Author Topic: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement (dual_iso.mo)  (Read 1660816 times)

3pointedit

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 263
  • 550D
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement
« Reply #625 on: August 15, 2013, 10:12:46 AM »
I understand, that dual iso is for RAW recording only.
Is there a chance it will become available for H264 encoded recordings later, or is this not possible?

The raw video workflow is really time consuming, and if dual iso was possible with H264 directly in camera, this would be a fantastic time saver..

I am believe that the compression would kill the fine detail needed to reconstruct the HDR image. Also there is a current HDR solution for h264 shooting, with temporal errors instead of spatial errors.

However if the interlacing could be conserved through compression I'm sure you could comb the fields out for processing.
550D on ML-roids

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement
« Reply #626 on: August 15, 2013, 03:31:39 PM »
I thought of shooting XXiso/100 too. In the day time yea, 100/1600 but at night you have the opposite problem and want to expose backwards... ie you still get lights, etc. But I think the converter isn't set up for it.

NateVolk

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 28
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement
« Reply #627 on: August 15, 2013, 08:55:12 PM »
Very nice image. I can see some moire and maybe some fringe in the top of the cabane...

Yeah, on the computer it looks pretty bad.  Straight up RAW is still the best option.  You could process the dual iso better to remove the fringing, but the amount of work added is huge.

The stills converter works if you flip the iso's, but it produces very different results from the 100/1600 at the same settings.  I'm still having a real hard time understanding how to properly expose the image.  Any tips?

ted ramasola

  • Moderators
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1250
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement
« Reply #628 on: August 15, 2013, 10:45:29 PM »
7D test shots on dual ISOs.

Here are four shots, unlighted room with res chart and open window noontime. Processed the shots to get a "good" image indoors and try to recover as much info from the window. I was trying see the noise patterns and also if i reverse the recovery if there is a difference.
Took 4 shots;
1. 100 iso
2. 1600 iso
3. 100-1600 dual iso
4. 1600-100 dual iso

shot 1 - 100 iso
https://fbcdn-sphotos-c-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-prn2/1150512_358773894253401_433820467_o.jpg
shot 2 - 1600 iso
https://fbcdn-sphotos-e-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-frc3/1146262_358773880920069_1154231185_o.jpg
Shot 3 - 100_1600 iso
https://fbcdn-sphotos-a-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/1172292_358773887586735_1710098679_o.jpg
shot 4 - 1600_100 iso
https://fbcdn-sphotos-g-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-prn1/1172556_358774064253384_781772650_o.jpg
5DmkII  / 7D
www.ramasolaproductions.com
Texas

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12420
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement
« Reply #629 on: August 16, 2013, 09:05:33 AM »
Great test Ted, can you upload the CR2 files for it? (or at least the 100/1600 one).

Also @Canon eos m: need the CR2 from here: http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=7139.msg66734#msg66734

I've recompiled cr2hdr.exe and re-uploaded it, just in case. No code changes. Do you still have issues?

Quote
Update: Spent a few hours in Photomatix Pro, mixing 2 or 3 expo "classical" HDRs..... (ISO shift)
i never get even close to the result of DualIso....

Try Zero Noise: http://www.guillermoluijk.com/software/zeronoise/index.htm

It should use a similar blending method (though I didn't try it, I've only read their articles and borrowed the technique).

Audionut

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3605
  • Blunt and to the point
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement
« Reply #630 on: August 16, 2013, 10:03:07 AM »
I've recompiled cr2hdr.exe and re-uploaded it, just in case. No code changes. Do you still have issues?

That fixed it.  Ta.

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement
« Reply #631 on: August 16, 2013, 02:35:24 PM »
So which algo was the best? From the repo I get v-23-contrast, from the EXE in the first post I had v22-smooth or something like that.

Canon eos m

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 562
  • 5D Mark III, Canon EOS M
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement
« Reply #632 on: August 16, 2013, 02:53:28 PM »
Great test Ted, can you upload the CR2 files for it? (or at least the 100/1600 one).

Also @Canon eos m: need the CR2 from here: http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=7139.msg66734#msg66734

I've recompiled cr2hdr.exe and re-uploaded it, just in case. No code changes. Do you still have issues?

Try Zero Noise: http://www.guillermoluijk.com/software/zeronoise/index.htm

It should use a similar blending method (though I didn't try it, I've only read their articles and borrowed the technique).

Looking for it. Will send you soon as I track it down or will send another CR2 with similar blackening ... have a lot with this same issue.
Canon 5D Mark III, Gopro Hero Blacks with 3D Casing, A Few Lenses, Adobe CC 2014, MacBook Pro, Windows 8 PC, Lots of Video Rig!

Started Nuke. Loved it but then the 15 day trial ran out. Back to After Effects and loving it :-)

Canon eos m

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 562
  • 5D Mark III, Canon EOS M
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement
« Reply #633 on: August 16, 2013, 03:59:06 PM »

I've recompiled cr2hdr.exe and re-uploaded it, just in case. No code changes. Do you still have issues?


