Author Topic: Resolve 10 beta is out  (Read 14137 times)

squig

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 518
  • Crash test dummy MK3
Resolve 10 beta is out
« on: September 13, 2013, 11:11:17 AM »
http://www.blackmagicdesign.com/support

Be wary: I didn't download the legacy option and version 10 has replaced version 9 on my mac.

Really keen to play with the editing features.

arrinkiiii

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1101
  • ML ADDICTED 7D
Re: Resolve 10 beta is out
« Reply #1 on: September 13, 2013, 12:27:14 PM »

Be wary: I didn't download the legacy option and version 10 has replaced version 9 on my mac.



Sorry, can't understand. Can you explain? Thanks  :D

ZT

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Resolve 10 beta is out
« Reply #2 on: September 13, 2013, 01:32:09 PM »
Big improvement, pink/green edges seem to have gone. Debayer quality and sharpness settings in Raw control panel. The results are much closer to Adobe camera raw.

kgv5

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 643
Re: Resolve 10 beta is out
« Reply #3 on: September 13, 2013, 01:55:54 PM »
I can confirm. No pink dots like in version 9  :D
www.pilotmovies.pl   5D Mark III, 6D, 550D

arrinkiiii

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1101
  • ML ADDICTED 7D
Re: Resolve 10 beta is out
« Reply #4 on: September 13, 2013, 02:17:40 PM »
Someone can tell me what is legacy option ??  :-\

nick.p

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 94
Re: Resolve 10 beta is out
« Reply #5 on: September 13, 2013, 02:49:07 PM »

Someone can tell me what is legacy option ??  :-\
Version 9 I do believe

arrinkiiii

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1101
  • ML ADDICTED 7D
Re: Resolve 10 beta is out
« Reply #6 on: September 13, 2013, 03:21:39 PM »
Thank you Nick  :D

Andy600

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1863
  • Have you tried turning it off and on again?
Re: Resolve 10 beta is out
« Reply #7 on: September 13, 2013, 04:41:01 PM »
Installed and getting an OpenCL error :( Resolve 9 worked without any problems and my graphics card and CPU H4000 both support OpenCL. Hope this isn't gonna mean another expensive purchase.

Fixed it :)
Colorist working with Davinci Resolve, Baselight, Nuke, After Effects & Premier Pro. Occasional Sunday afternoon DOP. Developer of Cinelog-C Colorspace Management and LUTs - www.cinelogdcp.com

araucaria

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 132
Re: Resolve 10 beta is out
« Reply #8 on: September 13, 2013, 09:35:24 PM »
Pink Green dots fixed!!!!! Debayering works fine now!

spider

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 243
Re: Resolve 10 beta is out
« Reply #9 on: September 13, 2013, 11:48:46 PM »
Yes, Resolve 10 lite looks very nice and it runs better on my old PC.

Optical flow is also nice to have.

togg

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 425
Re: Resolve 10 beta is out
« Reply #10 on: September 16, 2013, 04:51:43 PM »
how much sharpness do you put in? :)

spider

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 243
Re: Resolve 10 beta is out
« Reply #11 on: September 16, 2013, 05:23:08 PM »
Why? I can`t remember.

Midphase

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 712
Re: Resolve 10 beta is out
« Reply #12 on: September 16, 2013, 06:08:52 PM »
If anyone is curious, it seems like Resolve 10 has simplified the method of sharpening only luma channel while leaving the chroma alone. It used to be that you had to insert a parallel node and adjust the settings, but now it seems like you can set up a node to only affect the luma channel in a YUV mode.

Neat!

togg

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 425
Re: Resolve 10 beta is out
« Reply #13 on: September 16, 2013, 11:32:36 PM »
If anyone is curious, it seems like Resolve 10 has simplified the method of sharpening only luma channel while leaving the chroma alone. It used to be that you had to insert a parallel node and adjust the settings, but now it seems like you can set up a node to only affect the luma channel in a YUV mode.

Neat!

But only for the full version I think.

Andy600

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1863
  • Have you tried turning it off and on again?
Re: Resolve 10 beta is out
« Reply #14 on: September 16, 2013, 11:49:33 PM »
But only for the full version I think.

No. It's in the Lite version. Lite doesn't have NR or 3D, that's all :)
Colorist working with Davinci Resolve, Baselight, Nuke, After Effects & Premier Pro. Occasional Sunday afternoon DOP. Developer of Cinelog-C Colorspace Management and LUTs - www.cinelogdcp.com

togg

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 425
Re: Resolve 10 beta is out
« Reply #15 on: September 17, 2013, 12:02:25 AM »
No. It's in the Lite version. Lite doesn't have NR or 3D, that's all :)

You're right, when I've read sharpening in my mind I've automatically put NR since it was done in the same step before.

hjfilmspeed

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 479
  • 5D III and IV
Re: Resolve 10 beta is out
« Reply #16 on: September 17, 2013, 05:26:37 AM »
hmmmm went to render tab and no 23.976 only 24. thats not going to be good for syncing if you shot 23.976

ted ramasola

  • Moderators
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1250
Re: Resolve 10 beta is out
« Reply #17 on: September 17, 2013, 05:42:56 AM »
hmmmm went to render tab and no 23.976 only 24. thats not going to be good for syncing if you shot 23.976

the trick is to make sure you set in preferences output 23.976 BEFORE you import any media. You can't change it after you bring in your media.
5DmkII  / 7D
www.ramasolaproductions.com
Texas

hjfilmspeed

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 479
  • 5D III and IV
Re: Resolve 10 beta is out
« Reply #18 on: September 17, 2013, 05:45:36 AM »
ahhhhh crappers i was opening an old project. Hmmmmm any way to fix?

hjfilmspeed

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 479
  • 5D III and IV
Re: Resolve 10 beta is out
« Reply #19 on: September 17, 2013, 05:47:50 AM »
wait........ i tried rendering a clip and brought it into my editer and it says 23.976.....sooo confuised

spider

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 243
Re: Resolve 10 beta is out
« Reply #20 on: October 03, 2013, 07:22:47 PM »
Beta 2 is out.

spider

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 243
Re: Resolve 10 beta is out
« Reply #21 on: October 10, 2013, 06:36:03 PM »

Midphase

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 712
Re: Resolve 10 beta is out
« Reply #22 on: October 11, 2013, 12:05:16 AM »
Wow, there are a couple of unexpected new features in the latest Resolve beta that really have my attention:

1. Resolve now displays fully on my laptop screen which is 1440X900, until now the bottom of the GUI was cut off, now I can finally use Resolve on my 15" laptop....awesome!

2. It would appear that it's now possible to output at resolutions higher than 1080p even in Lite! This is pretty amazing since until now we were restricted to HD sizes or smaller.

I hope it's not a fluke and that this is the way it will continue to be. I am still pretty amazed that Blackmagic is giving away such a powerful application for free!

togg

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 425

Erik Caretta

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 25
Re: Resolve 10 beta is out
« Reply #24 on: October 20, 2013, 12:44:27 PM »
I confirm, no more pink dots! That's great, because I was pretty disappointed by this problem. Now I can fully rely on a Resolve+Premiere workflow.