Author Topic: Tragic Lantern for 6D  (Read 84554 times)

oscaroo

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 58
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1950 on: June 02, 2013, 12:03:15 AM »
Hey guys.
I'm still on "[113] Check4Regression" version.

I was out using my camera a lot yesterday.
I had some issues which I can't repeat successfully.

- I got an error 65. I restarted, then it was ok. I'll upload log later.
- My camera kept beeping at me during a shoot. I dunno why it would just beep at random. But it would. Most of the time, with each photo taken, no beep would be there. Randomly, as I took a photo - beep. Maybe my forehead kept hitting some button? Dunno.
- Once, the top spinny thing control (The one that moves the A in AV or T in TV) stopped responding completely.
  I tried to boot with Magic off, but it refused. Magic wouldn't go off!. Eventually, after a few reboots Magic was off, but the top spinny was still dead. Luckily, I had the battery grip and moving the battery grip spinny worked and then the top spinny came back to life also.

Weird!

I have some more photos to take today and some more next weekend.
I'll upgrade version and see what happens.

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1951 on: June 02, 2013, 12:36:49 AM »

Voice tags? Auto ETTR? Those things beep.


Quote
You mean on 6D with this particular card?

Yep, before it only got bursts of 29 or 30 at most... now doing much better (32.x). So align left + kill LV might give you better speeds from the other cards. From 35MB/s that is only 3MB missing vs like 4 or 5.

kgv5

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 643
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1952 on: June 02, 2013, 01:05:03 AM »
So align left + kill LV might give you better speeds from the other cards. From 35MB/s that is only 3MB missing vs like 4 or 5.

I checked, forcing left and LV hack : for 1664x624 ------ 612 vs 756 frames
Write speed increased from 38,5-38,8 to 39.0-39,5. Increase by about 0,5-1MB/s gave almost 150 frames more so seeking proper card for 1-2 MB/s more makes sense.
www.pilotmovies.pl   5D Mark III, 6D, 550D

oscaroo

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 58
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1953 on: June 02, 2013, 02:58:27 AM »
Oh yeah!
i think it could have been my face pressing the 'set' button and thus causing voicetags to occur.
yepyepyep.

I should disable voicetags when I'm not planning on using them.
Thanks 1%

noisyboy

  • Guest
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1954 on: June 02, 2013, 04:27:43 AM »
i think it could have been my face pressing the 'set' button and thus causing voicetags to occur.

loooooooooool  8)

noisyboy

  • Guest
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1955 on: June 02, 2013, 05:53:04 AM »
Daaaayyum!

Just tested [113]Previews with HaCKeD Live View and centered to the left and got 2128 frames at 1536x656 24fps as opposed to 1508 frames!!

Just a shame you must sacrifice Live View to achieve this. Still though - good to know there is a way to squeeze more out :)

By the way - I noticed that when choosing between 2.35:1 and 2.39.1 when you have 1536 width selected, the hight resolution stays the same (656). Is this me just being dumb at maths or is that incorrect?

Cheers!

Virindi

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 43
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1956 on: June 02, 2013, 11:37:42 AM »
Is there any way to save the settings of raw video? setting aspect ratio, resolution, hacked mode, delay, frame skip every time.. :/

Also it would be nice to have the arrow shortcuts available to adjust ISO WB in RAW.

Finally, still in RAW record, in zoom x5, the frame showing the area you are recording is wrong

fotojohni

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 84
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1957 on: June 02, 2013, 03:12:54 PM »
Is there any way to save the settings of raw video? setting aspect ratio, resolution, hacked mode, delay, frame skip every time.. :/

Also it would be nice to have the arrow shortcuts available to adjust ISO WB in RAW.

Finally, still in RAW record, in zoom x5, the frame showing the area you are recording is wrong

There is but it has to be hard coded.  I tried but I deleted my xcode to make room for raw footage so I couldn't open it LOL!  What I could open was too difficult for a mortal to decipher. 

