Author Topic: 5D2 RAW video Builds 14-Bit  (Read 356099 times)

Seagull21

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: 5D2 RAW video Builds 14-Bit
« Reply #1725 on: November 26, 2013, 05:21:53 PM »
Check out my Movember video I shot on the Oct.24th build. Tech specs listed on vimeo.


mrnv45

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 140
Re: 5D2 RAW video Builds 14-Bit
« Reply #1726 on: November 26, 2013, 10:13:40 PM »
nice dialogue

Doyle4

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 690
  • Canon 5DRAWii & 600Dual-Iso
Re: 5D2 RAW video Builds 14-Bit
« Reply #1727 on: November 28, 2013, 01:29:14 AM »
@a.d

is cr2hdr also A1ex's cr2hdr amaze edge2? if not could you possibly cross it to mac as i really like the look, cheers.

justinchase

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: 5D2 RAW video Builds 14-Bit
« Reply #1728 on: December 01, 2013, 10:49:54 PM »

Shoot with magiclantern 1880X800

matthieu

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: 5D2 RAW video Builds 14-Bit
« Reply #1729 on: December 02, 2013, 12:03:04 PM »
good one justinchase!
this shows really good what RAW does to a dslr cam!  Especially with the frontlighting shots.
And: good flow/tune also!  8)

hdclip

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 72
  • Canon 7D Lexar 32Gb X1000
Re: 5D2 RAW video Builds 14-Bit
« Reply #1730 on: December 02, 2013, 03:34:29 PM »
Hello!!!!I can make only 2 Seconds in 1880 Raw 16/9 on my 5D MKII, I have the latest build and a 800X Lexar 16GB...Does anyone tell how I must to prepare my CF or my camera to have continious recordĀ“s????I have apple computer...
Thankyou very much!!!!!
Canon 7D Sandisk Extreme 60MB/seg, Lexar 32Gb X1000

SpcCb

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 207
Re: 5D2 RAW video Builds 14-Bit
« Reply #1731 on: December 02, 2013, 04:59:30 PM »
hdclip > What's the target FPS?

hdclip

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 72
  • Canon 7D Lexar 32Gb X1000
Re: 5D2 RAW video Builds 14-Bit
« Reply #1732 on: December 02, 2013, 05:55:39 PM »
hdclip > What's the target FPS?
24 or 25, with booth the same Result...when start record and arrives to +/-27mb/seg stop recording...and before to start record in the Magic menu said with this resolution only expecteed 140 frames...
It isnt normal, really???
Canon 7D Sandisk Extreme 60MB/seg, Lexar 32Gb X1000

PressureFM

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 171
Re: 5D2 RAW video Builds 14-Bit
« Reply #1733 on: December 02, 2013, 06:01:53 PM »
24 or 25, with booth the same Result...when start record and arrives to +/-27mb/seg stop recording...and before to start record in the Magic menu said with this resolution only expecteed 140 frames...
It isnt normal, really???

Benchmark the Lexar 800x CompactFlash card in ML. It may not be fast enough at your chosen resolution.

hdclip

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 72
  • Canon 7D Lexar 32Gb X1000
Re: 5D2 RAW video Builds 14-Bit
« Reply #1734 on: December 02, 2013, 06:11:29 PM »
Benchmark the Lexar 800x CompactFlash card in ML. It may not be fast enough at your chosen resolution.
also have a 7D and I have not this problem, configure the 7D I turned more difficult by the issue of autostart but I can record 2 minutes, in contrast with the 5D I can not even two seconds ... I think something happens because 120mb/seg..., need to configure the card in a special way, any special formatting or something??
Canon 7D Sandisk Extreme 60MB/seg, Lexar 32Gb X1000

reddeercity

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2293
Re: 5D2 RAW video Builds 14-Bit
« Reply #1735 on: December 02, 2013, 07:35:04 PM »
800x cards are to SLOW to record that frame size
Best you can get is 1872x930
1000x cards is min. For full
16:9 or even 1.85:1 at 1880,1872
You will be able to record 1728x768
16:9 (I think that the size)
The max size I record on my 5D2 @ 16:9
Is 1880x1058 @23.976 for about 700-1000 frame.
For continuous recording I use Lexar 1000x 32,64GB
For frame size in non crop mode 1872x1012,
And in crop mode 2048x930 both at 23.976.

