Author Topic: h264.ini - how it really works?  (Read 48641 times)

MGerard

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 36
Re: h264.ini - how it really works?
« Reply #25 on: May 01, 2014, 08:21:11 AM »
In my case it is uncertain whether or not the camera stalls when using those settings.

You can download a ZIP file until the 8th of May here: http://we.tl/em1JsBqQYl. It includes the .ini files, cropped framegrabs and one of the error logs. Please switch the 5D3 to IPB mode first.

What you can see in closeup detail is the lesser blocking which greatly improves the "noise appearance" of the overall "motion picture" and should add clarity (please also see the comparison of standard h.264 recording and Prores HQ via uncompressed HDMi out). If anybody could come up with a solution for the error 70 it would be heartily appreciated. Have a nice day!

Audionut

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3657
  • Blunt and to the point
Re: h264.ini - how it really works?
« Reply #26 on: May 01, 2014, 08:59:16 AM »
Explain steps to reproduce the problem, consistently.
I should be able to follow your step by step guide, and reproduce the problem.

For instance, "a small chance of crashing when changing the angle", is pretty poor bug reporting.

Thanks, and thanks for the zip.  Will take a look at it.

dubzeebass

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 360
Re: h264.ini - how it really works?
« Reply #27 on: May 01, 2014, 02:11:15 PM »
Thanks for posting!

MGerard

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 36
Re: h264.ini - how it really works?
« Reply #28 on: May 01, 2014, 07:59:13 PM »

Explain steps to reproduce the problem, consistently.
I should be able to follow your step by step guide, and reproduce the problem.

For instance, "a small chance of crashing when changing the angle", is pretty poor bug reporting.

Thanks, and thanks for the zip.  Will take a look at it.

Thank you for your answer, the steps when proceeding to film by using a higher bitrate via the utilization of H264.ini are the following:

- switch on camera
- load H264.ini once ML has bootet, wait for the on-screen info about this process to disappear
- start the recording
- stop the recording

Now it comes to the hefty part: When pressing record again, there is a high chance that the Err70 pops up, recording stops, mirror flips back and the camera needs a proper reset (pull out and re-insert battery). This happens sometimes but not all of the time, which is obviously annoying.

I am totally aware of the fact that my explanations are not sufficient for a proper "bug report", but then, again, the error seems to happen on a random basis (?), so we might need to approach the problem from a multiple perspectives.

Is it related to stressing the encoder or is it related to the implementation of the "load h264.ini" option within ML? [I have been filming an event last night for TV with higher bitrate and there are no obvious errors in the playback of the material, which I would interpret as the encoder being able to deal with the settings]

Might there be any part of Magic Lantern that is utilizing resources that inhibit the encoding and streaming once the bitrate is higher than standard?


On a different turf, the question might arise why we need a bitrate improvement for h.264 capture now that we have the incredible possibilities of raw recording:
As you may or may not have seen in the zip file I put online in the morning, a comparison between uncompressed 422 hdmi out and standard h.264 capture was included. What can be seen is that a) the uncompressed hdmi out contains the same color information (only spread over a 422 bandwidth) but b) without the macro-blocking of the onboard h.264 compression, which, from my point of view, increases the clarity and "perceived resolution" of the recorded material.
Onboard encoding at a higher h.264 bitrate will give a similar result (or at least a tendency towards it) which will be beneficial for 5D3 film recordings in situations where raw is not an option.

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12564
Re: h264.ini - how it really works?
« Reply #29 on: May 01, 2014, 08:56:35 PM »
The INI file parsing is done by Canon firmware (ML code only calls a function, with the ini filename as argument).

