Author Topic: Canon EOS M  (Read 749745 times)

masc

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1026
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #2725 on: May 21, 2019, 10:48:07 PM »
but it is already stretched to 16:9. it just uses a lower resolution. Can we not stretch it to 16:9 but using the resolution in the 2.35 setting?
There is nothing stretched. It is cropped!
5D2.212 | EOSM.202

lightspeed

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #2726 on: May 22, 2019, 01:16:15 AM »
So it is not possible to turn 1664 x 2126 into 3763 x 2126

masc

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1026
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #2727 on: May 22, 2019, 10:07:01 AM »
Have you read and understood this post?

This is the sensor:
RGRGRGRGR...
GBGBGBGBG...
RGRGRGRGR...
....

Now read each column (=1x1=no stretching needed):
RGRGRGRGR...
GBGBGBGBG...
RGRGRGRGR...

Now read each 3rd column (=1x3=needs 3x horizontally stretching in post)
RGR...
GBG...
RGR...

Now read you suggestion, each 2nd column (=1x2=needs 2x horizontally stretching in post)
RRRR...
GGGG...
RRRR...
But where is the blue gone?! ---> impossible.

On the other side, 1664x2126 is already to large to get continuous recording. How do you want to save the double data at the same time?
5D2.212 | EOSM.202

lightspeed

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #2728 on: May 23, 2019, 03:56:31 AM »
I see. thanks

baladev

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 72
  • 5Dm3 - 6D - 7D - EOS M
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #2729 on: May 23, 2019, 05:48:48 PM »
- Possible fix for corrupted frames in anamorphic modes

For all "anamorphers" out there you may wanna test this version since it seems we can get corruptionless footage. Not that there was a lot of it but still.
@Danne

Tested your latest build - crop_rec_4k_mlv_snd_isogain_1x3_presets_2019May20.EOSM202
Filmed two clips - 10 and 5 minutes long at 1072x1810 25fps 12bit with 4k anam preset.
In the 10 min clip I found 23 corrupted frames in the first 4m20s of it, didn't check after that.
In the 5 min clip I found 0 corrupted frames, the difference is that I was filming during sunset and the second clip was much darker.

Danne

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5329
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #2730 on: May 23, 2019, 06:03:29 PM »
Nice with test.
I wonder if the original preset 1072x1900 works with 10bit and 24fps? The 16:9 is really only experimental. I rely on 2:35.1 to see if they can be considered reliable.

baladev

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 72
  • 5Dm3 - 6D - 7D - EOS M
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #2731 on: May 23, 2019, 06:41:05 PM »
Do you mean the 1488x1900 preset you get by running your cinema 2:35 script? I will test it, but it seems to me current anamorphic presets get corruption when they are close to maximum writing speed when data pipeline is saturated and something starts to break. So, one needs to make sure not to go above 60-62mbs or maybe even lower and things should be ok?

Danne

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5329
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #2732 on: May 23, 2019, 07:10:24 PM »
New version:
https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=9741.msg208959#msg208959

@Baladev.
Untested:
I did following(ananorphic rewired mode). If selecting 16:9 10 bit you´ll get 1120x1900 but if you select 12bit it will instead do 1064x1800. Hit menu button if changing bitdepth. Test if 12bit is corruption free with 25fps.

masc

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1026
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #2733 on: May 23, 2019, 08:49:24 PM »
I did following(ananorphic rewired mode). If selecting 16:9 10 bit you´ll get 1120x1900 but if you select 12bit it will instead do 1164x1800. Hit menu button if changing bitdepth. Test if 12bit is corruption free with 25fps.
Really? But 1164x1800 is 17.5x9 ... is that correct?
5D2.212 | EOSM.202

Danne

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5329
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #2734 on: May 23, 2019, 09:15:55 PM »
Yes, the magic ratio @masc  8)
Na, sorry typo, should be 1064x1800.

Added also 12bit reduction resolution in 2.35:1 mode so this will jump into 1328x1700 when selecting 12bit(use menu button to activate regs).
Reuploaded a build in above link.

baladev

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 72
  • 5Dm3 - 6D - 7D - EOS M
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #2735 on: May 24, 2019, 07:33:36 AM »
Ok, did a tests with these settings:
crop_rec_4k_mlv_snd_isogain_1x3_presets_2019May23.EOSM202
4k anamorph preset, 1064x1800 12bit 25fps iso100
Bright sunny day, lots of trees and some white roof tops in the frame (can't post pictures for some reason).
Scene underexposed by ~1 stop (i believe vertical lines in the histogram are stops?) to avoid highlights clipping and to reduce data rate.
Two clips - 10 and 5 minutes.
For the first 6 minutes the time indicator was green, then became orange when the sun came out from behind a cloud, making rooftops very bright.
Result - 0 corrupted frames.

Danne

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5329
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #2736 on: May 24, 2019, 08:35:38 AM »
Wow. That sounds great. Thanks for the test.

Jip-Hop

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #2737 on: May 24, 2019, 05:30:17 PM »
Bought the EF-M 22mm f/2 STM today and it came with a free EOS M. Now I've got 2! Can't wait to start using ML extensively on both of them ^^

baladev

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 72
  • 5Dm3 - 6D - 7D - EOS M
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #2738 on: May 25, 2019, 04:59:30 AM »
Try turning off all the modules, start camera in photo mode and shoot a still with that kit lens attached. Chances are the shutter won't fire.
I'm now on the latest Danne's build - crop_rec_4k_mlv_snd_isogain_1x3_presets_2019May23.EOSM202
Just repeated the test with all 3 of my 18-55mm kit lenses.

