Author Topic: Uncompressed 14-bit RAW video testing - 5D Mark III  (Read 522903 times)

jakdaniel1975

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: Uncompressed 14-bit RAW video testing - 5D Mark III
« Reply #50 on: May 19, 2013, 05:34:50 PM »
here's the file cr2 and dng files of the same scene .. please open them with photoshop and lower the value of both vibrance and see the difference on the dng file where compression artifacts appear .. at least look like ..

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/71964196/mk3.zip

ptunstall

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 35
Re: Uncompressed 14-bit RAW video testing - 5D Mark III
« Reply #51 on: May 19, 2013, 05:55:09 PM »
could you please tell me where to download the latest firmware currently available? thanks

Not sure what build you're running but here is the thread that mostly keeps up to date with the latest builds.

http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=5413.0

core_32

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 25
Re: Uncompressed 14-bit RAW video testing - 5D Mark III
« Reply #52 on: May 19, 2013, 08:52:12 PM »
Sorry to bother you guys but did anyone tested 60p yet? I didn't found a sample on the web.
It seems to me that 720p 60p RAW can be nicely scaled up into 1080p 60p. The only doubt for me is the moire/aliasing behavior at 720p.
Any information would be greatly appreciated!

bumkicho

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 102
Re: Uncompressed 14-bit RAW video testing - 5D Mark III
« Reply #53 on: May 19, 2013, 10:39:53 PM »
Is there a batch file that you can execute to process multiple files? I have shot over 30 raw files today and I would like to know how others deal with multiple files.

RenatoPhoto

  • Moderators
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1509
  • 5DM3 / 7D
Re: Uncompressed 14-bit RAW video testing - 5D Mark III
« Reply #54 on: May 20, 2013, 12:05:26 AM »
Sorry to bother you guys but did anyone tested 60p yet? I didn't found a sample on the web.
It seems to me that 720p 60p RAW can be nicely scaled up into 1080p 60p. The only doubt for me is the moire/aliasing behavior at 720p.
Any information would be greatly appreciated!

According to some test I ran, on 1000X 32GB Lexar the largest frame size for continuous recording for 60 fps is 1440x480.  Now this image is squeezed and has to be stretched to 1440x790 to have the proper stretch.  That is a 1.6473 multiplier!

The strange thing is that the write speed to the card is significantly reduced for this process.  For example the Lexar 1000x is capable of 85 MB/s.  BUT at 60 fps the camera maxes out at recording speeds of 69 MB/s and starts skipping frames after that!

The DNG files ar 1.19 megs each x 60 = 71.4 MB/s.  Something does not add up (multiply) correctly.  HELP

By the way this should go to the How to: -- 60fps RAW Video for 5D3 --  http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=5472.0

So I will put a copy there!  So please go there to follow it.
http://www.pululahuahostal.com  |  EF 300 f/4, EF 100-400 L, EF 180 L, EF-S 10-22, Samyang 14mm, Sigma 28mm EX DG, Sigma 8mm 1:3.5 EX DG, EF 50mm 1:1.8 II, EF 1.4X II, Kenko C-AF 2X

bumkicho

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 102
Re: Uncompressed 14-bit RAW video testing - 5D Mark III
« Reply #55 on: May 20, 2013, 12:53:28 AM »
wav file is always 12:25:39. Anyone else noticed it?

seanturco

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 26
Re: Uncompressed 14-bit RAW video testing - 5D Mark III
« Reply #56 on: May 20, 2013, 02:56:10 AM »
Question of noob:
Did you ever consider a variable bitrate like audio vbr for mp3 ?
Is that possible to capture one frame at 14bits raw and the second at 10 bits ?
( for camera which have only sd cards )

Sorry for my bad english..

squig

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 500
  • Crash test dummy MK3
Re: Uncompressed 14-bit RAW video testing - 5D Mark III
« Reply #57 on: May 20, 2013, 03:01:25 AM »
Question of noob:
Did you ever consider a variable bitrate like audio vbr for mp3 ?
Is that possible to capture one frame at 14bits raw and the second at 10 bits ?
( for camera which have only sd cards )

Sorry for my bad english..

You can't vary the bitrate without compression.

