Author Topic: Canon EOS M  (Read 994595 times)

2blackbar

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 390
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #4125 on: May 17, 2020, 10:18:29 PM »
I was hoping id be able to add to hortizontal res some pixels from 1104x1870 to like 1200 and crop sides to get 4:3  1167x1970 maybe.
Thats just using calculator and dividing horizontal res by 3
https://calculateaspectratio.com/

Danne

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6617
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #4126 on: May 17, 2020, 11:21:09 PM »
1167x1970 isn´t 4:3?

Here´s 24 fps at 960x2156. Tweaked from within crop rec. Starting out with ratios OFF. Could become a preset. Renew regs by pushing menu bottom after tweaking regs:






2blackbar

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 390
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #4127 on: May 18, 2020, 03:06:20 AM »
Ah, yeah i see its working , but for me its hard to tweak cause when i change values lets say from -1100 to -600 then i get black screen and have to restart and manually change all values again and again.
Would that work with fps override to 23.976 like other ratio modes ?

Im tryint to test whats highes tvertical i can get

I have 1008x2256 with  reg713 at -1000 , 10 bit
Higher ones from -900 freeze my screen on one frame, where should i make it work again ? I tried CMOS 7
Can we get similar results by just skipping top and bottom from full 3256 ? then adjust horizotal res to get 4:3 , and then fix framerate? I tried but got black screen, had to pull battery, i get that when i change regs to fix fps.

Danne

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6617
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #4128 on: May 18, 2020, 05:35:44 AM »
What I showed you is probably the best we could get.

2blackbar

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 390
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #4129 on: May 18, 2020, 11:08:57 AM »
yeah, but with my cctv lens CMOS5 at 60 is better than 20 because of less vignetting, almost no at all, ideally i would move the entire frame 100 pixels up from CMOS5 -20 and not use 60 if its conflicting but i cant seem to find the right spot, i tried cmos5 and 7 and i cant move entire framing higher, only lower.

Danne

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6617
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #4130 on: May 18, 2020, 11:28:32 AM »
Yes, if you get anything working I could take a look. Maybe throw it in as a hidden preset or whatnot.

2blackbar

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 390
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #4131 on: May 18, 2020, 12:41:38 PM »
OK got it working perfect with ideal framing, Your values untouched but i changed CMOS7 to value 5 instead of 8, so frame goes a bit up, but would that work with fps override like other ratio modes ?

Danne

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6617
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #4132 on: May 18, 2020, 12:47:28 PM »
You tell me. You have all the regs and tools to test out.

2blackbar

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 390
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #4133 on: May 18, 2020, 01:26:23 PM »
It doesnt work now, maybe cause it was adjusted for values of ratios that are already there.
And lining up fps and CMOS7 changed to 5 doesnt work like with 8, theres part of the image on top thats misalligned, adjusting 2778 to lower values is decreasing fps, higher ones show black screen requiring reset.

Danne

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6617
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #4134 on: May 18, 2020, 02:50:11 PM »
Well, what I showed before worked for 24fps:
https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=9741.msg227252#msg227252

More height or increasing fps will probably break things.

2blackbar

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 390
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #4135 on: May 18, 2020, 05:30:59 PM »
Yes i agree , to center framing i wanted to get it to work with 5 instead of 8 on cmos7 but no success, i mean it works but not with 24fps

ctfire

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 41
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #4136 on: May 19, 2020, 12:55:00 PM »
hello everyone is it some settings to reduse moire in 1080 rewired mode? Or maybe reduce it in post or when converting from mlv to dng ?

masc

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1593
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #4137 on: May 19, 2020, 03:42:29 PM »
hello everyone is it some settings to reduse moire in 1080 rewired mode? Or maybe reduce it in post or when converting from mlv to dng ?
Yes. Record with open aperture and do not use the sharpest lenses. In MLVApp you can filter color moiree (not for RAW export), but luma moiree will still be there.
5D2.212 | EOSM.202

ctfire

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 41
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #4138 on: May 19, 2020, 05:05:07 PM »
Yes. Record with open aperture and do not use the sharpest lenses. In MLVApp you can filter color moiree (not for RAW export), but luma moiree will still be there.


Don't find an option in MLVapp to reduce color moire, could you please make a screenshot where is it? Thanks

masc

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1593
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #4139 on: May 19, 2020, 06:36:17 PM »
Don't find an option in MLVapp to reduce color moire, could you please make a screenshot where is it? Thanks
This feature does the magic: https://github.com/ilia3101/MLV-App/wiki#ca-desaturate--radius
It was thought to reduce CAs, but it works nicely for color moiree as well.
Before:

After:

Before:

After:
5D2.212 | EOSM.202

ctfire

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 41
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #4140 on: May 19, 2020, 07:14:17 PM »
This feature does the magic: https://github.com/ilia3101/MLV-App/wiki#ca-desaturate--radius
It was thought to reduce CAs, but it works nicely for color moiree as well.
Before:

After:

Before:

After:

THANK YOU!



