Author Topic: How many bits?  (Read 4082 times)

aaphotog

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 356
How many bits?
« on: July 21, 2013, 02:49:18 AM »
I know that none of the programs to extract the DNG's from the raw files are able to produce 14 bit.
With that said, I'd like to get a list of programs and their corresponding outputs(12 bits, 16 bits)
also, please post if they have any negatives(pink frames, black vertical lines...)
Also, please post if they output the regular DNGs, or cinema DNGs
Im curious to know which would be the best program for me to use to extract these dngs

I am on a mac, but wouldn't mind if you list the PC programs as well so that others can make use of the list.

KMA_WWC

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 70
Re: How many bits?
« Reply #1 on: July 21, 2013, 08:00:14 AM »
Raw2dng produces 14bit DNG's
Canon 5D Mark III

aaphotog

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 356
Re: How many bits?
« Reply #2 on: July 21, 2013, 08:03:49 AM »
Raw2dng produces 14bit DNG's
Someone correct me if I'm wrong, but I thought raw2dng produced 12 bit files.

chmee

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1031
  • raw2cdng
Re: How many bits?
« Reply #3 on: July 21, 2013, 11:12:01 PM »
Since End of 2008 all Bodies produce 14Bit-Raws, and they come out of raw2dng.
http://dslr-kleinanzeigen.de/Tools/Body_Database/index.php?filter=prodeqcanon

raw2dng (dng with thumbnail) - 14bit
raw2cdng (win - cdng without thumbnail) - 10bit/log 12bit 16bit
rawmagic (mac - cdng without thumbnail) - (correct me if i'm wrong) 16bit

regards chmee

aaphotog

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 356
Re: How many bits?
« Reply #4 on: July 21, 2013, 11:54:49 PM »
I could of sworn I recalled Alex saying that no program could extract the raw dngs as 14 bit. Thanks for clearing that up for me.
Also, if you don't mind, please add which produces regulard DNGs and cinema DNGs

chmee

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1031
  • raw2cdng
Re: How many bits?
« Reply #5 on: July 22, 2013, 11:09:39 AM »
I think he said it about video-apps - resolve is able to handle 14bit directly from raw2dng with version 9.15 and adobe is handling because it uses the acr-converter. finally thats it. more to read here -> http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=7116.0

regards chmee