Author Topic: Canon EOS M  (Read 850774 times)

Danne

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5919
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #2275 on: February 19, 2019, 08:07:25 AM »
Added Movie crop mode resolution for engio_vidmode_ok so now it will be possible to modify engio regs from crop_rec.c. Missed that little detail before. Will add capture regs later.
Code: [Select]
     engio_vidmode_ok =
             (old == 0x4540298) /* x5 zoom */ || (old == 0x42401e4) /* x3 digital zoom */ || (old == 0x4a601d4) /* 1080p */ || (old == 0x2d701d4 /* 720p */);

cmos regs can already be tweaked from inside Crop mode sub menu if one wants to play around with extreme moiré fixing.

Sidenote. Could reg 8000 have something to do with the extreme moiré setting? Noticed it will affect image when all cmos regs are set but it till not enter x3zoom. It´s correctly set to 6 here but maybe it´s not switched on before toggling canon menu.

Danne

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5919
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #2276 on: February 19, 2019, 11:44:48 AM »
New build:
https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=9741.msg208959#msg208959

The mv1080p MCM rewire will now work as any other preset. All Crop mode sub menu options available:
bitdepth
ratios
x3crop
set 25fps
registry...

Also added a config fix from long ago. Once Movie crop mode is enabled it will stay enabled upon restart as well. Upon restart it will start in x3zoom so push canon menu button and back to set the preset fully.

No luck on higher frame rates yet. Shaving height is prone to crashing.

jacquaviva

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #2277 on: February 19, 2019, 12:11:30 PM »
Hi Danne,

So now we can use the rewire preset without adding "Movie crop mode" ?
Does it mean it records like mv1080p but with the corrected preview ?

No more bugs from the previous rewire mode ? And no need to press menu button ?

Thanks again for your big work, it is really incredible...

masc

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1372
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #2278 on: February 19, 2019, 12:16:10 PM »
And no need to press menu button ?
->
Once Movie crop mode is enabled it will stay enabled upon restart as well. Upon restart it will start in x3zoom so push canon menu button and back to set the preset fully.
5D2.212 | EOSM.202

jacquaviva

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #2279 on: February 19, 2019, 12:16:40 PM »
Sorry, you already awnsered in your post; I get it.
Thanks

masc

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1372
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #2280 on: February 19, 2019, 12:33:31 PM »
Ok, so "Movie Crop Mode" has still to be set manually. x3 zoom mode works fine. When selecting 2.35:1 : is there a way to crop the top and bottom of the liveview?
In terms of 25fps I was a tiny bit more satisfied before with yesterdays build - because I got 25.000fps and with some Shutter fine tuning I got exactly 1/50.000s. Identical to my 5D2. Now we get 25.003 and 1/50.006s (tuning @ -0.23ms). Is it possible to get the exact thing when activating 25fps in submenu?
5D2.212 | EOSM.202

Danne

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5919
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #2281 on: February 19, 2019, 12:41:39 PM »
For preview crop in 2.35:1 I think it has to be set in RAW video menu instead of in the Crop mode menu. Havn't checked.
Fine tuning shutter. Could look into it. Maybe we could keep defaults not touching fps regs except for when set 25 fps is set in Crop mode sub menu. Then we could choose 25fps from canon menu instead as well. Also 30fps should work if set to ntsc.

I could enable Movie crop mode when selecting the preset but since we can't deselect people will wonder why all of a sudden all is wonky changing presets maybe not knowing why Movie crop mode is set. Now at least it has to be turned on for awareness.

Danne

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5919
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #2282 on: February 19, 2019, 03:32:34 PM »
New build:
https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=9741.msg208959#msg208959

- Enables Movie crop mode when selecting mv1080p MCM rewire. Will disable Movie crop mode when changing preset to something else in Crop mode menu. Absolutely needs pushing canon MENU button and back between changes. Note that when restarting camera in mv1080p MCM rewire mode will get you right into action. Forgetting canon MENU push at this stage will surely record some of the nastiest moiré clips ever so don´t blame me  when that happens :P (please check a1ex post: Details: extreme-moire.html)

- Canon fps 24, 25, 30 all works as default. If changing ratio or using set 25fps from Crop mode sub menu will instead add preset regs from crop_rec.c leaving canon fps modes.

