Author Topic: Canon EOS M  (Read 848107 times)

Licaon_Kter

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 519
  • M
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #800 on: September 18, 2015, 07:02:00 AM »
You should ask the user that compiled it I guess.

oli650d

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 24
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #801 on: September 20, 2015, 12:19:59 AM »
hello or can we find a newer version than the 2015-04-19  8)
Eos m , Eos 70d canon 18-135 STM :canon 50mm f1.8 : tamron  SP 70-300 f4/5.6 VC : SD eye-fi 4Go/Sandisk extreme pro 95mb/s 8Go:flash yongnuo YN565EX / YN560 II: tube extention macro 31;21;13mm : tamron SP 90mm DI f2.8:sigma 17-50 ex f2.8: efm 22mm...70D.111A

dfort

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3736
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #802 on: September 20, 2015, 02:22:50 AM »
There are a few test builds floating around but the best way to get the latest and greatest EOSM build is to grab the code and roll your own. It isn't really that difficult. If you are on a Windows system I just put up a tutorial that should be fairly easy to follow.

http://magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=15845.msg154356;topicseen#msg154356

Notice that the source that I pointed to in that article has all the pending EOSM related pull requests merged in.

If you are on a Mac like me you'll need to install the free Xcode app and if you are on Linux, well that is the easiest of all to setup. There should be plenty of help in the General Development Discussion section of the forum.
5D3.* 7D.206 700D.115 EOSM.203 EOSM2.103 M50.102

neoplanta

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #803 on: September 22, 2015, 02:37:56 PM »
Hello, i wonder if there is any way to get ML for EOS M 2? Or is it maybe someone trying to do it?

Mcpackin

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • EOS M
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #804 on: September 22, 2015, 05:02:13 PM »
There are a few test builds floating around but the best way to get the latest and greatest EOSM build is to grab the code and roll your own. It isn't really that difficult. If you are on a Windows system I just put up a tutorial that should be fairly easy to follow.

http://magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=15845.msg154356;topicseen#msg154356

Notice that the source that I pointed to in that article has all the pending EOSM related pull requests merged in.

If you are on a Mac like me you'll need to install the free Xcode app and if you are on Linux, well that is the easiest of all to setup. There should be plenty of help in the General Development Discussion section of the forum.

I followed the tutorial and built ML but all of the modules failed and aren't present in the menu. How do I enable modules for RAW?

dfort

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3736
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #805 on: September 22, 2015, 07:08:08 PM »
That's odd. Are you on Windows or Mac? Did you clone my EOSM__working branch? What is the error? Most likely it is rst2html not found but that shouldn't happen if you followed my instructions. I did update the branch this morning so you might try it again.

Code: [Select]
cd ~/magic-lantern
Code: [Select]
hg pull
Code: [Select]
hg update
I posted a couple of other tutorials showing how to set up different build environments. If one of these won't work for you try another. It doesn't really take much time to set up, I've done it many times while preparing the tutorials.

Cygwin (your best choice and you don't need the Windows specific changes for this one to work)
http://magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=15894.msg154435;topicseen#msg154435

Original MinGW (some people might prefer this but you need the Windows changes to the source code for this to work)
http://magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=15845.msg154394#msg154394

By the way, let's stay on topic (EOS-M) and continue compiling discussions in their appropriate topic.
5D3.* 7D.206 700D.115 EOSM.203 EOSM2.103 M50.102

bohus

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #806 on: September 23, 2015, 07:39:10 AM »
Hey there!

Been lurking for a while, and am glad to join in the conversation. I'm relatively new to ML.. only been using it for a few months. It's quickly become indispensible. I bought an EOS M exclusive;y as a guinea pig for ML, and have not regreted it.

I do have one consistent problem with the interface. I have difficulty changing the default values of some options. Let's take the FPS Override function. Turning on the mod edefaults to 2.5 fps. I'm unabl eto change that value. What buton combo do  need in order to change values lke that? (In this particular case, I also don't get the submenu that lets me adjust the Jello effect... you can guess I wanna try the slit-scan effect)

I've got ML installed on my t4i as well, and there are enough butons on there that it was easy to find how to tweak those settings, but on the EOS M, nothing I try seems to work. is there a magic button combo?

I have searched the forum for this info - sorry if its someplace super easy to locate (though the search tool doesn't like to search for the term "eos m").. I just couldn't find it.

Thanks SO MUCH for any help. I've become a huge ML fan, and am psyched to get even more out of it once I know how to make these tweaks.

Thans again!

dfort

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3736
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #807 on: September 23, 2015, 04:05:35 PM »
Been lurking for a while, and am glad to join in the conversation. I'm relatively new to ML.. only been using it for a few months. It's quickly become indispensible. I bought an EOS M exclusive;y as a guinea pig for ML, and have not regreted it.

