Author Topic: Canon EOS M  (Read 969807 times)

Stousen

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 40
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #3150 on: July 21, 2019, 01:10:00 PM »
New build, usual place:

- Autoiso now have a few friends


EDIT: uploaded new build again. Fixing automation conflict.

Super nice Danne, tack så jäkla much for your work. You're the man.

//Chris

2blackbar

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 348
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #3151 on: July 21, 2019, 01:32:52 PM »
Im using 2 finger tap to enter ML but once i set everythin in ML menus i dont need to enter that often, so i just adjusted ISO with trashcan button because thats the only one i can map to iso selector in canon menu, set
 or +/- would be good for me, where i can change that ?
Id prefere not to change iso from within ML menu cause once i enter ML menu i have to go to video settings, then go down to enter iso and then adjust... too many steps, trashcan for changing iso was quite convenient. So i was wondering why theres no maximum iso setting in autoiso and there it is, it works fine but sometimes handy button to set iso manually helps.

berechiah

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 76
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #3152 on: July 21, 2019, 02:51:35 PM »
.

Danne

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6458
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #3153 on: July 21, 2019, 04:32:41 PM »
thanks, i forgot it was changed
How i can map ISO selector to one of the buttons on camera, i had it as trashcan from canon menu, now i cant change iso that easily cause im locked out of it by 3x trashcan toggle, my -/+ button is unused.

Selectable button:


New build posted:
https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=9741.msg208959#msg208959

2blackbar

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 348
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #3154 on: July 21, 2019, 04:41:42 PM »
Works great, just tested it ! Thanks a lot !

gravitatemediagroup

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 241
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #3155 on: July 21, 2019, 07:34:04 PM »
.

this isn't FB with notifications, so you'll have to check back from time to time ;) Just thought i'd let you know rather than you wait for info updates that never come.

hokinari

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #3156 on: July 22, 2019, 02:19:39 AM »
hi guys! I have some artifacts in all my footages, how to fix that??
There is no problems in live view when i grade it in MLV app, but when I render it's appear. screenshot of my settings and test footage are linked bellow
I shooted on eos m
mv1080p MCM rewire profile RAWvideo on
Bit Rate(CBR) up to 1.2x
memory card -  SDXC 64Gb Kingston Canvas React UHS-I U3 V30 A1 (100/80 Mb/s)
there is some footages - drive.google.com/open?id=1gPLcpOIqcCvMoTxocV2MjxyJip3bXaJF

henricusmaria

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 70
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #3157 on: July 22, 2019, 08:27:54 AM »
@hokinari why do you have the bitrate at 1.2x?

masc

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1557
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #3158 on: July 22, 2019, 09:57:30 AM »
@hokinari: could we get the MLV for analysis?
5D2.212 | EOSM.202

Danne

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6458
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #3159 on: July 22, 2019, 11:49:34 AM »
New upload:

- Fast iso access through INFO(eosm)/SET(100d) button. Push it to quickly walk through iso starting from 100 to 3200


hokinari

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #3160 on: July 22, 2019, 05:15:43 PM »
@henricusmaria Cause I thing it gives me higher bitrate
Actually problem was solved by changing debayer mode LMMSE to Receipt configuration
@mask Ml file in folder directed from he link - drive.google.com/open?id=1gPLcpOIqcCvMoTxocV2MjxyJip3bXaJF

masc

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1557
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #3161 on: July 22, 2019, 06:49:47 PM »
@henricusmaria Cause I thing it gives me higher bitrate
Actually problem was solved by changing debayer mode LMMSE to Receipt configuration
@mask Ml file in folder directed from he link - drive.google.com/open?id=1gPLcpOIqcCvMoTxocV2MjxyJip3bXaJF
Bitrate is for compressed (H.264) recording. Using RAW it has no effect.
Ah, you used LMMSE (your screenshot showed AMaZE)... that explains all: LMMSE & EOS M RAW file is a bad combination (whyever). It is a known bug, but I have no idea why it happens. If someone else has an idea, please let me know. It seems to come out of the LMMSE "library"/source code file.
5D2.212 | EOSM.202

Danne

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6458
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #3162 on: July 24, 2019, 08:58:35 AM »
Uploaded a new version. Bugs was happening with iso climb preset so took it out for the time being. Recommended to redownload the latest.

EDIT: Workaround isoclimb hopefully working for eosm and 100d. 5D3, todo.

ngemu

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 82
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #3163 on: July 25, 2019, 04:04:34 AM »
Very strange indeed. Maybe sensor is broken? Probably not. Could you do test with and without the viltrox adapter? Also try to find a way to safely reproduce the issue if possible. Thanks.

Hi Danne. I was able to reproduce the same vertical line using the efm 18-55mm kit lens. I originally had this while using a canon 35mm is lens with viltrox adapter.  It seems to only appear when I use the 2.5k mode.

With this example, the lines disappear using the '''pattern noise on'' feature but it also induces other artifacts into the footage. This did not work with some other videos I had with these vertical lines though.

