Author Topic: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement (dual_iso.mo)  (Read 2055248 times)

daancalo2013

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement
« Reply #900 on: September 01, 2013, 07:01:27 PM »

zuzukasuma

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 104
  • in Canon we Trust.
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement
« Reply #901 on: September 01, 2013, 07:24:20 PM »
a1ex, we have a problem.

when you shoot sky (or a scene with really low contrast and no obvious details) using dual ISO (no point but I've tried to create dual iso timelapse), cr2hdr.exe doesn't recognize the pattern of the shots. I'm now on a low bandwidth, but you can try it out yourself.
in a complicated relationship with eos m.

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement
« Reply #902 on: September 01, 2013, 07:36:54 PM »
Also what about this: dual iso + shutter HDR flipping for raw video.

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12564
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement
« Reply #903 on: September 01, 2013, 07:46:50 PM »
Dual shutter might be possible (look in the ADTG thread), so really extreme HDR could become a piece of cake.

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement
« Reply #904 on: September 01, 2013, 07:51:09 PM »
I fixed the "advanced" hdr mode so while its not one exposure, you could do dual iso + switch the shutter every other frame. The workflow might be weird but i wonder what it would make at this point.

engardeknave

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 339
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement
« Reply #905 on: September 01, 2013, 07:55:41 PM »
.

nanomad

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2918
  • All your websites are belong to us
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement
« Reply #906 on: September 01, 2013, 07:56:14 PM »
For the record, the line skip fix on the 650D / EOSM and other cameras should be:

Code: [Select]
raw &= 0x1FF
EOS 1100D | EOS 650 (No, I didn't forget the D) | Ye Olde Canon EF Lenses ('87): 50 f/1.8 - 28 f/2.8 - 70-210 f/4 | EF-S 18-55 f/3.5-5.6 | Metz 36 AF-5

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12564
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement
« Reply #907 on: September 01, 2013, 07:57:08 PM »
Quote
I fixed the "advanced" hdr mode so while its not one exposure, you could do dual iso + switch the shutter every other frame. The workflow might be weird but i wonder what it would make at this point.
Yes, but you will get both motion artifacts and aliasing. You could have just one of them with shutter HDR only ;)

The workflow is tricky because I'm not sure how to get interframe to work on raw data.

l_d_allan

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 258
Nit: .exe should be .zip? [Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement]
« Reply #908 on: September 02, 2013, 04:36:23 AM »
Postprocessing
- For CR2 files: cr2hdr.c (Windows:cr2hdr.exe)   [ [.zip??? ] ]. It requires dcraw and (optional) exiftool in your executable path (they are in the zip). Drag and drop the CR2 files over cr2hdr.exe.

mk11174

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 809
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement
« Reply #909 on: September 03, 2013, 04:26:51 AM »
Anyone have any movie mode issues with 600D not working with Dual_Iso?

Photo mode works great and shows preview after shot but before the new API 3.0 I was able to get a realtime preview in Movie Mode?

Still works on my 550D, it is just the 600D I am having issues with with this new API version?

I tried both Raw_REC modules from main repo and Tragic-Lantern both same results, just not working in Movie Mode now.
500D/T1i  550D/T2i  600D/T3i  700D/T5i

vstrglv

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 246
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement
« Reply #910 on: September 03, 2013, 06:09:16 PM »
There is a problem in 192 frame RAW video file. 5D3, iso 800/3200
I have converted raw to dng with raw2dng.exe on  ‎August ‎29, ‎2013, ‏‎8:49:50 PM, 254 KB (261,102 bytes). All dng files became interlaced.
After cr2hdr.exe on  ‎August ‎29, ‎2013, ‏‎1:17:52 PM, 284 KB (291,563 bytes) first 130 frames stay interlaced with error
Code: [Select]
W:\cr2hdr1\1>cr2hdr.exe 000131.DNG

Input file     : 000131.DNG
Full size      : 1920 x 1080
Active area    : 1920 x 1080
White level    : 12400
Black subtract didn't work
ISO pattern    : ddBd RGGB
Bright/dark detection error
ISO blending didn't work
Frames from 132 until 192 are good - not interlaced with
Code: [Select]
W:\cr2hdr1\1>cr2hdr.exe 000132.DNG

Input file     : 000132.DNG
Full size      : 1920 x 1080
Active area    : 1920 x 1080
White level    : 12400
Black subtract didn't work
ISO pattern    : dBBd RGGB
Noise levels   : 8.00 8.00 8.00 8.00 (14-bit)
Estimating ISO difference...
ISO difference : 1.00 EV (200)
Black delta    : 20.10
Interpolation  : mean23-chroma5x5-alias
Dynamic range  : 10.34 (+) 10.34 => 11.34 EV (in theory)
Matching brightness...
Looking for hot/cold pixels...
Hot pixels     : 9
Full-res reconstruction...
ISO overlap    : 6.3 EV (approx)
Half-res blending...
Chroma filtering...
Building alias map...
Filtering alias map...
Smoothing alias map...
Noise level    : 8.00 (16-bit)
Dynamic range  : 12.34 EV (cooked)
Output file    : 000132.DNG
    1 image files updated
Canon 5D3,1.1.3; Canon EOS M,202,  CF-SanDisk Extreme PRO,160MB/s, 256GB, SD-SanDisk Extreme Pro, 170MB/s, 128GB.

