Author Topic: Canon EOS M  (Read 852847 times)

Danne

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5930
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #3475 on: September 22, 2019, 09:39:07 PM »
There's often playback issues with eos m. The only cam I used which works robust with mlv_play is the 5d3. Any hints to if this is fixable is most welcome.

AF-OFF

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 97
  • 50Dc EOSM
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #3476 on: September 22, 2019, 10:25:17 PM »
Didn't know this
Not that big playback user anyway, actually found the "fast" playback option just some days ago, which is neat


ngemu

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 49
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #3477 on: September 22, 2019, 10:28:03 PM »
When shooting outdoors, I don't need to change my iso that much.

Was wondering if possible to create in the customized hotkey tab to just change aperture up and down. Thanks!

Jip-Hop

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 87
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #3478 on: September 23, 2019, 09:50:42 AM »
Could be added. But iso will stay at 100 until aperture is all the way open. So basically when you want to shoot at iso 100 outdoor you'll only be changing aperture when using the existing iso + aperture hot keys.

mix_vfx

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #3479 on: September 23, 2019, 10:04:16 AM »
Could be added. But iso will stay at 100 until aperture is all the way open. So basically when you want to shoot at iso 100 outdoor you'll only be changing aperture when using the existing iso + aperture hot keys.

maybe "Right" button could switch between ISO / Aperture for Up/Down buttons, like it does with Aperture/Shutter (given that Shutter is locked).

Danne

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5930
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #3480 on: September 23, 2019, 10:04:20 AM »
It could be added as an independent setting leaving iso completely alone? A third option in customize buttons. Iso can still be changed normally in canon menu.

EDIT: Right/left buttons are not assignable for all know.

ngemu

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 49
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #3481 on: September 24, 2019, 05:49:43 AM »
Could be added. But iso will stay at 100 until aperture is all the way open. So basically when you want to shoot at iso 100 outdoor you'll only be changing aperture when using the existing iso + aperture hot keys.

It could be added as an independent setting leaving iso completely alone? A third option in customize buttons. Iso can still be changed normally in canon menu.

EDIT: Right/left buttons are not assignable for all know.

  :)

Danne

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5930
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #3482 on: September 24, 2019, 08:30:01 AM »
New build:
https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=9741.msg208959#msg208959

- aperture only mode possible. Check under customized buttons.

EDIT: refined function. Skipping fine tuning steps and also reversed buttons when it´s aperture only.

EDIT 2:
Decided to add yet another switch in there:


Will assign INFO button and now it will toggle between ISO and aperture button. Also works while recording

mix_vfx

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #3483 on: September 24, 2019, 12:44:30 PM »
Very nice, one thing. It skips wide open (3.5) on the kit 15-45. Maybe not jumping to f22 when reaching wide open? And / Or option to choose stepping (full vs large steps like now)?

Thanks in advance : ))

Danne

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5930
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #3484 on: September 24, 2019, 01:41:25 PM »
I tested both suggestions and they are possible. However I can´t use it that way. I really need aperture steps to be pushed faster. If I want finer increments I simply use the scroll wheel instead. The stops could be added but seems they will be skipped if not reaching the correct max or min number and this could happen since I took out the finer increments. So if it´,s at 2.2 instead of 2.0 it will skip the stop and go to f22. So I skip stops too.

If you want to you can add this piece of code into crop_rec.c and compile and you get what you want. Replace following:
Code: [Select]
    if (key == MODULE_KEY_PRESS_UP && lv && !gui_menu_shown() && is_movie_mode() && (gain_buttons == 3 || info_switch))
    {
        aperture_toggle(0, 2);
        return 0;
    }
    if (key == MODULE_KEY_PRESS_DOWN && lv && !gui_menu_shown() && is_movie_mode() && (gain_buttons == 3 || info_switch))
    {
        aperture_toggle(0, -2);
        return 0;
    }
With:
Code: [Select]
    if (key == MODULE_KEY_PRESS_UP && lv && !gui_menu_shown() && is_movie_mode() && (gain_buttons == 3 || info_switch))
    {
        int a = lens_info.raw_aperture;
        if (a == lens_info.raw_aperture_max) return 0;
        aperture_toggle(0, 1);
        return 0;
    }
    if (key == MODULE_KEY_PRESS_DOWN && lv && !gui_menu_shown() && is_movie_mode() && (gain_buttons == 3 || info_switch))
    {
        int a = lens_info.raw_aperture;
        if (a == lens_info.raw_aperture_min) return 0;
        aperture_toggle(0, -1);
        return 0;
    }

guerchi

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #3485 on: September 24, 2019, 07:32:30 PM »
Hello Danne and community, catching up with the latest modifications!
The possibility of switching between realtime and framing with the INFO button seemed to me incredibly useful. Being that framing is essential to think the framing, but with Kill Global draw, at the time of recording you has to become familiar with what should be framed in that view. It's a bit intricate, but it's the way to get the best out of EOS M at the moment.

