Author Topic: 5D2 Will only boot with ML loaded CF card inserted  (Read 6125 times)

nickBC

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • 5D3, 5D2, 7D, Sony FS700
5D2 Will only boot with ML loaded CF card inserted
« on: August 08, 2013, 06:00:42 PM »
So have been running ML for several months on 5d3 no problems but recently my 5d2 has stopped booting unless I have a ML loaded CF card inserted. It will not boot on an empty slot or clean card.

I have tried disabling the bootflag and then using the internal format with "remove magic lantern" selected. Still nothing after powering off and back on. Removing battery does nothing as well.

I have to load the card with ML again and prepare with Eoscard again in order for it to boot.

In addition:
Cards used are Komputerbay 128gb 1000x & 32gb Lexar 800x, ML 2.3.

Any suggestions?

nickBC

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • 5D3, 5D2, 7D, Sony FS700
Re: 5D2 Will only boot with ML loaded CF card inserted
« Reply #1 on: August 28, 2013, 02:59:07 AM »
Nothing guys? Sadly this issue is ongoing... :(

deletedAcc.0021

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 238
  • 600d x 4
Re: 5D2 Will only boot with ML loaded CF card inserted
« Reply #2 on: August 28, 2013, 03:21:18 AM »
Did you format the card in your computer then try it?

nickBC

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • 5D3, 5D2, 7D, Sony FS700
Re: 5D2 Will only boot with ML loaded CF card inserted
« Reply #3 on: August 30, 2013, 04:02:06 AM »
Yes, both low level quick formats and high level formats.

John Kesl

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 86
  • sudo apt-get install is your friend
Re: 5D2 Will only boot with ML loaded CF card inserted
« Reply #4 on: August 30, 2013, 04:39:17 AM »
have you tried a card with canon firmware? maybe you may need to reinstall canon firmware?

Francis

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 818
Re: 5D2 Will only boot with ML loaded CF card inserted
« Reply #5 on: August 30, 2013, 04:49:47 AM »
have you tried a card with canon firmware? maybe you may need to reinstall canon firmware?

'Reinstalling' Canon firmware never helps, as it was never replaced to begin with. I've never run into this issue with any camera that I've put ML on. Is there any responsiveness from the camera from any button press?

nickBC

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • 5D3, 5D2, 7D, Sony FS700
Re: 5D2 Will only boot with ML loaded CF card inserted
« Reply #6 on: August 30, 2013, 04:43:52 PM »
There's no response from anything unless a ML loaded card is present in the slot. Not even and activity light whenever you open and close the cf door.

renkin

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: 5D2 Will only boot with ML loaded CF card inserted
« Reply #7 on: October 12, 2014, 08:11:00 PM »
Bumping this as I have the same exact problem.
No boot, no activity even when there is no card inside. I'm desperate for a fix, I saved up for a long time for this body

Did anyone found a solution ?

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6970
Re: 5D2 Will only boot with ML loaded CF card inserted
« Reply #8 on: October 12, 2014, 08:19:41 PM »
The thread starters problem is/was:
- Use a blank card or none: Cam will not start
- Use a bootable ML card: Cam will start

You have exactly the same problem?
Photogs and videographers: Assist in proof reading upcoming in-camera help!. Your input is wanted and needed!

renkin

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: 5D2 Will only boot with ML loaded CF card inserted
« Reply #9 on: October 12, 2014, 08:45:27 PM »
My bad, sorry for messing up the thread.
Turns out the cause was unrelated, an empty battery supposedly full made it looks just like the symptoms described here.
If a mod passes by, feel free to delete my posts.