Some issue with ch2hdr.exe download from the OP - the black command prompt screen flashes for a second and then dies out. The ch2hdr_exp.exe works fine.

Zero Noise also has problems is asking for a missing MSSTDFMT.DLL file.
Canon 5D Mark III, Gopro Hero Blacks with 3D Casing, A Few Lenses, Adobe CC 2014, MacBook Pro, Windows 8 PC, Lots of Video Rig!

Started Nuke. Loved it but then the 15 day trial ran out. Back to After Effects and loving it :-)

Doyle4

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 690
  • Canon 5DRAWii & 600Dual-Iso
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement
« Reply #634 on: August 16, 2013, 04:22:59 PM »
Whilst batch converting mac im getting this:

Input file     : /Users/doyle/Desktop/DCIM/100EOS5D/IMG_9937.CR2
Full size      : 5792 x 3804
Active area    : 5634 x 3753
White level    : 15713
Black borders  : 158 left, 51 top
Black level    : 973
ISO pattern    : BddB GBRG
Estimating ISO difference...
ISO difference : 4.22 EV (1860)
Black delta    : -8.79
Interpolation  : mean23-chroma5x5-contrast
Matching brightness...
Looking for hot pixels...
Hot pixels     : 2232
Full-res reconstruction...
Alias filtering...
Dark chroma filtering...
Building contrast map...
Dilating contrast map...
Smoothing contrast map...
ISO overlap    : 4.8 EV (approx)
Black adjust   : -5
Output file    : /Users/doyle/Desktop/DCIM/100EOS5D/IMG_9937.DNG
sh: -c: line 0: unexpected EOF while looking for matching `"'
sh: -c: line 1: syntax error: unexpected end of file
Exiftool didn't work

But dng's have been created and seem to be ok as a file that was updated? noticed it does the same on windows too when batch converting,

Cheers guys, and great work again!


ted ramasola

  • Moderators
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1250
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement
« Reply #635 on: August 16, 2013, 05:24:08 PM »
Great test Ted, can you upload the CR2 files for it? (or at least the 100/1600 one).

@a1ex

emailed cr2

ted
5DmkII  / 7D
www.ramasolaproductions.com
Texas

Ozgur

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement
« Reply #636 on: August 16, 2013, 08:00:42 PM »
Does Dual Iso still only work for Still images on Eos 7D?

ted ramasola

  • Moderators
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1250
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement
« Reply #637 on: August 16, 2013, 08:08:16 PM »
Does Dual Iso still only work for Still images on Eos 7D?

yes.
5DmkII  / 7D
www.ramasolaproductions.com
Texas

frogcement

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 21
  • EOS: 7D, 400D, D60, 1v, 1v RS
Re: Dual ISO - CR2HDR
« Reply #638 on: August 17, 2013, 12:33:27 AM »
I've recompiled cr2hdr.exe and re-uploaded it, just in case. No code changes.


Just wondering if/when there will be a build that takes command line switches? Or does it already do this and I am missing it?
Cheers....
--
K.C.
--
K.C.

ted ramasola

  • Moderators
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1250
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement
« Reply #639 on: August 17, 2013, 12:57:05 AM »
5D mkII test shots on dual ISOs.

The latest cr2hdr works in removing greenish cast from shadow areas.
Unlighted room with res chart and open window noontime. Processed the shots to get a "good" image indoors and try to recover as much info from the window. Compared the noise patterns and also tested with VAF filter to control color aialing and moire.
3 shots;
1. 100 iso
2. 100-1600 dual iso
3. 100-1600 dual iso with VAF

1.100 iso
https://fbcdn-sphotos-e-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/1150526_359389720858485_1133039032_o.jpg

100-1600 dual iso
https://fbcdn-sphotos-a-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-prn2/1146938_359389874191803_1768168050_o.jpg

3. 100-1600 dual iso with VAF
https://fbcdn-sphotos-c-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-frc3/1093863_359389800858477_834816052_o.jpg
5DmkII  / 7D
www.ramasolaproductions.com
Texas

Canon eos m

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 562
  • 5D Mark III, Canon EOS M
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement
« Reply #640 on: August 17, 2013, 03:59:08 AM »
Could someone point me to the link to the latest cr2hdr.exe update?
Canon 5D Mark III, Gopro Hero Blacks with 3D Casing, A Few Lenses, Adobe CC 2014, MacBook Pro, Windows 8 PC, Lots of Video Rig!

