Author Topic: Canon 650D / T4i  (Read 1458183 times)

crusaden

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Canon 650D / T4i
« Reply #1800 on: December 11, 2015, 07:59:54 PM »
Can you roll back to a previous build without causing problems. It looks like they pulled the 3rd party flash hack out. I'm not sure which was the last stable build which included it. Does anyone know? Thank you for your help.

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8343
Re: Canon 650D / T4i
« Reply #1801 on: December 11, 2015, 08:17:18 PM »
Delete ML directory, delete *.FIR, delete autoexec.bin. Download build and copy extracted files and ML directory to card. See https://builds.magiclantern.fm/jenkins/job/650D.104/
Caveat: Features will be removed (most of the time) if considered unstable/not working at all.

crusaden

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Canon 650D / T4i
« Reply #1802 on: December 11, 2015, 09:09:38 PM »
Thank you so much! So it looks like the 3rd party flash works with some models, but not this one :-) Oh well...thank you for your help with this.

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8343
Re: Canon 650D / T4i
« Reply #1803 on: December 11, 2015, 09:20:39 PM »
I'm not sure we're talking about the same function. Please tell me what you intend to do.

crusaden

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Canon 650D / T4i
« Reply #1804 on: December 11, 2015, 10:18:32 PM »
Under the shoot menu and under the flash setting there used to be a way to enable 3rd party flashes to work in live view. It looks like they never got it to work properly with the T4i without locking up....so in future releases it was removed.

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8343
Re: Canon 650D / T4i
« Reply #1805 on: December 11, 2015, 10:30:39 PM »
My third party flash works in LV on 650D ...

crusaden

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Canon 650D / T4i
« Reply #1806 on: December 11, 2015, 11:28:14 PM »
What version of ML are you running? From what I can find that hack was removed in August 2014. Also what 3rd party flash do you use? Mine will work with the viewfinder, but not in Live View. I wonder if it depends on the flash?

Felipe

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 278
Re: Canon 650D / T4i
« Reply #1807 on: December 11, 2015, 11:58:19 PM »
Yes Walter tell us
650D-700D

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8343
Re: Canon 650D / T4i
« Reply #1808 on: December 12, 2015, 12:06:25 AM »
As I said: I'm not sure we are talking about the same function.
In my opinion this hack should enable "dumb" flashes via hot shoe's middle contact (or x-sync for cams with x-connector) and that's AFAIK surpressed in LV when shooting with plain Canon feature set. I'm using Nissin Di866 and that one is ETTL compatible (= not using middle contact) and therefore has no problems in LV.

Felipe

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 278
Re: Canon 650D / T4i
« Reply #1809 on: December 12, 2015, 12:20:35 AM »
Thanks for the details, That is TTL is like a Canon strobe and has to be on camera or with a TTL connector out of camera.
The feature I can get with my 100D , SL1 is that I can use a radio transmitter on top of the camera to fire my Broncolor Studio Strobes in Live view.
More of a manual control.
On the T4i, I developed a Skill to the cost of wearing the camera a lot, is compose in live view, when ready go to OVF shoot one or several shots,
with the camera blind and then come back to live view to re compose, and then repeat the operation. Once you get the hang of it seems like if you will have this function in camera.
As I said the SL1 has this feature natively.
650D-700D

spider

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 243
Re: Canon 650D / T4i
« Reply #1810 on: December 21, 2015, 01:31:05 PM »
Is there a way to control the aperture in LV?
a1ex says to enable Expo Override...
Quote
- In photo mode, aperture will be most likely wide open, regardless of the setting, because of exposure simulation (enable Expo Override to fix it).
but this doesn't seem to work.

