Author Topic: 2K to 4K 5D2 UpScale Workflow with Adobe & Apple Software  (Read 17544 times)

reddeercity

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2303
2K to 4K 5D2 UpScale Workflow with Adobe & Apple Software
« on: November 07, 2013, 07:46:42 AM »
Hello All  :)
I just when though a workflow test to see if the
2K files (2048x1024) from the 5d2 in crop mode, can stand up to a
4K (4096x2048) up conversion Process.
I use Photoshop cc to make my 4K 16bit tiff adjusted with ACR plugin
then import & project setup in FCPX with the tiff native.
My goal is to make a 4k file thats as good as the real thing.
I think the raw image out of the 5d2 can achieve this very easily
As long as the image is capture with good sharpness & proper exposed


Francis Frenkel

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 190
  • documentarist - filmmaker - DOP
Re: 2K to 4K 5D2 UpScale Workflow with Adobe & Apple Software
« Reply #1 on: November 07, 2013, 08:30:07 AM »
I've done exactly the same process with Sony Vegas pro 11 and it works very good.

But from Full HD to 2K only to make a DCP (no way to upscale to 4k after shotting....).

Fran6
Francis Frenkel
www.ffrenkel.com

PressureFM

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 171
Re: 2K to 4K 5D2 UpScale Workflow with Adobe & Apple Software
« Reply #2 on: November 07, 2013, 09:42:22 AM »
Upscaling will never be as good as the real thing.

No reason to chase the sacred unicorn (or the dragon for that matter).

reddeercity

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2303
Re: 2K to 4K 5D2 UpScale Workflow with Adobe & Apple Software
« Reply #3 on: November 07, 2013, 06:23:31 PM »
Upscaling will never be as good as the real thing.

No reason to chase the sacred unicorn (or the dragon for that matter).
Are sure about that ?
I think it can, the 2k raw is so clean & sharp
And with a little post magic ....
When I'm done my 4k project, then every one
Can judge from them self.
BTW all of this is only a test  For 4k "B-roll" :D

Andy600

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1863
  • Have you tried turning it off and on again?
Re: 2K to 4K 5D2 UpScale Workflow with Adobe & Apple Software
« Reply #4 on: November 07, 2013, 06:32:58 PM »
This wipes the floor with NLE upscaling  ;) http://www.infognition.com/videoenhancer/
Colorist working with Davinci Resolve, Baselight, Nuke, After Effects & Premier Pro. Occasional Sunday afternoon DOP. Developer of Cinelog-C Colorspace Management and LUTs - www.cinelogdcp.com

reddeercity

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2303
Re: 2K to 4K 5D2 UpScale Workflow with Adobe & Apple Software
« Reply #5 on: November 07, 2013, 10:44:53 PM »
This wipes the floor with NLE upscaling  ;) http://www.infognition.com/videoenhancer/
Looks interesting, i think i will check in to this deeper  :)

dariSSight

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 163
Re: 2K to 4K 5D2 UpScale Workflow with Adobe & Apple Software
« Reply #6 on: November 07, 2013, 11:40:10 PM »
Upscaling will never be as good as the real thing.

No reason to chase the sacred unicorn (or the dragon for that matter).
Wow, What a comment but you seem to be more informed then me. So why do you think by RAW footage being 0's and 1's it can't do a proper upscale? Also do you feel 2k and 4k is relevant to the human eye? How do you feel about HD monitors 240hz processing, digital card delivery to Multiplex. Lastly, What do you think about the 5D Mark II delivery of the Race Car scene on Iron Man 2 or Act of Valor shot entirely with the h264 5D Mark II, both delivered to High Quality Multiplexes Around the world?
Canon 5D Mark II

bnvm

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 159
Re: 2K to 4K 5D2 UpScale Workflow with Adobe & Apple Software
« Reply #7 on: November 08, 2013, 12:14:31 AM »
Upscaling will never be as good as the real thing.

No reason to chase the sacred unicorn (or the dragon for that matter).

I think he was saying that an upscale to 4k will never be as good as footage shot in 4k which is true, not that up-scaled footage is not good enough to be displayed at 4k.


Africashot

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 288
Re: 2K to 4K 5D2 UpScale Workflow with Adobe & Apple Software
« Reply #9 on: November 12, 2013, 05:46:51 AM »
... or Act of Valor shot entirely with the h264 5D Mark II...
As much as I love the camera, it is time to stop kidding ourselves. Act of Valor (dreadful flick imo. btw.) was not, by any means, exclusively shot on the 5DII,  these are the used cameras according to IMDB:

Arriflex 235, Panavision Primo Lenses
Arriflex 35 III, Panavision Primo Lenses
Arriflex 435 Xtreme, Panavision Primo Lenses
Canon EOS 5D Mark II, Panavision Primo, Canon L-Series and Zeiss ZF Lenses
Canon EOS 7D, Panavision Primo, Canon L-Series and Zeiss ZF Lenses
Canon EOS-1D Mark IV, Panavision Primo, Canon L-Series and Zeiss ZF Lenses
Panavision Panaflex Platinum, Panavision Primo Lenses
Phantom HD Camera, Panavision Primo Lenses

as a matter of facft most of the narrative was shot on film and DSLRs were used on a few action and low light scenes...
ML 5D2 & T3i

reddeercity

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2303
Re: 2K to 4K 5D2 UpScale Workflow with Adobe & Apple Software
« Reply #10 on: November 12, 2013, 07:07:00 AM »
As much as I love the camera, it is time to stop kidding ourselves. Act of Valor (dreadful flick imo. btw.) was not, by any means, exclusively shot on the 5DII,  these are the used cameras according to IMDB:

