Author Topic: ISO bracketing with same exposure  (Read 1835 times)

Marsu42

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1557
  • 66d + flashes
ISO bracketing with same exposure
« on: August 25, 2013, 03:01:23 PM »
The purpose is different from the existing bracketing, but it could be integrated nevertheless:

When taking long-time exposures at night often some things move and are blurred, an example would be a flag. If you want to prevent this you have to take another shot at high iso and blend both exposures.

I'd like ml to automate the shooting sequence, i.e. with a new option "same exposure" use the "0 + ++" pattern to take a bracketing sequence with the given EV spacing by raising the ISO value and modifying the shutter accordingly.

I could just do this in a module, usually 2 shots (one iso100, one high iso) are enough, but if it would be a real bracketing sequence with multiple shots it would allow the shot with the best blur/noise tradeoff to be isolated much easier.

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12564
Re: ISO bracketing with same exposure
« Reply #1 on: August 25, 2013, 03:15:53 PM »
This is one of the reasons I want to bring back the scripting engine. These little things should be pretty easy to do with a script.

Marsu42

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1557
  • 66d + flashes
Re: ISO bracketing with same exposure
« Reply #2 on: August 25, 2013, 04:52:01 PM »
This is one of the reasons I want to bring back the scripting engine. These little things should be pretty easy to do with a script.

Ok, admittedly in this case scripting is easier than C - it's just that I never got picoc to run on my 60d properly (scripts refused to stop), but I'm looking forward to the tcc implementation! I hope doing something like this in a script will be as fast as in code.