Author Topic: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement (dual_iso.mo)  (Read 2033209 times)

wavydoom

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement (dual_iso.mo)
« Reply #3100 on: June 16, 2021, 02:52:43 PM »
Disabled all modules on my 6d (Made in Japan, it says on the bottom).
Only activated dual iso module.

Got the 'ISOless PH err(3)' error both in video mode and photo mode...
So it doesn't work in any mode.

Will try some other builds of magic lantern.


1.1.3  with   magiclantern-Nightly.2014Mar28.6D113     

dual iso works fine.

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8304
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement (dual_iso.mo)
« Reply #3101 on: June 16, 2021, 04:56:45 PM »
Problem exists (at least) for 6D, 650D, 700D. According to a1ex it should be fixed by solving the common issue: https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=25976.msg231177#msg231177

Levas

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1740
  • 6d - Nightly build user
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement (dual_iso.mo)
« Reply #3102 on: June 17, 2021, 10:35:22 AM »
I think something changed from 1.1.3 to 1.1.6 on 6d.
Anyway, the  'ISOless PH err(3)' for 6d is fixed in the builds I uploaded the last couple of years, although those aren't available on the experimental downloadpage.

In this post there's a linkt to the latest build for 6D I uploaded, should work for dual iso:
https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=25782.msg229094#msg229094

But be aware that this is a experimental build, this build also contains the SD_UHS speed hack module and has a special crop_rec module with more resolution options.
To know how it all works, you might want to read the whole topic, it's only 6 pages, so it's not that much. But a lot of info in there.
https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=25782.msg223031#msg223031

Comes to mind that the dual iso module in these builds should be compatible with the 4k build on the experimental downloadpage, so if you don't want to use all the stuff in the new build, you could copy the 'dual_iso.mo' in the modules folder of my build and overwrite it to the 4k experimental build you are using from the downloadpage.


dream951

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 30
  • let's get maximum from our cameras
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement (dual_iso.mo)
« Reply #3103 on: July 01, 2021, 11:12:00 AM »
Hi guys!
Is it possible in any build to take silent pictures from liveview with dualiso with an intervalometer.
This does not work for me, it shoots out only a raw frame without processing by dualiso.
It would be very cool for timelapses.
Thanks
5DIII crop_rec_4k_mlv_snd_isogain_1x3_presets_2022May15.5D3123
Sigma Art 24/1.4 50/1.4 135/1.8 + Canon 24-105/4 70-200/4 + Samyang 8/3.5 + Helios 58-2

theBilalFakhouri

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 865
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement (dual_iso.mo)
« Reply #3104 on: July 02, 2021, 11:55:05 PM »
Hi @dream951

Silent pictures with Dual ISO already works:

1-If you set "Silent Mode" to "Simple", you need to enable RAW video in this case to make Dual ISO works with silent pictures (this only works in movie mode, unless you want it in Photo mode for slower shutter speeds?)
(*Edit: it seems this doesn't work well with intervalometer, I got "Out of Memory" with RAW video enabled).

*Workaround: make Dual ISO works when taking "Simple" silent mode pictures, also when "Silent" mode is activated in movie mode without RAW video enabled (coding tasks).

2- If you are using "Full-res" silent pictures, it works out of the box, no RAW video required.

"Simple" silent mode has LiveView RAW resolution which is about ~1920x1280 or less (in none crop mode, depending on your camera) with Binning/Skipping, "Full-res" silent mode uses full pixels on sensor without Binning/Skipping, which one are you looking for?
New custom build for 100D/SL1 is up:
https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=26511.msg239125#msg239125
Porting still work in progress!

Milk and Coffee

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 120
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement (dual_iso.mo)
« Reply #3105 on: October 24, 2021, 06:42:47 PM »
Does MLV store RAW data in a linear gamma?

I’m reading that cameras that store RAW sensor data linearly, the dynamic range is limited to the bit depth. Whereas cameras that store RAW sensor data logarithmically, the dynamic range is not limited by the bit depth.

https://www.avsforum.com/threads/fake-raw-braw-proresraw-z-raw-whats-going-on.3157980/

Example: In cameras that store sensor data linearly, capturing a 10bit signal, limits the available dynamic range to be captured to 10 stops.
Canon 5D Mark II, Mac/OSX

ilia3101

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 965
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement (dual_iso.mo)
« Reply #3106 on: November 03, 2021, 01:41:11 PM »
Technical doc
- dual_iso.pdf (in-depth description of how it works)
- See also: ADTG and CMOS discussion

The technical doc link is down. However it can still be accessed here if anyone needs it: https://web.archive.org/web/20130821183804/http://acoutts.com/a1ex/dual_iso.pdf




@Milk The developers would have done it if there was an easy way to make the camera do it! 10 bit log would be almost indistinguishable from 14 bit.

