Author Topic: 60D RAW video - it's working !!!  (Read 1048268 times)

jai554

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 27
  • 6d - 60d user
Re: 60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #475 on: June 16, 2013, 11:20:11 AM »
50D 60MB/s speed already unlocked to 70MB/s now...
I just saw it...
So it is not impossible for our 60D to get higher SD card i hope... :)

marekk

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 331
  • www.oddajmisie.com
Re: 60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #476 on: June 16, 2013, 11:32:02 AM »
Ettr module is not included in rocket's autobuild, I've just send him a message to add it to autobuild

Same here, and it also seems that Auto ETTR was dropped or something. I don't see it any more.

brapodam

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 121
Re: 60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #477 on: June 16, 2013, 11:49:34 AM »
Ettr module is not included in rocket's autobuild, I've just send him a message to add it to autobuild
Oh, ok thanks. I was wondering where it went.

By the way, the latest build (ML-RAW-60D-hourly_2013-06-16_09-20.zip) still has the missing symbol file issue. Any idea what is the issue there? Is there supposed to be a "B:/ML/MODULES/60D_111.sym" file but it's not included in the autocompiled builds or is it not even supposed to exist?

marekk

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 331
  • www.oddajmisie.com
Re: 60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #478 on: June 16, 2013, 12:33:14 PM »
simply rename magic.sym to 60D_111.sym.

Here is a fresh build with ETTR module:
https://docs.google.com/file/d/0B-HdscXfsKpgc0NmSmtmZU9ENUE/edit?usp=sharing


Oh, ok thanks. I was wondering where it went.

By the way, the latest build (ML-RAW-60D-hourly_2013-06-16_09-20.zip) still has the missing symbol file issue. Any idea what is the issue there? Is there supposed to be a "B:/ML/MODULES/60D_111.sym" file but it's not included in the autocompiled builds or is it not even supposed to exist?

JusT92

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: 60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #479 on: June 16, 2013, 12:38:29 PM »

hi guys,
is it possible to get ML with raw video modul working on more then one card ?
i mean 2 cards with ML ...
i got only 2x 16Gb ... so 16 gb of raw footage is like 6 mins or so with my 60D =D
so how to prepare a the sec card ?

sry for my bad english :/ hope u get it ^^
Modify message

vertigopix

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 281
  • EOS 6D - EOS M
Re: 60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #480 on: June 16, 2013, 12:40:36 PM »
Hi marekk !

Can't access your file, access denied...   :)

brapodam

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 121
Re: 60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #481 on: June 16, 2013, 12:47:51 PM »
simply rename magic.sym to 60D_111.sym.

Here is a fresh build with ETTR module:
https://docs.google.com/file/d/0B-HdscXfsKpgc0NmSmtmZU9ENUE/edit?usp=sharing
Not sure if you meant it to be that way, but it says I need to request access (which I have done, but wouldn't it be more useful to set it such that anyone who has the link can access it?)

marekk

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 331
  • www.oddajmisie.com
Re: 60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #482 on: June 16, 2013, 01:15:51 PM »
try now

https://docs.google.com/file/d/0B-HdscXfsKpgc0NmSmtmZU9ENUE/edit?usp=sharing

Not sure if you meant it to be that way, but it says I need to request access (which I have done, but wouldn't it be more useful to set it such that anyone who has the link can access it?)


From China

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: 60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #484 on: June 16, 2013, 02:04:26 PM »
Here's a test I did last week shooting only at 1792 x 736 (2.35:1) using update #8. I got 178 frames throughout, with liveview on and based my exposure (overexposed mostly) on the histogram.

it`s very beautiful !

From China

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: 60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #485 on: June 16, 2013, 02:09:26 PM »
50D 60MB/s speed already unlocked to 70MB/s now...
I just saw it...
So it is not impossible for our 60D to get higher SD card i hope... :)
i hope so! 8)

davidcl0nel

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: 60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #486 on: June 16, 2013, 03:37:58 PM »
I like the Image from June/8th very much, I am very busy doing several tests, so I didn't switch the image to a newer one yet.
I do in the last days "only" timelapse with fps override (1fps) - and I love it! So I don't have any problems regarding writing speed.
But sometimes the capture breaks, and the camera didnt responde until I get out the battery. So there are some minor issues with stability I think.
In the next days we expect here thunderstorms and I will try the "new" bolt rec feature, If it is possible to do something great.
My best shot of last year doing the good ol' way of 15-30sek shutter time gave me this result:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/davidcl0nel/8543588975/
Maybe there is something more possible. ;-)


Now I got a 2000 frame sequence (30min), and got over the 4GB "barrier", so it seems to be no problem. But it seems to don't react to time changes (in manual mode) from 1/1600 to 1/2000 after start.
On "normal" video with fps override I can raise the exposing time without a problem.