On the other hand, is there a chance to easily customize the presets? and could these already include the ratio, resolution and bitdeph?
I know something about programming, but I don't remember anything about C.

After trying the possible configurations, the ones I use the most are:
- mv1080p MCM Rewire, in 14 bit, with aspect ratio in 4:3 and resolution 1736x1158, to capture the highest resolution and have that crop margin if the final video is in 16:9.
- 5k anamorphic, in 12 bit, with a ratio of 2.35:1, with aspect ratio 2:1 and resolution 1280x1900, to minimize the crop factor. And 12 bit always gave me much better results in the shadows than 10 bit.
Both modes give me continuous recording and free of pink frames! I use the popular sandisk extreme pro 170MB/s.

Of course, the way it's now, the EOS M has already become an incredible tool for experimenting in cinemetography.
Thank you very much for all your work.

Danne

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5930
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #3486 on: September 24, 2019, 08:33:05 PM »
What exactly do you want to customize? And easy? It depends on what you're after. But it sounds like you should start checking into crop_rec.c.
Compiling? If not, I suggest you start there. Compiler.app for mac is what I use. There are guides for windows here as well.

guerchi

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #3487 on: September 24, 2019, 09:27:48 PM »
What exactly do you want to customize?
at first It would only be to see if it is possible when choosing the mv1080p MCM Rewire and 5k anamorphic presets, automatically change ratio, aspect ratio, resolution and bitdeph, to those of my preference.

I will see if I can go inside and understand what you mention.
Ideally I would try to include the possibility of saving the current configuration as a preset, but I guess that would not be easy.

Thank you!

DeafEyeJedi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3325
  • 5D3 | M1 | 7D | 70D | SL1 | M2 | 50D
Canon EOS M
« Reply #3488 on: September 24, 2019, 09:52:31 PM »
I use the popular sandisk extreme pro 170MB/s.

Any proof for this? Been hesitated at buying Extreme Pro 170 MB/s over the ever so popular 95 MB/s regardless of the latter (95 MB/s) costing more than the higher write speeds (170 MB/s).

If this card is doable then I'll definitely go out and grab a bunch of Extreme Pro's in 170 MB/s just to be future-proofed and because they are cheaper online.

The reason why I'm asking is we obviously know that the faster Extreme Pro 280 MB/s is actually slower for the EOSM and is unable to do continuous recording at all. However, this seems to be not the case for EP 170 MB/s, correct?  :o
5D3.113 | 5D3.123 | EOSM.203 | 7D.203 | 70D.112 | 100D.101 | EOSM2.* | 50D.109

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6874
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #3489 on: September 24, 2019, 10:13:37 PM »
First generation Extreme Pro UHS-III (280 MByte/s) actually were good for < 50 MByte/s writing in UHS-I mode. Those 170 MByte/s are a tad slower than Extreme Pro 95 MByte/s in non-Sandisk devices (those supporting proprietary overclocking mode).
See https://www.cameramemoryspeed.com/reviews/sd-cards/sandisk-extreme-pro-170mbs-uhs-i-u3-v30-128gb-sdxc-memory-card/
Photogs and videographers: Assist in proof reading upcoming in-camera help!. Your input is wanted and needed!

guerchi

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #3490 on: September 24, 2019, 11:09:49 PM »
Any proof for this? Been hesitated at buying Extreme Pro 170 MB/s over the ever so popular 95 MB/s regardless of the latter (95 MB/s) costing more than the higher write speeds (170 MB/s).

If this card is doable then I'll definitely go out and grab a bunch of Extreme Pro's in 170 MB/s just to be future-proofed and because they are cheaper online.

The reason why I'm asking is because we obviously know that the faster Extreme Pro 280 MB/s is actually slower for the EOSM and is unable to do continuous recording at all. However, this seems to be not the case for EP 170 MB/s, correct?  :o
Like Walter said, the 95MB/s version has more room to play near 57 MB/s. I had a couple of that for my BMPCC (the 170 MB/s version don't work on the pocket) and work perfect on my EOS M.
I just did a test with both cards recording in 5k anamorphic, ratio 2.35:1, aspect ratio 2:1, resolution 1280x1900, 14 BITS LOSLESS! at an average of 55 MB/s and both cards did a good job giving about 2 minutes of continuous recording with changing light environments between inside and outside. Maybe the 170 MB/s version showed the red camera warning more often, but both stopped at a similar place and time, and it seems that neither generated pink frames.
This makes me think that maybe in controlled light environments I can go to 5k anamorphic in 14 bits! That in MLV APP means you can raising the RAW white Level to the maximum and recover more data in the highlights or at least achieve a more pleasant Highlight Rolloff.

2blackbar

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 231
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #3491 on: September 25, 2019, 04:26:20 AM »
Did You tested highlight detail with14 and 12bits ? I did multiple times and result shown similar amount of info in highs, not that much different.Tiny bit in shadow, if you call more visible black spots and noise a "detail in shadows".Difference between h264 and raw is amazing tho, like totally new camera and every lens shows its real character that i did not seen at all wehen filming in h264 , it was crushed by canons default contrast and gamma algos.

mix_vfx

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #3492 on: September 25, 2019, 03:58:08 PM »
[EDIT] Tested with 15-45, works very nicely, great build.

