Author Topic: Canon EOS M  (Read 1100387 times)

Danne

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6936
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #3925 on: February 12, 2020, 04:16:20 PM »
On a side note. It seems to me in 5K mode, 12 bit changes resolution. 14 or 10bits have different one. Is it a bug or I'm still missing something after reading this whole thread.
Changes to keep continuous recording.

rh224

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #3926 on: February 17, 2020, 09:27:39 AM »
Just about a week ago I tried Lexar (I think it was 1800x or something very similar to yours) and experienced exactly the same behavior.
A bit of remedy was to use "Warm up card" option in menu. I think 256MB size worked for me.
It improved the issue a lot, but occasionally the card was still not able to start recording at higher speed. Also boot up time was much longer due to "Warm up" setting.
I also tried Samsung Evo with very similar issues.
Eventually I returned the card and ordered Sandisk Extreme Pro 128GB. Never had the issue since.

I just experienced similar issues with one of my Samsung Evo cards and my M for the first time today. They've been rock steady for continuous recording in 14/12bit when used with both my M and my 6D (Use MCMRewire @ 1736 x 976 on the M). Today, it recorded two clips of about 2:30 on the M just fine and afterwards 5 out of about every 6 runs would give me a max record time of 4-5 seconds (even dropping to 1600 x 900 @ 10bit) and randomly I'd get rock solid continuous recording. Power off/on, pull battery, reset ML settings, reset camera settings, turn on Card Warm Up, no difference or pattern I could see.

It was a family outing and I hadn't planned to shoot much at and just happened to have the M and card with ML, so I couldn't do much testing. I plan to do some more troubleshooting when I have time  It's possible the card is going bad, but it's probably only the 4th or 5th time I've used it. I should probably just quit being stubborn and buy some Sandisk cards...

Also, I've got two Lexar 64GB 1000x cards that have never worked right in my M with the SD overclock.  They work very well when used with my 6D however. Never figured out why.

P.S. This is my first post here, though I'm no stranger to ML.  Long time listener, first time caller sort of deal... I can't post with out a shout out to the community here and the incredible knowledge, talent and accomplishments pushing the limits of what this amazing little camera can do. Thank You!

Capsulepill

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #3927 on: February 17, 2020, 09:10:52 PM »
i'm having some trouble with the latest version of dannes ML build for eos m (JAN-18-2020). i'm pretty new to using magic lantern.
but everytime i try and press the rec button to start a video recording, it doesn't do anything, the last build i used allowed me to use the trigger. but the newest build doesn't, or i'm not aware of the setting to put it on.

i don't know if i'm doing something wrong, but if anyone could help i would appreciate it!

[UPDATE] I figured it out guys haha. if your also having the same kind of trouble that i wrote down here
in order to fix it, you have to go to the canon functions menu, and In Custom function menu: C.Fn-7 Release shutter without lense: on

this allows you to use lenses not recognised by canon camera systems, like the vintage lenses im using.

Bernie54

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #3928 on: February 18, 2020, 12:02:27 PM »
How to use Manual mode and JPG on EOS M with magiclantern-Nightly.2018Jul03.EOSM202?
When using this build on EOS M with FW 2.0.2 JPG-shooting in M mode is disabled if modules are loaded but switched off.

Issue description:
When cam is set to M mode and shutter is pressed half, the display is cleared and the ML message "Set picture quality to RAW" appears. When shutter is pressed full no shoot is taken and cam returns to default display. If mode is set to RAW a silent full res picture is taken - even if this is set to OFF - and the cam hangs up and must be restarted. Only if ML is loaded without modules the cam works like expected.

Used ML settings:
Serveral modules like adv_int, file_man, mvl_lite, silent, ... are loaded but all ML functions are set to OFF, except some overlays .

Expected behavior:
Just shoot JPGs in manual mode when modules are loaded but the corresponding functions are set to OFF.

Any hint is appreciated.

cmh

  • Contributor
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 137
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #3929 on: February 18, 2020, 11:35:58 PM »
It's probably the same shutter bug that I got my silver EOS M. Try turning it off and on two or three time real quick (while the led blink right before the display is on).

Bernie54

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #3930 on: February 19, 2020, 02:14:19 PM »
@cmh: Thank's for the reply.

Meanwhile I got rid of the issue with a fresh reinstall of magiclantern-Nightly.2018Jul03.EOSM202 to the SD card.
Because I had tested another very experimental build on the same SD card before, my assumption is that some config stuff was left over that conflicts with the nightly build. But I don't have a proof for that and the shutter bug thing might be a root cause too.

ArchGalileu

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #3931 on: February 22, 2020, 09:34:58 PM »
 Hello all

Great work Danne ;)

In 5k anamorphic I can't see the overexposed zebras, any advice?

Best regards
ArchGalileu

Danne

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6936
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #3932 on: February 24, 2020, 08:03:41 AM »
Not really. Turned them on? I have zebras turned off upon first install of magic lantern.

keel

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 46
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #3933 on: February 24, 2020, 05:42:40 PM »
Can I get a quick breakdown on "rewire".

Specifically this 5k vs 5k rewire, or more info on rewire in general.

I assume both are strictly for anamorphic lenses.


Danne

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6936
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #3934 on: February 24, 2020, 06:43:55 PM »
Start readig from the download post. It is expected for newcomers.

roogii

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #3935 on: February 24, 2020, 10:35:29 PM »
context: my preferred mode is mv1080p MCM rewire x3 crop, 1736x1158 max resolution 3:2. The full aps sensor rainbow aliasing is too much, and I have perfect alias free 5D3 for big sensor stuff anyway. I like having proper real time preview of the real framing. I treat the MagicM as my 100£ ikonoskop, incredible.

