Author Topic: 12-bit (and 10-bit) RAW video development discussion  (Read 780158 times)

Mayo

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 29
Re: 12-bit (and 10-bit) RAW video
« Reply #150 on: May 24, 2013, 05:32:47 PM »
But for 14 bit we don't do this?

Yes, we do.

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: 12-bit (and 10-bit) RAW video
« Reply #151 on: May 24, 2013, 05:33:54 PM »
I guess using 13 works but some calculations will be wrong?

I dunno maybe we should try 10 bit it might be less cpu intensive?

Mayo

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 29
Re: 12-bit (and 10-bit) RAW video
« Reply #152 on: May 24, 2013, 05:36:35 PM »
I think what happens (regarding 13 instead of 14) is that raw2dng overwrites the wrong value anyway, so it does work in the end.

I really doubt 10-bit is less cpu intensive, but it would be nice to have as an option, for sure.

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: 12-bit (and 10-bit) RAW video
« Reply #153 on: May 24, 2013, 05:48:46 PM »
I don't get it tho...  it looks like its keeping up for a while and then something happens.

Also what sucks is I can't see CPU usuage... on 600D I would be able to.

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12564
Re: 12-bit (and 10-bit) RAW video
« Reply #154 on: May 24, 2013, 05:54:58 PM »
Instead of trying to catch this unicorn (see benchmarks), I'd say it's better to investigate how to enable 12-bit output directly from DIGIC.

You can select different raw types from c0f37014: denoised, with different byte order, compressed and so on. Some test code: http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=5614.msg39696#msg39696

Mayo

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 29
Re: 12-bit (and 10-bit) RAW video
« Reply #155 on: May 24, 2013, 06:05:48 PM »
Hey, don't act as if we knew this all along!  ;D

DIGIC compressed RAW... I'll try not to get overexcited this time.

scrax

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1543
  • Code monkey
Re: 12-bit (and 10-bit) RAW video
« Reply #156 on: May 24, 2013, 06:07:39 PM »
DIGIC compressed RAW... I'll try not to get overexcited this time.
;D
I'm using ML2.3 for photography with:
EOS 600DML | EOS 400Dplus | EOS 5D MLbeta5- EF 100mm f/2.8 USM Macro  - EF-S 17-85mm f4-5.6 IS USM - EF 70-200mm f/4 L USM - 580EXII - OsX, PS, LR, RawTherapee, LightZone -no video experience-

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12564
Re: 12-bit (and 10-bit) RAW video
« Reply #157 on: May 24, 2013, 06:09:05 PM »
Well, some of the raw types look kinda like this: http://www.nycresistor.com/2012/08/21/ghosts-in-the-rom/

The value at c0f37014 seems to be 6-bit, not sure what each bit means.

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: 12-bit (and 10-bit) RAW video
« Reply #158 on: May 24, 2013, 06:09:59 PM »
We had to test it, lol. But yea, I don't see this working right now. Forcing it lower via digic sounds like a smarter plan. Aren't those for defect detection tho?

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12564
Re: 12-bit (and 10-bit) RAW video
« Reply #159 on: May 24, 2013, 06:13:03 PM »
Some of the raws are very noisy, others are cleaned up, but there are also scrambled ones. I don't know the image format, but I know for sure the digic can output 12-bit data.

Mayo

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 29
Re: 12-bit (and 10-bit) RAW video
« Reply #160 on: May 24, 2013, 06:13:44 PM »
One thing is for sure: Canon's CR2 are compressed... so it's out there.

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12564
Re: 12-bit (and 10-bit) RAW video
« Reply #161 on: May 24, 2013, 06:16:07 PM »
Yeah, huffman compression. Also a JPEG encoder, see http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=2803.0

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: 12-bit (and 10-bit) RAW video
« Reply #162 on: May 24, 2013, 06:16:49 PM »
There are several bit depths... that craw bits has several settings but for some reason they don't apply to pics or LV. I guess have to look at lv_af raw and find the address for 6D then we can start. I can probably undo the merge since this seems like a dead end unless D does something better with the module.

