Author Topic: Canon EOS M  (Read 1264744 times)

harrynkl

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1025 on: June 27, 2016, 07:06:04 AM »
sorry guys, If this a repeat question from other.
Is EOS M10 capable of shooting with ML?

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7961
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1026 on: June 29, 2016, 08:16:29 AM »
According to CHDK project camera's code base is Canon's P&S line.
As a1ex pointed out it might not be impossible to implement ML but it's about as difficult to port ML to Nikon DSLRs.
-> No dev is working on it and you better put your hopes in CHDK.
https://chdk.setepontos.com/index.php?topic=12757.0

Nvilla

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1027 on: July 05, 2016, 01:34:04 AM »
how do i install the bin file on the sd card for the m10?

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7961
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1028 on: July 05, 2016, 07:19:46 AM »
You don't. See message above yours.

mapline

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Canon EOS M Screen Print Problem
« Reply #1029 on: July 07, 2016, 05:55:18 PM »
Hi
Problem first image perfect (B&W)but if I do a another screen from info button  I get coloured background (light blue) not B&W.
Tried reformating , reinstalling ML, different card but no change!
Can you please tell me what Im doing wrong?
Opening in Adobe cs6
Thanks




 any guidance?

ZilvinasK

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1030 on: July 08, 2016, 12:58:40 AM »
Hello guys, I just installed ML to my Eos M and there is no audio metering and no audio menu in ML. Audio without ML works fine, but not with ML.
Could you help me? Thanks.

Licaon_Kter

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 519
  • M
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1031 on: July 08, 2016, 01:18:51 PM »
 What ML build date?

mapline

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1032 on: July 08, 2016, 04:50:59 PM »
Hi
magiclantern-Nightly.2016Jun13.EOSM202.zip
Built on: 2016-06-12 23:08:10 +0100
Changeset: 90fe6de
Many thanks

Licaon_Kter

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 519
  • M
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1033 on: July 08, 2016, 06:52:14 PM »
Reset ML settings to default.
Reset Canon settings to default.
Retry.

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12564
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1034 on: July 08, 2016, 07:10:09 PM »
@Licaon_Kter: are you able to get correct behavior on your EOS M?

On-topic: the palette registers are write-only, so if you are able to get the palette values, be my guest ;)

Licaon_Kter

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 519
  • M
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1035 on: July 08, 2016, 07:26:17 PM »
@Licaon_Kter: are you able to get correct behavior on your EOS M?
Not sure what the problem is though.
S/he make a screenshot of ML or what?

mapline

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1036 on: July 08, 2016, 11:35:31 PM »
Hi from he (Michael)
Reset camera to defaults
Formatted card and reinstalled ML
Same results PPM file 1 good other blue


Camera and ML working fine except screen print. Loaded PPM files to Adobe CS6 to convert to jpeg
Thanks for your time

dfort

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3751
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1037 on: July 10, 2016, 01:13:12 AM »
I tried reproducing this and it turns out that the colors are wrong when doing a screen capture of the Canon INFO screen. All of the other screen captures I tried turned out fine.

5D3.* 7D.206 700D.115 EOSM.203 EOSM2.103 M50.102

Licaon_Kter

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 519
  • M
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1038 on: July 10, 2016, 04:09:07 AM »
Yes, I can confirm too. Strange.

mapline

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1039 on: July 10, 2016, 01:50:02 PM »
Thanks for replies, at least I know its not just my camera!

dmilligan

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3218
  • 60Da / 1100D / EOSM
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1040 on: July 11, 2016, 03:01:33 PM »
Yes, I can confirm too. Strange.
Thanks for replies, at least I know its not just my camera!

a1ex already gave you the answer to what is going on, it's seems maybe the answer passed over your heads:

the palette registers are write-only, so if you are able to get the palette values, be my guest ;)

Translation: we don't know what the color values in the bitmap vram (overlay screen buffer) are supposed to mean.

Canon firmware sets up the color palette for it's graphics, and we can't read the values directly from the display registers that control the palette, they are write-only (figuring out the current color palette would require reverse engineering the Canon code that setups the color palette and patching it in a way that allows us to keep track of the palette; a1ex says that if you are able to do that then "be my guest", implying that it would be a non-trivial and time consuming task; I suppose all the recent qemu advancements booting the Canon GUI would be a great help to this end).

All of the other screen captures I tried turned out fine.
Screenshots of ML stuff looks correct b/c for our graphics, we know what the palette is.

Screenshots of Canon graphics on other cameras look incorrect too, but not quite as crazy.

mapline

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1041 on: July 12, 2016, 01:56:46 PM »
Thanks for the further explanation which I can understand and makes sense.

leonarka

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1042 on: July 12, 2016, 09:03:50 PM »
The latest version
If using the left button to lock focus
Then shutter metering, patterned after the move
Click the lock will have metering and click, no metering lock
Whether used to weigh the formula, or spot metering, the situation is the same

Is there any place can be set?

Licaon_Kter

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 519
  • M
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1043 on: July 12, 2016, 11:34:45 PM »
In Canon menu -> Key with four squares -> Custom functions (Fn.p) -> Fn.pIV AE lock -> did you use option 1 or 3? Test them both.

leonarka

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1044 on: July 13, 2016, 12:15:45 AM »
Option 2
To use the left button to lock focus

Options 1 & 3
Not lock the focus
Then shutter metering

Licaon_Kter

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 519
  • M
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1045 on: July 13, 2016, 01:28:43 AM »
Umm, it's not working like this here, but:
* 1 -> lock only focus on * (star) press (or left button how you've said), it will meter and take the picture on button press.
* 3 -> lock both focus and metering on star press, it will just take the picture (unchanged) on button press.

Both 0 and 2 don't do anything on * (star) press, at least on my EOS M.

mapline

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1046 on: July 13, 2016, 07:59:56 PM »
Hi
Use
* 1 -> locks only focus by * button.
  Pressing half shutter button ( and hold) will meter and  toggles AE lock with * showing on left next to lens info  when locked.
  Release half press again releases lock * then meters, press again will meter and lock again with * on half press.
  Take the picture on continue to full button press.
At least this is on my camers

davebreal

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1047 on: July 26, 2016, 04:14:14 PM »
Hi - I am not able to turn off the LCD of my EOS M when using the intervalometer on ML.  This could easily be user error, can someone walk me through the steps to turn off LCD.

My current settings:
Powersave in LiveView
Enable power saving -> on STBY + REC
Use Shortcut key -> INFO
Turn off LCD -> after 20 seconds

This does nothing in my case, just downloaded most recent nightly build available.

Am I missing something?  Any settings I need to change?

Thanks.

Licaon_Kter

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 519
  • M
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1048 on: July 29, 2016, 11:49:44 PM »
What interval?
Works fine here for both normal and silent pics, with 10s and Canon picture review of 2sec.

Teamsleepkid

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 244
Re: Canon EOS M
« Reply #1049 on: August 10, 2016, 11:02:38 PM »
Dfort awhile ago you mentioned a zoom mode that was capable of2592x1108 or something like that.. is that do-able on the eos m? And if so how do you do it?
EOS M