Author Topic: Canon EOS M  (Read 1475749 times)

dfort

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3751
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1350 on: December 09, 2017, 07:50:34 PM »
So you're doing this?



Ha ha -- got to love the music on their demo videos:


Ok, had a good laugh but I can see how this could be very handy for cameras without articulating screens. Just a thought, how about adding an inexpensive HDMI monitor? There are even adapters so you can use your phone as the monitor. That would provide even more flexibility though it does add bulk.
5D3.* 7D.206 700D.115 EOSM.203 EOSM2.103 M50.102

garry23

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2218
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1351 on: December 09, 2017, 07:59:27 PM »
@dfort

Covering all bases and having fun.

I also have a viltrox DC-50 HDMI monitor: good value.

Cheers

Garry

MrFurious70

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1352 on: December 10, 2017, 07:08:49 PM »
I installed the TFT SIO communication module with the values shown earlier in this thread. Haven't properly field tested this yet but so far seems to work great. Only issue is that it resets to default zero values every time the camera is turned off. Garry I wonder if you could walk me through installing the Toggler script and possibly having this feature bound to a hard button? (new to all this)

I did try installing the script (after loading the LUA module) but couldn't find your script anywhere in the menu, although on booting the camera if appears to load ok.

Cheers,
Dino.

garry23

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2218
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1353 on: December 10, 2017, 07:24:46 PM »
@MrFurious70

I wrote the Toggler script to run in the background, i.e. There are no menus.

To use just pres the PLAY button followed by the INFO button, this puts you in interactive mode. The toggler should show at the top middle.

You toggle through your preset  states using PLAY and MENU.

Once you reach a state you want to toggle, press INFO to exit toggler and set that state.

Toggler is designed for you to rewrite to your needs.

Cheers

Garry

MrFurious70

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1354 on: December 11, 2017, 12:39:12 AM »
Thanks Garry I can't get this to work on the latest build.?  ???

It's tricky getting the right timing for the 'play-info' button combination when in live view, and once I get it, it reads 'Exit & Do Nothing' top and center.

p.s. I'm using 1TOG2.lua

garry23

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2218
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1355 on: December 11, 2017, 03:54:27 AM »
You should be using the latest nightly Lua fix experimental build.

I don't understand what you mean by getting the timing right

All you need to do is press PLAY then, with no timing sensitivity, INFO

If you are seeing 'Exit & Do Nothing' you are in interactive mode.

Now press MENU and PLAY to move through your presets.

Once you find a preset that you wish to change, then press INFO, this will toggle that state according to your scripting and exit interactive mode. Pressing PLAY twice will give you normal PLAY.

1TOG2 is the right script.

Have you read and changed the script to your needs.

The default toggler script runs with my Focus Bar script, although toggler should run if FB is not loaded, i.e. the FB menu toggles are ignored.

Cheers

Garry

MrFurious70

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1356 on: December 11, 2017, 07:49:35 AM »
Many thanks Garry. Yes I did open the script in a text editor and saw the usage info. I think the reason it's not working is I'm not using the experimental build... I simply dropped the script into the latest nightly build. Will give this another try with the experimental.

cheers,
Dino.

MarkusM3

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Can not update to 202
« Reply #1357 on: December 18, 2017, 06:37:57 PM »
Hi,
on my EOS is firmware 1.2.

I would like to update my firmware and install ML.

But i cant update from my sd card, files are on card, but eos m cant find them.

dont know whats wrong.

please help.

thank you

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8294
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1358 on: December 18, 2017, 07:32:50 PM »
"Files"?
Format card using your cam, copy file EOSM1202.FIR to card and retry.
If it doesn't work try card with capacity < 32 GB.
Report back.

dlprod2014

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Canon EOS M drid of colored dots on raw footage??
« Reply #1359 on: December 21, 2017, 04:23:37 PM »
Hi everyone.  First time post and glad to be here.

I seem to be getting a grid of colored dot/cubes on my raw footage. Does anyone know what this is and how I can get rid of them??





blogger image hosting

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8294
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1360 on: December 21, 2017, 07:54:40 PM »
Known issue: Do a search for PDR or "focus pattern" or "focus pixels". User dfort cornered this one well.
http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=16054.0

All tools recently discussed in http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?board=54.0 are able to deal with it.

pixelk

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • And yet it moves
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1361 on: December 27, 2017, 09:52:15 PM »
Hello, just posting in case it may interest somebody here.

After buying a second hand M, I quickly realized that the lack of shutter remote really annoyed me. Unfortunately ML+ mic trigger didn't cut it for me.

I then made this : https://www.thingiverse.com/thing:2524414





The 3D printed part fits on the EOS M and permits to send IR trigger signal directly to the IR sensor of the M.
To emit the IR I use a Wemos D1 Mini ESP8266 board and a 940nm IR led.

MarkusM3

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Canon EOS M Cant update firmware
« Reply #1362 on: December 27, 2017, 10:05:12 PM »
Hi,
i tried a card smaller than 32GB.

My Camera says there is no firmware on card to update. Why?
I formated sd card in camera and copied the firmware 202 on card.

please help if you can.

Best regards Markus

loknar

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 78
  • 550D, EOS M
4K crope_rec module with lossless compression
« Reply #1363 on: December 29, 2017, 11:06:42 PM »
I've just tested build  magiclantern-crop_rec_4k.2017Dec19.EOSM202.zip and it's amazing,  2.5K RAW video (altough with some limitations given SD card write speed).

Did some shots, in case anyone is interested you can check video here https://youtu.be/YcKTqGJUTls

dfort

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3751
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1364 on: December 30, 2017, 01:08:47 AM »
Great stuff going on with the EOSM.