Why would you need WB, this is raw?  Also, there are.  MAKE SURE YOU LOCK ISO, lol.  It's way more obvious in RAW when it's changing. 

Zoom feature works, it's doing a lot of really crazy processing.  I only get a black and white image but it IS the correct recording area.


I wanted to make a suggestion.   At 5x zoom level, we have the ability to shoot 2.6K.  I'm wondering if some kind of rudementary pixel binning could be possible to get 1.3K.  If that was possible it would solve the moire thing.  And still give very nice footage.  Crop would be M4/3. 

Virindi

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 43
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1958 on: June 02, 2013, 09:57:19 PM »

There is but it has to be hard coded.  I tried but I deleted my xcode to make room for raw footage so I couldn't open it LOL!  What I could open was too difficult for a mortal to decipher. 

Why would you need WB, this is raw?  Also, there are.  MAKE SURE YOU LOCK ISO, lol.  It's way more obvious in RAW when it's changing. 

Zoom feature works, it's doing a lot of really crazy processing.  I only get a black and white image but it IS the correct recording area.


Oh yeah of course WB is useless. But about changing ISO, to me it would be useful. I can use my 6D for some random crap handheld video, or just play with it.. but still want high quality crap lol so I would use RAW recording and it doesn't matter if I see ISO jump.

For me after I select my resolution and zoom x5 I see right the white rectangle for 2 seconds, then it becomes like 2 times smaller and what I record is not what is in this rectangle.
:( I remember not having this issue a few days ago.

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1959 on: June 02, 2013, 10:22:37 PM »
Odd... zoom rectangle in 5x will be wrong without the preview no matter what... you can't see close to the whole frame.

No saveable settings yet, all hardcoded.

WB: I just use uniwb so there are no multipliers. ISO is a physical sensor parameter... Make sure expo changes aren't from ACR, try gradual expo see if it helps any. Not much can be done about real expo changes... they were always obvious.

noisyboy

  • Guest
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1960 on: June 02, 2013, 11:44:48 PM »
But about changing ISO, to me it would be useful.

You want to buy variable ND filters for your lenses dude. They are real cheap off ebay. Like £10/£20. Don't do what a friend of mine did when I suggested variable ND's and go out and spend £200 on 3!!!!

pio_hyun

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 37
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1961 on: June 03, 2013, 08:09:07 AM »
with newest build I cant find 1504x640 in 2,35:1 aspect ratio.. is this some kind of mistake?

kgv5

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 643
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1962 on: June 03, 2013, 09:00:22 AM »
As far as I know some resolutions were changed a little bit in newest builds, with the new ones we can get a better performance.
www.pilotmovies.pl   5D Mark III, 6D, 550D

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1963 on: June 03, 2013, 03:11:44 PM »
Guys! Baller baller baller...
We can get 255MB shoot malloc in photo mode.

Quality -> jpeg... Multi shot noise reduction... just like EOS-M!

I patched the errors and its working! I have like 6 buffers! Now need to run this function in movie mode



Thanks 50D!

kgv5

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 643
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1964 on: June 03, 2013, 04:06:29 PM »
This is just unbelieveble  ;D

But unfortunatelly something is wrong because on my 6D with [113] BigMemPhoto.zip it is still 151 MB (4 buffer stars)  in photo and movie mode. Quality set to just JPG

Maybe I set something wrong...
www.pilotmovies.pl   5D Mark III, 6D, 550D

teo770

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 231
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1965 on: June 03, 2013, 04:09:28 PM »
on... 6D ? with [113] BigMemPhoto.zip ?
My gear: CANON 6D / 40mm f2.8 STM / 20mm f2.8 / 24-105 f4 IS / Flash 90EX / Grip BG-E13

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1966 on: June 03, 2013, 04:18:25 PM »
Photo mode LV. Q jpeg... high speed NR to multi shot.. wait for busy to clear. You need hacked mode to disable the aewb which now turns on, plus fps and expo override.

oscaroo

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 58
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1967 on: June 03, 2013, 04:39:30 PM »
Hi.

