Author Topic: Shout out to all Canon 50D users for help!  (Read 3280 times)

viphoto7

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Shout out to all Canon 50D users for help!
« on: May 20, 2013, 01:17:10 AM »
I realize this camera was not intended for video, but I have seen some impressive test videos by other 50D users.  I am not having much success.  Installation was easy, and I am able to record,but playback on computer is choppy.  I would like to know:

1.  Settings used

2.  If anyone has resolved the battery issues.  I have seen advise about disabling video when not in use.  I already wait 5 seconds before removing flash card.  My live view indicator light keeps flashing blue.

3.  Any other tips.

I am getting frustrated an thinking about un installing ML

Any help is greatly appreciated!

nyce_images

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Shout out to all Canon 50D users for help!
« Reply #1 on: May 24, 2013, 07:23:48 AM »
Iam having the same problem as well. Videos laggy in quicktime and vegas pro and premier pro. Only plays smooth on dvix or vlc.

viphoto7

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Shout out to all Canon 50D users for help!
« Reply #2 on: May 24, 2013, 07:58:32 AM »
 sorry to hear, I am very close to calling it quits, so sad we have not found out more:'(  I will try the other players you mentioned.  Thanks

trsaunders

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 41
Re: Shout out to all Canon 50D users for help!
« Reply #3 on: May 24, 2013, 08:36:17 AM »
Have you tried using something like ffmpeg to create an image sequence from a video, and then scrolling through the images to see if the motion is smooth? it could just be your computer struggling to keep up
50D, 5D3

Xefan

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Shout out to all Canon 50D users for help!
« Reply #4 on: May 29, 2013, 06:19:28 PM »
try K-Lite Codec Pack and Media Player Classic, it works great for me...

Ivycreek

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Shout out to all Canon 50D users for help!
« Reply #5 on: May 29, 2013, 11:15:11 PM »
I haven't really had any issues, I record at 30FPS 1920x1080

I use premiere import the clip(s) and set the sequence from the imported clip.

When exporting out of Premiere make sure output and input settings are the same. 

So far it seems to have worked....of course my videos also aren't anything to write home about either.