Wow, your first post--welcome!

I also bought an EOS-M to try out Magic Lantern and it has worked out great.

To search for answers I use Google. For example, this gave me several hits:

Code: [Select]
site:magiclantern.fm eos-m q button
The M uses a touch screen. You probably already know that a two finger touch brings up the ML menu, as does the Trash if you hold it for about a second. To get to a submenu touch the "Q" with one finger.

You have to be quick, the menu disappears after a few seconds. That's a known issue that also affects the 6D, 700D and 70D.

https://bitbucket.org/hudson/magic-lantern/issues/1974/6d-m-700d-70d-in-live-view-mode-ml-menu
5D3.* 7D.206 700D.115 EOSM.203 EOSM2.103 M50.102

Mcpackin

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • EOS M
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #808 on: September 23, 2015, 04:29:58 PM »
That's odd. Are you on Windows or Mac? Did you clone my EOSM__working branch? What is the error? Most likely it is rst2html not found but that shouldn't happen if you followed my instructions. I did update the branch this morning so you might try it again.

Code: [Select]
cd ~/magic-lantern
Code: [Select]
hg pull
Code: [Select]
hg update
By the way, let's stay on topic (EOS-M) and continue compiling discussions in their appropriate topic.

EDIT: I was able to build ML with all of the modules using the Cygwin guide.

BTW I am building on Windows 10 Pro 64bit using Cygwin/MinGW-w64. Thank you for all of your help!

dfort

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3736
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #809 on: September 23, 2015, 04:55:05 PM »
Your PM says:

I was able to build ML with the Modules with your commit for the cleaned up windows code.

Yay! Now EOS-M users don't have to wait until a1ex gets back to get the latest (unofficial) updates.

Don't worry about all the warning messages the build process spews out, unless it stops with an "Error 1" you're probably ok.
5D3.* 7D.206 700D.115 EOSM.203 EOSM2.103 M50.102

bohus

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #810 on: September 23, 2015, 07:03:57 PM »
@ Dfort

Thanks for the nice welcome, and the reply! of course I should have used Google to do the search for me. Duh. ;)

Id been using the touchscren to bring up ML, but it idn't occur to me to try it for getting submenus. It totally works, and I feel a little foolish for not working it out. Even using these features at their default values, I've been blown away. Now tha I can actually adjust stuff, I can already see that I'm going to be very vey busy. ;)

What kinda stinks is that ML is realy spoiling me for other cameras. I have an URSA, and yearn for the inds of thing that are in ML. There's so much processor power to spare in that camera, I've got to think that ML could really make that camera into  a powerhouse. As I've been using ML, I've wondered "where is the single camera that all these features are inspired by?" Simply amazing stuff... (I defintiely have to look into that open source 4K cinema camera where ML is going to be native. That alone is enough to inspire real interest in that 4k camera project for me).

Two questions...

I see you referencing a compile that's fairly recent. How can I check it against the version of ML that I've got installed now? Just to see where I am in the scheme of things...

Neither my t4i no the EOS M benefit from ML's advanced audio features. Just the VU meters are a lifesaver, so I'm not for a second complaining. I'm just curious whether it's a hardware limitation,  or whether it's just an area that requires more development than it's worth right now.
 


dfort

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3736
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #811 on: September 23, 2015, 07:26:43 PM »
Here are the latest commits to the unified branch--that is what gets pushed out in the nightlies. Note that EOS-M nightlies are still frozen but as you can see we can work around that:

https://bitbucket.org/hudson/magic-lantern/commits/branch/unified

To see what is in the works check out the current pull requests:

https://bitbucket.org/hudson/magic-lantern/pull-requests/

And to watch out for any bumps on the road, the bug reports--these are the new and open ones for the EOS-M:

https://bitbucket.org/hudson/magic-lantern/issues?status=new&status=open&version=EOS-M

As for the advanced audio features--yes, it is a hardware limitation. The 5D mark III probably has the most features available but it is still amazing how many features made it into the EOS-M.
5D3.* 7D.206 700D.115 EOSM.203 EOSM2.103 M50.102

A7exS

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #812 on: September 30, 2015, 07:24:32 PM »
Hello ... is there a chance to see the new version of firmware for this camera? :)

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6871
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #813 on: September 30, 2015, 07:35:43 PM »
Yes
Photogs and videographers: Assist in proof reading upcoming in-camera help!. Your input is wanted and needed!

nikfreak

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1139
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #814 on: September 30, 2015, 08:45:37 PM »
 :P He's on a run, again  8)
70D.112 & 100D.101

neoplanta

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #815 on: October 14, 2015, 05:11:53 PM »
And for EOS M 2?  :D

Licaon_Kter

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 519
  • M
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #816 on: October 14, 2015, 08:49:39 PM »

And for EOS M 2?  :D
Different hardware.


