Author Topic: Auto exposure algorithm for shooting - auto iso, ae (autoexpo.mo)  (Read 219763 times)

RenatoPhoto

  • Moderators
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1509
  • 5DM3 / 7D
Re: Auto exposure algorithm for shooting - auto iso, ae
« Reply #175 on: September 15, 2013, 06:55:39 PM »
well could you try press shutter half way and remember what values it set, and goto the autoexpo menu and compare with values at the cyan linem, does it match?
Yes it matches.

Now I see that the ISO curve can be displaced up or down and also the same can be done to the AV curve.  So by manipulating these curves I can bring the the shutter curve so that the shutter speed coincides with the brightness value at a lower setting.

I will analyze these curves to better understand how to use this algorithm.

Thanks
http://www.pululahuahostal.com  |  EF 300 f/4, EF 100-400 L, EF 180 L, EF-S 10-22, Samyang 14mm, Sigma 28mm EX DG, Sigma 8mm 1:3.5 EX DG, EF 50mm 1:1.8 II, EF 1.4X II, Kenko C-AF 2X

pravdomil

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 166
Re: Auto exposure algorithm for shooting - auto iso, ae
« Reply #176 on: September 16, 2013, 08:07:09 PM »
I will analyze these curves to better understand how to use this algorithm.
well now autoexpo is little complicated, this is a prototype, it will be simplified soon I hope

dsManning

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 102
Re: Auto exposure algorithm for shooting - auto iso, ae
« Reply #177 on: September 17, 2013, 12:18:28 AM »
Love the work on this.  Some really incredible results.  I had a thought while testing Auto Exposure for a few minutes during a wedding I shot this past Saturday.

Would it be possible to program one of the 'lesser used' buttons (by my day to day use at least) like the DoF preview button, to quickly set 1 out of 3 (Shutter, Fstop, ISO) and have the other two variables 'auto expose' using the same projected graph, based off the 1 constant you set?

I'm sorry if that is confusing.  Best in camera scenario;

Settings are 1/125th shutter, 2.8-11 fstop, 100-800 ISO

Great for outdoors shadow to highlights.  Say for one shot I want to quickly take, I want to shoot as close as I can to f2.8.  My above convoluted question quickly summed up is, would it be possible to press the DoF preview button after you set fstop to 2.8 and have the auto exposure module recognize this and expose with a shallow DoF?

Thanks in advance.

Doyle4

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 690
  • Canon 5DRAWii & 600Dual-Iso
Re: Auto exposure algorithm for shooting - auto iso, ae (autoexpo.mo)
« Reply #178 on: October 01, 2013, 05:26:06 PM »
Hi there,

Been asked to post here as Autoexposure hasnt worked on 600D for awhile now, last time it worked was on TragicLantern NewMem, everynightly build i have tried it still dosnt, iv add the module from NewMem for 600D and the module is too old, any ideas?

When the module is loaded the shutter/aperture/iso constantly changed, now it does nothing and manual is still active.

pravdomil

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 166
Re: Auto exposure algorithm for shooting - auto iso, ae (autoexpo.mo)
« Reply #179 on: October 01, 2013, 06:27:33 PM »

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12564
Re: Auto exposure algorithm for shooting - auto iso, ae (autoexpo.mo)
« Reply #180 on: October 01, 2013, 06:31:30 PM »
That table shows what the compiler thinks it's working, not what's actually working ;)

pravdomil

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 166
Re: Auto exposure algorithm for shooting - auto iso, ae (autoexpo.mo)
« Reply #181 on: October 01, 2013, 06:35:19 PM »
Would it be possible to program one of the 'lesser used' buttons (by my day to day use at least) like the DoF preview button, to quickly set 1 out of 3 (Shutter, Fstop, ISO) and have the other two variables 'auto expose' using the same projected graph, based off the 1 constant you set?
well this is most requested feature, firstly this has to be implemented: http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=7816

Doyle4

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 690
  • Canon 5DRAWii & 600Dual-Iso
Re: Auto exposure algorithm for shooting - auto iso, ae (autoexpo.mo)
« Reply #182 on: October 01, 2013, 07:02:14 PM »
Still not functioning properly im afraid,

What happens now is: When loaded aperture is changed to f/16, shutter/iso stays same as when in full manual.
i also noticed when LV was active (AE does not work in LV as far as im aware) my camera screen showed shutter/aperture/iso change everytime i pressed shutter half way for a few seconds, sometimes pressing half way it wouldnt change any settings and overexpose.

pravdomil

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 166
Re: Auto exposure algorithm for shooting - auto iso, ae (autoexpo.mo)
« Reply #183 on: October 01, 2013, 08:07:30 PM »
Still not functioning properly im afraid
conflict with ettr? or autoISO? don't know

Doyle4

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 690
  • Canon 5DRAWii & 600Dual-Iso
Re: Auto exposure algorithm for shooting - auto iso, ae (autoexpo.mo)
« Reply #184 on: October 01, 2013, 08:45:12 PM »
ettr disabled, auto iso disabled. nothing, strange one  :-\ could the module be taken from newmem and made to work with latest nightly?

pravdomil

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 166
Re: Auto exposure algorithm for shooting - auto iso, ae (autoexpo.mo)
« Reply #185 on: October 01, 2013, 09:43:09 PM »
could the module be taken from newmem and made to work with latest nightly?
what is newmem?

