Author Topic: Custom Mode 5D3 more buffer?  (Read 17030 times)

AnotherDave

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 348
Custom Mode 5D3 more buffer?
« on: June 06, 2013, 03:56:46 PM »
So I've seen a couple of small posts about this, and so I tried it out...

When you're in custom mode (C1,C2,C3 on the main dial) you get twice the number of buffer stars (**** instead of **), and I don't get any dropped frames on my 5D3 with my KomputerBay 64gb 1000x!

Why is this? What's up with this?  Any of the developers know?

Seems pretty great so far...

AnotherDave

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 348
Re: Custom Mode 5D3 more buffer?
« Reply #1 on: June 06, 2013, 04:04:02 PM »
What the hell are these settings for anyway?  I've never used them before, I've always shot manual.

But RAW rec works on C1-C3 better than I've ever seen it work on the camera at all!

The only difference is that I don't get the zoom function.  :-/

Why is that?  I need answers!  :-)

AnotherDave

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 348
Re: Custom Mode 5D3 more buffer?
« Reply #2 on: June 06, 2013, 04:20:36 PM »
Set SET button to zoom, shooting cropped 5X at 1080p no skipping while in Custom mode!

AnotherDave

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 348
Re: Custom Mode 5D3 more buffer?
« Reply #3 on: June 06, 2013, 04:26:47 PM »
SHOOTING 2048x1120 24p in CUSTOM MODE WITH NO SKIPPING AT ALL!!!!!!

AnotherDave

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 348
Re: Custom Mode 5D3 more buffer?
« Reply #4 on: June 06, 2013, 04:28:42 PM »
Also getting 2048x1152 with no issues!

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12564
Re: Custom Mode 5D3 more buffer?
« Reply #5 on: June 06, 2013, 04:29:43 PM »
Huh? these are normal numbers for 5D3 (M mode, RAW)

AnotherDave

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 348
Re: Custom Mode 5D3 more buffer?
« Reply #6 on: June 06, 2013, 04:35:18 PM »
Maybe so, but I've always had issues with 3x crop, and always had frames (4-6) dropping in when I first started recording in M.  Everything is working much smoother in Custom.

Why?  My buffer is twice the size.

AnotherDave

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 348
Re: Custom Mode 5D3 more buffer?
« Reply #7 on: June 06, 2013, 04:47:05 PM »
No one else notices that the buffer size DOUBLES?

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12564
Re: Custom Mode 5D3 more buffer?
« Reply #8 on: June 06, 2013, 04:47:45 PM »
You had wrong settings from the beginning ;)

AnotherDave

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 348
Re: Custom Mode 5D3 more buffer?
« Reply #9 on: June 06, 2013, 04:50:32 PM »
How so?  What did I do wrong?

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: Custom Mode 5D3 more buffer?
« Reply #10 on: June 06, 2013, 04:51:21 PM »
5d3 has multi shot NR? If so you'll get tons of memory.

AnotherDave

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 348
Re: Custom Mode 5D3 more buffer?
« Reply #11 on: June 06, 2013, 04:59:23 PM »
I'm not sure I follow what you mean?

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12564
Re: Custom Mode 5D3 more buffer?
« Reply #12 on: June 06, 2013, 04:59:41 PM »
I couldn't find it.

@AnotherDave: you need to set picture quality to RAW (not jpeg or whatever else).

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: Custom Mode 5D3 more buffer?
« Reply #13 on: June 06, 2013, 05:00:24 PM »
So no 4th nr option in 5d3 photo mode?

HDR and multi expo should dump it too... may or may not need bvram_mirror in shoot_malloc or malloc to trip it up.

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12564
Re: Custom Mode 5D3 more buffer?
« Reply #14 on: June 06, 2013, 05:02:51 PM »
High ISO speed NR: standard, low, high, disable.
Long exp noise reduction: disable, auto enable.

HDR and multi expo don't seem to have any effect (167 in LV, 243 outside).

Edit: I've tried to allocate it outside LV and it seems to stay allocated. Cool!

AnotherDave

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 348
Re: Custom Mode 5D3 more buffer?
« Reply #15 on: June 06, 2013, 05:06:35 PM »
Wow.  Ok.  Now I feel like an idiot!

I don't recall those settings being listed in the beginners guide i read all the way back on May 20th! :-/

I've noticed a lot of similar posts from people, and most often users are telling them it is an issue with the card.

Think you guys could make this setting go off automatically?  :-)

Thanks!  What an amazing shift!

You guys rock!

*I'd get the word out... most people don't know this.

