   : db3ebdf8fd05 (unified) tip
Built on 2015-06-19 22:31:00 UTC by jenkins@magiclantern.fm.
Free Memory  : 238K + 2706K


ML ASSERT:
lv
at ../../src/raw.c:1690 (raw_lv_request), task shoot_task
lv:0 mode:2


Magic Lantern version : Nightly.2015Jun20.7D203
Mercurial changeset   : db3ebdf8fd05 (unified) tip
Built on 2015-06-19 22:31:00 UTC by jenkins@magiclantern.fm.
Free Memory  : 238K + 2706K


ML ASSERT:
lv
at ../../src/raw.c:1690 (raw_lv_request), task shoot_task
lv:0 mode:3


Magic Lantern version : Nightly.2015Jun20.7D203
Mercurial changeset   : db3ebdf8fd05 (unified) tip
Built on 2015-06-19 22:31:00 UTC by jenkins@magiclantern.fm.
Free Memory  : 267K + 2707K


ML ASSERT:
lv
at ../../src/raw.c:1690 (raw_lv_request), task shoot_task
lv:0 mode:2


Magic Lantern version : Nightly.2015Jun20.7D203
Mercurial changeset   : db3ebdf8fd05 (unified) tip
Built on 2015-06-19 22:31:00 UTC by jenkins@magiclantern.fm.
Free Memory  : 266K + 2711K

feureau

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 604
Re: Canon 7D
« Reply #953 on: June 26, 2015, 05:28:01 PM »
More assert logs:
Code: [Select]
ML ASSERT:
lv
at ../../src/raw.c:1690 (raw_lv_request), task shoot_task
lv:0 mode:2


Magic Lantern version : Nightly.2015Jun20.7D203
Mercurial changeset   : db3ebdf8fd05 (unified) tip
Built on 2015-06-19 22:31:00 UTC by jenkins@magiclantern.fm.
Free Memory  : 239K + 2692K


ML ASSERT:
!DISPLAY_IS_ON
at ../../src/zebra.c:4179 (idle_display_off), task cls_task
lv:0 mode:3


Magic Lantern version : Nightly.2015Jun20.7D203
Mercurial changeset   : db3ebdf8fd05 (unified) tip
Built on 2015-06-19 22:31:00 UTC by jenkins@magiclantern.fm.
Free Memory  : 238K + 2603K


ML ASSERT:
!DISPLAY_IS_ON
at ../../src/zebra.c:4179 (idle_display_off), task cls_task
lv:0 mode:3


Magic Lantern version : Nightly.2015Jun20.7D203
Mercurial changeset   : db3ebdf8fd05 (unified) tip
Built on 2015-06-19 22:31:00 UTC by jenkins@magiclantern.fm.
Free Memory  : 238K + 2706K

Delicate

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Canon 7D
« Reply #954 on: July 03, 2015, 11:40:38 AM »
Hi all,
Issue: Corrupted 7D CROP RAW video

Background:
Canon 7D 203 firmware with ML nightly.2015Jul02.7D203
CF card: Komputerbay Professional 64GB 1066x
Did not use any other modules than raw_rec with RAW video on.

When recording normal raw video everything is ok.
But when recording with raw video in CROP mode, then the video will be corrupted (can already be seen during recording in live view - there is all kind of textured areas jumping around in the view...)

I did try an earlier nightly build with the same problem, so I'm sort of irresolute on what to do next.
Please advice!

Thanks,
Jan

vyskocil

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 53
Re: Canon 7D
« Reply #955 on: July 03, 2015, 12:20:38 PM »
Could you try with mlv_rec as raw_rec is somewhat deprecated and tell us ?

Delicate

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Canon 7D
« Reply #956 on: July 03, 2015, 01:37:16 PM »
I did try with mlv_rec also earlier, which caused the camera to crash during recording ONLY in raw CROP mode (this was with an earlier nightly version)
Now I tried again with the latest nightly in mlv_rec mode, and again it crashed only in raw crop mode (normal size raw worked just fine).

