Author Topic: Canon EOS M  (Read 1095373 times)

AF-OFF

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 109
  • 50Dc EOSM
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #2300 on: February 21, 2019, 08:42:47 PM »
Thank Danne, will do tomorrow. Will start with clean prefs and activate modules then the script as You have mentioned.

Again thanks much for Your effort


AF-OFF

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 109
  • 50Dc EOSM
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #2301 on: February 22, 2019, 02:41:02 PM »
Danne's 21. Feb build
tested
mv1080p 1736x1158 14bit lossless (pic 3)
2.5k 10bit 16:9 & 2.35:1
5k 10bit

no corrupted frames

after changing modes in 5k or 2.5k, somehow the first recording stops immediately the next is continuous, BUT not always

leaving ML menu via touchscreen and enter-leave canon menu, breaks LV in 2.5k and 5k modes (images 4 & 5) have to enter-leave ML menu to fix it 
Found that leaving ML menu by pressing Menu button, doesn't break it and changes seems to be done, recording is ok.

please look at screenshots below

what I did also understand now, when recording 14bit lossless, focus pixels can be removed in MLV App with the "Fix Focus Dots" set to on. No need for 3x3 chroma smoothing. This seems to be only good for 10-12 bit recordings.













Thanks to Danne and Others

Danne

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6933
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #2302 on: February 22, 2019, 07:57:03 PM »
Check dfort's work and status around focus pixels.
As I see it changing modes has it's quirks. Restart if needed. Plenty registers needs changes and refreshing etc will often include pushing menu buttons.
On a sidenote. Got 1736x1158 flying in rewire mode. Will include it when I have the energy...

masc

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1691
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #2303 on: February 22, 2019, 08:22:25 PM »
what I did also understand now, when recording 14bit lossless, focus pixels can be removed in MLV App with the "Fix Focus Dots" set to on. No need for 3x3 chroma smoothing. This seems to be only good for 10-12 bit recordings.
After we got focus pixel maps for the new presets, there is no need for chroma smoothing. Until this, it will be the only simple way to remove them.
5D3.113 | EOSM.202

Danne

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6933
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #2304 on: February 22, 2019, 09:41:59 PM »
New build:
https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=9741.msg208959#msg208959

- mv1080p MCM rewire now includes 1736x1158(3:2) this is default mode. Set ratio to 2.35:1 or 16:9 from Crop mode sub menu.

rev787

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #2305 on: February 23, 2019, 02:27:48 PM »
Greetings. New to video and magic lantern. Thanks for Danne and the team's work on EOS M. Received EOS M today and tried shooting something with Feb22 build using dual iso. I observe tint(?) difference between each frame when using mlvapp. I wonder if this is the same issue mentioned several pages ago about flickering or it's mlvapp processing. I probably should not use dual iso for this kind of scene anyway.
Shortened mlv. https://mega.nz/#!Isw1jIDQ!Ex8lj42WVGB_r9ISw5QzMhZXozQupoYSXuQGI9YID4Q
Another dumb question, how do I take picture with Danne's build? Disable the scripts?

Jonit

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 39
  • EOS M | 700D
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #2306 on: February 23, 2019, 04:36:13 PM »
Testing the Feb23 build. This thing is getting better and better Danne. Thanks a lot for your work on this.
There is a one thing/bug I have noticed - when you go over 1/4500s during recording, the screen starts to flicker. Just to note that...

EDIT: I forgot to mention that it was in 1080p MCM mode

Jonit

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 39
  • EOS M | 700D
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #2307 on: February 23, 2019, 05:05:10 PM »
Are those a focus pixels?

I was just looking on one clip I just filmed (1/45s, f5.6, ISO100) where a portion of a frame had blown-up highlights. In MLVApp I lowered the exposure to -4EV and then I checked "Highlight reconstruction". These focus pixels (or what are they) showed up in those blown highlights.
So I thought that that may be an easy way to map them all out if they show up this nicely over blown up highlights with reconstruction turned ON.
I tried to reproduce it by using the same settings and aiming at diffused strong white light. I didn't manage to make them appear again. But then I cranked the ISO to 3200 and they showed up (probably wasn't that over-blown with ISO100).



