Author Topic: Canon EOS M  (Read 1069911 times)

Jip-Hop

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 91
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #4325 on: August 12, 2020, 04:27:27 PM »
This is awesome!

Very much looking forward to properly try this out.

I did some crop factor calculations for different modes, to see how they compare relative to the width of a full frame sensor.

4.61x (1.6 * 2.88) in mv1080 x3crop 1800px wide
3.29x (1.6 * 2.06) in 2.5k @ 2.35:1
2.96x (1.6 * 1.85) in 2.8k @ 2.35:1

The 2.8k crop is a good match with lenses for Super16 sensors, since Super16 is 2.88x crop relative to full frame sensor width. This 2.8k mode comes really close to the Blackmagic Pocket Cinema Camera in terms of field of view.

EOS M sensor size: 22.3 x 14.9 mm
EOS M sensor width: 5184px

From my quick testing I conclude that the 2.8k mode has THE perfect crop factor for my Kiev 16U lenses! The Mir-11 12.5mm F2 (Kiev 16U lens) is used to it's max area without heavy vignetting, resulting in approximately a 43mm focal length relative to full frame.

2blackbar

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 413
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #4326 on: August 12, 2020, 09:34:59 PM »
Good news is that some zoom lenses have bigger circle of confusion than usual when zoomed in, i have one where wide angle 4mm covers 16mm frame and when you zoom in to 12mm then it almost covers micro 4/3.I suspect a lot of zoom lenses work like this but not all of them, i have also krasnogorsk 3 lens but it works totally different and its hard to get focus because it needs to be exactly distanced from sensor or it wont work.

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7508
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #4327 on: August 12, 2020, 09:40:19 PM »
Maybe your are using CoC in a way not supposed to be. Maybe you confuse it with "Image Circle".

Jip-Hop

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 91
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #4328 on: August 12, 2020, 10:02:38 PM »
Good news is that some zoom lenses have bigger circle of confusion than usual when zoomed in, i have one where wide angle 4mm covers 16mm frame and when you zoom in to 12mm then it almost covers micro 4/3.I suspect a lot of zoom lenses work like this but not all of them, i have also krasnogorsk 3 lens but it works totally different and its hard to get focus because it needs to be exactly distanced from sensor or it wont work.

Which lens is that? Covering a 16mm frame at 4mm foals length would still make it a very wide lens on the 2.8k mode :)

2blackbar

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 413
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #4329 on: August 12, 2020, 10:33:49 PM »
Yes its a bit fisheye on wide end, but 12mm is not as distorted.ITs this one, i had to rip the casing for aperture to access the aperture film/blades and move them manually to close the lenes, also the lens is closed partially when not powered on. You cant do that also by feeding it 5V but i couldnt bother with it.
https://www.amazon.com/Tamron-M12VG412-Auto-Iris-Vari-Focal-Megapixel/dp/B00OBM8CB2
when i set 2.5k mode to 1920x1080 then it doesnt vignette in 16:9 on 4mm, but it has black corners on 4mm with full 2.5k, they disappear on about 7mm i think.
Yeah its image circle, it gets bigger when you zoom in, i think all 1/2'' , 2/3'' lenses should work on M crop mode and 2.5k modes Without vignetting.
1/2 or 2/3'' is close to 16mm film.
If You have speedbooster and canon 18-55mm, you can use it with 2.5 or 2.8k mode, its still quite wide.

SoFloCineFile

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #4330 on: August 13, 2020, 12:38:09 AM »

This new build is nothing short of amazing! Not sure if anyone has actually tested the max continuous recording times on 2.5k raw and beyond, but I did a test today (2.5k RAW, 16:9) and got a record time of 33 min, 51 sec...and the only reason it stopped there was because my sd card was full.





ZEEK

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 284
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #4331 on: August 13, 2020, 10:35:45 AM »
Yep, Continuous is possible for sure in that mode, just not with 2.5K resolution @16:9,
2-2.3K @16:9 yes definitely around continuous. 8)
EOS M - EOS M2 - 5D2

2blackbar

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 413
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #4332 on: August 13, 2020, 11:08:45 AM »
Are there new fpm files for 2.8k ? I have pixels onscreen in mlvapp 1.11 in this mode

Danne

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6861
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #4333 on: August 13, 2020, 11:30:24 AM »
I have uploaded new files. You should be getting a question if Mlv App needs updating I think. Could you test replacing all fpm files in your version of Mlv App with these maps? They are the latest ones.
https://bitbucket.org/Dannephoto/mlv_app_compiler-git/downloads/focus_pixel_maps.zip
Following map files are for 2.8k files:
80000331_2592x1109.fpm
80000331_2592x1108.fpm


And also good if you can upload one short example MLV not working.

EDIT: Maybe the official Mlv app version now still didn´t get the pixel updating automation included yet.

masc

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1650
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #4334 on: August 13, 2020, 11:51:54 AM »
...You should be getting a question if Mlv App needs updating I think...
EDIT: Maybe the official Mlv app version now still didn´t get the pixel updating automation included yet.
The latest official version can't do this. You need a inofficial newer version.
5D3.113 | EOSM.202

SoFloCineFile

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #4335 on: August 13, 2020, 04:02:11 PM »
Yep, Continuous is possible for sure in that mode, just not with 2.5K resolution @16:9,
2-2.3K @16:9 yes definitely around continuous. 8)

Thx for the disclaimer Zeek :) I just opened up the recording in MLV app and realized that it was not 16 by 9 (more like 21 by 10)...I kind of like it though as its a fuller look than 2:39 or 2:35. Would you happen to have a quick tutorial or steps on how I'd be able to save this as a custom preset. I've tried several times and just cannot get the camera to save it.