This is on the Oct. 24th built from A.D.
Do not use the nightly built for the 5D2
As it dose not work every well (slows do the camera & crashes)
The only that stable right now is Oct24th built.
I use it for Paid work, and keep away from
The MLV format right now it kills the camera performances
It total useless on the 5D Mark2, it really only works
On the 5D3

hdclip

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 72
  • Canon 7D Lexar 32Gb X1000
Re: 5D2 RAW video Builds 14-Bit
« Reply #1736 on: December 02, 2013, 08:17:33 PM »
800x cards are to SLOW to record that frame size
Best you can get is 1872x930
1000x cards is min. For full
16:9 or even 1.85:1 at 1880,1872
You will be able to record 1728x768
16:9 (I think that the size)
The max size I record on my 5D2 @ 16:9
Is 1880x1058 @23.976 for about 700-1000 frame.
For continuous recording I use Lexar 1000x 32,64GB
For frame size in non crop mode 1872x1012,
And in crop mode 2048x930 both at 23.976.

This is on the Oct. 24th built from A.D.
Do not use the nightly built for the 5D2
As it dose not work every well (slows do the camera & crashes)
The only that stable right now is Oct24th built.
I use it for Paid work, and keep away from
The MLV format right now it kills the camera performances
It total useless on the 5D Mark2, it really only works
On the 5D3
Thankyou Very Much!!!!!!I will try... ;)
Canon 7D Sandisk Extreme 60MB/seg, Lexar 32Gb X1000

SpcCb

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 207
Re: 5D2 RAW video Builds 14-Bit
« Reply #1737 on: December 03, 2013, 12:59:19 AM »
+1 with reddeercity.

Plus, I can say I never saw a 5D2 recording continuous in 16/9 RAW 1880px at 25, 24 or 23.976fps, even with a 160MB/s CF card.

Maybe with a 800x it should be continuous in 2.35 AR with 1880px at 23.976fps. I use this config with a Sandisk CF 60MB/s.

hdclip

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 72
  • Canon 7D Lexar 32Gb X1000
Re: 5D2 RAW video Builds 14-Bit
« Reply #1738 on: December 03, 2013, 10:03:55 AM »
+1 with reddeercity.

Plus, I can say I never saw a 5D2 recording continuous in 16/9 RAW 1880px at 25, 24 or 23.976fps, even with a 160MB/s CF card.

Maybe with a 800x it should be continuous in 2.35 AR with 1880px at 23.976fps. I use this config with a Sandisk CF 60MB/s.
Thank you very much this magicworld and their people is amazing,  but the problem with the 5D is the buffer or the processor???what do you think???
Canon 7D Sandisk Extreme 60MB/seg, Lexar 32Gb X1000

bnvm

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 159
Re: 5D2 RAW video Builds 14-Bit
« Reply #1739 on: December 03, 2013, 05:18:16 PM »
Not sure exactly where the bottleneck on the 5D2 is, but the writing limit seems to be around 75 MB/s. That limit is due to the hardware of the camera so faster cards won't do any good.

hdclip

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 72
  • Canon 7D Lexar 32Gb X1000
Re: 5D2 RAW video Builds 14-Bit
« Reply #1740 on: December 03, 2013, 10:15:59 PM »
Not sure exactly where the bottleneck on the 5D2 is, but the writing limit seems to be around 75 MB/s. That limit is due to the hardware of the camera so faster cards won't do any good.
But with this teory the lexar 800x must be work fine at 1880, and it seems that the camera cant go up 40Mb/seg...(in my camera)
?????
Canon 7D Sandisk Extreme 60MB/seg, Lexar 32Gb X1000

PressureFM

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 171
Re: 5D2 RAW video Builds 14-Bit
« Reply #1741 on: December 03, 2013, 11:25:31 PM »
But with this teory the lexar 800x must be work fine at 1880, and it seems that the camera cant go up 40Mb/seg...(in my camera)
?????

Nope, the Lexar 800x rating is based on read speed, not write speed.

bnvm

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 159
Re: 5D2 RAW video Builds 14-Bit
« Reply #1742 on: December 03, 2013, 11:36:22 PM »
Yep most cards I have tried seem to write at about half of the speed they post on the card, I remember a 90 MB/s scandisk card writing at about 45 MB/s. I also have a monster 800x card and I believe I can get about 52 MB/s on that one. If you want to max out the write speed you will need a 1000x card, period.

hdclip

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 72
  • Canon 7D Lexar 32Gb X1000
Re: 5D2 RAW video Builds 14-Bit
« Reply #1743 on: December 03, 2013, 11:46:39 PM »
Ok... :'( ... And now, one stupid question, the indicator of the Ml speed is Megabyte or Megabit??? ;D
And the CF is Megabyte or Megabit???
Canon 7D Sandisk Extreme 60MB/seg, Lexar 32Gb X1000

reddeercity

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2293
Re: 5D2 RAW video Builds 14-Bit
« Reply #1744 on: December 04, 2013, 03:31:21 AM »
MB/s(Megabyte) not Mb/s(Megabit) :)

hdclip

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 72
  • Canon 7D Lexar 32Gb X1000
Re: 5D2 RAW video Builds 14-Bit
« Reply #1745 on: December 04, 2013, 09:47:15 AM »
Thank's!!!!!
Canon 7D Sandisk Extreme 60MB/seg, Lexar 32Gb X1000

garymadison

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: 5D2 RAW video Builds 14-Bit
« Reply #1746 on: December 04, 2013, 08:21:48 PM »
Hello

I the current operating system on my 5D MKII. I had ML installed and tried to install the RAW files from a download.
My Camera locked up and I removed ML.
Would it be possible for someone to post a step by step reinstall of ML and the RAW download?
It would be greatly appreciated.