Jonit

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 39
  • EOS M | 700D
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #2308 on: February 23, 2019, 05:14:54 PM »
Here Is the first example where I noticed it.
So in that map I posted, the middle focus pixels (bars) are missing.



dfort

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3751
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #2309 on: February 23, 2019, 09:14:35 PM »
@Jonit - You are mapping out these focus pixels in MLV App? How? If this is from one of Danne's new crop_rec resolutions the code hasn't been written for it yet.

I'd like to take a look at your example to see if the map files I'm preparing will work with that image. Please upload a shortened version of your MLV file and post a link to it. Thanks!

what I did also understand now, when recording 14bit lossless, focus pixels can be removed in MLV App with the "Fix Focus Dots" set to on. No need for 3x3 chroma smoothing. This seems to be only good for 10-12 bit recordings.

Same comment as above -- if this is one of Danne's new crop_rec settings I'd like to check it out.
5D3.* 7D.206 700D.115 EOSM.203 EOSM2.103 M50.102

Jonit

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 39
  • EOS M | 700D
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #2310 on: February 23, 2019, 11:56:35 PM »
@dfort
Here is how to map this pattern:
-results are from Dannes latest build (Feb23), using "mv 1080p MCM rewire" preset
-yes, I'm using MLVApp 1.5. Just lower the exposure to -4EV and enable "Highlight reconstruction" checkbox
-it works only in 10bit (maybe 12bit also - I haven't checked that)

Here are the short example MLVs: https://mega.nz/#!DB9nTIwS!bPMcXWlVzdO8n8ciaoETrjkeQBcVyXYUVtEfdnbWOa4

@Danne
-this may be maybe of interest to you. I found out that when the aspect ratio in Crop mode sub menu is set to OFF (which means that it is in 3:2 aspect ratio), then there is an empty portion on the bottom of the image which don't contain these focus pixels.








optical-work

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #2311 on: February 24, 2019, 12:47:53 AM »
Received EOS M today and tried shooting something with Feb22 build using dual iso. I observe tint(?) difference between each frame when using mlvapp.

i'm not certain but 14bit lossless and 12-14 uncompressed flicker less than other options, if any. so mv1080 14bit lossless might be the best choice for continuous dual iso. (mcm mode looked same to me, i didn't try much though.)

dfort

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3751
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #2312 on: February 24, 2019, 01:55:12 AM »
@Jonit - I'd recommend skimming through the Dealing with Focus Pixels in raw video topic. Yes, there will be areas where there are no focus pixels, some settings they seem to disappear only to come back with a vengeance on your next shot. Two of the three samples you uploaded aren't working with my latest focus pixel map files so I've got some more work to do on this. Once we get all of these new settings mapped out it will be time to figure out how to code these patterns so they can be integrated in the various MLV processing apps. After that, it will just be a matter of keeping the "Fix Focus Dots" option enabled and you'll never have to worry about focus pixels again -- well that's the goal.
5D3.* 7D.206 700D.115 EOSM.203 EOSM2.103 M50.102

masc

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1691
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #2313 on: February 24, 2019, 10:48:04 AM »
@Jonit: funny, that really works - overexposing by far, and then EV=-4, Highlight Reconstruction = on. You can see the focus pixels.
@Jonit: this does only work, when leaving Focus Pixel Fix enabled. When switching it Off, those pink dots are away.

@dfort: I also recorded some frames, one clip overexposed (@10bit), another with normal exposure (@14bit) using Danne's rewire preset @ 1736x1158. I uploaded the clips with an receipt, so you can see them good in MLVApp. Does this help? It seems there are different types of focus pixels - some are very good to see (white, center), others not so good to see (dark grey, everywhere). The dark ones are good visible in the overexposed clip, processed like Jonit did.


https://www.dropbox.com/s/beswhuzkoin7axr/FocusPixelEosM_Rewire.zip?dl=0
5D3.113 | EOSM.202

alpicat

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 57
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #2314 on: February 24, 2019, 01:39:42 PM »
@masc just to check, when you're exporting the video (or png file) from MLVapp, are you disabling "Fix focus dots"? If you leave that setting on, as it is by default, I find that additional focus pixels which are really difficult to see show up, and they're not there if turned the setting is turned off. However I did not test this extensively at all and haven't tried with the very latest version of the MCM rewire preset, so don't know if that's still happening.