Now... the M10 on the other hand :P

godashram

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 62
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #817 on: October 15, 2015, 01:25:32 AM »
M2 was JUST dumped today http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=15895.0

I'd assume the M10 would be similar enough to the M3, and stuck with CHDK.
Canon T5I, EOS M2

Pharinen

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 29
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #818 on: October 24, 2015, 10:06:05 AM »
Is there anyway to use your smartphone as a monitor with your EOS M?

I know of the app called "DSLR Controller" but it won't work on EOS M because of Canon have crippled remote functions of M. I was wondering could it somehow work with MHL adapter and MHL enabled phone?

If not suggest a reasonable priced "field monitor" for me, mainly to check focus. It should be rather small, under <6" preferably.

dfort

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3736
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #819 on: October 24, 2015, 04:26:35 PM »
Is there anyway to use your smartphone as a monitor with your EOS M?

It is done all the time on movie sets. Most devices draw from the HDMI output and transmit through a wireless network. There's a delay and it isn't cheap though. Here's just one company that makes systems:
http://teradek.com/pages/shop

Quote
I know of the app called "DSLR Controller" but it won't work on EOS M because of Canon have crippled remote functions of M. I was wondering could it somehow work with MHL adapter and MHL enabled phone?

Interesting product, never heard of it. Of course you already found out that the EOSM can't be controlled remotely.

Quote
If not suggest a reasonable priced "field monitor" for me, mainly to check focus. It should be rather small, under <6" preferably.

The Frugal Filmmaker usually has some good suggestions. You can even send him email and he'll answer.
http://filmflap.blogspot.com/search?q=monitor

One gotcha is that your live view will probably be useless when you plug into the HDMI output.
5D3.* 7D.206 700D.115 EOSM.203 EOSM2.103 M50.102

godashram

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 62
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #820 on: October 28, 2015, 10:13:51 PM »
Is there anyway to use your smartphone as a monitor with your EOS M?

I know of the app called "DSLR Controller" but it won't work on EOS M because of Canon have crippled remote functions of M. I was wondering could it somehow work with MHL adapter and MHL enabled phone?

If not suggest a reasonable priced "field monitor" for me, mainly to check focus. It should be rather small, under <6" preferably.
have you tried canon's app?
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=jp.co.canon.ic.cameraconnect
i don't see the m listed, but the m2, m3 and m110 are, so it's worth a shot.
Canon T5I, EOS M2

Licaon_Kter

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 519
  • M
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #821 on: October 28, 2015, 10:17:35 PM »
M2/M3/M10 have Wi-Fi
M1 does not.

godashram

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 62
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #822 on: October 28, 2015, 10:47:46 PM »
M2/M3/M10 have Wi-Fi
M1 does not.

totally forgot that. never mind what I said. disregard. foot in mouth moment while trying to help.
Canon T5I, EOS M2

travisennis

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #823 on: October 30, 2015, 07:30:19 PM »
First post here. I just acquired an EOS M and thought I would compile Magic Lantern to start playing around with it. I followed the instructions on this page

http://magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=15894.msg154435;topicseen#msg154435

 to setup my Cygwin environment and after running make clean && make zip I get the following error.

../../src/fps-engio.c:237:6: error: #error fixme: FPS_TIMER_B_MIN and FPS_TIMER_B_MIN are plain wrong
     #error fixme: FPS_TIMER_B_MIN and FPS_TIMER_B_MIN are plain wrong
      ^
../../src/fps-engio.c:295:12: warning: 'fps_timer_b_method' defined but not used [-Wunused-variable]
 static int fps_timer_b_method = 0;
            ^
../../Makefile.filerules:23: recipe for target 'fps-engio.o' failed
make: *** [fps-engio.o] Error 1


I primarily a Java developer, so I'm not completely familiar with C development, but from looking at the code, this seems to be a directive that will always fail.

Is there not a working branch/revision for the EOSM that can compile right now?

Travis

DeafEyeJedi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3307
  • 5D3 | M1 | 7D | 70D | SL1 | M2 | 50D
Canon EOS M
« Reply #824 on: October 30, 2015, 09:02:21 PM »
http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=16012.msg156314#msg156314

Scroll down to bottom from that post & there you will see the link...
5D3.113 | 5D3.123 | EOSM.203 | 7D.203 | 70D.112 | 100D.101 | EOSM2.* | 50D.109