[IMPOSSIBLE] Output recording HDMI

Started by rav, May 16, 2013, 10:45:49 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

rav

Hi everybody!

I saw the last "nightly build" update and btw i'm so impressed by the RAW DNG render, like many people.
My request is certainly a dream but I'd like to know if the recording via HDMI on a 14bits RAW recorder and SSD could be possible one day?

The BIG advantage would be the bitrate (up to 6gb/s) and of course the budget : a 250GB SSD coast approx the same than a 32GB 1000X CF.

I've also see somewhere on the web that a 3.5K RAW video have been shot on a 5DIII, is the 4K @ 24fps function will be able one day?

Thanks a lot and sorry for my english.  :)

vroem

Although this request is tagged as [IMPOSSIBLE], I find this a very interesting idea to explore. I'm not a developer, just a guy who's dreaming.

Of course HDMI has no support for bayered raw. In fact the format used by canon is 8-bit Y'UV 422, this means the hdmi signal has at least 16bit/px compared to the 14bit RAW. So HDMI's bandwidth would be sufficient to get a Full HD raw signal out. Again, I'm not a developer, but just for fun, let's explore the (long!) road it would take to achieve raw over HDMI:

- The first problem I think is that we didn't figure out yet how to feed raw bits into the HDMI buffer. It also needs to be seen if it would accept a bitstream with progressive frames.

- Currently, the camera's builtin display turns off when connecting the HDMI, so you would need to use an HDMI monitor. This means that the signal should be interpretable as YUV422. For that I came up with this raw to yuv conversion. An HDMI monitor interpreting this raw signal as yuv would show a monochrome bayered image with a slight color noise:

px1            px2           
14bit raw:          rrrrrrrrrrrrrr gggggggggggggg

px1      px1+2    px2      px1+2   
8bit Y'UV422:       yyyyyyyy uuuuuuuu yyyyyyyy vvvvvvvv

16bit yuv-like raw: rrrrrrrr 00rrrrrr gggggggg 00gggggg