Author Topic: Tragic Lantern for 6D  (Read 52604 times)

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1250 on: May 13, 2013, 05:59:51 PM »
Nah, not for you. Someone else was using LV_REC instead of raw rec... ok, going out to buy a new SD card. Samsung this time... hopefully performance is better than patriot for extra $10

kgv5

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 643
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1251 on: May 13, 2013, 06:08:07 PM »
Nah, not for you. Someone else was using LV_REC instead of raw rec... ok, going out to buy a new SD card. Samsung this time... hopefully performance is better than patriot for extra $10

So maybe buy sandisk 95mb/s  ;) , we would see how fast is it with 600d and 6d
www.pilotmovies.pl   5D Mark III, 6D, 550D

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12564
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1252 on: May 13, 2013, 06:11:30 PM »
We need to implement double-buffering to fix those double frames.

noisyboy

  • Guest
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1253 on: May 13, 2013, 06:20:51 PM »
Nah, not for you.

Ah - okay :)

We need to implement double-buffering to fix those double frames.

Is double frames the problem I'm having? Looking at my footage I guess it probably is as it doesn't look like frames skipping but almost as if their is a frame followed by another frame with half of the last frame and then another with the last half of the second frame. If that makes sense?


a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12564
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1254 on: May 13, 2013, 06:23:49 PM »
Yes, try a high resolution to see how skipped frames look like.

kgv5

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 643
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1255 on: May 13, 2013, 06:25:20 PM »

With new settings i get (for 23,976 fps):
1738x740 ~~100 frames
1644x700~~150
1598x680~~200
1504x640~~ over 500, i think almost continous
1410x600~~continous

Now I will check if there is a pink color. Write speed was about 38mb/s all the time.

EDIT: Its great, i dont't have to reboot, I can shoot one after another  :)


I have checked and only 1504x640 seems ok, the rest gives "after effects error: photoshop file format error, unexpected end of file (-39). (45::35), sometimes they open as corrupted and pink but after a moment they gives above message.
For 1504x640 AE scaling  is 128% (to 1920x817).

EDIT: this was made with sandisk extreme 45mb/s
www.pilotmovies.pl   5D Mark III, 6D, 550D

noisyboy

  • Guest
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1256 on: May 13, 2013, 06:29:12 PM »
Yes, try a high resolution to see how skipped frames look like.

Will do boss! Back in a jiffy.

Maybe 2 jiffies.

teo770

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 231
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1257 on: May 13, 2013, 06:43:51 PM »
On my Sandisk 32GB 95MB/s, i'm able to record raw à 1280x720 unlimited. 38-40 Mb/s displayed, about 15-20 frames skipped every 1000.

Wish a shorcut to start/stop RAW recording !
My gear: CANON 6D / 40mm f2.8 STM / 20mm f2.8 / 24-105 f4 IS / Flash 90EX / Grip BG-E13

kgv5

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 643
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1258 on: May 13, 2013, 06:48:58 PM »
On my Sandisk 32GB 95MB/s, i'm able to record raw à 1280x720 unlimited. 38-40 Mb/s displayed, about 15-20 frames skipped every 1000.

I am interested in buying 95mb/s (i have 45 now) card so could you please check 1738x740, 1644x700, 1598x680 from the newest mode?
https://bitbucket.org/OtherOnePercent/tragic-lantern-6d/downloads
Thanks
www.pilotmovies.pl   5D Mark III, 6D, 550D

noisyboy

  • Guest
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1259 on: May 13, 2013, 06:50:53 PM »
1840x720 had same (if not worse) frame skipping/doubling problems.

Same again shooting 1320x720

Forgot to mention - this is *before* any indication of actual frame skipping  ;)

exflyer

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1260 on: May 13, 2013, 07:15:48 PM »
Hey buddy!

You need raw2dng.exe which you can find here: https://bitbucket.org/OtherOnePercent/tragic-lantern-6d/downloads

Simply drag your recorded file onto the raw2dng.exe icon and it will automatically extract all your lovely little DNG's. Just make sure you have the exe in the folder you wish to extract them to as all the DNG's end up in the same folder :)

I have just been playing doing some dolly shots and in the motion I have noticed what looks like the odd single frame skipping every couple seconds. I'll upload and show you. It isn't the smoothest slide in the world but pretty sure I wasn't THAT bad  :P
Thank you very much.
Tomorrow - the day of the big test :)
6D and 5D mark III

noisyboy

  • Guest
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1261 on: May 13, 2013, 07:19:02 PM »
Thank you very much.
Tomorrow - the day of the big test :)
6D and 5D mark III

You're very welcome!

Enjoy it dude :)

And GET SOME SLEEP!  ;D

noisyboy

  • Guest
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1262 on: May 13, 2013, 07:21:55 PM »
Yes, try a high resolution to see how skipped frames look like.

Just to clarify for you a1ex and 1%, (I'm sure you already know this but just incase you don't), there appears to be tearing in certain frames while it catches up with itself. Only slight but enough for it to jar.