ЕРФТЛ НЩГ

joeyvfx

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #4141 on: May 21, 2020, 02:59:38 AM »
That CA reduction feature is super handy. Personally, i'm trying to get used to shooting with wider lenses in 3x crop mode, just so I don't have to deal with aliasing at all, but that has it's limits too.

Question, kinda off topic - would it be possible to someday fix focus peaking on external monitors? To my knowledge it hasn't displayed properly in any ML build for the EOS M, regardless of how the hdmi settings are changed. It works beautifully on my T2i, but on the EOS M everything gets shifted around and flickers in weird ways.

Here's an example of how it glitches out, this is on my FeelWorld S55: https://i.imgur.com/BkNZgI7.jpg

Mythic Cinema

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #4142 on: May 21, 2020, 06:04:18 PM »
@Danne - Do you think I can donate a little money for you to enable 10-Bit+ and Framerate Override for .H264 on EOS M and M2, whenever you have time? Thank you.
EOS M 2.0.2 (Blue) | EOS M 2.0.2 (Blue) | EOS M2 1.0.3 (Blue) | EOS M2 1.0.3 (Blue) | EOS M2 1.0.3 (Blue)

Danne

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6617
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #4143 on: May 21, 2020, 06:15:29 PM »
Not interested. If possible it would already have been done.

Mythic Cinema

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #4144 on: May 21, 2020, 08:54:16 PM »
Not interested. If possible it would already have been done.
Oh, alright. I assummed it wasn't done because nobody cared for h264 but one of the uses I have for these is to record 8 hours straight. Not really practical at all with RAW for 1TB SD card costs and file sizes. Thanks for the response.
EOS M 2.0.2 (Blue) | EOS M 2.0.2 (Blue) | EOS M2 1.0.3 (Blue) | EOS M2 1.0.3 (Blue) | EOS M2 1.0.3 (Blue)

Danne

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6617
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #4145 on: May 21, 2020, 08:58:14 PM »
You can set fps override to 34 fps for h.264, seems max.
You could also enable 46 fps 2.39:1 with hfs mode and then turn off raw video. You will get a nice h.264 file but needs stretching in post. Whn doing this see to it that canon menu is set to 50 or 60fps. In this mode I think you can even do fps override to 50fps.

Mythic Cinema

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #4146 on: May 21, 2020, 10:53:14 PM »
You can set fps override to 34 fps for h.264, seems max.
You could also enable 46 fps 2.39:1 with hfs mode and then turn off raw video. You will get a nice h.264 file but needs stretching in post. Whn doing this see to it that canon menu is set to 50 or 60fps. In this mode I think you can even do fps override to 50fps.
I only tried on the M2 since my M doesn't arrive until tomorrow... FPS override didn't work at all on M2 with H264. I dont think aspect ratio settings work either. I was just wanting true 24p instead of 23.976 to match my main cameras. I'll mess around with the M tomorrow to see if anything works.
EOS M 2.0.2 (Blue) | EOS M 2.0.2 (Blue) | EOS M2 1.0.3 (Blue) | EOS M2 1.0.3 (Blue) | EOS M2 1.0.3 (Blue)

Danne

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6617
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #4147 on: May 21, 2020, 11:08:02 PM »
Practically nothing works for the eosm2. Default raw buffer, no raw_slurp due to freezes.
Most stuff works with eosm.

Mythic Cinema

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #4148 on: May 21, 2020, 11:10:57 PM »
Practically nothing works for the eosm2. Default raw buffer, no raw_slurp due to freezes.
Most stuff works with eosm.
lol... well, you can at least get it to do raw mv1080 and true 24fps stable continuous. With the merged build at least.
EOS M 2.0.2 (Blue) | EOS M 2.0.2 (Blue) | EOS M2 1.0.3 (Blue) | EOS M2 1.0.3 (Blue) | EOS M2 1.0.3 (Blue)

Danne

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6617
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #4149 on: May 21, 2020, 11:15:40 PM »
lol... well, you can at least get it to do raw mv1080 and true 24fps stable continuous. With the merged build at least.
I know, It´s mainly my branch in there. Well, dfort and of course a1ex started it out and layed out the ground work. mv1080p is working because delimed to default raw buffer. True 24fps, what does it even mean. Anyway. You can tweak and modify anything on the eosm.