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: Custom Mode 5D3 more buffer?
« Reply #16 on: June 06, 2013, 05:08:05 PM »
Quote
HDR and multi expo don't seem to have any effect (167 in LV, 243 outside).

On EOSM the NR just worked.. on 6D I had to put bvram_mirror in shoot malloc before it would free it up, otherwise just like what you experienced. Also for HDR/MULTI had to hit 1/2 shutter before it started.

I think it sees a chunk it can't free and freaks out, dumping memory like its christmas.

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12564
Re: Custom Mode 5D3 more buffer?
« Reply #17 on: June 06, 2013, 05:09:38 PM »
Quote
on 6D I had to put bvram_mirror in shoot malloc before it would free it up

Makes sense, the 60D triggers ERR70 when you change NR, if something is allocated in shoot_malloc.

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: Custom Mode 5D3 more buffer?
« Reply #18 on: June 06, 2013, 05:12:35 PM »
I did have to patch on 6D but not EOS-M. Of course breaks picture taking but always resets when you reboot. So now I'm on C1 for pics and C2 for video. Probably need a way to block full shutter press to make it "nice".

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12564
Re: Custom Mode 5D3 more buffer?
« Reply #19 on: June 06, 2013, 05:19:54 PM »
Here's my hack (in setup_buffers):

Code: [Select]
    PauseLiveView();
    msleep(1000);
   
    mem_suite = shoot_malloc_suite(0);
    if (!mem_suite) return 0;

    ResumeLiveView();
    msleep(1000);

=> got 32x6 :D

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: Custom Mode 5D3 more buffer?
« Reply #20 on: June 06, 2013, 05:24:38 PM »
ooooh... so pausing live view does it too?

Well didn't give me any more buffer... but for some reason write speed went up so I guess its winner.

600D seems to have improved first record.

aaphotog

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 356
Re: Custom Mode 5D3 more buffer?
« Reply #21 on: June 06, 2013, 07:17:24 PM »
"2048 is not available in current video mode"
What is the ratio that everyone is using(ie 16x9, 2.35:1)
Also, does anyone know why I get the message above?

RenatoPhoto

  • Moderators
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1509
  • 5DM3 / 7D
Re: Custom Mode 5D3 more buffer?
« Reply #22 on: June 06, 2013, 07:43:06 PM »
"2048 is not available in current video mode"

You have to be in cropped video to get those resolutions.
http://www.pululahuahostal.com  |  EF 300 f/4, EF 100-400 L, EF 180 L, EF-S 10-22, Samyang 14mm, Sigma 28mm EX DG, Sigma 8mm 1:3.5 EX DG, EF 50mm 1:1.8 II, EF 1.4X II, Kenko C-AF 2X

aaphotog

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 356
Re: Custom Mode 5D3 more buffer?
« Reply #23 on: June 06, 2013, 09:07:06 PM »
You have to be in cropped video to get those resolutions.
By hitting the zoom button(5x/10x)?
I still can't get the 2048

RenatoPhoto

  • Moderators
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1509
  • 5DM3 / 7D
Re: Custom Mode 5D3 more buffer?
« Reply #24 on: June 06, 2013, 09:29:02 PM »
Of course, if you have RAW video enabled, i.e. you can record raw...
go to live view, press the zoom button, press the trash button, enter the Raw video menu, scroll through the sizes...

How to record: -- RAW Digital Cropped Video on 5D3 --
http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=5441.0
http://www.pululahuahostal.com  |  EF 300 f/4, EF 100-400 L, EF 180 L, EF-S 10-22, Samyang 14mm, Sigma 28mm EX DG, Sigma 8mm 1:3.5 EX DG, EF 50mm 1:1.8 II, EF 1.4X II, Kenko C-AF 2X

aaphotog

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 356
Re: Custom Mode 5D3 more buffer?
« Reply #25 on: June 06, 2013, 09:56:52 PM »
Of course, if you have RAW video enabled, i.e. you can record raw...
go to live view, press the zoom button, press the trash button, enter the Raw video menu, scroll through the sizes...

How to record: -- RAW Digital Cropped Video on 5D3 --
http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=5441.0
No, I think you misunderstood me. I know how to get the crop recording, but even when I'm set up to record crop, it doesn't allow me the option to select the 2048. I'll continue playing around with it.

daimon

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Custom Mode 5D3 more buffer?
« Reply #26 on: June 07, 2013, 07:57:35 PM »
WOW!!! I just remove the JPG after reading the first few posts and I left it only on RAW for Photo and now i have full 1920x1080 25fps no skipping frames  :)

Shield

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 254
Re: Custom Mode 5D3 more buffer?
« Reply #27 on: June 07, 2013, 08:01:15 PM »
So I've seen a couple of small posts about this, and so I tried it out...

