Author Topic: Canon EOS M  (Read 544266 times)

oenopion

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1300 on: October 23, 2017, 10:24:05 PM »
See replies #1276 and #1277.
I'm not sure if this suggestion was for my issue, but this is not the shutter bug problem. Also, I use the 22mm and a Tokina 12mm as my lenses. I can take photos in MF, just the half press AF is not working, nor is the scroll wheel, side buttons inside it, and the enter button in the center. Inside ML, I can't do anything, since I'm stuck in the white balance icon, and can't swipe out of it. I will try uninstalling tonight, but wanted to see if this issue had popped up before. It seems like I am stuck in MF, and with the scroll wheel locked out. Just no idea how I got there, or how to get out either.

dfort

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2316
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1301 on: October 23, 2017, 11:30:58 PM »
Is it working without ML? Just pull out the card and see if it is working properly. Maybe your ML settings are corrupted? Delete the ML/SETTINGS folder from your SD card and try it again. I've had situations where my Canon settings were the problem, you can try resetting those too.
5D3.* 7D.* 700D.115 EOSM.* EOSM2.103

oenopion

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1302 on: October 25, 2017, 12:52:55 AM »
Is it working without ML? Just pull out the card and see if it is working properly. Maybe your ML settings are corrupted? Delete the ML/SETTINGS folder from your SD card and try it again. I've had situations where my Canon settings were the problem, you can try resetting those too.
Yes, even without a card my scroll wheel and the buttons on it are unresponsive. Clearing settings didn't do anything. Maybe I'll try updating the firmware to 2.03? Can I use ML with that version of firmware?

Licaon_Kter

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 516
  • M
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1303 on: October 25, 2017, 10:59:58 AM »
Yes, even without a card my scroll wheel and the buttons on it are unresponsive. Clearing settings didn't do anything. Maybe I'll try updating the firmware to 2.03? Can I use ML with that version of firmware?
There is an experimental 2.0.3 version, but it's better to stay on 2.0.2.

Say that resetting CANON settings did not help?

dfort

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2316
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1304 on: October 25, 2017, 04:49:41 PM »
Sounds more like a hardware issue.
5D3.* 7D.* 700D.115 EOSM.* EOSM2.103

oenopion

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1305 on: October 25, 2017, 04:51:18 PM »
There is an experimental 2.0.3 version, but it's better to stay on 2.0.2.

Say that resetting CANON settings did not help?
Yes, resetting did not fix the problem. That's why I asked about the 2.0.3 upgrade. Can I upgrade, but revert to 2.0.2 if the upgrade fixes the problem? Of course, it could be a hardware issue?

oenopion

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1306 on: October 25, 2017, 04:54:45 PM »
Sounds more like a hardware issue.
I was just typing that thought as you posted.
Is there any way to check (diagnostic)? Or is that repair shop territory?

Walter Schulz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5875
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1307 on: October 25, 2017, 05:58:10 PM »
I suggest to wait for a1ex's opinion on that before going to upgrade/downgrade firmware.
Do you have backups of ROM0.BIN and ROM1.BIN?

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10712
  • 5D Mark Free
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1308 on: October 25, 2017, 06:20:08 PM »
It's possible to build some diagnostic code (based on some old Linux experiments), but it takes a while, and I won't get a contiguous chunk of time to experiment with it until weekend (and possibly not even then).

Upgrading the firmware is unlikely to help, but shouldn't hurt.

If you can compile ML, start from the dm-spy-experiments branch, comment out LOG_INTERRUPTS, and you may also have to leave just mpu_send / mpu_recv (as LiveView is very verbose). If you know how to start the camera without LiveView (maybe by starting directly in Canon menu, or in play mode), try that, as these modes are way less verbose. Then try the affected buttons in these modes, to see what events you get. Button codes are mpu_recv(06 05 06 ...).

Also related: anyone else who can compile is welcome to get some logs for troubleshooting the menu timeout issue.

oenopion

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1309 on: October 25, 2017, 06:33:15 PM »
Thanks, a1ex. I haven't tried to compile, but will take a look later when I have time.
Since the problem still exists without an sd card in camera, is this pointing toward a hardware failure?
And if I do the firmware upgrade, can I revert to the firmware that is more stable with ML?

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10712
  • 5D Mark Free
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1310 on: October 25, 2017, 09:11:38 PM »
That's the point of these diagnostic tools - to find out what's going on. In particular, the bootloader test will show the raw GUI events, not altered by a possibly misconfigured main firmware.