With two I couldn't reproduce the shutter bug by doing this:
1 disable all modules
2 start camera in photo mode
3 take pictures
4 switch to video mode
5 take pictures
6 switch back to photo mode
7 take pictures

The camera focused and took photos fine.

With the third lens I was getting one misfire (when I press the shutter button and nothing happened) at 2nd and 7th steps. First attempt of taking photo didn't work, consecutive attempts worked fine.

A few days ago when I was trying to purposefully reproduce the shutter bug with the original lens, I managed to succeed by messing around in ML menu and doing crazy things like disabling modules and re-enabling them again right away:) Then I would get one misfire and then it worked fine again. One time I managed to get it permanent - all attempts of taking photos let to shutter not firing - don't remember what I did ( I think I started in video mode and filmed a short raw clip and then switched to photo and attempted to take a shot), but a camera reboot fixed it and it went back to normal.

berechiah

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 32
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #2739 on: May 27, 2019, 10:15:25 AM »
Bought the EF-M 22mm f/2 STM today and it came with a free EOS M. Now I've got 2! Can't wait to start using ML extensively on both of them ^^

Can u give me a like I'd actually buy one right now if I could

I'm in Ireland

berechiah

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 32
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #2740 on: May 27, 2019, 10:16:53 AM »
Thanks Danne and baladev

2blackbar

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 135
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #2741 on: May 28, 2019, 05:00:19 PM »
RAW vs H.264 highlight details on CANON M if someone is tempted to go back to H.264


lightspeed

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #2742 on: May 28, 2019, 11:12:14 PM »
Is there anyway to have a 4x crop? instead of the 3.33? I have a lens that vignettes in the corners

theBilalFakhouri

  • Contributor
  • Senior
  • *****
  • Posts: 304
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #2743 on: May 28, 2019, 11:49:52 PM »
Is there anyway to have a 4x crop? instead of the 3.33? I have a lens that vignettes in the corners

2048x1080 has 4.07 crop factor, chose it from mlv_lite submenu.

Here is a useful calculator for resolutions and crop factors .. etc
https://rawcalculator.netlify.com/calculator_desktop

Edit: you can use main dial to make small increments, from mlv_lite submenu highlight the resolution and use main dial to decrease/increase resolution.
700D 1.1.5 | no more ISOless LV err 8

lightspeed

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #2744 on: May 29, 2019, 12:00:01 AM »
Thanks. I guess there isn't a way to use it with the 3k setting. The vignetting is actually off center. is it possible to scan the image to the right at all?

Danne

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5329
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #2745 on: May 29, 2019, 06:47:17 AM »
Thanks. I guess there isn't a way to use it with the 3k setting. The vignetting is actually off center. is it possible to scan the image to the right at all?

In crop mode sub menu you can reach cmos5. Try setting it to 300 and onwards. Test 320, 340 etc. Also 400 and above. Maybe you find a good setting. Then report back.

lightspeed

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #2746 on: May 29, 2019, 09:02:25 AM »
I tried some of them but was not able to fix the vignetting. guess the lens is just to small

rev787

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #2747 on: May 29, 2019, 05:10:56 PM »
Going through some old threads, Danne's dual-iso demo file at #1860 seems doesn't flicker. So I tried to build from last commit of Jan.11, still got flicker. May be that clip is too short to show that. At least I learned how to compile ML today and didn't break my camera. Thanks Danne and all the devs.

dfort

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3677
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #2748 on: May 29, 2019, 05:12:13 PM »
...The vignetting is actually off center. is it possible to scan the image to the right at all?

If you can compile you can adjust the skip offsets to center the image. There was a similar issue on the 60D. You can read how we resolved that on the Raw Video framing is off when using 60D's 'Movie Crop Mode'. Help! topic.
5D3.* 7D.206 700D.115 EOSM.203 EOSM2.103 M50.102

Jip-Hop

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #2749 on: June 01, 2019, 04:30:40 PM »
First time taking my EOS M for a spin outside.
I used the latest build:
crop_rec_4k_mlv_snd_isogain_1x3_presets_2019May26.EOSM202

So far I'm really impressed with the results.
Filmed mostly in mv1080p MCM rewire.
Didn't have any major issues, but I noticed I have to toggle the Canon menu button almost every time I startup the camera.
It seems to start up in crop mode by default.
Clicking the Canon menu button twice gave me the expected wider field of view.

This is my ML folder with the settings:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/eqonfs69xx9aaqm/M28-1255.MLV?dl=0

When I filled up my SanDisk Extreme PRO 64GB 170MB/s card, I continued with a slower KomputerBay card. Didn't get continuous recording on that one, but that was expected.

However, six clips came out at 1736x696 resolution.
Here's one of the clips: https://www.dropbox.com/s/eqonfs69xx9aaqm/M28-1255.MLV?dl=0.
MLV App opens it with a height stretch of 1.67 to make it 1736x1160 which is a 3x2 aspect ratio.

The rest of the clips are 16x9 at 1736x976 resolution, as expected.

What could be the cause those clips were recorded at a different resolution?