Author Topic: 550D/T2i raw video recording port official thread  (Read 766752 times)

telecastDaveRI

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 41
Re: 550D raw video recording port official thread
« Reply #375 on: June 04, 2013, 12:25:34 AM »
Here are 2 builds with the new Filemanager there working on. I added the Stub for SeekFile to get it going.

This is the build with Tragic-Lanterns more res option Raw Rec module:
http://www.mediafire.com/download/96zgrdjaubamjuh/ML_Fileman_Raw_Tragic.zip

This is the Magic-Lantern build with the regular Raw Rec module:
http://www.mediafire.com/download/411wvydehbwfxcw/ML_Fileman_Raw_Unified.zip

I'm still getting better results with the "fix2" build. Attempted similar/same resolutions and with the "fix2" build - it will indicate to me that I have continuous recording, and although I didn't write down the results, I attempted to keep the resolution around 1280 at an aspect ratio of 3:1 and it only worked with that build. I cannot recreate that success with these. Unsure if this helps, but I thought I'd mention it.

mk11174

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 809
Re: 550D raw video recording port official thread
« Reply #376 on: June 04, 2013, 12:33:21 AM »
I'm still getting better results with the "fix2" build. Attempted similar/same resolutions and with the "fix2" build - it will indicate to me that I have continuous recording, and although I didn't write down the results, I attempted to keep the resolution around 1280 at an aspect ratio of 3:1 and it only worked with that build. I cannot recreate that success with these. Unsure if this helps, but I thought I'd mention it.
Not much different other then the addition of file manger as far as I know, so not sure why there would be a differ in record ability, but I guess it is possible more stuff is not always better.

500D/T1i  550D/T2i  600D/T3i  700D/T5i

telecastDaveRI

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 41
Re: 550D raw video recording port official thread
« Reply #377 on: June 04, 2013, 12:49:40 AM »
yea, I'm unsure what it is. Possible side effect? I just found it odd that when I went to replicate what I did on the other build, I couldn't with these.

But again, just throwing it out there as informational.

mk11174

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 809
Re: 550D raw video recording port official thread
« Reply #378 on: June 04, 2013, 12:52:20 AM »
yea, I'm unsure what it is. Possible side effect? I just found it odd that when I went to replicate what I did on the other build, I couldn't with these.

But again, just throwing it out there as informational.
I am only able to use that 1280x 3:1 aspect at 21fps stable with no skips with this build, I will try Fix2 just to see what happens, you have me curious.  :D

Update: well still no 24fps but I am able to get 22fps with those settings with Fix2 so must be a bit better, but the only addition is Fileman so I can try this new build without fileman and see what happens.

Update2: No, fileman does not make a differ, results are totally random at 22fps for me sometimes it never stops till I stop it, sometimes I only get 66frames.

21fps works perfect either way at that res.

Tragic lantern version has a cool greyscale preview option while recording raw, it shows exactly what your recording, much nicer to see what is being cropped.
500D/T1i  550D/T2i  600D/T3i  700D/T5i

telecastDaveRI

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 41
Re: 550D raw video recording port official thread
« Reply #379 on: June 04, 2013, 01:13:39 AM »
sounds awesome.

Yeah, I apologize. I wasn't at 24fps either. I forgot to include that information. I only noticed it because I literally tried to use the same settings and that is when I thought "wait a sec....".   :D

sonic

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 23
  • 550D
Re: 550D raw video recording port official thread
« Reply #380 on: June 04, 2013, 01:18:44 AM »
I added the Stub for SeekFile to get it going.

Is this available on bitbucket?

mk11174

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 809
Re: 550D raw video recording port official thread
« Reply #381 on: June 04, 2013, 01:22:05 AM »
Is this available on bitbucket?
No, not yet, I dont know how to add to that, I just added it to build it myself for now till someone that knows how adds it.

If you try to build now from bitbucket and use Raw it will not work because of the Seek address not there yet.

line: 85
NSTUB( 0xFF1C691C, FIO_SeekFile)

If you know how to get it on there or pull it or whatever its called, lol
500D/T1i  550D/T2i  600D/T3i  700D/T5i

telecastDaveRI

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 41
Re: 550D raw video recording port official thread
« Reply #382 on: June 04, 2013, 01:33:51 AM »
Update2: No, fileman does not make a differ, results are totally random at 22fps for me sometimes it never stops till I stop it, sometimes I only get 66frames.

