5D3 / Raw Video output

Started by Old50Photo, June 01, 2013, 06:13:08 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Old50Photo

Hello!

I am new to using ML, and I have encountered some issues that I cannot seem to resolve. I searched the forums all night, and was unable to find any definitive answers to my questions. I apologize if this information is covered previously, though I cannot find it.

Raw Video - After installing ML on my 5D Mark III, I am an unclear now how to actually record raw video. My initial test clips are still exporting as a single .MOV file instead of outputting a raw sequence when I mount the CF card on my mac. The tutorial videos that I've seen show the shots broken down into a raw sequence and then the files are converted to DNG by dragging the first file in the raw sequence to the raw2dng converter. I can't figure out why this is occurring.

I did read the Raw Movie guide, which suggests that additional files must be installed in order to activate raw video. i.e. the rec.mo files. These files are located in the "module" folder as a sub-folder of the main ML folder. Ultimately, the article suggest obtaining the most current files and then using them to overwrite the existing files. However, it is unclear where I can obtain the most recent files that should be present. The information is a bit convoluted for the 5D III.

I noticed that the ML menu is Alpha3 does not contain the "Expo" menu, nor does it have a menu for selecting the resolution for raw shooting or other options for Raw video.

What am I missing here? I would be eternally grateful if anyone would take the time to explain this to me. Many thanks!

RenatoPhoto

What you need to do is read the guide again and again and then follow it.

RAW video & ML -- Beginners Guide, FAQ & Useful Links -- READ FIRST
http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=5520.0

..and you will not get RAW video unless you do the section (in the above guide)

FINALLY INSTALLATION OF RAW VIDEO