Doyle4

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 690
  • Canon 5DRAWii & 600Dual-Iso
Re: Auto exposure algorithm for shooting - auto iso, ae (autoexpo.mo)
« Reply #186 on: October 01, 2013, 11:00:38 PM »
Sorry about that, its the latest ML for 600D, TragicLantern 2.0 https://bitbucket.org/OtherOnePercent/tragic-lantern-2.0/downloads

pravdomil

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 166
Re: Auto exposure algorithm for shooting - auto iso, ae (autoexpo.mo)
« Reply #187 on: October 01, 2013, 11:36:42 PM »
Sorry about that, its the latest ML for 600D, TragicLantern 2.0 https://bitbucket.org/OtherOnePercent/tragic-lantern-2.0/downloads
well I don't support this fork and I don't have 600D, sorry

Doyle4

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 690
  • Canon 5DRAWii & 600Dual-Iso
Re: Auto exposure algorithm for shooting - auto iso, ae (autoexpo.mo)
« Reply #188 on: October 02, 2013, 12:34:31 AM »
No problem,

Marsu42

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1557
  • 66d + flashes
Re: Auto exposure algorithm for shooting - auto iso, ae (autoexpo.mo)
« Reply #189 on: October 03, 2013, 02:37:48 AM »
Dear pravdomil,

I had a look at your module again and am actually very near using it for macro shooting ... but I have two requests / enhancements ideas:

1. Add a max. shutter speed option other than the cameras max. speed, for two reasons: a) I then can tie down the shutter speed to ranges where flash works better or to x-sync speeds, b) using the fastest possible shutter makes the shutter break sooner.

2. As it is, I cannot influence autoexpo except through the menu - for live shooting, this is often to slow. Please add options to modify the min. aperture and the min. shutter speed with the wheels on the camera so it allows for more and faster creativity...

... I imagine the dial turns should be easy to detect for the module since you know what you set through autoexpo, and when the user changes aperture/shutter not just reset it to autoexo values like not but also modify min. aperture/shutter at the same time in the direction the user specified.

Jakobmen

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 122
  • Canon 5D3
Re: Auto exposure algorithm for shooting - auto iso, ae (autoexpo.mo)
« Reply #190 on: October 03, 2013, 01:32:55 PM »
Nice
Canon 5D3

pravdomil

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 166
Re: Auto exposure algorithm for shooting - auto iso, ae (autoexpo.mo)
« Reply #191 on: October 03, 2013, 02:35:06 PM »
Add a max. shutter speed
Please add options to modify the min. aperture and the min. shutter speed with the wheels
I know I know, It's in TODO list. You can make pull request to autoexpo repo.

Marsu42

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1557
  • 66d + flashes
Re: Auto exposure algorithm for shooting - auto iso, ae (autoexpo.mo)
« Reply #192 on: October 03, 2013, 08:46:07 PM »
I know I know, It's in TODO list.

Sorry, I didn't want to pressure you, I didn't know that's what you meant by "wheel shortcuts" in your todo list. Feel free to add "max. shutter speed" to it though, you can really customize just about everything in the module, only this (for me) important setting is missing.

djronbxs

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Auto exposure algorithm for shooting - auto iso, ae (autoexpo.mo)
« Reply #193 on: October 10, 2013, 06:31:17 PM »
should this be disabled when taking bracketed hdr photos ? also are there any best settings for the Canon 550D camera ?

thanks

pravdomil

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 166
Re: Auto exposure algorithm for shooting - auto iso, ae (autoexpo.mo)
« Reply #194 on: October 11, 2013, 09:11:04 PM »
should this be disabled when taking bracketed hdr photos ?
these conflict is not yet handled, planned
also are there any best settings for the Canon 550D camera ?
sorry don't have 550D

vertigopix

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 281
  • EOS 6D - EOS M
Re: Auto exposure algorithm for shooting - auto iso, ae (autoexpo.mo)
« Reply #195 on: October 26, 2013, 05:20:57 PM »
Hello pravdomil,

Can you tell me if i can use your module with a manual lens (Zenit Helios 44-2) ?
I have tried but bad results... (under exposure)

Maybe it's not done for this usage...  :-[

Thanks a lot !

pravdomil

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 166
Re: Auto exposure algorithm for shooting - auto iso, ae (autoexpo.mo)
« Reply #196 on: October 26, 2013, 06:49:09 PM »
it should work with manual lenses (with and without chip), but I didn't test it much

ShootingStars

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 43
Re: Auto exposure algorithm for shooting - auto iso, ae (autoexpo.mo)
« Reply #197 on: October 28, 2013, 09:06:52 AM »
Hi, I've been testing this... from my understanding...

THIS - Aims for fastest shutter possible by going to the lowest aperture and highest iso set. More for street/event photography.
AETTR - Aims for lowest noise possible by exposing for the brightest highlights, aims for lowest iso. More for landscape?

Sorry I am fairly new to auto expo.

pravdomil

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 166
Re: Auto exposure algorithm for shooting - auto iso, ae (autoexpo.mo)
« Reply #198 on: October 28, 2013, 09:14:23 AM »
this aims for user define exposure curve for each BV value of scene

vertigopix

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 281
  • EOS 6D - EOS M
Re: Auto exposure algorithm for shooting - auto iso, ae (autoexpo.mo)
« Reply #199 on: October 28, 2013, 09:42:42 AM »
when I have time, I will experiment with a manual lens.
I hope this week !

But the question is what to configure for the aperture ?