The error message from your zip looks like a parse error. Here's the relevant code sequence from 5D3 123 (the assert is triggered at line 1931 = 0x78b):

Code: [Select]
RAM:bzero32(-112 + sp0, 0x64)
RAM:bzero32(-212 + sp0, 0x64)
*(-216 + sp0) = 0
sscanf_maybe(EncDrvWrapper_struct.off_0x40 /*0x27828*/, '%s = %s', -112 + sp0, -212 + sp0)
strcmp(-112 + sp0, arg0) => ret_strcmp_FF1ED190
if ret_strcmp_FF1ED190 != 0 /*NE*/:
    RAM:DebugMsg(BYTE(*(EncDrvWrapper_struct.off_0x10 /*0x277F8*/)), 6, msg='iniFile Error')
    *(-224 + sp0) = arg0
    RAM:DebugMsg(BYTE(*(EncDrvWrapper_struct.off_0x10 /*0x277F8*/)), 6, msg='CharString = %s , pString = %s')
    RAM:assert_0(0xff1ed0dc: pointer to 0x30, './MovieRecorder/EncDrvWrapper.c', 0x78b)

To investigate this error, I recommend using this framework: https://bitbucket.org/hudson/magic-lantern/commits/branch/dm-spy-experiments

You need to catch the log messages right before triggering this error. Probably something like this in don't click me:
Code: [Select]
debug_intercept(); /* setup the logging code */
msleep(1000);
load_h264_ini();
msleep(1000);
movie_start();
msleep(1000);
debug_intercept();  /* save the log */
movie_end();

Patching the error message without understanding why it happens and what the consequences may be, is not the proper way to solve it.

troy_e

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: h264.ini - how it really works?
« Reply #30 on: May 07, 2014, 01:58:45 PM »
MGerard, what is the difference between the 50 and 70 files you have created? Are they just the Mbps?

MGerard

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 36
Re: h264.ini - how it really works?
« Reply #31 on: May 07, 2014, 05:16:05 PM »

MGerard, what is the difference between the 50 and 70 files you have created? Are they just the Mbps?
No, the settings are completely different. If you want to, the zip file should still be available for download until tomorrow, so you can take a look at the inis. Else, just send me a pm and I will mail them to you.

eyeland

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 168
  • 5D Mark Spree
Re: h264.ini - how it really works?
« Reply #32 on: June 16, 2014, 03:46:59 PM »
Anyone actually getting improvements with h264.ini now?
Daybreak broke me loose and brought me back...

kyrobb

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 131
Re: h264.ini - how it really works?
« Reply #33 on: October 19, 2014, 11:23:14 PM »
Is a build with h264.ini still available? For the 550D?

Rshred

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 27
  • 600D - Vintage Lenses
Re: h264.ini - how it really works?
« Reply #34 on: October 20, 2014, 07:43:35 AM »

DeafEyeJedi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3413
  • 5D3 | M1 | 7D | 70D | SL1 | M2 | 50D
Re: h264.ini - how it really works?
« Reply #35 on: October 23, 2014, 09:47:15 AM »
Got the full-res silent module installed and seems to be working well for silent photos -- Thanks @Audionut for pointing me into the right direction regarding 1.2.3 build.

However, I'm not jinxed by the fact that the Load H264.ini is still saying 'ML/h264.ini not found' and first thing came to my mind was to combine the alpha build (which has all the documents and whatnot) but then I also realize that @a1ex also mentioned earlier that ''1.2.3 was not a nightly, not a bleeding edge type of thing but it has worked so far for me with everything else besides this Bitrate controller...''

Perhaps it's not yet implemented in 1.2.3 for a reason?

Thanks all!!
5D3.113 | 5D3.123 | EOSM.203 | 7D.203 | 70D.112 | 100D.101 | EOSM2.* | 50D.109

andresapori

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: h264.ini - how it really works?
« Reply #36 on: December 10, 2014, 05:45:02 PM »
Hi, I have a 5D m iii and I installed ML in my 32GB SD ScanDisk Extreme PRO 95mb/s. I am trying to load the h264.ini but it shows 'ML/h264.ini not found'  . Is there any SET up I need to change or do I have to install ML again?

