Author Topic: How to Sync RAW and Audio Issues  (Read 34907 times)

AnotherDave

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 348
Re: How to Sync RAW and Audio Issues
« Reply #25 on: June 07, 2013, 03:45:27 PM »
What I'm considering doing for an upcoming project (since I already have an Atomos Ninja) is to run reference audio out from the SD recorder, and HDMI out of the camera into the Ninja.  Not only will this give me a ProRes reference video file (with frame and file name info) that I can immediately start cutting, but it will also allow me to sync with Pluraleyes and then use the file and frame display information on the video to create an EDL.

The only issue is that 1.1.3 will only output 29.976 instead of 23.976...

Make sense?  Sound stupid?

Shield

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 254
Re: How to Sync RAW and Audio Issues
« Reply #26 on: June 07, 2013, 07:27:59 PM »
As of the build available 6/6 evening east coast time, no.

I recorded a couple of test videos. One was fairly close over nearly a minute of time (~2 frames out). The other was ~3 seconds out over 15 seconds. The longer clip I could get to line up pretty well with some sizing and start twiddling, but the short one was just a mess.

I also noticed that even with an external mic, I'm only getting mono WAV files. Is this normal or am I missing something?

Thanks.

For now I'm not relying at all on any internal audio - just grab a $75 used Zoom H1n recorder and use it - I've spent too much time trying to fix onboard audio in post.  It's fine as is for ambient audio recordings, but if you need accurate audio it's just not there right now.  To me it seems far easier than the raw video hack; I honestly think the developers just haven't spent any time working on it as they are working on more pressing issues.
It'll get there - just 6 weeks ago none of this was even available at all.

ewinemiller

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 45
Re: How to Sync RAW and Audio Issues
« Reply #27 on: June 09, 2013, 10:30:10 PM »
just grab a $75 used Zoom H1n recorder and use it

Thanks for the suggestion. I picked up one, tested it today, and it worked great. It was much easier to synch than I expected.

romeus

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: How to Sync RAW and Audio Issues
« Reply #28 on: June 11, 2013, 02:38:50 AM »
Thanks for the suggestion. I picked up one, tested it today, and it worked great. It was much easier to synch than I expected.

how ?
can you explain how did you syncronize the audio , did you use a slate?

ewinemiller

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 45
Re: How to Sync RAW and Audio Issues
« Reply #29 on: June 11, 2013, 05:10:24 PM »
how ?
can you explain how did you syncronize the audio , did you use a slate?

I didn't use a slate. I left the Sync Beep option turned on with the RAW settings on the camera. I'd start recording on the Zoom, and then start recording on the camera.

Later I'd open the WAV file in Soundbooth and tell Soundbooth that I want to see it lined up against a 23.976 fps timeline. I'd look for the beep on the WAV file and see what frame it starts.

Back in Premier I'd put the WAV file at T=0, and put the video at T=whatever I found looking at the timeline in Soundbooth. One of my test videos the beep started right on the frame boundary, one about halfway through. I just picked the closest frame. Both looked and sounded fine in the final render for about a 90 second video.

I haven't looked for a similar feature in other tools, but I suspect if you don't have Soundbooth there's other options for doing the same thing.

Shield

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 254
Re: How to Sync RAW and Audio Issues
« Reply #30 on: June 11, 2013, 10:14:48 PM »
Thanks for the suggestion. I picked up one, tested it today, and it worked great. It was much easier to synch than I expected.

Since the Zoom H1 is very prone to handling noise, I also highly recommend one of these (guy ships very quickly):



http://www.ebay.com/itm/181131586191?ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1439.l2649

romeus

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: How to Sync RAW and Audio Issues
« Reply #31 on: June 12, 2013, 02:23:00 AM »
I didn't use a slate. I left the Sync Beep option turned on with the RAW settings on the camera. I'd start recording on the Zoom, and then start recording on the camera.

Later I'd open the WAV file in Soundbooth and tell Soundbooth that I want to see it lined up against a 23.976 fps timeline. I'd look for the beep on the WAV file and see what frame it starts.

Back in Premier I'd put the WAV file at T=0, and put the video at T=whatever I found looking at the timeline in Soundbooth. One of my test videos the beep started right on the frame boundary, one about halfway through. I just picked the closest frame. Both looked and sounded fine in the final render for about a 90 second video.

I haven't looked for a similar feature in other tools, but I suspect if you don't have Soundbooth there's other options for doing the same thing.


Why you don't just shot the Timecode of your recorder with the camera?

ewinemiller

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 45
Re: How to Sync RAW and Audio Issues
« Reply #32 on: June 12, 2013, 03:41:26 PM »

Why you don't just shot the Timecode of your recorder with the camera?

That's certainly an option too, but in my case the camera is set up to capture the shot, not capture the recorder's screen well enough to read, and the recorder is mounted to the top of the camera.