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8343
Re: Canon 650D / T4i
« Reply #1811 on: December 21, 2015, 02:07:15 PM »
You pressed "Depth-of-field preview button", too?

spider

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 243
Re: Canon 650D / T4i
« Reply #1812 on: December 21, 2015, 03:30:33 PM »
Thank you thats doing the trick.

sashtigo

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Canon 650D / T4i
« Reply #1813 on: December 21, 2015, 08:16:42 PM »
AUDIO! AUDIO!! AUDIO SETINGS APP PLEASE!!!

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8343
Re: Canon 650D / T4i
« Reply #1814 on: December 21, 2015, 08:21:17 PM »

dfort

  • Guest
Re: Canon 650D / T4i
« Reply #1815 on: January 15, 2016, 07:05:34 PM »
Hi Canon 650D / T4i users. I'm working on a way to deal with focus pixels that are showing up on raw video and are affecting the 650D.

http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=16054.0

I'm hoping to find a 650D user who is willing to run a few tests and verify that what I'm doing on the EOSM also works the same on the 650D. It should match because they are using basically the same sensor and processor. Please post your findings on the focus pixel discussion.

andy kh

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 537
Re: Canon 650D / T4i
« Reply #1816 on: January 16, 2016, 07:05:03 PM »
keep up the good work. hope everyone can run the test. unfortunately im outstation but wil love to test once i get back home
5D Mark III - 70D

TOineBZX

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Canon 650D / T4i
« Reply #1817 on: January 19, 2016, 11:18:50 PM »
Hi everyone !
I'm new here and just new ML user. I got a 650D/T4i and 18-135mm Canon STM, for the moment i was photographer only. This is my portfolio https://www.flickr.com/photos/toinebzx/

I have a question :
Can i use a 128Go SD card as this one ?
http://www.amazon.com/PNY-Elite-Performance-Speed-P-SDX128U395-GE/dp/B00WWBCQEI/ref=lp_1197396_1_10?s=pc&ie=UTF8&qid=1453298326&sr=1-10
or this one
http://www.amazon.fr/Komputerbay-Digital-Extended-Capacity-vitesse/dp/B00CX8SJDM/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1453241293&sr=8-1&keywords=128Go+sd
or
256Go as this one ?
http://www.amazon.fr/Komputerbay-Digital-Extended-Capacity-vitesse/dp/B00CX8SJDM/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1453241293&sr=8-1&keywords=128Go+sd

Which one could you advise for 1920x720 :
45kb/s is enough ?
90kb/s is better ?
150kb/s ?
How many minutes can i record on 32, 64 or 128 in 1920x720 ?

Please, excuse my poor english and thanks for your answers.

NICKINERO

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Canon 650D / T4i
« Reply #1818 on: February 01, 2016, 09:25:28 PM »
Hi guys, new to all this first forum ever, it's Feb 1 2016,  I just found out about ML and just bought a used T4i, I noticed there is no tab for audio , so I may change it to manual,
is that where we are at for this model,be kind I'm a real newbie...thanks to anyone who can help...peace Nicki
 

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8343
Re: Canon 650D / T4i
« Reply #1819 on: February 01, 2016, 09:31:38 PM »
Top of page -> Downloads -> Download nightly builds -> Features -> Audio

newsense

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 117
Re: Canon 650D / T4i
« Reply #1820 on: February 27, 2016, 10:32:31 PM »
I was interested in trying Magic Lantern raw. What is the suggested workflow for processing these files?

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8343
Re: Canon 650D / T4i
« Reply #1821 on: February 27, 2016, 10:40:05 PM »

newsense

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 117
Re: Canon 650D / T4i
« Reply #1822 on: February 27, 2016, 11:53:31 PM »
Thanks Walter. Do you prefer any method yourself? Looks like more than a few options. I am running Windows 10.

newsense

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 117
Re: Canon 650D / T4i
« Reply #1823 on: March 13, 2016, 11:10:49 PM »
Does exposure override not enable different shutter speeds or am I doing something wrong?

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8343
Re: Canon 650D / T4i
« Reply #1824 on: March 13, 2016, 11:15:37 PM »