Author Topic: Is it possible to increase bit-rate on 5DMKIII /w nightly build?  (Read 7391 times)

chlywly

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Hello, I apologize if this has been asked before; had trouble finding it. I was wondering if you can increase bitrate for IPB/ALL-I codecs (NON-RAW). Like you used to be able to for MKII for instance. Let's say I just want to record normal codec's at higher bitrates.

All I see is h264.ini in the menu, but doesn't seem to do anything or give me any extra options?

RenatoPhoto

  • Moderators
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1509
  • 5DM3 / 7D
Re: Is it possible to increase bit-rate on 5DMKIII /w nightly build?
« Reply #1 on: October 03, 2013, 11:43:16 PM »
Very low priority to get this working..
http://www.pululahuahostal.com  |  EF 300 f/4, EF 100-400 L, EF 180 L, EF-S 10-22, Samyang 14mm, Sigma 28mm EX DG, Sigma 8mm 1:3.5 EX DG, EF 50mm 1:1.8 II, EF 1.4X II, Kenko C-AF 2X

SDX

  • Guest
Re: Is it possible to increase bit-rate on 5DMKIII /w nightly build?
« Reply #2 on: October 04, 2013, 12:05:16 AM »
The effect of the bitrate option on the other cameras is very little to not noticeable (you can watch a test here).
It therefore ended up at the bottom of the todo-lists.

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: Is it possible to increase bit-rate on 5DMKIII /w nightly build?
« Reply #3 on: October 04, 2013, 12:11:22 AM »
Remember, 5DIII has a different encoder... QP stock is pitiful, esp on IPB. Also the nice thing about iva param cams is they will record audio past 100Mb/s

painya

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 321
  • 6d 50d 550d 5dc
Re: Is it possible to increase bit-rate on 5DMKIII /w nightly build?
« Reply #4 on: October 04, 2013, 03:02:18 AM »
Would a higher bit-rate be worth it to have more latitude for color correction in post?
Good footage doesn't make a story any better.

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: Is it possible to increase bit-rate on 5DMKIII /w nightly build?
« Reply #5 on: October 04, 2013, 03:49:05 AM »
You have a 6D, do some tests :)

painya

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 321
  • 6d 50d 550d 5dc
Re: Is it possible to increase bit-rate on 5DMKIII /w nightly build?
« Reply #6 on: October 04, 2013, 05:35:59 AM »
You have a 6D, do some tests :)
I have an August Nightly build and there is no bit rate control :/  . I still prefer the .Raw format over the .MLV simply because I can directly import the cinema DNG's to PP which is why I haven't gotten a newer build. If there is a build I would love to take, an upload a test on it.
Good footage doesn't make a story any better.

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: Is it possible to increase bit-rate on 5DMKIII /w nightly build?
« Reply #7 on: October 04, 2013, 06:07:39 AM »
I bundle both... still using raw too :)

Its not merged in main either.

painya

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 321
  • 6d 50d 550d 5dc
Re: Is it possible to increase bit-rate on 5DMKIII /w nightly build?
« Reply #8 on: October 04, 2013, 06:18:48 AM »
Which build is the last one with a bit rate control option?
Good footage doesn't make a story any better.

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: Is it possible to increase bit-rate on 5DMKIII /w nightly build?
« Reply #9 on: October 15, 2013, 05:24:28 PM »
There is no last one, all the ones I upload have it, the nighties do not. Basically pick your poison.

eyeland

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 168
  • 5D Mark Spree
Re: Is it possible to increase bit-rate on 5DMKIII /w nightly build?
« Reply #10 on: December 11, 2013, 10:23:21 PM »
I am a little in the dark regarding the h264.ini option. It doesn't seem to be explained anywhere..
Maybe I am just very bad at searching.. I am currently running the latest 5Dmk3 raw build uploaded and linked by Lourenco - should it be functional?
Daybreak broke me loose and brought me back...

eyeland

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 168
  • 5D Mark Spree
Re: Is it possible to increase bit-rate on 5DMKIII /w nightly build?
« Reply #11 on: December 11, 2013, 11:05:33 PM »
There is no last one, all the ones I upload have it, the nighties do not. Basically pick your poison.
I am completely lost in the forums.. no matter where I go I find something interesting and instead of finding the answer to my initial question, I end up loosing myself in 10 new questions :) (exactly like what happened when I did my philosophy degree)
Mind providing us with a link to the thread where you post your builds? :)
Daybreak broke me loose and brought me back...

RenatoPhoto

  • Moderators
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1509
  • 5DM3 / 7D
Re: Is it possible to increase bit-rate on 5DMKIII /w nightly build?
« Reply #12 on: December 13, 2013, 04:30:11 AM »
But.. not for 5D3.. http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?board=58.0
I have not used h264.ini with 5D3 so I cant help.  The last I read this was not available with 5D3
http://www.pululahuahostal.com  |  EF 300 f/4, EF 100-400 L, EF 180 L, EF-S 10-22, Samyang 14mm, Sigma 28mm EX DG, Sigma 8mm 1:3.5 EX DG, EF 50mm 1:1.8 II, EF 1.4X II, Kenko C-AF 2X

eyeland

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 168
  • 5D Mark Spree
Re: Is it possible to increase bit-rate on 5DMKIII /w nightly build?
« Reply #13 on: December 14, 2013, 01:12:24 AM »
The last I read this was not available with 5D3
noted, thanks
Daybreak broke me loose and brought me back...