I'll test today's build for the Aperture control! Thanks a lot for considering : )))

Also, quite interesting insights from guerchi. I'd say, the long term easiest way would be to introduce a few variables, that store each preset's values.

Lets say, we could have two presets that are customisable, and save themselves, maybe even export a little xml or cfg file for sharing.

Feels doable, but emphasising FEELS!! : ))

LittleBig M

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 25
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #3493 on: September 25, 2019, 09:22:39 PM »
My first post..... So far I'm enjoying shooting with my EOS M  .Thank you Danne ,Zeek and others...

struppi222

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #3494 on: September 26, 2019, 07:46:25 AM »
Could anyone help me with a specific problem I have?
The AF on my EOS M seems to have stopped working when in One Shot mode.
I can usually use it when I first turn on the camera, but as soon as I switch modes (eg. from Manual to Video mode) or enter the canon menu it stops working.
Everytime I try to focus with half pressing shutter afterwards the liveview locks up and the the lens makes weird sounds,
then tries to focus until it's extended all the way trough. I'll try to post a video in the afternoon, but if anyone knows a quick fix,
I'd be super thankful.

Danne

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5930
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #3495 on: September 26, 2019, 12:03:13 PM »
New build:
https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=9741.msg208959#msg208959

- canon MENU button now first open INFO screen then canon menu if INFO button has been remapped

INFO screen is still very useful and will be missed when INFO button has been reassigned to other stuff. To cure this canon MENU button will now open up INFO screen instead when INFO has been reassigned. Push MENU again while in INFO screen mode and it goes to canon menu. Push it a third time and it goes back to liveview.

Naviddabest

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #3496 on: September 27, 2019, 12:47:19 AM »
Any proof for this? Been hesitated at buying Extreme Pro 170 MB/s over the ever so popular 95 MB/s regardless of the latter (95 MB/s) costing more than the higher write speeds (170 MB/s).

If this card is doable then I'll definitely go out and grab a bunch of Extreme Pro's in 170 MB/s just to be future-proofed and because they are cheaper online.

The reason why I'm asking is we obviously know that the faster Extreme Pro 280 MB/s is actually slower for the EOSM and is unable to do continuous recording at all. However, this seems to be not the case for EP 170 MB/s, correct?  :o

my 2 cents, or pennies here the uk but from what i heard the 280MB/s card is slower becuase it is a UHS II card and the eos m supports UHS I so the UHS I part of the card is slower, whereas as the 170MB/s is still a UHS I card and you can only achieve thoes "read" speeds by using their proprietary card readers.

guerchi

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #3497 on: September 27, 2019, 03:20:45 AM »
Did You tested highlight detail with14 and 12bits ? I did multiple times and result shown similar amount of info in highs, not that much different.Tiny bit in shadow, if you call more visible black spots and noise a "detail in shadows".Difference between h264 and raw is amazing tho, like totally new camera and every lens shows its real character that i did not seen at all wehen filming in h264 , it was crushed by canons default contrast and gamma algos.
The difference is subtle but exists,Much smaller than the chasm between the poor canon H264 and ML RAW!
It is not that the bitdeph increases the dynamic range, I think ML has already extended it to the limits of the sensor.
But, the 14-bit RAW, has by definition more room to retrieve information in both highlights and shadows. Better Highlight Rolloff and less noise in the shadows. I don't know if it's visible on the youtub compression, maybe it can be seen in the first shots where there is very hard sun light :https://youtu.be/dRw3Nir9awE

Anyway 5k Anamorphics, in 1280x1900, 14 bits works, but it is unstable,  flirting with the limits of SD card writing speed.

On the other hand, ingenious idea to be able to access the info function from the Canon menu button, Thanks once again Danne!

ngemu

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 49
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #3498 on: September 27, 2019, 06:56:22 AM »
Sorry can't seem to figure this one out.

I am trying use my desktop monitor as an external display. However, I cant seem to get anything to display using the mv1080p MCM rewire mode.


The mv1080p 45/48/50 fps 10 bit mode & h264 bit works fine though. Popping out the ML card and using the regular canon software also works fine.

Does this have to do with my monitors display settings (resolution, hertz..) being incompatible with the mcm rewire mode?

Danne

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5930
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #3499 on: September 27, 2019, 07:10:25 AM »
Anyway 5k Anamorphics, in 1280x1900, 14 bits works, but it is unstable,  flirting with the limits of SD card writing speed.
1280x1900, what ratio is that?
I also recommend using the 5k anamorphic rewired mode. A little less height but more stable.

Uploaded a new version just now. It contains iso max and min when using gain function. WHen reaching iso 3200 it won´t loop back to iso 100. Iso 100 not looping back to 3200.