Focus Peak Issue

Started by mikeC, August 13, 2012, 06:49:08 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

mikeC

Hello:

I'm new to ML and looking to the community for some guidance. (Camera: T3i/600D; External Monitor: SmallHD DP4).

When using Focus Peak, instead of getting the usual plane of blinking dots indicating focus, I'm getting a horizontal band of various length red dashes that hover near the top of the screen and that don't respond to focus changes. (Other Overlay features, such as zebras, false colors, and histogram seem to work fine).

Any thoughts or suggestions about the dashes and how to get focus peak working for me would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you kindly.

Mike
Chicago

Francis

Is this only the case when using your external monitor, or does the problem appear on your camera's LCD as well? Also are you in 1080p or 720p? I recall focus peaking not working well in 720.

mikeC

Thanks for your reply, Francis. You are right; the problem occurs only when using the DP4 monitor (firmware V1.2). So it appears that it is the monitor that is the problem. I should add that I was only using the monitor and not any of the DP4 software features, which remained switched off.

I will try some different settings and see if I can get the DP4 to play nice with ML. Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Thank you,
Mike

archp2008