Tip - to post a YouTube video change the URL from https to http and enclose it in youtube tags like this:

Code: [Select]
[youtube]http://youtu.be/YcKTqGJUTls[/youtube]
5D3.* 7D.206 700D.115 EOSM.203 EOSM2.103 M50.102

loknar

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 78
  • 550D, EOS M
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1365 on: December 30, 2017, 08:30:17 AM »


Tip - to post a YouTube video change the URL from https to http and enclose it in youtube tags like this:

Code: [Select]
[youtube]http://youtu.be/YcKTqGJUTls[/youtube]

Thanks, didn't know that.

hikari

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1366 on: December 30, 2017, 07:32:24 PM »
Good day,

I have an M6 and wanted to know if Magiclantern can help me get a Clean HDMI out for video.

Thanks


12georgiadis

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 210
  • 5DmkIII - 7D - EOS-M
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1367 on: January 02, 2018, 08:19:22 PM »
Hello all,

I read all posts on EOSM and what I understood is that current capabilities are :
MV1080p possible with H264 proxy enabled
Lossless is possible.

My question is : Can we record in MV1080 with 1720*972 (no crop mode) in 10 bits lossless and with H264 proxy with a low bitrate (say 0.6x) ?
If this works, let me say this little camera would become a killer camera like the 100D !

dfort

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3751
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1368 on: January 02, 2018, 09:01:42 PM »
H.264 proxy has never been reliable on the EOSM or any other camera other than the 5D3. It would be wonderful on the EOSM because so far that is the only way we currently have to get it to record in mv1080 mode--though it does a decent job with crop_rec mode.
5D3.* 7D.206 700D.115 EOSM.203 EOSM2.103 M50.102

12georgiadis

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 210
  • 5DmkIII - 7D - EOS-M
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1369 on: January 02, 2018, 09:44:02 PM »
H.264 proxy has never been reliable on the EOSM or any other camera other than the 5D3. It would be wonderful on the EOSM because so far that is the only way we currently have to get it to record in mv1080 mode--though it does a decent job with crop_rec mode.
Thank you Dfort. Yes, I read all the MV1080 thread. But when you say not reliable, you mean with a low bitrate + 10 bits lossless test ? Is it not reliable because of the 40MB/s limit ? Don't you think that we can handle h264 proxy with low bitrate and 10 bit lossless in the 40MB/s limit ?

dfort

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3751
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1370 on: January 02, 2018, 09:49:31 PM »
Try it and you’ll see what I mean.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
5D3.* 7D.206 700D.115 EOSM.203 EOSM2.103 M50.102

12georgiadis

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 210
  • 5DmkIII - 7D - EOS-M
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1371 on: January 02, 2018, 09:53:21 PM »
Try it and you’ll see what I mean.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Sorry, I'm asking it because I don't have an EOSM but I'm very interesting in it. This is the reason I can't test it to understand the problem. I'm planning to buy one, but I'm waiting for an EOS-M VAF-filter first (I asked mosaic engineering for that).

dfort

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3751
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1372 on: January 03, 2018, 01:54:49 AM »
Got it, thought you picked one up.

I see you've got a 5D3 and 7D. Don't expect that the EOSM can compete with those camera but it is a pretty cool little camera that can do about 80% of the ML tricks. A VAF-filter will help with mv720 and crop_rec which use 5x3 and 3x3 sampling respectively but a practical way to record mv1080 on the EOSM isn't possible yet. This camera works best in Movie crop mode (a.k.a. mv1080crop or CROP_MODE_HACK). In fact that's the only mode where the camera will record in 23.976 fps without having to use the FPS override option. What is also cool about mv1080crop mode is that you can use C-mount lenses and keep it a very small package, the VAF-filter isn't necessary and if you really want to experiment, Dual-ISO works quite well in this mode.


If nothing else, it is a great little timelapse machine. Shooting timelapse in photo mode technically give you better than 4K resolution.

5D3.* 7D.206 700D.115 EOSM.203 EOSM2.103 M50.102

loknar

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 78
  • 550D, EOS M
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1373 on: January 03, 2018, 08:24:45 AM »
... This camera works best in Movie crop mode (a.k.a. mv1080crop or CROP_MODE_HACK). In fact that's the only mode where the camera will record in 23.976 fps without having to use the FPS override option. ...
And just when i thought that I understand all different modes, new wild mode appears  :)
I'm currently using crop_rec_4k branch, that allows using full buffer 2512? pixels horizontal resolution in 1:1 crop mode, but as pretty much in all modes on EOS M at 30 fps and as you wrote i indeed need to use FPS override to get to 24 fps (and that has it's own set of problems regarding rolling shutter and exposure time).
Can you elaborate how to record in this mv1080crop mode?
I found only this table, but i don't know how to activate it http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=5601.msg194406#msg194406
(Also I presume, that maximum resolution stays at 1872x1060?)

12georgiadis

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 210
  • 5DmkIII - 7D - EOS-M
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1374 on: January 03, 2018, 12:32:50 PM »
Got it, thought you picked one up.

This camera works best in Movie crop mode (a.k.a. mv1080crop or CROP_MODE_HACK). In fact that's the only mode where the camera will record in 23.976 fps without having to use the FPS override option. What is also cool about mv1080crop mode is that you can use C-mount lenses and keep it a very small package, the VAF-filter isn't necessary and if you really want to experiment, Dual-ISO works quite well in this mode.



Wow, very cool Dfort ! I didn't understand these possibilities !! With a wide lens, that can be fabulous ! For the mv1080crop mode, I suppose it's a 3x factor ? Do we record in 10 bits or lossless 10/12/14 bits for continuous ?