If we ever figure out how to use the TTJ path :)

mucher

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 121
Re: 12-bit (and 10-bit) RAW video
« Reply #163 on: May 24, 2013, 06:32:47 PM »
It's just the compression ratio, it's the same for width and the whole image buffer. (to tell fwrite how much to write).

@mucher: not sure if you're serious, but all your assumptions are wrong...  :P

I know nothing about camera, nothing about programming, but only waiting too anxiously to see when this good ML stuff will come to 7D(for me a jpg sequence is perfectly fine, because it is picture style compatible--so one does not have to correct the clips' color one by one, and jpg sequence can be true color full resolution too)

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: 12-bit (and 10-bit) RAW video
« Reply #164 on: May 24, 2013, 06:37:31 PM »
7D has dual procs.. no access to raw data easily. I'd do jpeg because of speed/size... a 2K jpeg would be OK... a smaller jpeg would not.

vicnaum

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 104
  • 600D warrior
Re: 12-bit (and 10-bit) RAW video
« Reply #165 on: May 24, 2013, 07:07:02 PM »
Also what sucks is I can't see CPU usuage... on 600D I would be able to.

There's no working build for 600d? d's asm lib only for 6d?

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: 12-bit (and 10-bit) RAW video
« Reply #166 on: May 24, 2013, 08:58:01 PM »
No point.. .if it doesn't run on the faster proc its not going to run on the slower one.

vicnaum

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 104
  • 600D warrior
Re: 12-bit (and 10-bit) RAW video
« Reply #167 on: May 24, 2013, 09:18:00 PM »
No point.. .if it doesn't run on the faster proc its not going to run on the slower one.

So 100% sure it's the CPU?

Bad :(

N/A

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 576
  • Dreaming in 14 bit
Re: 12-bit (and 10-bit) RAW video
« Reply #168 on: May 24, 2013, 09:18:50 PM »
Can we overclock the processors? I know it would probably kill the camera or something, but say I wanted an excuse to buy a mkiii...

7D. 600D. Rokinon 35 cine. Sigma 30 1.4
Audio and video recording/production, Random Photography
Want to help with the latest development but don't know how to compile?

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: 12-bit (and 10-bit) RAW video
« Reply #169 on: May 24, 2013, 09:42:11 PM »
Nope, wish we could.

savale

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 69
Re: 12-bit (and 10-bit) RAW video
« Reply #170 on: May 24, 2013, 09:51:51 PM »
How about truncating the 2 lower bits? All the deep blacks have a lot of noise anyway so why not just throw them away... It will be less cpu intensive

vicnaum

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 104
  • 600D warrior
Re: 12-bit (and 10-bit) RAW video
« Reply #171 on: May 24, 2013, 09:55:52 PM »
How much CPU does it need more? I mean - what's the order - is it lacking 10% more CPU speed, or 500%?

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: 12-bit (and 10-bit) RAW video
« Reply #172 on: May 24, 2013, 10:05:17 PM »
Truncating might be worth a shot but I dunno how to do that.

Its lacking.. ie not helping over 14 bits even though working as expected. I can't even do 960x500 continuous with this. Unless D comes back and tells us what we're doing wrong its a dead end.

bjacklee

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 20
Re: 12-bit (and 10-bit) RAW video
« Reply #173 on: May 24, 2013, 10:38:15 PM »
tenacious "D" we need your help.. :D

mucher

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 121
Re: 12-bit (and 10-bit) RAW video
« Reply #174 on: May 25, 2013, 08:00:03 AM »
Another maybe immature thought. 14bit color in raw video actually means 2^14 grade brightness, according to wiki.  So the 14bit to 12bit conversion seemingly should be:

int x; //brightness grade

x = x / (2^14);
x = x * (2^12);

Now things start to make sense to me.

Just my 2 coins.