When you're in custom mode (C1,C2,C3 on the main dial) you get twice the number of buffer stars (**** instead of **), and I don't get any dropped frames on my 5D3 with my KomputerBay 64gb 1000x!

Why is this? What's up with this?  Any of the developers know?

Seems pretty great so far...

Why would I want twice the number of buffer stars?  When it gets to ***** it stops/skips frames.  I want just one * while I'm recording, not twice an many.  I'm confused.

Audionut

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3657
  • Blunt and to the point
Re: Custom Mode 5D3 more buffer?
« Reply #28 on: June 07, 2013, 08:12:29 PM »
They want more buffer stars because it represents more buffers to use while recording.

They don't mean the stars lighting up while recording that indicates buffer usage.

To be clear, they actually mean whatever character symbol it is that indicates an empty buffer.

Shield

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 254
Re: Custom Mode 5D3 more buffer?
« Reply #29 on: June 07, 2013, 08:20:01 PM »
Audionut, I've always had 4 or 5 stars - you mean some people only have/had 2?

Audionut

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3657
  • Blunt and to the point
Re: Custom Mode 5D3 more buffer?
« Reply #30 on: June 07, 2013, 08:22:46 PM »
It varies by camera.

Shield

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 254
Re: Custom Mode 5D3 more buffer?
« Reply #31 on: June 07, 2013, 08:26:42 PM »
It varies by camera.

But he was talking about the 5d3.  I am stunned that a 5d3 owner would be shooting jpgs I guess.  Maybe he was shooting Raw + JPG?

AnotherDave

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 348
Re: Custom Mode 5D3 more buffer?
« Reply #32 on: June 07, 2013, 08:29:16 PM »
It was on multi-burst mode.

Also, I don't think I've ever used it for still photos... only video.  :-/

Moreover, some situations (like anything involving family) are absolutely fine for jpeg photos. 

Shield

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 254
Re: Custom Mode 5D3 more buffer?
« Reply #33 on: June 07, 2013, 08:38:18 PM »
It was on multi-burst mode.

Also, I don't think I've ever used it for still photos... only video.  :-/

Moreover, some situations (like anything involving family) are absolutely fine for jpeg photos.

Anything involving family?  I always shoot raw for everything.  I can see for quick snaps, but that's not why you bought a 5d3 is it?  Grab your point and shoot for jpgs.  I always shoot my family in raw.  But to each their own.

Audionut

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3657
  • Blunt and to the point
Re: Custom Mode 5D3 more buffer?
« Reply #34 on: June 08, 2013, 02:02:22 AM »
But he was talking about the 5d3.  I am stunned that a 5d3 owner would be shooting jpgs I guess.  Maybe he was shooting Raw + JPG?

Yeah, it also changes based on how many free buffers there are.

I personally shoot Raw myself also.  But I've seen plenty of valid reasons why someone would use JPG.
One is journalism, where you want to get your photo, to the press, as quickly as possible.

However, lets not turn this into a JPG vs Raw thread please.  Feel free to start another thread in general chat.

AnotherDave

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 348
Re: Custom Mode 5D3 more buffer?
« Reply #35 on: June 08, 2013, 02:08:58 AM »
Seriously.  give it a rest.  my camera wasn't set to record jpgs as I have said over and over again, it was set in multi burst mode.

Who cares about jpeg vs raw?  i care about h.264 vs raw.

Audionut

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3657
  • Blunt and to the point
Re: Custom Mode 5D3 more buffer?
« Reply #36 on: June 08, 2013, 02:11:12 AM »
However, lets not turn this into a JPG vs Raw thread please.  Feel free to start another thread in general chat.

eyeland

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 167
  • 5D Mark Spree
Re: Custom Mode 5D3 more buffer?
« Reply #37 on: July 07, 2013, 07:24:32 PM »
Anyone mind doing a summary of this thread? I have been following the forum for a long time (daily since the beginning og raw video) and still, reading this thread threw me off.
I'd appreciate it if someone would do a simple "DO/DO NOT" write-up of all these little tips and tricks.

To get started, am I right in assuming the following settings for optimizing raw video on 5d3:

All settings pertaining to NR = OFF
Save foto as = RAW
Drive mode = SINGLE
HDR&Multiple exp = OFF
Daybreak broke me loose and brought me back...