The dm-spy logs should also be pretty good in this case. There is a precompiled build here (the latest one has LOG_INTERRUPTS disabled, but it might still be too verbose - try to start the camera without entering LiveView; even a few LiveView frames will fill the buffer very quickly). That's why it's best if you can compile - you'll have to fiddle with the logging code to get useful info (here, you may want to silence LiveView messages, for example).

dfort

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2316
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1311 on: November 02, 2017, 01:23:26 AM »
Upgrading the firmware is unlikely to help, but shouldn't hurt.

So how about doing a little upgrade on the EOSM? Posted a pull request to test out the latest Canon firmware on the bleeding edge crop_rec_4k branch.

https://bitbucket.org/hudson/magic-lantern/pull-requests/879/crop-rec-4k-eosm203/diff

Test build available in my Bitbucket downloads page:

https://bitbucket.org/daniel_fort/magic-lantern/downloads/
5D3.* 7D.* 700D.115 EOSM.* EOSM2.103

Vinx

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1312 on: November 13, 2017, 08:25:56 PM »
Hello, i am new so maybe mine is a stupid question. I've installed latest ML firmware on my EOS M. Everything's gone fine, no shutter bug. The only thing is that while i am in the option view i see a red symbol flashing in the right low corner of the screen. Can't understand what is it.
Hope you can help me.

Thank you




Licaon_Kter

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 516
  • M

EOSM-user_1

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1314 on: November 21, 2017, 04:57:18 AM »
Hi Garry,
thanks for offering the lua scripts - can you tell me the compatible lenses for the FB? Tried with Canon EOS 70-300 IS USM - FB does not show up although the script is loaded. Is FB compatible with a regular prime 50mm F/1.8 STM ?

Cheers.

Russ

I haven't used rack focus on the EOSM, you will need to test this.

I do know that ML has difficulty driving native EOSM m lenses, i.e. it will drive EOS lenses via an adapter.

I have two Lua scripts running on my EOSM.

One is called the toggler, and it allows you to toggle between various ML states. That is you don't need to go into the ML menu.

The other is my focus bar, which gives you three killer features.

First, you are visually presented with the focus field between the near and far depth of fields.

Second, you can achieve an optimum focus when doing landscape work, which is a focus point between the HFD and infinity. The focus bar also gives you info on the defocus and diffraction blurs, so you can make focus decisions.

Thirdly, the focus bar allows you to focus bracket.

You can download and read about my scripts at photography.grayheron.net

Cheers

Garry

Walter Schulz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5875
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1315 on: November 22, 2017, 12:56:09 PM »
thanks for offering the lua scripts - can you tell me the compatible lenses for the FB? Tried with Canon EOS 70-300 IS USM - FB does not show up although the script is loaded.

Canon EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM is among the few lenses featuring "micro-USM". Most micro-USM lenses lack of FTM and focus distance encoder. This lens is not suited for FB script.

hikari

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1316 on: November 24, 2017, 12:12:38 AM »
Good day, Guys,

I have an M6, and it amazes me that Canon crippled Live Shooting and being able to use as a webcam.

My question is can Magic Lantern enable live shooting and Webcam for the Canon M6.

In the past, I had a Rebel, Which I hong from the ceiling and would connect to my computer via USB and EOS utility.
I would manage my shots with Live view and was able to stream it as well using Wirecast.

My goal and hopes is that Magic Lantern can get me back to is on the M6

Thank you.

Walter Schulz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5875
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1317 on: November 24, 2017, 09:47:46 AM »
Top of page -> Downloads -> Download Nightly Build -> Scroll down to "Your camera is not listed?"
If M6 follows Canon's M lineup (M2 successors) it is hosting PowerShot code and you will not get ML ported. Jump to CHDK instead.

MrFurious70

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1318 on: November 25, 2017, 08:50:39 AM »
Hi I'm new to Magic Lantern and so far finding it a pretty awesome hack and most of what I need seems to run perfectly. If I might add a suggestion/request...

I noticed there is the UpsideDown mode, which rotates the display 180 degrees. I was wondering if it wouldn't be difficult to also ad the option to flip the display vertically, so users of fixed LCD cameras such as the eosM could rig up a mirror to the bottom of the LCD for 'top down' shooting?

Similar to this...




