Author Topic: Tragic Lantern for EOS M  (Read 185774 times)

feureau

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 604
Re: Tragic Lantern for EOS M
« Reply #575 on: July 27, 2013, 09:56:25 PM »
Oh, you're gonna love shooting videos with ML on this baby. :D Just wait.

mountain_drew

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Tragic Lantern for EOS M
« Reply #576 on: July 28, 2013, 01:08:52 AM »
Just created an account to say that I'm looking forward to ML for the newest firmware! I wish I could help somehow...

Digital Guy

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 38
  • Canon 60D on steroids
Re: Tragic Lantern for EOS M
« Reply #577 on: July 28, 2013, 07:27:28 AM »
Did some video test shoots with my FD-EOSM adapter using an FD 85-300mm and Canon standard FD 50 1.8. I'm really impressed with this mirrorless camera. With ML install on the EOSM I'll be walking on the clouds.
Magic Lantern v2.3 installed on both Canon 60D's with 17-85 & 10-22 & 18-250mm lenses. Canon EOS-M EOSM-FD adapter. Crazy about HDR timelapse photography, I'm experimenting with HDR video and use Sony Vegas Pro 12 video editor and Photomatix Pro

jgrauman

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Tragic Lantern for EOS M
« Reply #578 on: July 28, 2013, 09:28:29 AM »
Another question, this time about using a DSLR controller over USB such as the one at dslrcontroller.com. It lists a bunch of newer cameras as compatible, but the EOS M as not compatible. Does anyone know if this is a firmware issue? Would there be any chance that ML would fix this? Thanks!

Josh

waters

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Tragic Lantern for EOS M
« Reply #579 on: July 28, 2013, 10:50:32 AM »
With the AF lens,I can touch the screen and move the red focus box. at this time the ML magic zoom is so useful.
When i use the adopter with the M42 MF len on my eos m , I can't find the litte focus box on screen.I think CANON locks the red focus box when the body can't find the Af lens.
Now, Ml magic zoom can only focus the center of screen.

when we use the MF Lens, Can the ml develop group unlock the CANON program and let the focus box out  ?


Thanks  a lot

haomuch

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 68
Re: Tragic Lantern for EOS M
« Reply #580 on: July 28, 2013, 04:32:02 PM »
With the AF lens,I can touch the screen and move the red focus box. at this time the ML magic zoom is so useful.
When i use the adopter with the M42 MF len on my eos m , I can't find the litte focus box on screen.I think CANON locks the red focus box when the body can't find the Af lens.
Now, Ml magic zoom can only focus the center of screen.

when we use the MF Lens, Can the ml develop group unlock the CANON program and let the focus box out  ?


Thanks  a lot

You can actually use a focus box with manual focus lenses without AF information in ML

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: Tragic Lantern for EOS M
« Reply #581 on: July 28, 2013, 05:48:08 PM »
I think you have to be in single zone focus to use the focus box. Either way MZ is off sync. Hopefully canon changed something about this. It should have something done to it as M was focusing at 60FPS.

Eisland

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Tragic Lantern for EOS M
« Reply #582 on: July 29, 2013, 11:17:59 AM »
is it possible to use an older magic lantern build where automatic movie restart is not yet disabled together with the eosm106.fir? or are the version of ml and the eosm106.fir codependent? I neeeed the automatic movie restart... nothing else of ML   ;(

thank you!
kevin

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: Tragic Lantern for EOS M
« Reply #583 on: July 29, 2013, 02:56:10 PM »
Its not disabled in latest bins. Hasn't been for months.

millernet

  • Guest
Re: Tragic Lantern for EOS M
« Reply #584 on: July 29, 2013, 04:23:03 PM »
You can actually use a focus box with manual focus lenses without AF information in ML

Do you get the green focus confirm bars on EOS-M?

waters

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Tragic Lantern for EOS M
« Reply #585 on: July 29, 2013, 05:38:19 PM »
You can actually use a focus box with manual focus lenses without AF information in ML

Please tell me how to active the focus box and move it.  :)

waters

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Tragic Lantern for EOS M
« Reply #586 on: July 29, 2013, 05:39:53 PM »
Do you get the green focus confirm bars on EOS-M?