Shield

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 254
Re: How to Sync RAW and Audio Issues
« Reply #33 on: July 25, 2013, 04:23:42 AM »
Anyone know of a way to make the "beep" louder when the recording begins?  Might make it easier to sync on my timeline.
Thanks,
Shawn

alexp

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 30
Re: How to Sync RAW and Audio Issues
« Reply #34 on: September 01, 2013, 06:01:41 AM »
Can the camera record a reference .wav file while recording n RAW? Where in ML do I go to enable this function?

Midphase

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 712
Re: How to Sync RAW and Audio Issues
« Reply #35 on: September 01, 2013, 09:48:34 AM »
Audio has been disabled in the recent revisions since it was not working properly.

It will come back at some point in the future, but for now there is no way to enable it.

hjfilmspeed

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 479
  • 5D III and IV
Re: How to Sync RAW and Audio Issues
« Reply #36 on: September 10, 2013, 06:47:53 AM »
Just recorded a a 4 minute raw clip with 5d3 and fps override at 23.976. after raw2dng and resolve processing my audio synced up perfectly with no need to stretch. i would like to use a tc counter but for this i just filmed a clap. but you should have someone announce the take number and you should display it too. I can see doing many takes and loosing track of your audio and clips very easily.

borpozky

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: How to Sync RAW and Audio Issues
« Reply #37 on: September 10, 2013, 09:49:19 AM »
I am still trying to get the best workflow with 5D RAW / audio. So what works for me at the moment is:

When you shoot, you can see the name of the recorded file in the display. The actual time is a part of the file-name. Read it loudly, so you can hear it at the beginning of your external audio-recordings.

For synching each take, I snap my fingers in front of the lens.

In Premiere I mark the snap and link the audiofiles to their video-counterparts (in the timeline).
The linked audio/video can then be pulled back into the project window.

blakekimmel

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: How to Sync RAW and Audio Issues
« Reply #38 on: July 01, 2014, 07:51:16 PM »
Finally about to cross the bridge to shooting RAW more frequently. What is the current status of RAW audio syncing and timing? Seems like this discussion kind of died out but here we are almost a year later. Searched a little on forums and didn't see much.

Does FPS override 23.976 audio sync up now?

Frank7D

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 456
Re: How to Sync RAW and Audio Issues
« Reply #39 on: July 01, 2014, 07:56:24 PM »
Finally about to cross the bridge to shooting RAW more frequently. What is the current status of RAW audio syncing and timing? Seems like this discussion kind of died out but here we are almost a year later. Searched a little on forums and didn't see much.

Does FPS override 23.976 audio sync up now?

It does for me (mlv on 7D).

Jbowdach

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 74
  • Editor\Colorist for Cinetic Studios
Re: How to Sync RAW and Audio Issues
« Reply #40 on: August 03, 2014, 06:44:13 PM »
It does for me (mlv on 7D).

would you mind sharing you post workflow, as Ive tried everyone I can think of using a 7D and I still cant retain sync. Resolve always has either a blank track or is late w audio. Many thanks

jimmyD30

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 386
Re: How to Sync RAW and Audio Issues
« Reply #41 on: August 04, 2014, 03:43:18 AM »
What do you mean 'blank track'? And how are you trying to sync?

Jbowdach

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 74
  • Editor\Colorist for Cinetic Studios
Re: How to Sync RAW and Audio Issues
« Reply #42 on: August 06, 2014, 04:34:46 AM »
Has anyone made any progress with the onboard audio?  To me it's just about perfect really except for this.  I find myself spending so much time trying to sync the audio in post - so used to having a good "reference" audio track.   :)
agreed, this kills when trying to match to an audio recorder and you dont have a reference track

Jbowdach

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 74
  • Editor\Colorist for Cinetic Studios
Re: How to Sync RAW and Audio Issues
« Reply #43 on: August 06, 2014, 04:36:37 AM »
What do you mean 'blank track'? And how are you trying to sync?

Itve found I need to sync by adding each clip and audio file in its own bin. If i dont (by selecting multiple video and audio files) and select sync by timecode, it will looked as if synced (video shows audio icon) but when you look at the audio, its either blank or starts very late (several seconds late if at all). Strange thing is if I drag the wav file manually and line it up, audio is fine and is complete. Seems I MUST add clips via their own bin. Anyone else?

16bit888

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: How to Sync RAW and Audio Issues
« Reply #44 on: August 07, 2014, 08:11:12 AM »
Hi Jbowdach,

I am facing the same issues with having to create as many bins as there are files. That means if I press start and stop 100 times for different takes, I need to create 100 bins in Resolve which is ridiculous. I also face audio syncing issues. I shoot exclusively on a 5d Mkii .MLV format with sound. Found out that you cannot pull all your converted files into the "Master" folder in the Media tab, right-click, "auto sync based on timecode" and expect it to work. It will sync to the first .wav file(in other words, the top-left audio file) in the Master folder. A Resolve specialist told me it might be a problem because the 5D Mk 2 does not have embedded time code. The 5d mk 3 however, has a timecode function. There might be a clue in here for effortlessly syncing audio files.

