Author Topic: Option to remove crop box  (Read 10651 times)

platu

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 101
  • 5D3, 60D
Option to remove crop box
« on: June 07, 2013, 02:25:34 AM »
Any way of having an options to not display the crop box? Preferably 1 option to disable it in 1x mode, and another to disable it in 5x crop mode.  In 5x crop mode, options such as force left causes the crop boxes to appear non-symetrical (off to the left) as to be a little distracting and makes it harder to visualize composition.  It's already a small challange visualizing the larger recording area beyond the canon preview.  Similar problem exists when using certain external hdmi monitors (SmallHD DP4, Swift, etc), but in that scenario, both 1x and 5x crop modes show the crop marks incorrectly, so having an option to disable them would solve both problems.

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12512
Re: Option to remove crop box
« Reply #1 on: June 07, 2013, 11:02:50 PM »
Enable grayscale display and you don't get a cropbox, because the image it's zoomed.

In 5x it's not displayed...

I didn't try it yet on HDMI.

platu

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 101
  • 5D3, 60D
Re: Option to remove crop box
« Reply #2 on: June 08, 2013, 12:15:49 AM »
Enable grayscale display and you don't get a cropbox, because the image it's zoomed.

In 5x it's not displayed...

I didn't try it yet on HDMI.

Yes, it works fine when in greyscale preview as you mentioned, it's just that I always work in Canon preview.  The issues with hdmi also only happen when in Canon preview.  I didn't really expect you would work on HDMI issues at this point.  Not a biggie.

A few additional notes regarding HDMI for future reference...
- Greyscale preview is not transmitted via hdmi.. so it acts essentially like Canon preview.
- Raw playback does not work via HDMI... locks up the camera.
- Raw Zebras not working correctly
- Raw histogram ETTR hint not accurate

platu

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 101
  • 5D3, 60D
Re: Option to remove crop box
« Reply #3 on: June 08, 2013, 04:38:42 AM »
In 5x it's not displayed...

Just realized that it works like this starting with yesterday's changes.  For HDMI monitoring, it's enough for me to stay in greyscale preview mode since that mode doesn't exhibit the crop mark issues and displays in realtime full color.  Thanks Alex.

AnotherDave

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 348
Re: Option to remove crop box
« Reply #4 on: June 10, 2013, 01:41:34 AM »
Where the heck is this ML Greyscale preview setting in the Menu?

I'm lost.

RenatoPhoto

  • Moderators
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1509
  • 5DM3 / 7D
Re: Option to remove crop box
« Reply #5 on: June 10, 2013, 03:04:52 AM »
Where the heck is this ML Greyscale preview setting in the Menu?

It is in the Raw Video Menu

When lost read the manual:

How to record: -- RAW VIDEO ON 5D3 --
http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=5451.0

Excerpt:

13. Scroll to RAW video with the large scroll wheel
14. Enable RAW video by pressing the Set Button.  Look at the video settings and also look near the bottom of the screen for information about CF speed requirements to meet current fps and frame size.
15. Press Q and Set to chose the appropriate Resolution, or use the little scroll wheel to scroll from available options.  If your card is not fast enough then select acceptable resolutions.  Remember to look at the bottom of the screen to see how resolution affect card speed requirements.
16. Scroll to Aspect ratio 16:9 is the default.  You can scroll with the little wheel or press Set to change it.  By changing the aspect ratio the camera chooses an appropriate video height.  Some heights are not the most common ones but these combinations offer better writing speeds.  You may have to crop your video in post.
17. If you want to record audio (wav file to SD card) scroll to Sound and select Separate WAV, or sync beep, or OFF
18. To continue recording even if skips frames then scroll to Frame skipping and select Allow or OFF.
19. Next option, Framing: Center.  Press Set to change it to: Force Left (see Note 4), Dolly mode (see note 5)
20. Next option, Preview: Auto.  Press Set to change it to: Canon (??), ML Grayscale (??), Hacked (see note 6)
21. Next option, Memory hack OFF. Press Set to on  This frees up more memory to get extra frames in the buffer.
22. Next option, Playback   After recording a RAW file you can preview it by coming back to this menu and scroll to Playback selection and pressing Set.
http://www.pululahuahostal.com  |  EF 300 f/4, EF 100-400 L, EF 180 L, EF-S 10-22, Samyang 14mm, Sigma 28mm EX DG, Sigma 8mm 1:3.5 EX DG, EF 50mm 1:1.8 II, EF 1.4X II, Kenko C-AF 2X

stevefal

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 528
Re: Option to remove crop box
« Reply #6 on: June 11, 2013, 03:05:21 PM »
Steve Falcon

kukysimon

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 30
Re: Option to remove crop box
« Reply #7 on: August 29, 2013, 08:00:56 PM »
Hi,... i was wondering if you can add your problem to this link, it seems there are dozens and dozens of people who started threads and topics about issues with external monitors , but these are all over the place and consequently no one thinks its an issue since they show up only one at a time in this very big haystack of threads. i started a thread at the developpers page addressing it to alex, in the hopes he can make this more priority, there is a vote and a follow option, if you wouldn't mind adding yours there as well, may be alex can then see how many people really do work with external monitors and have a hard time not seeing crop marks the right way and other issues:

https://bitbucket.org/hudson/magic-lantern/issue/1582/crop-bars-for-external-smallhd-oled-7-7

i would really appreciate your effort, may be we can all get together on those many issues with external monitors..

BR
Kuky

guentergunter

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 144
  • 5D2
Re: Option to remove crop box
« Reply #8 on: August 30, 2013, 07:03:24 PM »
Hi,... i was wondering if you can add your problem to this link, it seems there are dozens and dozens of people who started threads and topics about issues with external monitors , but these are all over the place and consequently no one thinks its an issue since they show up only one at a time in this very big haystack of threads. i started a thread at the developpers page addressing it to alex, in the hopes he can make this more priority, there is a vote and a follow option, if you wouldn't mind adding yours there as well, may be alex can then see how many people really do work with external monitors and have a hard time not seeing crop marks the right way and other issues:

https://bitbucket.org/hudson/magic-lantern/issue/1582/crop-bars-for-external-smallhd-oled-7-7

i would really appreciate your effort, may be we can all get together on those many issues with external monitors..

BR
Kuky

+1 for that!
5D2 ML RAW + VAF-5D2b:

RenatoPhoto

  • Moderators
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1509
  • 5DM3 / 7D
Re: Option to remove crop box
« Reply #9 on: September 26, 2013, 06:20:56 PM »


This module has been moved to Module Repository:
http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=8518.0

I took a crack at solving my own issues with raw_rec cropmarks, and other on-screen stuff that gets in my way. This adds three options to the RAW video menu.

+ Cropmarks                 OFF
+ Verbose status           OFF
+ Buffer status              OFF

It also subtracts one:

- Digital dolly

With everything OFF, the only info displayed while recording is file name and running length. Everything ON is like standard raw_rec, but with the info pushed further out of the way.

This works on via HDMI with my SmallHD DP6 as well. No trashed output and no greyscale. Yay! (Playback still hangs via HDMI)

[EDIT] For 5D3, based on - fcc395e, Sept 25 2013 . At your own risk, of course:
   
http://popspring.com/mldrop/raw_rec.mo


http://www.pululahuahostal.com  |  EF 300 f/4, EF 100-400 L, EF 180 L, EF-S 10-22, Samyang 14mm, Sigma 28mm EX DG, Sigma 8mm 1:3.5 EX DG, EF 50mm 1:1.8 II, EF 1.4X II, Kenko C-AF 2X