Here are the log files I found on the card:
CRASH00.LOG:
ASSERT: !IS_ERROR( TryPostEvent( this->hTaskClass, this, EV_VD_INTR_LV, NULL, 0 ) )
at LVState.c:485, task ?
lv:1 mode:3

Magic Lantern version : Nightly.2015Jul02.7D203
Mercurial changeset   : bcd2d84120a5 (unified) tip
Built on 2015-07-01 22:30:47 UTC by jenkins@magiclantern.fm.
Free Memory  : 241K + 2640K

CRASH01.LOG
ASSERT: !IS_ERROR( TryPostEvent( this->hTaskClass, this, EV_RESET_PSAVE_LV, NULL, 0 ) )
at LVState.c:608, task ?
lv:0 mode:3

Magic Lantern version : Nightly.2015Jul02.7D203
Mercurial changeset   : bcd2d84120a5 (unified) tip
Built on 2015-07-01 22:30:47 UTC by jenkins@magiclantern.fm.
Free Memory  : 240K + 2724K

So the problem is associated with only CROP mode in both raw_rec and mlv_rec

Delicate

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Canon 7D
« Reply #957 on: July 03, 2015, 02:13:46 PM »
I did new tests with less video resolution on the crop raw video, but the problem did remain.
All my raw crop video tests up to now were made using the ML view on the live view.

BUT!!, when I changed to one of Canon's views in live view (by toggling the INFO button), then I were able to get raw crop video without failure both in raw_rec and mlv_rec mode!
So I can circumvent the problem this way, but I loose a live view with correct display of what area I'm filming.
I think I have a sort of halfway solution to my problem...

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8343
Re: Canon 7D
« Reply #958 on: July 03, 2015, 03:35:25 PM »
Did you have Global Draw turned on? Turn it off.

Delicate

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Canon 7D
« Reply #959 on: July 04, 2015, 09:42:46 AM »
Yes Walter, I did have Global draw on, but when I tested in off position I were able to capture raw crop video. So it seems that this issue has to do with all tree ML live views in raw crop video mode.

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8343
Re: Canon 7D
« Reply #960 on: July 04, 2015, 10:23:44 AM »
"All three ML live views"? Sorry, please explain.

feureau

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 604
Re: Canon 7D
« Reply #961 on: July 04, 2015, 01:58:08 PM »
Is it just me or does 7D ML seems very unstable lately? lots of ERR70

anyway, crash log:
Code: [Select]
ASSERT: GetMemoryAddressOfMemoryChunk( GetFirstMemChunk( pMem1AllocateListItem->hMemSuite ) ) == pMessage->pAddress
at SrmActionMemory.c:1154, task RscMgr
lv:0 mode:3


Magic Lantern version : Nightly.2015Jul02.7D203
Mercurial changeset   : bcd2d84120a5 (unified) tip
Built on 2015-07-01 22:30:47 UTC by jenkins@magiclantern.fm.
Free Memory  : 237K + 2697K

Delicate

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Canon 7D
« Reply #962 on: July 05, 2015, 06:58:35 AM »
Sorry Walter, By "all tree" I mean the "LiveView", the "QuickReview" and the "ON, all modes" in Global Draw.

Another issue, I have experiensed it twice now, that the 7D battery was flat after having my ML CF card in the camera over night, even though the cameras power button was in OFF position? I'm I dreaming or what?

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8343
Re: Canon 7D
« Reply #963 on: July 05, 2015, 12:19:01 PM »
Zip contents of ML\Settings, upload it somewhere and link it here. Will try to reproduce.
I'm used to remove and reinsert battery. Power off setting isn't breaking power line but just telling the cam to shutdown.

Delicate

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Canon 7D
« Reply #964 on: July 08, 2015, 06:49:32 AM »
Hi Walter
Hope these settings was the one you requested.
Regards,
Jan

https://www.dropbox.com/s/t2xhfjnajq923kd/Frojdman_7D_settings.zip?dl=0

Rainmanwalking

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Canon 7D
« Reply #965 on: July 10, 2015, 01:25:42 PM »
ML nightly June 9,2015.  In MLV record in regular mode the movie menu, raw video(mlv) shows the resolution and below it show write speed needed at 23.976fps.  Which is the fps I want to shoot in.  But when I move into crop mode it shows additional resolution setting but only at 29.951fps.  Does that mean in crop mode you can only shoot at 29.951 fps?  I'm sure this is covered elsewhere but couldn't find.  Thanks. 