Thanks,

Andre Sapori

johnwangphoto

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: h264.ini - how it really works?
« Reply #37 on: December 15, 2014, 03:20:18 AM »
I have the same issue. I use 5d mark III 1.2.3 and used to be able to adjust bit rate but now I only get the message: ML/h264.ini not found. I even don't know what is the bit rate I am shooting right now. Can anyone help? Thanks a lot!

John

itsDPmikey

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 74
  • 5D-Cinematography *_*
Re: h264.ini - how it really works?
« Reply #38 on: April 04, 2015, 09:55:02 AM »
H264.ini not found


How is it that no one has figured this out or anyone from ML responded back with a resolution?
I love this &^*$ MAN!

Tommy126

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • 5D MK II
Re: h264.ini - how it really works?
« Reply #39 on: April 09, 2015, 04:47:25 PM »
I have same problem with Load H264.ini

Can you anyone help?
Is it possible load H264.ini or not?

GEORCHRO

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: h264.ini - how it really works?
« Reply #40 on: May 17, 2015, 01:20:53 PM »
Transform8x8Flag = 2
Profile = 100
Level = 51
BitRate = 840000000
EntropyCodingMode = 1
IntraPicInitQP = -1
InterPicInitQP = -1
QpOffsetForB = 0
MinQpI = 1
MinQpP = 1
MinQpB = 1
MaxQpI = 13
MaxQpP = 13
MaxQpB = 13
MinBitrate = 200000000
MaxBitrate = 840000000
SarWidth = 0
SarHeight = 0
AspectRatioIdc = 1
VideoFmtAndVspFlag = 81
VideoFullRangeFlag = 1
TimingInfoPresentFlag = 0
RateControlEnable = 2
ScalingMatrices = 0
pScalingMatrixAddr[0] = 0
pScalingMatrixAddr[1] = 0
pScalingMatrixAddr[2] = 0
pScalingMatrixAddr[3] = 0
pScalingMatrixAddr[4] = 0
pScalingMatrixAddr[5] = 0

Not work 5d mark3

message: err

and freeze

GEORCHRO

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: h264.ini - how it really works?
« Reply #41 on: June 04, 2015, 01:30:48 PM »
This video will help you as he helped me


much

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: h264.ini - how it really works?
« Reply #42 on: December 02, 2015, 12:21:41 PM »
Hi, I just read whole topic and I still can't figure out how to load this damm h264.ini .... what am i doing wrong? is this even possible? Or there is no possibility to boost up image quality from 6d?

marcfitt

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 2
never mind
« Reply #43 on: December 12, 2015, 07:59:36 AM »
never mind I found the error :)

Bosnik

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: h264.ini - how it really works?
« Reply #44 on: December 24, 2015, 04:30:04 AM »
Can someone help me install the bitrate settings on the 6d?
I've been running magic lantern on my 600d for the last two years and never had any problems recording up to 3x.

Also, is there a stable build for the 6d, not a nightly build?
Thanks!

CliffS

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: h264.ini - how it really works?
« Reply #45 on: January 01, 2016, 08:51:34 PM »
Hello, I've also been scouring the forums and web for ways to load up h264.ini on the 6D with no such luck. Would love help with this!

jblamontre

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: h264.ini - how it really works?
« Reply #46 on: January 04, 2016, 11:46:10 AM »
Hello there !

I'm having issues with my 5d mark III using H264 bitrate control.
I have a bug report when I click " Load H264.ini " on my ML Menu.
The bug report is saying : " B:/ML/H264.ini not found "

Any clues ? I'd love to find a way to download H264.ini but I don't find it nowhere. I've looked through Gxxgle and stuff, havn't found a link.

Thanks for your help !

Builld : NightyBuild 20 12 2015
Canon Firmware : 5d Mark III 123

domasa

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 115
Re: h264.ini - how it really works?
« Reply #47 on: April 11, 2016, 09:56:11 PM »
" B:/ML/H264.ini not found "
Builld : NightyBuild 20 12 2015
Canon Firmware : 5d Mark III 123

A:/ML/H264.ini not found
Nightly.2016Apr01.5D3113