If anyone can find a way of refreshing canon menu when changing presets please let me know. Also would be good if (cmos?) extreme moiré could be fixed without pushing canon menu etc...

jacquaviva

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #2283 on: February 19, 2019, 04:06:34 PM »
Thank, do you think a 1736x1158 rewire mode would work ?

Danne

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5919
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #2284 on: February 19, 2019, 04:10:09 PM »
Might work.

jacquaviva

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #2285 on: February 19, 2019, 04:17:48 PM »
This would be the perfect super 35 camera, 16:9 & 3:2 Raw.

theBilalFakhouri

  • Contributor
  • Senior
  • *****
  • Posts: 354
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #2286 on: February 19, 2019, 08:10:28 PM »
1736x976 @ 50 FPS was done in the new crop_rec for 700D, no Idea what is the registers values or FPS Timers I don't have my cam to check that.

Why not to try to port EOS M to new crop_rec  :D .
700D 1.1.5 | no more ISOless LV err 8

Danne

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5919
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #2287 on: February 19, 2019, 08:15:10 PM »
Believe me, I tried  8). I got it partially working. Still a few extra tweaks to get it going and I will revisit it in the future.

the_real_bill_jones

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #2288 on: February 20, 2019, 12:22:30 AM »
Still having troubles with movie crop mode. I'm using Danne's latest build.

First picture is what I see when filming in a 2.35 aspect ratio, in movie crop. Not crop rec




And this is the final image. Obviously it's cropped down to 2.35, but it's also shifted to the left slightly.




So what gives? Is this just how it is? Can I fix it? Thanks

Danne

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5919
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #2289 on: February 20, 2019, 12:27:43 PM »
New build:
https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=9741.msg208959#msg208959

- Fixed preview without black border(should be in perfect alignment)
- Real time preview 2.35:1 should now work with rewire mode(corrected cropmarks)

See to it that you push canon menu button when selecting and changing from mcm rewire mode. Even changing ratio requires a menu push.

Commits:
https://bitbucket.org/Dannephoto/magic-lantern/commits/29b1715bdd43f98b627d7eff35a0dad4523dca51
https://bitbucket.org/Dannephoto/magic-lantern/commits/0bbd0bcca72273e25666626f50807a3c593fc05e


@the_real_bill_jones
Please read at least 10-20 last posts. All has been asked and discussed already.

jacquaviva

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #2290 on: February 20, 2019, 01:11:53 PM »
This is genius.

Danne

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5919
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #2291 on: February 21, 2019, 11:21:45 AM »
New build:
https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=9741.msg208959#msg208959

- The lua script which auto sets sd_uhs overclocking will now also open and close canon menu if mv1080p MCM rewire mode is set to settle all registers upon starting camera. Hopefully keeps extreme moiré away. So easiest set up would be to run the eosm_cine.lua script and then one is free to change to any preset, ratio, bitdepth etc and can forget about pushes here and there after restarting camera.

On a sidenote it´s actually possible to record 34 fps in H264 with the rewire mode set. Simply turn off RAW video and set FPS override to 34. That´s a few more fps than expected for H264. Going further just stops recording even before it starts. Why? I have no idea but finding out that would be something else..

AF-OFF

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 97
  • 50Dc EOSM
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #2292 on: February 21, 2019, 01:45:28 PM »
tested Danne's two last builds. no damaged frames so far
I've found that the 2.5k mode has a 28 pixel row on top in both builds
The res of this mode changed also quite a bit from the initial 2520x1304
then there is a strange haze in mv1080p MCM mode and aliasing
also noticed , when changing iso, like from 200 to 400, on eos-m screen there is a green haze or stripes
the recorded image is without the haze

please see the MLV App screenshots below

I hope this can help a little. I can provide some dngs if necessary.
Many big Thanks to Danne and others!













