Birding video - Beginner DSLR Video tips

Started by highway68, June 02, 2013, 06:13:17 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

highway68

Hello all, i am a very experienced DSLR photographer, mainly shooting events for my photography job and doing wildlife/birding as my main focus on the side.  Since i'm spending so much time watching birds and tracking them with my camera on a gimble head, i got to thinking why not invest in a tripod head and try out some video recording of wildlife since i have a great love for wildlife documentaries so i thought i would try it out and ordered a 50D.

I have a manfrotto 055cxpro3 carbon fiber 3 section tripod, an opteka gh1 cheap gimble head and a bunch of canon gear in 5D II, 50D, 100-400mm, 135mm f2, 16-35, 24-105, 85 1.8, etc.

So i'm looking for any beginner tips for recording video.  I think the next thing to get is a video head, i am thinking about getting the manfrotto 701HDV and an arcatech leveling base for around $300.  Besides a video head suggestion i have a couple more questions:

What are the best settings to use while recording?  Should i stick to manual?  Do i need to be at around 1/30 of a second or can i shoot at a faster shutter speed, like around 1/100?  If i shoot too high of a shutter speed will that not look desirable?

I just posted this in the accessory section, but is there a way to control the focus in ML using some kind of remote?  While using my 100-400mm lens and my current tripod, every gentle tap of the joystick to control the focus makes the camera shake so much.  Is there a better way i can secure my camera to the future head that i buy, like a long rail that even supports the lens at the end?  I have a feeling i am going to need to stabilize my setup even more.