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1263 on: May 13, 2013, 07:43:38 PM »
Samsung UHS-1 64GB
No pro.... its like $200 and some people had issues with it. Need a card that can do 50/MBs and doesn't cost as much as a lens.



Speed about the same as the patriot... seems to keep it up longer though. 40MB/s my ass.

kgv5

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 643
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1264 on: May 13, 2013, 08:37:55 PM »
 :( Not good,  hoped, that we can get over 40-45mb/s but maybe samsung just screwed this up...
Someone should try sandisk 95.
I am testing 1504x640, looks very good, crop factor is 1.28 so need for wider lens  ;) Probably for 2.35:1 aspect ratio this is the max res for continous recording. Is there something you could do 1% with the pink corruption in 1598x680 or 1644x700 res? It gave 100-150 frames so could be usable sometimes.
www.pilotmovies.pl   5D Mark III, 6D, 550D

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1265 on: May 13, 2013, 08:50:32 PM »
If its pink the sizes are screwed up... We need to find some resolutions that work and add those I guess.

noisyboy

  • Guest
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1266 on: May 13, 2013, 08:51:26 PM »
Just wondered if anyone had yet tried the Delkin 633x? If not I'm gonna get one and see how it works out for us. Can't really afford it, I'm only getting it for the sake of helping make this better so don't really want to waste my money if this has already been tried. Thanks!

noisyboy

  • Guest
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1267 on: May 13, 2013, 08:52:50 PM »
Sod it. I'm getting it :)

teo770

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 231
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1268 on: May 13, 2013, 09:05:22 PM »
Question: when recording RAW, what tweaks are applyed to the video ?

- Lens distortion correction ?
- Vigneting ?
- WB ?
- Picture profile ?

In my opinion.... noone ? Am i right ?

I'm uploading to vimeo my 1280x720 raw converted to x264, the 1/4 upper part is showing some flicking... dont know why.
I just raw2dng the .raw file then imported the DNG sequence in AE and rendered it as x264.

The video:


I'll try to color grade it later but colors seems already deep to me.
My gear: CANON 6D / 40mm f2.8 STM / 20mm f2.8 / 24-105 f4 IS / Flash 90EX / Grip BG-E13

noisyboy

  • Guest
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1269 on: May 13, 2013, 09:53:14 PM »
Any of you guys finding that the aliasing and moire is worse when shooting Raw? Must be due to shooting lower resolutions. Seems to really stand out even after removing and Adobe Raw sharpening and taking contrast to -100.

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1270 on: May 13, 2013, 09:54:43 PM »
Maybe black level and ML digic ISO corrections apply... I dunno about vignetting, check.

Would be funny if there was a moire cleaner in the path from raw to h264

kgv5

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 643
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1271 on: May 13, 2013, 09:59:15 PM »
On my Sandisk 32GB 95MB/s, i'm able to record raw à 1280x720 unlimited. 38-40 Mb/s displayed, about 15-20 frames skipped every 1000.

Wish a shorcut to start/stop RAW recording !

teo770 could you please make a 5min benchmark with latest ML build and your sandisk 95mb/s and post the results?
www.pilotmovies.pl   5D Mark III, 6D, 550D

exflyer

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1272 on: May 13, 2013, 10:03:34 PM »

kgv5

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 643
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1273 on: May 13, 2013, 10:15:23 PM »
Any of you guys finding that the aliasing and moire is worse when shooting Raw? Must be due to shooting lower resolutions. Seems to really stand out even after removing and Adobe Raw sharpening and taking contrast to -100.

but lower resolution raw is a crop from 1080p so theoretically should be better than line skipping from whole sensor. In fact it depends how much you have to stretch the picture to cover your target resolution. Recently i was testing 1504x640, had to upscale it by 128% in AE to cover 2,35:1 1920x817. I will post this test later but in my opinion aliasing of the stretched picture is very similar to canon's full HD (maybe just a little worst than h.264 but not much). 1504x640 is more detailed for sure, obviously has a better dynamic range and gives continous shooting on 6D with 45mb/s card.
www.pilotmovies.pl   5D Mark III, 6D, 550D

noisyboy

  • Guest
Re: Tragic Lantern for 6D
« Reply #1274 on: May 13, 2013, 10:38:37 PM »
but lower resolution raw is a crop from 1080p so theoretically should be better than line skipping from whole sensor. In fact it depends how much you have to stretch the picture to cover your target resolution. Recently i was testing 1504x640, had to upscale it by 128% in AE to cover 2,35:1 1920x817. I will post this test later but in my opinion aliasing of the stretched picture is very similar to canon's full HD (maybe just a little worst than h.264 but not much). 1504x640 is more detailed for sure, obviously has a better dynamic range and gives continous shooting on 6D with 45mb/s card.

I see what you mean but (and correct me if I'm wrong anyone) the 1080p image is already downsized with line skipping? Otherwise how are we ending up with a 1080p image and not an enormous image at 22mp?

Again - I ask this to try and understand, not that I think I know better :P

I'll upload the test I just shot and you can see what I mean about moire/aliasing. It looks riddled with what looks like false colour patterns.