ZEEK

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 284
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #4336 on: August 13, 2020, 04:06:05 PM »
Whatever settings you've set, it's saved automatically until you change it again.
Just select a Custom Mode, and select your preset/settings and they should save automatically within the CM you've chosen upon restart.
EOS M - EOS M2 - 5D2

Danne

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6861
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #4337 on: August 13, 2020, 05:27:19 PM »
Thx for the disclaimer Zeek :) I just opened up the recording in MLV app and realized that it was not 16 by 9 (more like 21 by 10)
How do you mean? Ratio is 16:9. 1920/1080 = 1.777. Then 2192/1.777=1233. So 2192x1233.

SoFloCineFile

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #4338 on: August 13, 2020, 06:10:58 PM »
How do you mean? Ratio is 16:9. 1920/1080 = 1.777. Then 2192/1.777=1233. So 2192x1233.



So I shot at 2512 X 1190 in the clip I referred to earlier where I tested max recording time.

In the Magic Lantern recording settings I did indeed set it to 16:9, and I didn't notice that it wasn't 16:9 until I opened the recording up in MLV. It was my mistake as I didn't actually calculate out the aspect ratio from the resolution like you-- I assumed that Magic Lantern would have automatically adjusted it based on me having selected the 16:9 aspect ratio within the recording settings.

SoFloCineFile

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #4339 on: August 13, 2020, 06:20:15 PM »
I just realized that in the 2.5k RAW and above modes shutter fine tuning does not work...is that a known limitation of those modes?
I'm using the latest 8/11 build. Shutter fine tuning works in 1080 mode and the Anamorphic binning modes, just not any of the 2.5k and above modes for me.

liuk718

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #4340 on: August 14, 2020, 02:55:18 AM »
Thanks danne,can we shot in 1920*803*48fps 1:1pixels mode?2800*1171*24fps is more pixels than 1920*803*48fps

Danne

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6861
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #4341 on: August 14, 2020, 05:23:35 AM »
You can use HD 1080p hf and then push SET button to get into 1:1 high framerate modes. 1648x688 for 2.39:1 is what I managed to have kindo working more or less continuous.

LeandroFreitas

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 21
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #4342 on: August 14, 2020, 08:19:37 AM »
I just realized that in the 2.5k RAW and above modes shutter fine tuning does not work...is that a known limitation of those modes?
I'm using the latest 8/11 build. Shutter fine tuning works in 1080 mode and the Anamorphic binning modes, just not any of the 2.5k and above modes for me.
It worked for me and I am using Dannes 12 August 2020 build.

Danne

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6861
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #4343 on: August 14, 2020, 08:39:37 AM »
It's not working with 2.8k. Not sure why not.

SoFloCineFile

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #4344 on: August 14, 2020, 03:38:37 PM »
It's not working with 2.8k. Not sure why not.

Thanks for confirming. I kept playing around with the settings last night and ultimately its not a big issue as I can shoot in 25 fps and set the shutter to 1/50 using the standard shutter control without fine tuning.

ZEEK

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 284
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #4345 on: August 14, 2020, 03:58:24 PM »
I just realized that in the 2.5k RAW and above modes shutter fine-tuning does not work.
I'm using the same build as you. I've tested both 2.7K Build & the new 2.8K Build. You can get image fine-tuning to work in both 2.5k & 2.8K to set to 1/48 etc. It won't, however, work in the "actual" 2.8K Preset at all, Only the 2.8k or whatever Resolution in the 3K RAW Mode preset. The thing is, "Ratio" in the 3rd ML Tab needs to be switched OFF in order for Shutter Fine-Tuning to work in the 3K Preset. Works either way with 2.5k.
In the 2.8K Preset, if you want closer to 1/48, I guess setting shutter to full-range will get you 1/46.
EOS M - EOS M2 - 5D2

SoFloCineFile

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #4346 on: August 14, 2020, 08:55:48 PM »
The thing is, "Ratio" in the 3rd ML Tab needs to be switched OFF in order for Shutter Fine-Tuning to work in the 3K Preset. Works either way with 2.5k.
In the 2.8K Preset, if you want closer to 1/48, I guess setting shutter to full-range will get you 1/46.

Thanks Zeek! I was able to get shutter fine tuning to work with 2.5k res like you said...the problem earlier was that I was in the 2.8k preset and had adjusted the res down to 2.5 in that same preset without actually going into the 2.5k preset.

As for the 3k preset, I did confirm that I am able to fine tune the shutter in that mode when turning off the ratio, also like you said. However, the only issue with that workaround is that my fps was now limited to 18fps even with 25fps setting enabled-- it seems that in that mode, you need an anamorphic aspect ratio in order to be able to record at 24 or 25 fps.

Honestly I'm more than happy with being able to shoot in 2.5k with the anamorphic aspect ratios and being able to set the shutter correctly in those modes.
Thx again to both you and Danne for taking the time to look into this :) You both truly have the patience of saints to listen and respond to everyone's queries on here!

SoFloCineFile

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #4347 on: August 14, 2020, 09:02:11 PM »
How do you mean? Ratio is 16:9. 1920/1080 = 1.777. Then 2192/1.777=1233. So 2192x1233.

Also, I've done a test and discovered that the max 16 by 9 resolution I can record in *continuously* is 2400 X 1350! Very exciting stuff! Will be posting a sample video of what that res looks like soon!

Danne

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6861
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #4348 on: August 14, 2020, 09:53:44 PM »
Does fine tuning work if selecting 2.8k and turning off ratio?

SoFloCineFile

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #4349 on: August 14, 2020, 10:22:07 PM »
Does fine tuning work if selecting 2.8k and turning off ratio?

Yes...Only problem with that workaround is like I was saying before-- by turning of the ratio, frame rate is then limited to 18 fps.