Author Topic: 60D RAW video - it's working !!!  (Read 1046059 times)

os6

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: 60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #700 on: July 07, 2013, 11:02:44 PM »
Hi rsbruins,

do you record with exact fps and global draw off? it seems like these 2 options have a great influence on die "pink-pics". Change ur settings to: Override fps -> Exact 24fps. Also Disable Global draw and your results may get better :)

101001

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: 60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #701 on: July 08, 2013, 11:51:57 AM »
Finally got a day off and got to hace a go of RAW.  Its not a problem just a wondering I had.... One thing I've noticed though, how come some resolutions have a magenta hue and others don't?  1280x720 no colour cast but all resolutions do again not a problem at all but just trying to learn about how this is working

I set up using the latest build Marrek put up yesterday.  Is there anything specific I should look out for while testing it out, specific areas to be reporting back on.

Thanks all
Dave

Nang

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 56
  • 5D3 | BMPCC | BMPC4K
Re: 60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #702 on: July 08, 2013, 02:32:31 PM »
Nang,

Picture profile settings whilst shooting raw are irrelevant. The only thing it will affect is what you view on the LCD screen. What you're capturing with raw, from what I understand, is the data directly from the sensor before it goes through any processing (such as picture profile application).

I usually use landscape profile to view on the LCD to help with achieving critical focus.

Ahh ok I see, thank you very much!
Portfolio: somnang.4ormat.com | Video: https://vimeo.com/somnang
Prime: Olympus Zuiko OM 24mm f/2.8 | Rokinon Cine 85mm T/1.5 | Pentax SMC Takumar 50mm f/1.4 | Helios 44-2 58mm f/2.0 | Jupiter 37A 135mm f/3.5
Zoom: Meteor 5-1 17-69mm f/1.9, Sigma 18-35mm f/1.8, Tamron 24-70mm Di VC f/2.

os6

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: 60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #703 on: July 08, 2013, 06:11:02 PM »
Hi,

not sure if this is an know issue, but in most of my recorded videos the 2nd and the 4th frames are corrupt.



does someone has the same Problem?

sarotaz

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 82
Re: 60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #704 on: July 08, 2013, 09:43:50 PM »
try this tutorial

http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=6845.0

Turning on the camera, the lv_af_raw setting does not maintain its state. I switch it off, switch it on and it works again.

I've tried the tutorial and it works good...but the pink highlights still remain but less visible. This is a interpretation problem of Resolve. The dng files opened with ACR look perfect.

kingskafa

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: 60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #705 on: July 10, 2013, 11:09:51 AM »
Well... I'm not sure which nightly build I used...  but. Heres a little video I did for my church youth group.  Shot all in RAW 960x408 because it gives me the longest recording time.  Just wanted to see if I could use it in a real world situation with a 1 day turn around. So its probably not the most beautiful video but hey! Syncing the audio was the most time consuming part cuz 99% of the time I could not read the slate in the shots... but it all worked out.    I only boosted the shadows and exposure on a few shots and did basic color correction.   Oh yea and for the end section when there are little pygmies, I used the grass as a green screen. Did not turn out great but better than an h.264 any day.

iamoui

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 46
Re: 60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #706 on: July 10, 2013, 04:55:07 PM »
Turning on the camera, the lv_af_raw setting does not maintain its state. I switch it off, switch it on and it works again.

I've tried the tutorial and it works good...but the pink highlights still remain but less visible. This is a interpretation problem of Resolve. The dng files opened with ACR look perfect.

Sarotaz, are you saying when you turn the camera on it shows that lv_af_raw is on but is actually off? Or that lv_af_raw doesn't actually stay on? My lv_af_raw stays on (or at least shows that its on) when I turn off the camera then turn it back on.

Thanks
Mick

marekk

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 331
  • www.oddajmisie.com
Re: 60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #707 on: July 10, 2013, 07:12:29 PM »
I tested it and lv_af_raw stays on and dng files are created without hot pixels.

Sarotaz, are you saying when you turn the camera on it shows that lv_af_raw is on but is actually off? Or that lv_af_raw doesn't actually stay on? My lv_af_raw stays on (or at least shows that its on) when I turn off the camera then turn it back on.

Thanks
Mick

sarotaz

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 82
Re: 60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #708 on: July 10, 2013, 07:46:29 PM »
I tested it and lv_af_raw stays on and dng files are created without hot pixels.

it's strange. yes when i turn off and turn on the camera lv_af_raw state is on but if i shoot i have hot pixel. But if i turn off and on the lv_af_raw i've no hot pixel anymore. I'll try again.

iamoui

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 46
Re: 60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #709 on: July 11, 2013, 07:42:12 AM »
it's strange. yes when i turn off and turn on the camera lv_af_raw state is on but if i shoot i have hot pixel. But if i turn off and on the lv_af_raw i've no hot pixel anymore. I'll try again.

Same happened to me. Sometimes it works sometimes it doesn't?

https://docs.google.com/file/d/0B9bV9eF2RQTOTXIyMXJJVlZYMjA/edit?usp=sharing

This is when I (thought I) had lv_af_raw on but I still got dead/hot pixels.

raw (1600x680)->rawmagic->resolve (1920X1080)->bmd film with highlight recovery->captain hook LUT->reduce exposer by 1.50->light blur in resolve

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12564
Re: 60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #710 on: July 11, 2013, 07:47:22 AM »
Again, lv_af_raw is raw data with an edge detection filter applied on it. You don't want to record it.