Anyway, well done, and I will see, what the good ol'd 60D is capable of in the next weeks. ;-)


Edit: Nope, it runs out yet, I got a 4.194.304kb size RAW file and a 3.151.146kb r00 file. The size on the display while recording seems to be the added size (7G), while it ends after 4GB and didn't restart automatically regardless of the restart option, which was set. Never mind, I will check now the results. ;-)
60D & 5D3

8beeeaaat

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: 60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #487 on: June 16, 2013, 06:13:16 PM »

From China

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: 60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #488 on: June 17, 2013, 05:14:07 AM »
Thank you marekk!! You're my hero!!
It's my first 60D Raw video.

RAW video was really amazing !

Haliburton

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 44
Re: 60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #489 on: June 17, 2013, 06:22:37 AM »
RAW video was really amazing !

Agreed! Well done.

@ 8beeeaaat, did you use manual focus pulling, or ML rack focus feature?

Which lens(es) did you use?

Thanks!


Haliburton

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 44
Re: 60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #490 on: June 17, 2013, 06:41:07 AM »
50D 60MB/s speed already unlocked to 70MB/s now...
I just saw it...
So it is not impossible for our 60D to get higher SD card i hope... :)

As far as I know, the 60D SD card interface is currently hardware-limited to about 20 MB/s write speed.

Alternatives for improvement, as I understand:

• Alex is working on a way to squeeze a bit more buffer memory
• theoretically, the USB interface can achieve UHS-1 speeds: if we can use this to bypass the internal SD card altogether, there could be a huge improvement in write speeds
• UHS-1 - capable SD card interface (such as the 6D has) could be hardware-modded into earlier cameras

With respect to the great news on the 50D write speed: CF card speed capabilities are massively higher than that of SD cards.


8beeeaaat

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: 60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #491 on: June 17, 2013, 12:39:16 PM »
Agreed! Well done.

@ 8beeeaaat, did you use manual focus pulling, or ML rack focus feature?

Which lens(es) did you use?

Thanks!

I didn't use ML rack focus. All clips were recorded in manual focus. (my hand)
The focus peaking function is very helpful! :)

Haliburton

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 44
Re: 60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #492 on: June 17, 2013, 05:03:18 PM »
I didn't use ML rack focus. All clips were recorded in manual focus. (my hand)
The focus peaking function is very helpful! :)

:) using your own digits!

Yes, I found that focus peaking is superb, making use of my Canon FD manual focus lenses, much more practical.

What lens(es) did you use for that film, 8beeeaaat?

jayhas

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 25
Re: 60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #493 on: June 17, 2013, 08:27:21 PM »
I didn't use ML rack focus. All clips were recorded in manual focus. (my hand)
The focus peaking function is very helpful! :)


Yes, I found that focus peaking is superb, making use of my Canon FD manual focus lenses, much more practical.


I forgot about the focus peaking! That's why my focus was off in some of my clips:)

Did another test a couple of days ago at 1792 x 736 using ML-RAW-60D-hourly_2013-06-12_13-50 (haven't tried the latest ones yet). Brought along my slider to see if it is possible to operate (manually) and get usable footage within the time constraint of 7 seconds. Very tight, 1-2 secs used up pressing start and starting the slide. Also a few clips have the magenta flash at the beginning.

This is the outcome:


supermala

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: 60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #494 on: June 18, 2013, 12:50:48 AM »
Also did a test, with my workflow description. Shot with ISO 800 ETTR.
Anybody would like a espresso??  ;)


supermala

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: 60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #495 on: June 18, 2013, 12:59:48 AM »
one thing I didn't get till now  :-[
what I am going to do with that raw2dng (OS) file from the hourly downloads?

kingskafa

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: 60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #496 on: June 18, 2013, 05:54:06 AM »
Hello friends!
I have been stalking this forum for awhile.
I used an older ML build from the 8th I think.. but this new 60D one
https://docs.google.com/file/d/0B-HdscXfsKpgY1J4b1MyLUxzMFU/edit
keeps saying that the magic.sym is missing when loaded onto my camera.   Every time I download it, it downloads as a .txt  I change it to just .sym but it stays a .txt file    I try to use an older magic.sym... still no good
Any ideas? 

8beeeaaat

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: 60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #497 on: June 18, 2013, 05:55:10 AM »
What lens(es) did you use for that film, 8beeeaaat?

I used

* Voigtlander Color-Ultron 50mm f1.8 (much scene. It's my favorite lens :) )
* SIGMA 17-70mm f2.8-4 DC OS HSM Macro (Tokyo Tower)
* SIGMA APO 70-300mm F4-5.6 DG MACRO (Tokyo Tower)

brapodam

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 121
Re: 60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #498 on: June 18, 2013, 06:23:39 AM »
Hello friends!
I have been stalking this forum for awhile.
I used an older ML build from the 8th I think.. but this new 60D one
https://docs.google.com/file/d/0B-HdscXfsKpgY1J4b1MyLUxzMFU/edit
keeps saying that the magic.sym is missing when loaded onto my camera.   Every time I download it, it downloads as a .txt  I change it to just .sym but it stays a .txt file    I try to use an older magic.sym... still no good
Any ideas?
Try the builds from here:
https://www.dropbox.com/sh/1kitzbmanifb6sf/qgkHzW3gn2

kingskafa

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: 60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #499 on: June 18, 2013, 06:36:24 AM »
Oh YES!! THANK YOU. That works!!