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12564
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement
« Reply #911 on: September 03, 2013, 06:15:41 PM »
Try cr2hdr_exp (scroll up) and upload a DNG.

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement
« Reply #912 on: September 03, 2013, 06:49:04 PM »
Yep, someone broke it... like AE/Value +state using the LV only value.

6D values were copied for LV... dunno why. Bad merge? And then I merged it from main:

Code: [Select]
               
        FRAME_CMOS_ISO_START = 0x406957C8; // CMOS register 0000 - for LiveView, ISO 100 (check in movie mode, not photo!)
        FRAME_CMOS_ISO_COUNT =          6; // from ISO 100 to 25600
        FRAME_CMOS_ISO_SIZE  =         30; // distance between ISO 100 and ISO 200 addresses, in bytes

vstrglv

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 246
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement
« Reply #913 on: September 03, 2013, 06:52:09 PM »
Same result with cr2hdr_exp.
http://dfiles.ru/files/r3fdt4fv9  good file

http://dfiles.ru/files/oszztsuk1   bad file
Canon 5D3,1.1.3; Canon EOS M,202,  CF-SanDisk Extreme PRO,160MB/s, 256GB, SD-SanDisk Extreme Pro, 170MB/s, 128GB.

doctormord

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement
« Reply #914 on: September 03, 2013, 06:52:24 PM »
Dual shutter would be awesome.

What i got in mind some days ago is, "long expo at real time" which i meant to be like so:

Shutterspeed: 1/30 splitted to 1/n lines. I.e.

odd line: 1/15
even line 1/15

So you may record video at 30fps mit 1/15 shutterspeed by interlacing odd and even lines. Setting up a 1/4 (4 lines) would give a 1/7.5.. :D

Postproduction could be a wired thing then.

Just thougt..

vstrglv

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 246
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement
« Reply #915 on: September 03, 2013, 07:01:02 PM »
Same issue with another file. 736 frames total - frames from 394frame until 606 frame are bad (stay interlaced)
Canon 5D3,1.1.3; Canon EOS M,202,  CF-SanDisk Extreme PRO,160MB/s, 256GB, SD-SanDisk Extreme Pro, 170MB/s, 128GB.

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12564
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement
« Reply #916 on: September 03, 2013, 07:12:58 PM »
131 works for me with cr2hdr_exp.exe...

mk11174

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 809
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement
« Reply #917 on: September 03, 2013, 07:32:42 PM »
Yep, someone broke it... like AE/Value +state using the LV only value.

6D values were copied for LV... dunno why. Bad merge? And then I merged it from main:

Code: [Select]
               
        FRAME_CMOS_ISO_START = 0x406957C8; // CMOS register 0000 - for LiveView, ISO 100 (check in movie mode, not photo!)
        FRAME_CMOS_ISO_COUNT =          6; // from ISO 100 to 25600
        FRAME_CMOS_ISO_SIZE  =         30; // distance between ISO 100 and ISO 200 addresses, in bytes
Man, I should of checked the darn addresses myself, der! 8] Thanks 1%, just never thought the address would ever accidently get changed.
500D/T1i  550D/T2i  600D/T3i  700D/T5i

vstrglv

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 246
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement
« Reply #918 on: September 03, 2013, 07:49:22 PM »
Alex, please check this one http://dfiles.ru/files/3yiefe6rq
131 works for me too with cr2hdr_exp.exe. Maybe I was wrong
With cr2hdr_exp.exe. only files from 0 until 28 are bad
Canon 5D3,1.1.3; Canon EOS M,202,  CF-SanDisk Extreme PRO,160MB/s, 256GB, SD-SanDisk Extreme Pro, 170MB/s, 128GB.

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12564
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement
« Reply #919 on: September 03, 2013, 08:23:03 PM »
Solved and updated cr2hdr from first post (since all pixel peeping tests passed).

vstrglv

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 246
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement
« Reply #920 on: September 03, 2013, 08:48:34 PM »
It works. Thank you very much!
Canon 5D3,1.1.3; Canon EOS M,202,  CF-SanDisk Extreme PRO,160MB/s, 256GB, SD-SanDisk Extreme Pro, 170MB/s, 128GB.

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement
« Reply #921 on: September 04, 2013, 03:16:44 AM »
How was banding on 5DIII solved? It looks like there is a pattern to this noise.



Took some of it in crop where its the worst with lens cap on.

Zoom (Folder Link)
https://mega.co.nz/#F!w0ICgKxA!JhgB4SXMYBJI59KIJw5rOg

lomka

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 29
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement
« Reply #922 on: September 04, 2013, 04:12:10 AM »
can somebody explain to me what a dual shutter is please?

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12564
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement
« Reply #923 on: September 04, 2013, 08:07:37 AM »
Can you upload one DNG? I've downloaded one of the raws, but it's just a dark frame...

enliten

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement
« Reply #924 on: September 04, 2013, 10:13:15 AM »
Yes, but you will get both motion artifacts and aliasing. You could have just one of them with shutter HDR only ;)

I asked this much earlier in the thread and it got buried. Again I'm not sure if I'm understanding correctly but:

are we talking about taking 2 frames with alternating ISO locations and combining them in post?

i.e. frame 1 has odd rows as iso 100, even as 1600
then frame 2 has odd rows as iso 1600, even as 100

Would this work? would we gain more detail from this method? or would you be better off just bracketing ISO?

Cheers,

Ben