2blackbar

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 506
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement (dual_iso.mo)
« Reply #3107 on: November 03, 2021, 02:03:16 PM »
Milk and Coffee 10,12 and 14 bits in raw on my canon M or 5d2 are hard to tell apart, 10 bits have noisey blacks so i use it when i have no choice and footage is too high res for continuous recording
Dynamic range is identical on all 3 bitdepths, i tested it, there wasnt more stuff and even if there was its just junknoise ,you can test it easily too.I use 12bits.

dragonsfire1981

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement (dual_iso.mo)
« Reply #3108 on: December 03, 2021, 02:52:56 PM »
I tested this mode for the first time today, I seem to have got a few strange corrupted frames on 1080p mode.

Is this less likely to happen if I use a crop mode or is it suspectable to it regardless of mode?

yuvex

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement (dual_iso.mo)
« Reply #3109 on: May 19, 2022, 10:51:41 AM »
Astro modified 550D owner, and new Magic Lantern user here.

I have the Dual ISO module successfully installed and running, and have taken a few one shot daylight HDR images.

Fast forward to using this in my deep sky tracked and stacked astrophotography workflow, and I am struggling with image calibration.

Basically, my flats are overcorrecting and not removing any dust bunnies. There also appears to be weird multi coloured colour casts.

I am at 100/1600, Dual ISO-wise for what it's worth.

And yes, I have tried calibrating the files with and without crwhdr and every combination in between, without success. Without flats, the overcorrection is gone, but then you run into all the other incomplete calibration issues this brings.

I know this is a long shot, as I'm not sure anyone without DSO astrophotography knowledge has any clue what I'm talking about, but there are no Dual ISO users in my astro circle I can call upon.

Thanks


Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8304
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement (dual_iso.mo)
« Reply #3110 on: May 22, 2022, 07:09:54 PM »
I don't think you will find any information on that. Dual-ISO and astrophotography is IMHO not a combination anyone wants to use.

vastunghia

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 44
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement (dual_iso.mo)
« Reply #3111 on: May 22, 2022, 09:41:07 PM »
Yuvex,

For sure not a DSO photography expert here, but I know what you are talking about.

May I ask you why one should be using dual ISO for astrophotography? You are losing half vertical resolution in deep shadows (that is, the part you are most interested in) and deep highlights.

Alternatively, you can ‘just’ double your overall exposure time and take (if you really need to!) a set of shots at ISO 100 after taking the one at 1600. Without losing resolution.

Though I’m wondering what kind of DSO subject would need a 4-stop exposure bracket. But once again, I’m no expert here. Would be nice to learn something interesting new on astrophotography.

The way I see this, dual ISO makes extremely sense when you have a moving subject, that makes it impossible to apply standard HDR bracketing techniques. DSO’s do not fall in this category ;)

But I may be missing something.

S

Ps: the way dual ISO is debayered is not trivial. I guess this could also make calibration impossible. Anyway, what kind of calibration workflow are you adopting? Are you going through flat darks as well?
5D3 1.1.3
70D

yuvex

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement (dual_iso.mo)
« Reply #3112 on: May 30, 2022, 07:20:48 AM »
Hi, thanks for responding.

Under normal circumstances, my 550D has a peak DR of 10.8 stops at ISO 100 (I normally image at ISO 400). By current standards, this is fairly mediocre.

I'm aware by stacking I am increasing my SNR, and also my DR, but why not try to maximize it further with Dual-ISO too? I am not green when it comes to astrophotography, so look to any avenue to better my improve my workflow.

Resolution is not usually an issue, as more often than not I BIN my data to increase SNR (my data is often oversampled out of the box, so I am not really losing anything but useless noise).

I have successfully taken a Dual-ISO widefield astro panning time lapse, but that needed no calibration frames. That dealt with bright foreground artificial lighting and the night sky very nicely. The problems lie when you apply calibration frames for deep sky.

Calibration wise, I use lights, temperature and time matched darks, flats (via an EL panel) and bias frames. All pre processed in Siril.

I only employ dark flats over bias for my dedicated cooled monochrome astro camera, as bias are sufficient for an old DSLR like the Canon.

yuvex

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement (dual_iso.mo)
« Reply #3113 on: May 30, 2022, 07:28:57 AM »
I don't think you will find any information on that. Dual-ISO and astrophotography is IMHO not a combination anyone wants to use.

It seems that way.

Maybe I'll just stick with terrestrial and uncalibrated time lapse.

Cheers