What are some good tips for astral photography?

Started by renowilliams, August 10, 2013, 04:02:18 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

renowilliams

Hi All

I'm looking for some settings help for shooting the stars. I am pretty new to photography and could use some input. I plan on doing a time lapse and have played with the intervolometer, so I'm comfortable with that. Also lens choice. I have a 18-55mm and a nifty 50. My thought is to use the 18-55 but maybe I'm wrong.

Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

Tim

Pileot

My experience is to get good light from the sky you need a long exposure. The problem is the sky moves and can blur even a 10 second exposure, depending on the quality you are looking for. If you take, say, a 30 second exposure you can actually get little streaks from the stars moving.

I would suggest get the fastest glass you have, in this case the 50mm 1.8 and shoot it wide open.
Most of the time you try to go as low ISO as you can to reduce noise but to get a short shutter speed I'd use ISO 400-800, I know on my 7D (and T2I before that) I found the noise acceptable until 800ISO. YMMV.

Lastly, just trial and error. The less ambient light the better. Bring a laptop or tablet to look at the pics in higher resolution as you take them and have fun!

TheUnkn0wn

There's a nice rule for preventing star streaks. Lets say your using your 50mm lens, 450/50 = 9. This means you can have a 9 second exposure before star trails can be seen. So the rule is divide 450 by the focal length you are using. (e.g 18mm = 25 seconds)

As for ISO you'll have to use a fairly high ISO (800-1600)

If you're doing deep sky photography I recommend you take multiple pictures so you can stack them using software like (http://deepskystacker.free.fr/english/index.html)