Only the Best to You

Gary

reddeercity

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2293
Re: 5D2 RAW video Builds 14-Bit
« Reply #1747 on: December 04, 2013, 08:53:48 PM »
Hello

I the current operating system on my 5D MKII. I had ML installed and tried to install the RAW files from a download.
My Camera locked up and I removed ML.
Would it be possible for someone to post a step by step reinstall of ML and the RAW download?
It would be greatly appreciated.

Only the Best to You

Gary
I wrote a short tutorial back late May , link below
 http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=5533.msg44827#msg44827
I hope that helps, plus I have in the works a short video tutorial on how to
install ML raw on the 5D2 with trouble Shooting problems.  :)

PS: On page one you will find the latest Raw module download,
right now the Oct 24th built is the best one from the 5D2
link the Raw module
 https://bitbucket.org/a_d_/laboratory/downloads/af9a60fe144d.zip

dariSSight

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 163
Re: 5D2 RAW video Builds 14-Bit
« Reply #1748 on: December 04, 2013, 11:47:56 PM »
I wrote a short tutorial back late May , link below
 http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=5533.msg44827#msg44827
I hope that helps, plus I have in the works a short video tutorial on how to
install ML raw on the 5D2 with trouble Shooting problems.  :)

PS: On page one you will find the latest Raw module download,
right now the Oct 24th built is the best one from the 5D2
link the Raw module
 https://bitbucket.org/a_d_/laboratory/downloads/af9a60fe144d.zip

Thanks for all your communication on this evolutionary forum community, I've gain an easier workflow as well as greater knowledge ML and your input. Thanks

I do have a few questions,
1. Do you shoot in aspect ratio 2:35?
2. What is your highest preferred Resolution with the 5DII?
3. Are you considering using Davinci Resolve in your Workflow?
4. I've use your workflow RAWMagic  DNG to ACR to Tiff to Final Cut Pro X, but I'm wondering have you come up with a way to make the Tiff size smaller without losing quality and what's the highest up convert do you recommend for the DNG to Tiff?
5. Lastly, what's your thoughts on ProRes 422 vs ProRes 4444.
Canon 5D Mark II

reddeercity

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2293
Re: 5D2 RAW video Builds 14-Bit
« Reply #1749 on: December 05, 2013, 03:18:50 AM »
Thank, I like to share  ;)
darriSSight, if you are using RawMagic that should be a Cdng and FCPx can Read
that file type. That How I get raw in to FCPx, it 1/3 the size of tiff's .
So same workflow that you use with tiff's but use Cdng's.
At lest this work with raw2cdng on Windows PC, but I think it should also work with
RawMagic.
I use Apple ProRes 4444, It's the closes think to CDNG being it's a RGB 10 or 12bit
the bandwidth is about the some, around 220 Mb/s.
There again I shoot in the Largest frame size my cards can handle
Just re-frame/Crop, I do this all the time.
1872x1012 23.976p for continuous recording  on the Oct 24th built, I will not use any think newer.
But if I Make a Video for ME or a tutorial to help people understand ML better
then I shoot in either 1880x1250 3:2 ,1880x1058 16:9 or at 2k 2048x1024 2:1 2048x930 2.2:1

I don't Shoot any video unless I have plan it out, I would say that only about 20%
of the footage is cut out, where as when I would shot H264, or any other Cameras  it more like
40% is cut out.
I have started to look at Resolve, but it would be as a last resort, it has a very odd GUI
which I'm not comfortable with.
And besides that the debayering in Resolve is not  as good as the ACR plugin, in After Effect.
If I'm in rush to do a project I will sometimes make a  ProRes 4444 In After Effect then
Finish off in FCPx with audio sync  Grading etc...
You can go from 2k to 4k with tiff's that's about it for upscaling.
the reason for 2k Crop and not 1:1 non crop is  there is no line Skipping, so no aliasing and moire
I hope I answered your Questions

FYI: when you import Image files in to FCPx you can Choose different Color Space .
there is 4 or 5 ones to pick, if you do not it will default to Adobe RGB. ;)

PS: keep on a lookout I'm just finishing off a Full 3:2 sensor test(1872x1250) with Film convert Pro applied Etc..
should be up in the next few days.