You can remove bad pixels, but you can't remove lv_af_raw artifacts.

iamoui

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 46
Re: 60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #711 on: July 11, 2013, 07:49:36 AM »
Again, lv_af_raw is raw data with an edge detection filter applied on it. You don't want to record it.

You can remove bad pixels, but you can't remove lv_af_raw artifacts.

What artifacts does it create as opposed to without? Is there more aliasing and moire with lv_af_raw?

edit: I just tried again, making sure to turn off, then on lv_af_raw and didn't have any bad pixels. I'm sure I just forgot to turn off then on lv_af_raw when switching my camera off then back on. I'll keep testing, though.

sarotaz

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 82
Re: 60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #712 on: July 11, 2013, 08:40:11 AM »
Again, lv_af_raw is raw data with an edge detection filter applied on it. You don't want to record it.

You can remove bad pixels, but you can't remove lv_af_raw artifacts.

no no it isn't artifacts due to edge detection. It is bad pixel again until you turn off and turn on again lv_af_raw function.
When raw function works properly bad pixel are removed.

This is the only solution to work in resolve at moment, until someone include bad pixel opcode tag in cinemadng converter. (i hope resolve read this tag).

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12564
Re: 60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #713 on: July 11, 2013, 09:05:17 AM »
Just try to focus better and you'll see ;)

sarotaz

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 82
Re: 60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #714 on: July 11, 2013, 09:38:30 AM »
Just try to focus better and you'll see ;)

yes i know  :-\ but no other solution for raw working with resolve...maybe i have one...buying a blackmagic camera  ;)

marekk

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 331
  • www.oddajmisie.com
Re: 60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #715 on: July 11, 2013, 10:51:41 AM »
it's only temporary solution, we are still wainting for badpixel_opcode in raw2cdng or rawmagic to test if resolve support this tag. I've got a lot of hot pixels in Resolve, much more than in ACR without badpixel_opcode.
Second option is to convert from 14bit to 16 bit in raw2dng but I don't know how to do it.

Again, lv_af_raw is raw data with an edge detection filter applied on it. You don't want to record it.

You can remove bad pixels, but you can't remove lv_af_raw artifacts.

sarotaz

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 82
Re: 60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #716 on: July 11, 2013, 11:14:50 AM »
Second option is to convert from 14bit to 16 bit in raw2dng but I don't know how to do it.

Unfortunately nope. I test to reconvert with photoshop in 16 bit dng and Resolve open it with a very low resolution. I ask in blackmagic forum and....i've realize that resolve doesn't support dng but only cinemadng.

marekk

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 331
  • www.oddajmisie.com
Re: 60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #717 on: July 11, 2013, 11:24:03 AM »
It's not a problem of 16bit but adobe dng converter.

Resolve can't open dng files created by raw2dng because of number of bits (14). We need 10,12 or 16 bits to open in Resolve.


Unfortunately nope. I test to reconvert with photoshop in 16 bit dng and Resolve open it with a very low resolution. I ask in blackmagic forum and....i've realize that resolve doesn't support dng but only cinemadng.

sarotaz

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 82
Re: 60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #718 on: July 11, 2013, 11:52:33 AM »
It's not a problem of 16bit but adobe dng converter.

Resolve can't open dng files created by raw2dng because of number of bits (14). We need 10,12 or 16 bits to open in Resolve.

ah this is a half good news. Now "just" find a way to create dng in 10,12 or 16 bit from raw file. No one can help you?

Bioskop.Inc

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 109
Re: 60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #719 on: July 11, 2013, 12:09:04 PM »
Thanks Marekk for adding the lv_af_raw, its been a life saver!

It would be great if RawMagic could remove the hot pixels as its so much better, but the CinemaDNGs don't behave like other CinDNGs (i.e. I can't open them directly in FCPX).
Also, i've noticed that you can still kinda see the trace of the HotPixels when upscaling the footage, which is obviously really annoying.

On the plus side, i've been shooting some Anamorphic footage & have been able to upscale to 2K with great results!
Shooting 3:2 @ 1280x854 (11/12 secs recording) with a x1.5 anamorphic lens.
All my tests, so far, show that an anamorphic lens really makes the Raw files look a little cleaner (for upscaling) than if i had shot them without.

@A1ex - any luck with discovering how to use that extra memory?
 


marekk

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 331
  • www.oddajmisie.com
Re: 60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #720 on: July 11, 2013, 12:27:47 PM »
ah this is a half good news. Now "just" find a way to create dng in 10,12 or 16 bit from raw file. No one can help you?

I think it's faster to add one tag to cdng than create 14 to 16bit converter from scratch

sarotaz

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 82
Re: 60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #721 on: July 11, 2013, 12:48:43 PM »
I think it's faster to add one tag to cdng than create 14 to 16bit converter from scratch

agree with you :D still waiting

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12564
Re: 60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #722 on: July 11, 2013, 02:43:14 PM »
Come on, 16-bit output is easy, use an array of unsigned short, copy the image data, then reverse the bytes.

Or, you can interpolate the bad pixels in raw2dng. A previous implementation did that, but it needs some extra care for blobs of bad pixels.

OrionnebelGalaxie17

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 29
Re: 60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #723 on: July 12, 2013, 06:29:08 AM »

sarotaz

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 82
Re: 60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #724 on: July 12, 2013, 08:02:42 AM »
Come on, 16-bit output is easy, use an array of unsigned short, copy the image data, then reverse the bytes.

Or, you can interpolate the bad pixels in raw2dng. A previous implementation did that, but it needs some extra care for blobs of bad pixels.

marekk could you add this feature to raw2dng? with 16 bit file we can try if resolve open correctly dng sequence.