Yes, I just noticed that now, after testing it again, I'm getting different results also. Last night I had some 30 second footage at 1280 at 3:1 at 18fps (override) - and the files on my computer that I just checked to verify - and now I cannot even duplicate that, even with the fix2 build.

Very interesting.

sonic

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 23
  • 550D
Re: 550D raw video recording port official thread
« Reply #383 on: June 04, 2013, 01:35:31 AM »
If you know how to get it on there or pull it or whatever its called, lol

It's actually quite simple and fun (as long as the VCS doesn't start fighting with you ;) ):


mk11174

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 809
Re: 550D raw video recording port official thread
« Reply #384 on: June 04, 2013, 02:20:39 AM »
It's actually quite simple and fun (as long as the VCS doesn't start fighting with you ;) ):

Cool, thanks for the info, maybe I will try it next time I need to add something. Thanks!

Now we need to try to get more Buffer Memory like the other cams, even the 500D has 95, I just tried Raw on my 500D and I get high res then on 550D with no skip.

By the way 1280x400x24fps just fine on 500D
500D/T1i  550D/T2i  600D/T3i  700D/T5i

sonic

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 23
  • 550D
Re: 550D raw video recording port official thread
« Reply #385 on: June 04, 2013, 02:24:48 AM »
Now we need to try to get more Buffer Memory like the other cams, even the 500D has 95, I just tried Raw on my 500D and I get high res then on 550D with no skip.

I already tried to find sourcecode for the sRAW experiments from the past, but couldn't find anything yet. I'm also afraid of the permanent Err70 this seems to provoke.

mk11174

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 809
Re: 550D raw video recording port official thread
« Reply #386 on: June 04, 2013, 02:27:38 AM »
Ah really, permanant error 70, interesting, that is scary
500D/T1i  550D/T2i  600D/T3i  700D/T5i

sonic

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 23
  • 550D
Re: 550D raw video recording port official thread
« Reply #387 on: June 04, 2013, 02:39:08 AM »
Ah really, permanant error 70, interesting, that is scary

I just thought "what the heck" and tried
Code: [Select]
        if (should_run_polling_action(20000, &aux))
        {
set_pic_quality(PICQ_SRAW);
            guess_mem_running = 1;
            guess_free_mem();
set_pic_quality(PICQ_RAW);
        }
in debug.c
but still only 75 MB.

mk11174

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 809
Re: 550D raw video recording port official thread
« Reply #388 on: June 04, 2013, 02:51:54 AM »
I just thought "what the heck" and tried
Code: [Select]
        if (should_run_polling_action(20000, &aux))
        {
set_pic_quality(PICQ_SRAW);
            guess_mem_running = 1;
            guess_free_mem();
set_pic_quality(PICQ_RAW);
        }
in debug.c
but still only 75 MB.
I already enabled it a couple weeks ago but never knew about the err70 thing, lol, it seems when I did load it, I just got a red rectangle across the screen with some address in it, but like you, mem was still 68 back when I tried it.
500D/T1i  550D/T2i  600D/T3i  700D/T5i

Greg

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 591
Re: 550D raw video recording port official thread
« Reply #389 on: June 04, 2013, 03:10:27 AM »
NSTUB( 0xFF1C691C, FIO_SeekFile)

I need this to 500D how to find it?
Here it is, but I do not know how to do it - https://bitbucket.org/hudson/magic-lantern/commits/01e1e1c267d3396d6ddf6738a815754e28b9367d

mk11174

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 809
Re: 550D raw video recording port official thread
« Reply #390 on: June 04, 2013, 03:30:42 AM »
I need this to 500D how to find it?
Here it is, but I do not know how to do it - https://bitbucket.org/hudson/magic-lantern/commits/01e1e1c267d3396d6ddf6738a815754e28b9367d
NSTUB( 0xFF1968B4, FIO_SeekFile) is for 500D
500D/T1i  550D/T2i  600D/T3i  700D/T5i

