Author Topic: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement (dual_iso.mo)  (Read 1841609 times)

wavydoom

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement (dual_iso.mo)
« Reply #3100 on: June 16, 2021, 02:52:43 PM »
Disabled all modules on my 6d (Made in Japan, it says on the bottom).
Only activated dual iso module.

Got the 'ISOless PH err(3)' error both in video mode and photo mode...
So it doesn't work in any mode.

Will try some other builds of magic lantern.


1.1.3  with   magiclantern-Nightly.2014Mar28.6D113     

dual iso works fine.

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7991
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement (dual_iso.mo)
« Reply #3101 on: June 16, 2021, 04:56:45 PM »
Problem exists (at least) for 6D, 650D, 700D. According to a1ex it should be fixed by solving the common issue: https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=25976.msg231177#msg231177

Levas

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1697
  • 6d - Nightly build user
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement (dual_iso.mo)
« Reply #3102 on: June 17, 2021, 10:35:22 AM »
I think something changed from 1.1.3 to 1.1.6 on 6d.
Anyway, the  'ISOless PH err(3)' for 6d is fixed in the builds I uploaded the last couple of years, although those aren't available on the experimental downloadpage.

In this post there's a linkt to the latest build for 6D I uploaded, should work for dual iso:
https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=25782.msg229094#msg229094

But be aware that this is a experimental build, this build also contains the SD_UHS speed hack module and has a special crop_rec module with more resolution options.
To know how it all works, you might want to read the whole topic, it's only 6 pages, so it's not that much. But a lot of info in there.
https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=25782.msg223031#msg223031

Comes to mind that the dual iso module in these builds should be compatible with the 4k build on the experimental downloadpage, so if you don't want to use all the stuff in the new build, you could copy the 'dual_iso.mo' in the modules folder of my build and overwrite it to the 4k experimental build you are using from the downloadpage.


dream951

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • let's get maximum from our cameras
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement (dual_iso.mo)
« Reply #3103 on: July 01, 2021, 11:12:00 AM »
Hi guys!
Is it possible in any build to take silent pictures from liveview with dualiso with an intervalometer.
This does not work for me, it shoots out only a raw frame without processing by dualiso.
It would be very cool for timelapses.
Thanks
5D III 1.2.3 crop_rec_4k_mlv_snd_isogain_1x3_presets

theBilalFakhouri

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 657
Re: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement (dual_iso.mo)
« Reply #3104 on: July 02, 2021, 11:55:05 PM »
Hi @dream951

Silent pictures with Dual ISO already works:

1-If you set "Silent Mode" to "Simple", you need to enable RAW video in this case to make Dual ISO works with silent pictures (this only works in movie mode, unless you want it in Photo mode for slower shutter speeds?)
(*Edit: it seems this doesn't work well with intervalometer, I got "Out of Memory" with RAW video enabled).

*Workaround: make Dual ISO works when taking "Simple" silent mode pictures, also when "Silent" mode is activated in movie mode without RAW video enabled (coding tasks).

2- If you are using "Full-res" silent pictures, it works out of the box, no RAW video required.

"Simple" silent mode has LiveView RAW resolution which is about ~1920x1280 or less (in none crop mode, depending on your camera) with Binning/Skipping, "Full-res" silent mode uses full pixels on sensor without Binning/Skipping, which one are you looking for?
700D 1.1.5 | no more ISOless LV err 8 / SDR104 @ 240 MHz - Constant! | Fixed Scrambled LiveView in Higher resolution | Real-Time correct framing in the Way