Started Nuke. Loved it but then the 15 day trial ran out. Back to After Effects and loving it :-)

ted ramasola

  • Moderators
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1250
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement
« Reply #641 on: August 17, 2013, 04:20:10 AM »
Could someone point me to the link to the latest cr2hdr.exe update?

first post.
5DmkII  / 7D
www.ramasolaproductions.com
Texas

Canon eos m

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 562
  • 5D Mark III, Canon EOS M
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement
« Reply #642 on: August 17, 2013, 01:35:18 PM »
Ted did that already but it doesn't work for me - whereas the previous on ch2hdr_exp.exe works just fine.
Canon 5D Mark III, Gopro Hero Blacks with 3D Casing, A Few Lenses, Adobe CC 2014, MacBook Pro, Windows 8 PC, Lots of Video Rig!

Started Nuke. Loved it but then the 15 day trial ran out. Back to After Effects and loving it :-)

Canon eos m

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 562
  • 5D Mark III, Canon EOS M
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement
« Reply #643 on: August 17, 2013, 01:50:08 PM »
first post.

The file does not convert instead cr2hdr.exe generates this tmp file:

Filename: C:\Users\USer\Downloads\cr2hdr August 16 2013 download\cr2hdr\_G1A8405.CR2
Timestamp: Wed Aug 14 18:42:17 2013
Camera: Canon EOS 5D Mark III
ISO speed: 12800
Shutter: 1/98.7 sec
Aperture: f/2.5
Focal length: 35.0 mm
Embedded ICC profile: no
Number of raw images: 1
Thumb size:  5760 x 3840
Full size:   5920 x 3950
Image size:  5796 x 3870
Output size: 5796 x 3870
Raw colors: 3
Filter pattern: RGGBRGGBRGGBRGGB
Daylight multipliers: 2.125175 0.943985 1.338680
Camera multipliers: 1259.000000 1024.000000 3666.000000 1024.000000
Canon 5D Mark III, Gopro Hero Blacks with 3D Casing, A Few Lenses, Adobe CC 2014, MacBook Pro, Windows 8 PC, Lots of Video Rig!

Started Nuke. Loved it but then the 15 day trial ran out. Back to After Effects and loving it :-)

ted ramasola

  • Moderators
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1250
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement
« Reply #644 on: August 17, 2013, 07:06:30 PM »
The file does not convert instead cr2hdr.exe generates this tmp file:

Filename: C:\Users\USer\Downloads\cr2hdr August 16 2013 download\cr2hdr\_G1A8405.CR2
Timestamp: Wed Aug 14 18:42:17 2013
Camera: Canon EOS 5D Mark III
ISO speed: 12800
Shutter: 1/98.7 sec
Aperture: f/2.5
Focal length: 35.0 mm
Embedded ICC profile: no
Number of raw images: 1
Thumb size:  5760 x 3840
Full size:   5920 x 3950
Image size:  5796 x 3870
Output size: 5796 x 3870
Raw colors: 3
Filter pattern: RGGBRGGBRGGBRGGB
Daylight multipliers: 2.125175 0.943985 1.338680
Camera multipliers: 1259.000000 1024.000000 3666.000000 1024.000000

make sure the folder where the cr2hdr.exe and the cr2 files have a simple file name, no dashes and special characters also try to move the said folder to the root of the drive.
5DmkII  / 7D
www.ramasolaproductions.com
Texas

Canon eos m

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 562
  • 5D Mark III, Canon EOS M
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement
« Reply #645 on: August 17, 2013, 07:41:41 PM »
make sure the folder where the cr2hdr.exe and the cr2 files have a simple file name, no dashes and special characters also try to move the said folder to the root of the drive.

Worked!
Canon 5D Mark III, Gopro Hero Blacks with 3D Casing, A Few Lenses, Adobe CC 2014, MacBook Pro, Windows 8 PC, Lots of Video Rig!

Started Nuke. Loved it but then the 15 day trial ran out. Back to After Effects and loving it :-)

sdesign

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 24
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement
« Reply #646 on: August 18, 2013, 04:36:06 AM »
has there been any simple tutorial or video help, for this?  I'm getting single pics with lines, new to this, not to ML though, HELP!!!

sdesign

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 24
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement
« Reply #647 on: August 18, 2013, 04:42:58 AM »
my tmp file is empty, as well

arrinkiiii

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1101
  • ML ADDICTED 7D
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement
« Reply #648 on: August 18, 2013, 06:13:17 AM »
has there been any simple tutorial or video help, for this?  I'm getting single pics with lines, new to this, not to ML though, HELP!!!

The single pics (cr2) with lines that your are getting is the dual iso (interlaced iso), you need to click and drag to cr2hdr.exe and he will give you dng's, already with the dual iso merged.

The dngĀ“s must be in the same folder than the cr2hdr.exe

D.L. Watson

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 77
  • Film Artist
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement
« Reply #649 on: August 18, 2013, 10:55:15 AM »
Attended a wedding and tested the duel iso for my 50D. Some beautiful dynamic range.



When nighttime hit, I tried to see if I could do something like 800/12800 but even though it was selected, it still defaulted back to 800/1600. Maybe a bug? (I know it would be incredi-noise, but I just wanted to see how bad it would be).
See my portfolio of work at www.dlwatson.net