Greg

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 591
Re: 550D raw video recording port official thread
« Reply #391 on: June 04, 2013, 03:44:56 AM »
NSTUB( 0xFF1968B4, FIO_SeekFile) is for 500D
ok, thank you  ;)

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: 550D raw video recording port official thread
« Reply #392 on: June 04, 2013, 04:03:32 AM »
0 props need to be blocked out or it won't change, just give you the red square. Then you need to change mode to apply it. Hard writing the 0 props seems to change it right away but then you have these err 70 problems. EOSM just shut down when put into sraw.

sonic

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 23
  • 550D
Re: 550D raw video recording port official thread
« Reply #393 on: June 04, 2013, 04:21:17 AM »
0 props need to be blocked out or it won't change, just give you the red square. Then you need to change mode to apply it.

I commented out
Code: [Select]
        if (should_run_polling_action(20000, &aux))
        {
set_pic_quality(PICQ_SRAW);
            guess_mem_running = 1;
            guess_free_mem();
//set_pic_quality(PICQ_RAW);
        }

void set_pic_quality(int q)
{
    if (q == -1) return;
    prop_request_change(PROP_PIC_QUALITY, &q, 4);
//    prop_request_change(PROP_PIC_QUALITY2, &q, 4);
//    prop_request_change(PROP_PIC_QUALITY3, &q, 4);
}

and switched between Movie/Night Portrait and P/LV, but always 75 MB.

dlrpgmsvc

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 398
  • The 7D and 50D Robin Hood
Re: 550D raw video recording port official thread
« Reply #394 on: June 04, 2013, 10:38:34 AM »
No, not yet, I dont know how to add to that, I just added it to build it myself for now till someone that knows how adds it.

If you try to build now from bitbucket and use Raw it will not work because of the Seek address not there yet.

line: 85
NSTUB( 0xFF1C691C, FIO_SeekFile)

If you know how to get it on there or pull it or whatever its called, lol

I dunno who made this, but your modification is already merged in the bitbucket unified ! Great !

I have, however, some questions, just to clarify things better, to me and to others that may come to help :

[1] Do there are Others stubs to search for (not for this specific memory problem, but for other purposes... just to know) ?

[2] Do someone knows what are the source files (and where are they located) that are involved into enabling sRAW feature and at what lines, inside them ?
If you think it's impossible, you have lost beforehand

mk11174

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 809
Re: 550D raw video recording port official thread
« Reply #395 on: June 04, 2013, 01:51:12 PM »
I dunno who made this, but your modification is already merged in the bitbucket unified ! Great !

Sonic took care of it  :D
500D/T1i  550D/T2i  600D/T3i  700D/T5i

GregoryOfManhattan

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 170
Re: 550D raw video recording port official thread
« Reply #396 on: June 04, 2013, 01:58:31 PM »
@Sonic, did you need a dump to get the correct FIO_SeekFile?
we need to get this for the 50D also.

what was the symptom of an incorrect RESTARTSTART - i see a1ex commit to reboot-all.c for 550D


mk11174

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 809
Re: 550D raw video recording port official thread
« Reply #397 on: June 04, 2013, 02:21:16 PM »
@Sonic, did you need a dump to get the correct FIO_SeekFile?
we need to get this for the 50D also.

try for 50D NSTUB( 0xff9829b0, FIO_SeekFile)
500D/T1i  550D/T2i  600D/T3i  700D/T5i

pavelpp

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 92
Re: 550D raw video recording port official thread
« Reply #398 on: June 04, 2013, 02:43:52 PM »
So what are you saying guys - raw is now enabled in unified builds for 550d?

mk11174

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 809
Re: 550D raw video recording port official thread
« Reply #399 on: June 04, 2013, 03:04:08 PM »
So what are you saying guys - raw is now enabled in unified builds for 550d?
No, you have to build yourself to get the M menu to load modules, if you cant build just use my latest build, it is up to date with bitbuckit.

But everything is added to 550D port now to make raw load and work, just need to build yourself to enable modules.

Only thing we need to catch up with the other cams is a bit more shoot_malloc memory, 1% got us from 68mb to 75mb, now we just need to get to 95mb like the 500D then it will help us get a bit higher res at 24p. The 500D is getting 1280x400x24fps
500D/T1i  550D/T2i  600D/T3i  700D/T5i