Arriflex 235, Panavision Primo Lenses
Arriflex 35 III, Panavision Primo Lenses
Arriflex 435 Xtreme, Panavision Primo Lenses
Canon EOS 5D Mark II, Panavision Primo, Canon L-Series and Zeiss ZF Lenses
Canon EOS 7D, Panavision Primo, Canon L-Series and Zeiss ZF Lenses
Canon EOS-1D Mark IV, Panavision Primo, Canon L-Series and Zeiss ZF Lenses
Panavision Panaflex Platinum, Panavision Primo Lenses
Phantom HD Camera, Panavision Primo Lenses

as a matter of facft most of the narrative was shot on film and DSLRs were used on a few action and low light scenes...
If you are going to knock something down pleases have you Facts Right!
Here are Real Facts about Act of Valor!

http://www.hurlbutvisuals.com/blog/2012/03/shooting-act-of-valor-q-a/

And i Quote
"We’ve had a ton of questions via Twitter, Facebook and the hurlblog about shooting Act of Valor, so I thought I would share them in a Q&A format. Thanks so much to everyone for your support and kind words about the film!
Q: How much of the film was shot on the Canon 5D Mark II?
A: 70% 5D, 20% film, and 5% F950 for aerials.
Q: How much of the film was lit with natural lighting?
A: 60% natural light.
Q: How did you light that scene at night when they are in the jungle/forest on their first mission?
A: One 12 lite Maxi brute on 80′ condor. One mini nine light with FCX globes bouncing into 12x ultra bounce.
Q: What picture style was used on Act of Valor?
A: Neutral."
The list goes on read the link.

So  Shane Hurlbut Says 70% with the 5D Mark ii , will i would say that
Give Credit to the 5D Mark ii as the Main "A" Camera and the rest were "B" cameras.
Whether you like the movie or not really dose not mean anything,
This movie was Promoted as shot with a 5D2 and at 70% usage, i would agree.  :)

Africashot

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 288
Re: 2K to 4K 5D2 UpScale Workflow with Adobe & Apple Software
« Reply #11 on: November 12, 2013, 10:07:03 AM »
If you are going to knock something down pleases have you Facts Right!

Thanks for your input, not sure were you feel I got the facts wrong other than maybe underwhelming the use of the 5D2 by not marking its 70% of the action (which then again still has to be split amongst the other DSLRs used), although my point and answer was in fact to a post that claimed its exclusive use on this picture.
70% use is still a very vague statement, what we should be asking ourselves is where and why Shane chose to implement chemical film in this movie that has been so intensely marketed as being 'entirely' shot on the good old 5D2.
I am not saying this to take away any credit of what the 5D2 is capable of as I am myself one of it's biggest advocates, I just believe some people may get wrong impressions of its capabilities when seeing images taken by a phantom flex or true 35mm film and believing this is coming from a DSLR.

While it is true that my personal opinion on the film doesn't add to the conversation I still would rather see other genres to exemplify the use of the 5D2, especially coming from the low budget Indy scene where this camera is more at home.
And to bring this discussion back on topic; I believe it is a waste of time to even worry about how upscalable footage can be, I am confident to have better tools at my disposal once 4K can be taken seriously as the new standard. As of now 90% of the stuff shot on Epics and other 4+K cameras is being down scaled for 2K output anyway, doing this the other way around just seem a bit counter-intuitive... 
ML 5D2 & T3i

reddeercity

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2303
Re: 2K to 4K 5D2 UpScale Workflow with Adobe & Apple Software
« Reply #12 on: November 17, 2013, 04:02:30 AM »
Well here is the end results of my experiment with upscale 2k to 4k
Its not bad But, i would not do a whole project like this, but if you need a few seconds
of "B roll" and do not have access to a 4K camera then ....
The only think i added to this workflow was to apply Film Emulation Software,
I used Film Convert Pro , my settings are as follows:
Camera Source - Red One
WB                   - 4800k
Film Stock         - FJ 8543 VD
35mm FullAP
100%   Film Color
70%     Film Grain
All in All things turn out well But its very impractical Workflow and trying to Edit Tiff Frames at 50 MB
Compared to 2k dng's at 4MB per frame.
 :)
   PS. If you select Original HD that will be the 4k file i uploaded

stagsy

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 47
Re: 2K to 4K 5D2 UpScale Workflow with Adobe & Apple Software
« Reply #13 on: August 27, 2014, 10:19:41 AM »
How do you get 2k files in the first place?

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8436
Re: 2K to 4K 5D2 UpScale Workflow with Adobe & Apple Software
« Reply #14 on: August 27, 2014, 10:39:59 AM »
Enable Crop in movie tab, press Loupe/Magnify button. You're in 3x now.
Next time you may want to use the search function.