I'm still on that old stable-ish version,
I get this assert. Should I be worried? I presume not.

ML ASSERT:
(int)state <= max_job_state
at ../../src/lens.c:1966 (_prop_handler_PROP_LAST_JOB_STATE), task PropMgr
lv:0 mode:2


Magic Lantern version : v2.3.NEXT.2013May28.6D113
Mercurial changeset   : 2be778c251b7 (unified) tip
Built on 2013-05-28 22:42:05 by user@D610.
Free Memory  : 430K + 2231K

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1968 on: June 03, 2013, 04:41:12 PM »
Thats a weird one and happens at random. I couldn't figure out why yet. I just end up with this assert on my card and think WTF and when did it happen.

oscaroo

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 58
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1969 on: June 03, 2013, 04:47:27 PM »
Coolies 1%
There's also this crashlog

ASSERT: FALSE
at ./ASIF/ASIF.c:486, task ASIF
lv:0 mode:2


Magic Lantern version : v2.3.NEXT.2013May28.6D113
Mercurial changeset   : 2be778c251b7 (unified) tip
Built on 2013-05-28 22:42:05 by user@D610.
Free Memory  : 445K + 2255K


and this one, which I think is the raw develop one I forgot to clear out of the memory card. Meh @ rawdevelop

ASSERT: FALSE
at RscMgr.c:2920, task InnerDevelopMgr
lv:0 mode:2


Magic Lantern version : v2.3.NEXT.2013May28.6D113
Mercurial changeset   : 2be778c251b7 (unified) tip
Built on 2013-05-28 22:42:05 by user@D610.
Free Memory  : 445K + 2265K

teo770

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 231
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1970 on: June 03, 2013, 04:57:15 PM »
Damned, never get 255M free mem, still  151M...
Quality JPEG
Exp override ON
FPS override 24
Global draw off
Preview hacked
My gear: CANON 6D / 40mm f2.8 STM / 20mm f2.8 / 24-105 f4 IS / Flash 90EX / Grip BG-E13

teo770

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 231
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1971 on: June 03, 2013, 04:58:26 PM »
Damned, never get 255M free mem, still  151M...
Photo mode LV
Quality JPEG
Exp override ON
FPS override 24
Global draw off
Preview hacked
My gear: CANON 6D / 40mm f2.8 STM / 20mm f2.8 / 24-105 f4 IS / Flash 90EX / Grip BG-E13

kgv5

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 643
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1972 on: June 03, 2013, 05:04:58 PM »
High ISO speed NR to multi, If you have this option greyed out set Long Exp. Noise Red. to OFF in the first place.
255 MB - hell yeah - 1728x736 >>> 342 frames!!!! with hack OFF, hack ON - 357 frames  :D

This is huge


6D max resolution (1792x752) in 2,39:1 aspect ratio: 280 frames hack ON, 280 hack OFF
1792x672    2,67:1     421 hack OFF
1664x704    2,39:1     528 frames hack OFF
1664x624        2,67:1    1548 frames hack OFF
www.pilotmovies.pl   5D Mark III, 6D, 550D

teo770

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 231
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1973 on: June 03, 2013, 05:11:15 PM »
High ISO speed NR to multi, If you have this option greyed out set Long Exp. Noise Red. to OFF in the first place.
255 MB - hell yeah - 1728x736 >>> 342 frames!!!! with hack OFF, hack ON - 357 frames  :D

Thanks, yes, got 255M now... 6 buffers... nice
Euh..... 7 buffers !

Recording @ 1600x640 => 1 skip frame only in 4GB recording (no hack)
My gear: CANON 6D / 40mm f2.8 STM / 20mm f2.8 / 24-105 f4 IS / Flash 90EX / Grip BG-E13

noisyboy

  • Guest
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1974 on: June 03, 2013, 06:33:50 PM »
Ya turn ya back for 5 minutes  :o

Well done dude! Just made my day  8)