Danne:
1. is it only your build that gets the increase in vertical resolution in mv1080p MCM rewire 1158px vs 1024px in the main website build?
2. in mv1080pMCMrewire x3crop, is it 1:1 pixel sensor readout without any skipping/ binning?
3. if i enter 2.5k mode and set 1736x1158, am i theoretically getting exactly the same output as mv1080p set at 1736x1158 x3crop?
4. what is the difference between 2.5k 1:1 centred mode and 2.5k 2520x1418 >> is it just extra vertical available pixels otherwise the same?
5. if mv1080pMCMrewire x3 crop is 1:1 sensor just like 2.5k mode, is there anything stopping increasing the resolution of the x3 crop within the mv1080 mode whilst retaining realtime full framing preview?
6. I also use your 5d3 build, i like using the same full 3:2 1080p mode, and if i setup clear overlays at halfshutter for example, the magic lantern bars disappear and I get full 3:2 realtime preview. On the M the magic lantern bars disappear leaving black bars in its place, with a 16:9 preview still. Am i right in thinking that the 5d3 actually uses a 3:2 preview through the buffer whereas the M is streaming a 16:9 native preview? or would it be possible to clear the overlays on the M to reveal a 3:2 liveview.

2blackbars >> is that you synthsundry? So you enjoy C lens too, did you play around with moving the framing in the standard mv1080pMCMreire x3 crop mode?

Oh...Danne, I have four of these M cameras and I assume there must be some kind of hardware variation, because using all same settings and build in mv1080MCMrewire, 2/4 of my bodies corrupt the image when changing into x3 crop, video >>>



Danne

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6936
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #3936 on: February 25, 2020, 12:15:38 AM »
I think your glitch is fps related. Either canon fps mode or fps override or set 25 fps is enabled causing the issue in x3 crop.

keel

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 46
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #3937 on: February 25, 2020, 03:59:49 PM »
Anyone ?

Danne

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6936
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #3938 on: February 25, 2020, 06:51:14 PM »
Anyone ?
Try back track a few pages. If you pay attention you´ll soon see that there´s a download post referred to on a regular basis. Find that page and start reading from that post and onwards. Most of your questions will be answered really fast.
You don´t mention any info about what build you are using or where you found it? Sources needed.

roogii

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #3939 on: February 26, 2020, 07:30:09 PM »
Ok that got it, so that's what set 25fps is for - matching the Canon menu.  The 2 other bodies are fine being mismatch set though.

Other questions too boring? I read the whole thread,    those questions didn't seem answered at least on my passing and in my head.

Danne

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6936
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #3940 on: February 26, 2020, 07:55:22 PM »
Ok that got it, so that's what set 25fps is for - matching the Canon menu.  The 2 other bodies are fine being mismatch set though.
Set 25fps is not to match canon menu.

2blackbar

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 418
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #3941 on: February 26, 2020, 08:54:53 PM »
yes i played around with moving framing in all modes, but in uncropped one its working in 16:9 but errors on 3:2 full sensorwhichc is kinda expected.
I have just one c lens and other for krasnogorsk which is crap,im  hunting to get 12-100mm with decent light like f2 at least.There are some but i need brand new

roogii

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #3942 on: February 26, 2020, 09:11:11 PM »
Well if I set canon menu to 25fps and match ML set 25fps no glitch. If I set 24 in canon and set 25 glitch.

I'm not going to ask what set 25fps does I reckon.
Great work all involved but you need someone summarising functionality because 75% of this thread is people asking apparently stupid questions that dont get answered.

Cool blackbar,  I'm going to give it some work.
Most c lens are pretty bad, look for newer ones for 2/3 or 1Inch with high megapixel resolutions. I have a 10mp 5mm kowa which is good.

ArchGalileu

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #3943 on: February 26, 2020, 10:36:37 PM »
Not really. Turned them on? I have zebras turned off upon first install of magic lantern.

True, i have it on but, mabe off course, only on "5k anamorphic flv", can't have it, or don't know how when on "framing"

Some "pink" frames on "5K anamorphic flv", i notice that without histogram, only zebras, and waiting a bit on start record for stabilize i get clean footage.

Best regards
ArchGalileu

Danne

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6936
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #3944 on: February 26, 2020, 11:08:55 PM »
I'm not going to ask what set 25fps does I reckon.
Great work all involved but you need someone summarising functionality because 75% of this thread is people asking apparently stupid questions that dont get answered.
People ask the same questions even if the post before them tells the answer. What everybody could do is read from the download post and go through the posts. Include some personal tests and try to find out how to work around or with functions. Takes longer but better for the community.

ZEEK

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 296
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #3945 on: February 27, 2020, 02:38:09 PM »
If Zebras aren't appearing even when enabled, ensure global draw is set "on all modes" and not live view.  ::)
If that still doesn't work, then...
EOS M - EOS M2 - 5D2

keel

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 46
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #3946 on: February 28, 2020, 01:55:27 AM »
Hey @ZEEK ...

rewire 5k vs 5k ?

Differences?


roogii

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #3947 on: February 28, 2020, 08:53:11 AM »
Danne I did read through the whole 5d2/3 and M thread in one go, was a bit painful. I still wasn't quite sure which is why I asked. Am doing my own testing but knowing some theory can help with practice.

Danne

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6936
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #3948 on: February 28, 2020, 09:18:26 AM »
Read from here. Most is covered at some point:
https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=9741.msg208959#msg208959
Also good to look at commits from the branch worked upon.

anan-banan

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #3949 on: February 28, 2020, 03:12:37 PM »
Hi friends! Please tell me somebody, what can i do to record in 46/48 fps without this pink (purple) stripes and other deformations. Thank you!