Author Topic: 5D mkII and KomputerBay 128gig CF cards 1000x and 1050X  (Read 45823 times)

PressureFM

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 171
Re: 5D mkII and KomputerBay 128gig CF cards 1000x and 1050X
« Reply #50 on: September 02, 2013, 11:23:44 AM »

But at that point the 5d would have been recording for more than 10-20 minutes already.
This would be beyond what it was originally made to do and in my tests the camera would already begin to heat up and smell funny!


Not to be entirely pedantic but out of the box the 5D Mark II can record 29 minutes and 59 seconds (limited for tax reasons within the EU).

Of course, only in the old crummy H.264 codec.

dlrpgmsvc

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 398
  • The 7D and 50D Robin Hood
Re: 5D mkII and KomputerBay 128gig CF cards 1000x and 1050X
« Reply #51 on: September 02, 2013, 03:09:00 PM »
Hi folks !

It will be useful if you can share all of your testings about raw video recordings data and card speeds here: http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=8000.msg72051#msg72051

Select the first links about the testings ! Many thanks !  ;)
If you think it's impossible, you have lost beforehand

ted ramasola

  • Moderators
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1251
Re: 5D mkII and KomputerBay 128gig CF cards 1000x and 1050X
« Reply #52 on: September 07, 2013, 08:15:50 PM »
Not to be entirely pedantic but out of the box the 5D Mark II can record 29 minutes and 59 seconds (limited for tax reasons within the EU).

Of course, only in the old crummy H.264 codec.

I'm sorry your information is wrong.

The 5D mkII only records h264 continuously for  11:57 (roughly 12min) which is 3.98 gig ( roughly 4gig) which is the limitation due to fat32.

I just confirmed this again to get the precise size and time not the rounded off figures.
5DmkII  / 7D
www.ramasolaproductions.com
Texas

PressureFM

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 171
Re: 5D mkII and KomputerBay 128gig CF cards 1000x and 1050X
« Reply #53 on: September 08, 2013, 11:57:30 AM »
I'm sorry your information is wrong.

The 5D mkII only records h264 continuously for  11:57 (roughly 12min) which is 3.98 gig ( roughly 4gig) which is the limitation due to fat32.

I just confirmed this again to get the precise size and time not the rounded off figures.

Yeah, that's just not right. Put on the lens cap or point it at a white wall.

It will record for 29 minutes and 59 seconds. It's useless footage but it will record for that long.

ted ramasola

  • Moderators
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1251
Re: 5D mkII and KomputerBay 128gig CF cards 1000x and 1050X
« Reply #54 on: September 08, 2013, 02:46:10 PM »
Yeah, that's just not right. Put on the lens cap or point it at a white wall.

It will record for 29 minutes and 59 seconds. It's useless footage but it will record for that long.

It will record up to around 24 minutes if you only record in standard def 640 x 480. But at HD 1920 x 1080 only up to 4gig limit around 12 min.

That's what always happen when i record long interviews.

Also what happened when I confirmed it again yesterday.

That's what my camera manual says.

That's what DPreview states in their camera review. http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/canoneos5dmarkii/2

Your 5D mkII must be special to record full HD for 29 minutes. :)

5DmkII  / 7D
www.ramasolaproductions.com
Texas

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12564
Re: 5D mkII and KomputerBay 128gig CF cards 1000x and 1050X
« Reply #55 on: September 08, 2013, 02:54:51 PM »
PressureFM is right, my past bitrate research confirms it. ML time remaining indicator tells you exactly when it happens (QScale -16 => it turns red) and how much it can record (though last time I've tried was 1 or 2 years ago). Yes, this happens at default bitrate too.

Of course, in most practical cases, it will stop around 12 minutes.

11:57 is only valid for that particular test scene.

matteomaggioni

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: 5D mkII and KomputerBay 128gig CF cards 1000x and 1050X
« Reply #56 on: December 09, 2013, 07:42:17 PM »
Hi Ted,

I'm in touch with KB support, and they say o me you're testing some 128GB 1000x cards like mine. I made some tests on my side with some tools to seek some differences between my 3x128GB CF to understand what's different with the 1050x and I have found this :

(A copy from my mail to KB tech support) :

Hello,

I've made some tests with the 3x128GB cards I have and I found this with "Active@ Partition Manager" in partition table :

The Master Bootstrap (MBS) is different with the 1050x :
 
  600x : MBS : 000000000000000000000 etc etc - enable ML
1000x : MBS : 000000000000000000000  etc etc - enable ML
1050x : MBS : 33C08ED0BC007C8EC08ED etc etc - DO NOT enable ML

From what I've find on google, the MBS enable the UDMA controller but I'm definitively not a specialist.
 
If it could help... maybe something to change MBS directly from windows / OSX

Best regards, JDG

Cheers  :)

I have a brand new 1050x 128gb Komputerbay CF and the MBS is  000000000000000000000  etc etc but still not loading ML.
Probably KB has updated these cards...but still I can't load ML.

jamessuperior

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: 5D mkII and KomputerBay 128gig CF cards 1000x and 1050X
« Reply #57 on: December 23, 2013, 12:46:05 AM »
I'm new here, but i'll try to be as helpful as i can, and contribute with what i can!

I've got a komputerbay 1000x 128 Gb yesterday and can't get it to work.
Tested it on:
5d Mark II with firmware 2.1.2
ML 2.3 (tried nightly build and newest day)
Did a clean install and copied working ML files from an 8 GB Sandisk card.

MBS for the KB card is 000000000000000000000

The card is bought on amazon.de and the camera is from simplyelectronics, so somewhat Asian.
--

Any other details you guys need i'll provide it to you right away! :)

All the best and good work from you guys so far!
/Jonas

Ryan

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: 5D mkII and KomputerBay 128gig CF cards 1000x and 1050X
« Reply #58 on: December 31, 2013, 12:31:44 PM »
Looks like the 64GB version is also being replaced by a 1050x version. So is it likely that that card wont work either?

66dellwood

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 54
Re: 5D mkII and KomputerBay 128gig CF cards 1000x and 1050X
« Reply #59 on: December 11, 2015, 07:16:21 PM »
Apologies for reviving such an old thread.  I am finally looking to use ML on a 5D2 and am looking for advice on suitable CF cards.  If anyone has recent experience or suggestions, would much appreciate.

thanks,
Jim