Settings
fps - 23.976
crop mode - 2.5k 2520x1418
x3 crop toggle - on
set 25fps - on
raw - 1736x976
aspect ratio - 16:9
data format: 14-bit lossless

Screenshot
https://i.imgur.com/ednpgDP.jpg

MLV sample link
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1WM0aihrhb5Xx2Iq0aANcRrzDSPF1GEDb/view?usp=sharing

Danne

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6458
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #3164 on: July 25, 2019, 07:37:49 AM »
Interesting. Is it happening on every recording with this set up? If so you could test to find what is causing this. Maybe the villtrox, fps or something else.

KlausH

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #3165 on: July 25, 2019, 08:39:23 AM »
I had these thin vertical lines also for a while in various crop modes after start up the camera. They disapeared after entering the Canon menue. Different leneses didn't have an effect. Exemerimenting with the settings in the Overly tab made it dissapear. My settings are Global Draw: LiveView and Waveform: Small. All else switched off.

With the new awesome feature of the 10x magnification I get vertikal green tinted areas after using it. It is recorded on the file. It disappears after entering the ML menue. This also in crop mode. For me the 10x display is essential to focus so I am using it anyways.  Before I had to change in photo mode and back...

It's anyways amazing what you are getting out of this small camera!






 

Danne

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6458
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #3166 on: July 25, 2019, 10:02:06 AM »
With the new awesome feature of the 10x magnification I get vertikal green tinted areas after using it. It is recorded on the file. It disappears after entering the ML menue. This also in crop mode. For me the 10x display is essential to focus so I am using it anyways.  Before I had to change in photo mode and back...

It's anyways amazing what you are getting out of this small camera!
Thanks for reporting. Probably all regs are not falling into place after usage, not sure but will look into it.

Edit: also. Could you upload a file which shows the issue? I want to see if it's not simply 10bit lossy bitdepth affecting recordings.

KlausH

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #3167 on: July 25, 2019, 08:16:11 PM »
Yes, here's a link to a MLV file that was recorded after using the 10x magnification:

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1y1ifqSyAKEs6TasbMDO59PEG6AETT0sI/view?usp=sharing

Forgot to mention that I am mostly using 14bit lossless and reduced framertes (12-20fps). As mentioned before the recorded image is clear after entering the ML menue.

Danne

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6458
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #3168 on: July 25, 2019, 08:24:02 PM »
Thanks. Is this happening with 3k preset? Maybe it´s an issue only with x5 zoom modes in conjunction with x10 focus aid? Do this happen with x1 modes too? Or maye it´s related to fps override? Working better with fps override to off?

KlausH

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #3169 on: July 25, 2019, 08:48:29 PM »
The sample was recorded with the following video settings:
PS override: 16 fps
Crop mode 3k, 3032x1436 (Is this 3k preset?)
RAW video: ON, 2736x1244

I tested a bit more with lower resolutions in both 2.5k modes with fps override on and off and it looked both clean. In 3k mode fps override off, didn't even showed a preview (only white screen). With fps override I get a frame preview.

Danne

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6458
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #3170 on: July 25, 2019, 08:59:03 PM »
Hm, test should be done in 3k and with preview set to framing. If something is strange a restart should help. It seems the issue can´t be reproduced all the time? Is this correct?

Danne

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6458
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #3171 on: July 25, 2019, 09:29:49 PM »
New version:
https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=9741.msg208959#msg208959

- Pushed a few x5 zoom fixes when using x10 focus aid.

IkerKovach

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #3172 on: July 25, 2019, 10:05:11 PM »
hi everyone! i am new here, sorry for language, i'm from russia.
i'm using Danne's magic lantern configuration from 23th of July on my eos m, and when i'm recording 24fps mv1080 2.35:1 12bit raw, loading this to mlvapp in order to get cDNG, after this i am loading this to after effects to make "detail preserving upscale" and colorgrade, after this i'am using final render to h.264 for youtube and i am getting video track and audio track the same lenght, but audio isn't synchronized with picture. I need to make video track with 80% speed and move my audio track a little bit. Its very annoying. Of course, i'am not using this audio in final video, but i need it to synchronize with my other micro and a few other cameras. In every step i'am using in settings 24 fps (from mlvapp to AE, from AE cDNG to h.264).
what should i change? what's my misstake?

Apxub

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #3173 on: July 26, 2019, 03:26:09 AM »
New version:
Danne, please make fast on/off waveform with a button push (up/left/right)

ngemu

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 82
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #3174 on: July 26, 2019, 04:24:38 AM »
New version:
https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=9741.msg208959#msg208959

- Pushed a few x5 zoom fixes when using x10 focus aid.


Hi Danne, just played around with the latest build and wow, lines are still there but greatly improved.  :)


before
https://imgur.com/ednpgDP

after
https://imgur.com/Z4HYsiT

MLV
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1Ly6kXM9noiQNhdSSoCvL_BK0asHhlMwy/view?usp=sharing