Walter Schulz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5875
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1319 on: November 25, 2017, 09:21:36 PM »
650D has this feature and EOS M should do, too:
Display tab -> Advanced Settings
- UpsideDown mode ON
- Orientation Mirror

EDIT: Sorry, just checked https://builds.magiclantern.fm/features.html and EOS M does not support Image Orientation.

garry23

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1386
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1320 on: November 25, 2017, 10:04:51 PM »
I just hope it does one day  ;)

I suggested this a while ago.

It really is needed.


MrFurious70

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1321 on: November 25, 2017, 11:12:45 PM »
Looking at the ML User Guide, it seems the feature required for this to work is "Display: Normal/Reverse/Mirror", under Display-->Advanced Settings.

Does this mean that the 'Display: Normal/Reverse/Mirror' could possibly be added to the eosM, or that this is not possible because the eosM is not a  flip-out LCD camera?




a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10712
  • 5D Mark Free
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1322 on: November 26, 2017, 12:53:45 PM »
These 3 functions are only present in Canon firmware on models with flip-out LCD. The feature is likely implemented in hardware, so the low-level interface might be present in other models as well.

If you run these functions in QEMU (-d debugmsg to log Canon's debug messages; change this option from ML menu and write down what their code does), you'll get this (700D):

Code: [Select]
[ GuiMainTask:ff4d5698 ] (04:03) -->Mirror start
...
[  DisplayMgr:ff129644 ] (82:03) TFT Command start
[  DisplayMgr:ff127de0 ] (82:01) SIO [0]:0x36
[  DisplayMgr:ff127de0 ] (82:01) SIO [1]:0x140
[  DisplayMgr:ff129684 ] (82:03) TFT Command end
...
[ GuiMainTask:00088c10 ] (04:03) Mirror finish

[ GuiMainTask:ff4d56f8 ] (04:03) -->Normal start
...
[  DisplayMgr:ff127de0 ] (82:01) SIO [0]:0x36
[  DisplayMgr:ff127de0 ] (82:01) SIO [1]:0x100


[ GuiMainTask:ff4d56c8 ] (04:03) -->Reverse start
[  DisplayMgr:ff127de0 ] (82:01) SIO [0]:0x36
[  DisplayMgr:ff127de0 ] (82:01) SIO [1]:0x1c0

so it's likely to be on the TFT controller, in SIO [1]. On D4 models, this looks similar, but with 4 SIO numbers and different values. 70D uses yet another set of values.

Can the same SIO communication be replayed on other models? I've tested this on 5D3 1.1.3, unsuccessfully (the display turns off; you can check the debug messages in QEMU or with dm-spy-experiments):

Code: [Select]
static void run_test()
{
    msleep(3000);

    #ifdef CONFIG_5D3_113
    void (*lcd_sio_init)() = (void *) 0xFF12D284;
    void (*lcd_sio_write)(uint32_t * data, int size) = (void *) 0xFF12D1E0;
    void (*lcd_sio_finish)(void * sio_obj) = (void *) 0xFF13BDC8;
    void ** p_lcd_sio_obj = (void **) 0x246F0;
    #endif

    printf("LCD sio start\n");
    lcd_sio_init();
    lcd_sio_write((uint32_t[]) { 0x36, 0x140 }, 2);
    lcd_sio_finish(*p_lcd_sio_obj);
    printf("LCD sio finish\n");
}

My advice would be:
1) try the above code (update the stubs first!) on 700D or 650D (not other models) and make sure it mirrors the display (there may be more things to patch, no idea)
2) after 1) is working, try on EOS M (extremely unlikely to work on other models)

edit: after comparing the TFT SIO initialization sequences, 650D and 700D are identical, while 5D3 and EOSM are quite different, so the chances of this working are next to none. Still, I'm curious whether the above code works on 650D/700D (even if this knowledge has no practical value right now, it might have later).



BTW - it is possible to implement the image orientation in software, using the display filter interface. Disadvantages: low frame rate; will not work with other display filters (raw video preview, anamorphic/fisheye correction etc).

Walter Schulz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5875
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1323 on: November 26, 2017, 01:15:13 PM »
Would like to test on 650D but I have no idea which stubs have to be updated.

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10712
  • 5D Mark Free
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1324 on: November 26, 2017, 01:23:01 PM »
All of them.

650D 104: FF127E88, FF127D88, FF13B868, 23C48.
700D 115: FF128A28, FF128928, FF13C420, 23C58.



update: the TFT controller on 5D3 can definitely do mirroring and flipping. Just opened a reverse engineering thread for this.