With the MF lens, never see the focus box ,never see the green focus confirm bars.

waters

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Tragic Lantern for EOS M
« Reply #587 on: July 29, 2013, 05:48:26 PM »
I think you have to be in single zone focus to use the focus box. Either way MZ is off sync. Hopefully canon changed something about this. It should have something done to it as M was focusing at 60FPS.

Can i move the focus box any where just like Canon 5d ii liveview funcation?

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: Tragic Lantern for EOS M
« Reply #588 on: July 30, 2013, 02:55:48 AM »
You can move it around with your finger, it was nice when MZ worked (use slightly older version, its in sync).

I didn't try on manual lenses tho. On other cameras there are UD/LR keys an you can force moving it, here that doesn't work.

Maybe a work around will be drawing ML graphics over 1x mode which has a focus box always.

haomuch

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 68
Re: Tragic Lantern for EOS M
« Reply #589 on: July 31, 2013, 07:43:37 PM »
I have taken more than 200 photos today by my EOS M fireware 2.0 with the FD 50mm f/1.4 but unfortunately more than 20% of them are not accurately focused. It is really very hard to focus fast and accurately with the MF lense. We need ML for the 2.0 firmware so bad!

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: Tragic Lantern for EOS M
« Reply #590 on: July 31, 2013, 07:45:16 PM »
Yep, soon as I can. Early adopters will be able to go from 1.x-> 2.0 and have ML. 2.0 people will have to wait for an installer :(

I'll try to find more stubs tonight.

cameron12x

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 26
Re: Tragic Lantern for EOS M
« Reply #591 on: July 31, 2013, 08:07:23 PM »
If you can port to the 2.0.2 firmware release and also unlock Remote Shooting via the EOS Utility you will be considered a God!

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: Tragic Lantern for EOS M
« Reply #592 on: July 31, 2013, 08:12:45 PM »
Don't think its locked, probably not supported because eos M LV is 60P sized at 30fps.

cameron12x

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 26
Re: Tragic Lantern for EOS M
« Reply #593 on: July 31, 2013, 08:20:34 PM »
If the EOS-M LiveView is 60P sized at 30fps what would it need to be in order to work?  (What does 60P mean?)

feureau

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 604
Re: Tragic Lantern for EOS M
« Reply #594 on: July 31, 2013, 08:24:48 PM »
Don't think its locked, probably not supported because eos M LV is 60P sized at 30fps.

Speaking of remote shooting. Is the EOS-M the only one without this feature? (can the 650D shoot remotely?)

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: Tragic Lantern for EOS M
« Reply #595 on: July 31, 2013, 08:31:19 PM »
60P is the 60FPS mode on other cameras. What would be needed to make it work is probably support for this gimpy mode in eos utility. That is likely the reason its disabled, also it may not be making the preview stream to send to eos utility at all since its underpowered and they made every effort to skimp on processing (ie, not having a real idle LV at 24fps except crop mode).

Check on 650D ( I dont have one).

cameron12x

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 26
Re: Tragic Lantern for EOS M
« Reply #596 on: July 31, 2013, 08:45:10 PM »
60P is the 60FPS mode on other cameras. What would be needed to make it work is probably support for this gimpy mode in eos utility. That is likely the reason its disabled, also it may not be making the preview stream to send to eos utility at all since its underpowered and they made every effort to skimp on processing (ie, not having a real idle LV at 24fps except crop mode).

Do you think it could be made to work on the EOS-M?  How much effort would it take?

I'm sure more than just a few people would love the capability to shoot remotely, particularly those who are into astrophotography.

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: Tragic Lantern for EOS M
« Reply #597 on: July 31, 2013, 09:13:07 PM »
Depends whats up with 2.02.. if it still has jacked up LV and doesn't work without any other usb live preview, probably not.

cameron12x

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 26
Re: Tragic Lantern for EOS M
« Reply #598 on: July 31, 2013, 09:43:19 PM »
Depends whats up with 2.02.. if it still has jacked up LV and doesn't work without any other usb live preview, probably not.
Gotcha.  Where does this fit in the list of priorities?

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: Tragic Lantern for EOS M
« Reply #599 on: July 31, 2013, 10:58:17 PM »
Below MZ working well again.