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8343
Re: Canon 7D
« Reply #966 on: July 10, 2015, 03:52:00 PM »
You have to tweak fps settings.

Rainmanwalking

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Canon 7D
« Reply #967 on: July 10, 2015, 06:44:49 PM »
OK.  I've done that before but you loose sound.  I was hoping to have both.  It's essential that you import video into editor (I use Sony Vegas) at the exact fps setting you choose to override to keep audio and video synced. I learned that the hard way.  :)  Thanks Walter. 

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8343
Re: Canon 7D
« Reply #968 on: July 10, 2015, 07:37:59 PM »
Just recorded in crop mode with 23.974 fps and sound.

ChameleonNinja

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Canon 7D
« Reply #969 on: July 11, 2015, 12:33:13 AM »
So, quick backstory, i recently bought a Komputerbay 1066x 64GB

testing on MAC i got 149mbs read max, and 122mbs write max
Blackmagic on MAC 133 read max, and 121mbs write max
Testing today from a Windows Surface 3 CrystalDisk -- 149mbs read, 129mbs write

i was thinking of returning this card as it is still not quite 155 / 160 or consistently 140 write and my Magic Lantern benchmarks were poor

:64.8mb/s in movie mode, 54mbs read
74mb/s in photo and playback write
best results 86


today i installed the new july build and did a few restarts and in playback i got a massive result across the board:


But movie mode was still lacking...


I understand the limitations of the Canon 7D but want to maximise my speeds and have seen results nearing the 90mbs write
currently i am hitting around 78/79 maybe 81mb/s but it skips a frame and freezes up trying to write the data, sometimes its able to stop after a skipped frame write the 5/10 seconds and move on but others it will freeze the entire system.

So
1. should i return the card - the chipset is the old AB so could get an AC and i am still only getting 120mb/s write?
2. is this freezing normal what can i do to prevent it?

Thanks everyone great work so far very impressed.

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8343
Re: Canon 7D
« Reply #970 on: July 11, 2015, 04:19:34 AM »
IMO: Card absolutely ok and within expected performance range. 
Freezing needs to be explored, though.

Sapporo

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 94
Re: Canon 7D
« Reply #971 on: July 11, 2015, 01:29:45 PM »
Sounds great if the latest version works in crop mode and 24 fps/s.

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8343
Re: Canon 7D
« Reply #972 on: July 11, 2015, 04:48:05 PM »
Just tested 24 fps and this works as well.

dmk

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 132
Re: Canon 7D
« Reply #973 on: July 27, 2015, 12:55:08 PM »
Two questions here...

1) If I haven't upgraded in several months, but last time I shot it was great- should I wipe it clean and re-install before my shoot tomorrow, or just use the older version since it worked fine?

2) if I don't touch any fps override, then it's 23.976 fps right (assuming 24fps is selected in canon menu)? Should I rather use fps override and set it to 24?

ansius

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 177
Re: Canon 7D
« Reply #974 on: July 27, 2015, 10:12:26 PM »
I've tested recent relise, and it is fine. Haven't had a power down / cf eject / freeze in couple recent releases, tough I never could really pinpoint he cause, previously it froze up if I ejected card on switched off camera and putt an other one, had to eject battery as well. not always, could not understand why, but it happened once in a while. for last 2-3 releases, have never had this bug.

but yes, I've tested it, seams stable.

if you select the 24 in canon menu, then it is indeed 23.976, if you have no particular reason you should not touch the fps override.
Canon EOS 7D & 40D, EF-S 17-85mm IS USM, EF 28-300mm IS USM, Mir-20, Mir-1, Helios 44-5, Zenitar ME1, Industar 50-2, Industar 61L/Z-MC, Jupiter 37A, TAIR-3
http://www.ansius.lv http://ansius.500px.com