My audio is 22/23 frames off. This might be because a.) I am not using onboard camera mics. I run my audio from a shotgun mic via XLR cable through a juicedlink and then into the camera. I suspect this might cause a in the signal or something. b.) I'm using Komputerbay 128GB 1050x cards which are simply not writing fast enough. They average at 95mb/sec but I suspect that is still too slow.

I have no reference track so must manually lip sync audio. If I don't see a person talking, I cannot sync the audio because I have no reference unless I snap my finger or use a clapper board during start of recording. But found that this is totally impractical in doc settings, which is what I do, because people feel irritated and distracted when you snap your fingers in front of their face before rolling the camera. Brings attention to yourself and the camera which is detrimental. Still figuring it out. Any ideas on how to sync audio to video seamlessly? I'm using Resolve 10. Maybe Resolve 11 will solve this?

budafilms

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 711
  • 5D Mark a1ex
Re: How to Sync RAW and Audio Issues
« Reply #45 on: August 07, 2014, 10:05:56 AM »
Hi Jbowdach,

I am facing the same issues with having to create as many bins as there are files. That means if I press start and stop 100 times for different takes, I need to create 100 bins in Resolve which is ridiculous. I also face audio syncing issues. I shoot exclusively on a 5d Mkii .MLV format with sound. Found out that you cannot pull all your converted files into the "Master" folder in the Media tab, right-click, "auto sync based on timecode" and expect it to work. It will sync to the first .wav file(in other words, the top-left audio file) in the Master folder. A Resolve specialist told me it might be a problem because the 5D Mk 2 does not have embedded time code. The 5d mk 3 however, has a timecode function. There might be a clue in here for effortlessly syncing audio files.

My audio is 22/23 frames off. This might be because a.) I am not using onboard camera mics. I run my audio from a shotgun mic via XLR cable through a juicedlink and then into the camera. I suspect this might cause a in the signal or something. b.) I'm using Komputerbay 128GB 1050x cards which are simply not writing fast enough. They average at 95mb/sec but I suspect that is still too slow.

I have no reference track so must manually lip sync audio. If I don't see a person talking, I cannot sync the audio because I have no reference unless I snap my finger or use a clapper board during start of recording. But found that this is totally impractical in doc settings, which is what I do, because people feel irritated and distracted when you snap your fingers in front of their face before rolling the camera. Brings attention to yourself and the camera which is detrimental. Still figuring it out. Any ideas on how to sync audio to video seamlessly? I'm using Resolve 10. Maybe Resolve 11 will solve this?

HI,

(For mac).

If you use a pay version of Magic Raw (Itunes Store), the soft promess sync both, if  your Juice Link are connected to the camera like you told.
I don't have the pay version.

Maybe you can write to the thread of MLV Mystic - the best for me to convert to DNG -  you put this function for free. Like more people are doing.

I couldn't fine more solution than that. I do the same shoot like you. and I use clapper board.

chmee

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1031
  • raw2cdng
Re: How to Sync RAW and Audio Issues
« Reply #46 on: August 07, 2014, 10:11:20 AM »
@16bit888
as i know atm only two converters write timecode into dng and wav. raw2cdng and rawmagic. because the tc-metadata are created inside the converter, the body's abilities are not important. premiere uses for syncing only the filename, resolve needs some xml-metadata inside the wavs to sync accordingly ("pure" wav was/is not able to carry tc-data).

as i showed in another thread, look into the properties of your mediafiles, if the timecode was generated properly. if they're all the same, no wonder it doesnt sync accurate.


(btw blackmagic/resolve is not really interested helping us, they've got their own product ;) i asked for the metadata and mediafile-behaviour-properties. computer says no)

masterc

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: How to Sync RAW and Audio Issues
« Reply #47 on: August 13, 2014, 08:56:10 PM »
Is it possible to use the 5dmk3's USB port as an input for digital audio (USB) recording?

If so, the Mix Pre D would be a stellar option because it outputs killer USB audio.

Thanks in advance.

Frank7D

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 456
Re: How to Sync RAW and Audio Issues
« Reply #48 on: August 14, 2014, 06:01:46 PM »
would you mind sharing you post workflow, as Ive tried everyone I can think of using a 7D and I still cant retain sync. Resolve always has either a blank track or is late w audio. Many thanks

Sorry for late reply; just saw this.

I import the dngs and wav files into After Effects, with framerate set at 23.976. Create a comp with the dngs, then drop the wav on top of it. The audio clip always extends a little beyond the video, but the sound is in sync.

zcream

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 51
Re: How to Sync RAW and Audio Issues
« Reply #49 on: December 15, 2016, 06:01:31 PM »
Any news on sync beep in menu? Doesn't work for my 50d