In any case, in order to get an accurate understanding of where the focus pixels are, I guess it's best to turn off the fix focus dots setting and any other fixes such as chroma smoothing that might intefere with the results in MLVapp?



masc

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1691
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #2315 on: February 24, 2019, 02:07:58 PM »
@alpicat: thanks... I must have been drunken. :D The focus pixel option was still enabled - this brought "the wrong focus pixels" into the frames instead of killing them. Corrected my post, my upload and the picture. Only the white dots are visible now.

@Danne, bouncyball and dfort: will it be possible to recognize if we have a standard mv1080p MLV or an mv1080p-rewire MLV? These two formats look identical but need different focus pixels maps.
5D3.113 | EOSM.202

alpicat

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 57
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #2316 on: February 24, 2019, 02:54:41 PM »
@masc brilliant, glad to hear it worked. I thought I was going crazy when I was seeing those extra focus pixels - it didn't make any sense!
To make the focus pixels really show up, I load the png exported from mlvapp into photoshop and adjust saturation and several other settings, and then they become really distinct.

Danne

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6933
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #2317 on: February 24, 2019, 07:34:13 PM »
New build:
https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=9741.msg208959#msg208959

- Advised to download this version and replace with whatever you use now
- Fix for extreme moiré when recording with mcm rewired preset(forgetting canon menu button for instance)

So no need for menu pushes for the rewired mode. Major finding from Levas:
https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=16516.msg212472#msg212472

masc

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1691
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #2318 on: February 24, 2019, 07:51:50 PM »
Findings:
- as long as I use MCM rewire normal -> great! :)
- after switching camera on, it looks like I am in a zoom mode, but I am not (I haven't chosen). Resolution is 1800x1012. 2x canon menu button, all is fine.
- if I use it with x3 option -> need again canon menu enter/leave; resolution is 1624x914, not 1736x976.
- going back to non x3 (normal zoom) again -> needs again canon menu
5D3.113 | EOSM.202

Danne

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6933
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #2319 on: February 24, 2019, 08:36:35 PM »
Thanks for feedback. Needed.
Try running the cinema script as a starting point. I think you´re resolution needs expanded to max, that´s why you get 1624x914. Or if not maybe a menu push is all it takes. The only thing that actually was fixed was the extreme moiré issue. That should not appear anymore. We still need canon menu push for when changing presets in MCM mode.

The resolution are as follows atm:
mv1080p MCM rewire
default 1736x1158 in x3crop 1624x1080
2.35:1 1736x738 in x3crop 1800x766
16:9    1736x976 in x3crop 1800x1012

masc

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1691
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #2320 on: February 24, 2019, 08:48:44 PM »
Hu... okay. I had no sub menu option chosen (all off). Resolution in RAW Video menu is at 5xxx option.
5D3.113 | EOSM.202

Danne

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6933
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #2321 on: February 24, 2019, 08:59:10 PM »
Hard to know exactly what to look for. If presets works after a few pushes I think all is as expected. Or else try to explain what to reproduce exactly.

masc

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1691
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #2322 on: February 24, 2019, 09:14:04 PM »
I think I know what happens:
- I used in RAW Video 5xxx resolution and 16:9.
-> in x3 crop this makes 1624x914 -> I should set it in RAW Video to 3:2 and set 16:9 from crop menu
- somehow it seems the standard is x3 zoom mode. So it was always hard to come out there to get normal mode...
5D3.113 | EOSM.202

Danne

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6933
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #2323 on: February 24, 2019, 09:20:11 PM »
I should recommend run the cinema lua script as starting point. It sets to 1:2 in RAW menu and you also end up in anamorphic mode. Then I would leave RAW video alone and only use settings in Crop mode sub menu and start build from there. It´s part of the round trip journey.
Quote
- somehow it seems the standard is x3 zoom mode. So it was always hard to come out there to get normal mode...
Can´t really follow you. But yes, rewire MC mode is a totally different beast from the other crop_rec presets. Getting back to the other presets is a bit harder than usual.
If I knew more c-code I would put it in either as a menu option in Movie crop mode or have it as default when starting up my eosm and selecting RAW video.

Jonit

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 39
  • EOS M | 700D
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #2324 on: February 24, 2019, 09:53:39 PM »
@masc just to check, when you're exporting the video (or png file) from MLVapp, are you disabling "Fix focus dots"? If you leave that setting on, as it is by default, I find that additional focus pixels which are really difficult to see show up, and they're not there if turned the setting is turned off.

Thanks for pointing that out. Yes, you're right. It was "Fix focus dots" which was causing those pixels.