Danne

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5919
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #2293 on: February 21, 2019, 02:35:22 PM »
New build:
https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=9741.msg208959#msg208959


Thanks for samples and tests @AF-OFF
- I fixed the top row for 2k 16:9 setting

Regarding the other stuff all is to be expected. Short anwer:
1 - Run the eosm_cine.lua to start off clean
2 - If changing presets push canon menu and back and also enter ml menu and back for all registers to set. This is even more important with mcm rewire mode. When working with mcm rewire mode itself it often includes pushing canon menu if you e.g change bitdepth etc.
3 - turn off 10bit or 12bit in Crop mode sub menu to record without green cast. The green cast is a result of pushing liveview brightness when running reduced bitdepths. Don´t expect continuous 14bit lossless though.
4 - Regarding aliasing and moiré. Please read through last 20 posts.

If you still can get shitty footage following above please let me know.

AF-OFF

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 97
  • 50Dc EOSM
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #2294 on: February 21, 2019, 04:02:01 PM »
thanks a lot Danne
I did the steps previously too (1 & 2 in Your post)
the row at top disappeared (2.5k 16:9)
res. in 16:9 is now 2192x1234 and with 2,35:1 2520x1072
what changed also - leaving ML menu und entering/leaving  Canon menu breaks LV. Double Enter/Leave ML menu fixes that. But not in the mv1080p MCM mode. have to restart the cam.
5k preset does not record continuous anymore. did change fps to 18, then it did. Thought it was because 14bit lossless (didn't change bit depth in crop_rec) but MLV App reports 10 bit lossless ...
and no corrupted frames in any res by now

many thanks for explanation ( point 3 & 4 )






Danne

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5919
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #2295 on: February 21, 2019, 04:29:53 PM »

AF-OFF

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 97
  • 50Dc EOSM
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #2296 on: February 21, 2019, 06:14:18 PM »
hey Danne
the new version acts now more as expected
if going to 2.5k mode and changing something, leaving ML menu and entering leaving canon menu breaks LV but entering/leaving ML menu once more fixes LV again. All other modes tested don't have this error.

tested 5k, mv1080p MCM & 2.5k & mv_1080p with the last three first with default 2,35:1 & 16:9
with exception of 5k mode 10bit lossless all other 14bit lossless

another thing to mention - as You wrote about the green cast related to 10 & 12bit modes - is this the same as when applying 3x3 chroma smoothing in MLV App makes the image greenish?
Noticed this does not happen with 14bit footage in MLV App

in 5k(10bit) and 2.5k(14bit) I can record with 18 fps continuous ( 51-52 MB/sec)

Thanks for Your work!

tried 5k in 16:9, 10bit works well @ 15fps








 

Danne

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5919
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #2297 on: February 21, 2019, 06:46:49 PM »
I only use 2.35:1 4.5k anamorpic. All modes 10bit except rewired, works 14bit lossless.

AF-OFF

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 97
  • 50Dc EOSM
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #2298 on: February 21, 2019, 07:19:32 PM »
thanks for info
Anywhere possible I'm now trying to use 14bit lossless

What I also forgot to mention is now the first recording (after power up, mode change always stops after a sec. I've tried card warmup but does not change this. usually the second or third recording goes continuous. This is in all modes I've tested, but was not like this before. hope this is useful for You Danne

Also the 5k mode can do 24fps. the speed is shown as 44-45 MB
I did not try long enough, just thought I have to reduce fps.

 

Danne

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5919
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #2299 on: February 21, 2019, 07:43:02 PM »
I tested just now but it works as expected. You might want to format card and start with a fresh build. As stated before, continuous should be able for all presets when set to 2.35:1 and 10bit, otherwise not, except for some of the presets(mcm rewire, 2.5k etc. Might work with 16:9).
Thanks for testing.