RenatoPhoto

  • Moderators
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1509
  • 5DM3 / 7D
Re: Uncompressed 14-bit RAW video testing - 5D Mark III
« Reply #58 on: May 20, 2013, 03:04:21 AM »
wav file is always 12:25:39. Anyone else noticed it?

Yep, has to be trimmed in video editor.  Hope this gets fixed.
http://www.pululahuahostal.com  |  EF 300 f/4, EF 100-400 L, EF 180 L, EF-S 10-22, Samyang 14mm, Sigma 28mm EX DG, Sigma 8mm 1:3.5 EX DG, EF 50mm 1:1.8 II, EF 1.4X II, Kenko C-AF 2X

bumkicho

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 102
Re: Uncompressed 14-bit RAW video testing - 5D Mark III
« Reply #59 on: May 20, 2013, 03:10:58 AM »
Yep, has to be trimmed in video editor.  Hope this gets fixed.

Have you tried to sync these wav files with video? I am trying to figure out time difference between video and audio.

RenatoPhoto

  • Moderators
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1509
  • 5DM3 / 7D
Re: Uncompressed 14-bit RAW video testing - 5D Mark III
« Reply #60 on: May 20, 2013, 05:28:36 AM »
I tried quick test and it is good enough for me.  I started the video and audio file at same point.  Trimmed the extra audio stuff at the end of the video.  I think I used FPS Override at 24 fps.  Have not tried other tests.
http://www.pululahuahostal.com  |  EF 300 f/4, EF 100-400 L, EF 180 L, EF-S 10-22, Samyang 14mm, Sigma 28mm EX DG, Sigma 8mm 1:3.5 EX DG, EF 50mm 1:1.8 II, EF 1.4X II, Kenko C-AF 2X

jakdaniel1975

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: Uncompressed 14-bit RAW video testing - 5D Mark III
« Reply #61 on: May 20, 2013, 11:34:48 AM »
but to you it is a difference in exposure from what I see from the live view of what then records inraw? I have at least 2 stop of underexposure on the recording ....

I apologize for my English use a translator ..

squig

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 500
  • Crash test dummy MK3
Re: Uncompressed 14-bit RAW video testing - 5D Mark III
« Reply #62 on: May 20, 2013, 12:00:24 PM »
Try turning the brightness on the LCD down one notch below the mid setting. I haven't had any issues with exposure.

weigertj

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Uncompressed 14-bit RAW video testing - 5D Mark III
« Reply #63 on: May 20, 2013, 12:29:29 PM »
Hello, I created a "5D MKIII raw" video group on Vimeo and already collected 97 videos. I also try to regularly update it with the best and newest videos. Please feel free to join:

https://vimeo.com/groups/192344

Habitat

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 36
Re: Uncompressed 14-bit RAW video testing - 5D Mark III
« Reply #64 on: May 20, 2013, 01:38:57 PM »
but to you it is a difference in exposure from what I see from the live view of what then records inraw? I have at least 2 stop of underexposure on the recording ....

I apologize for my English use a translator ..

Use the Waveform and Expose to the Right! I was having he same problem and this helped a lot

RenatoPhoto

  • Moderators
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1509
  • 5DM3 / 7D
Re: Uncompressed 14-bit RAW video testing - 5D Mark III
« Reply #65 on: May 20, 2013, 03:20:42 PM »
Quick test of new compile 5D3 May 20 3ab36d8a50de

Tried new Hack3D with inconsistent results.

The main issue I experienced is after using the Hack.  I switched to photo mode then back to LV mode and the image froze.  Could not get live view to work.  Had to reboot cam to work.  I happens every time. 

No more test were done
http://www.pululahuahostal.com  |  EF 300 f/4, EF 100-400 L, EF 180 L, EF-S 10-22, Samyang 14mm, Sigma 28mm EX DG, Sigma 8mm 1:3.5 EX DG, EF 50mm 1:1.8 II, EF 1.4X II, Kenko C-AF 2X

bumkicho

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 102
Re: Uncompressed 14-bit RAW video testing - 5D Mark III
« Reply #66 on: May 20, 2013, 04:06:09 PM »
I think I used FPS Override at 24 fps.

That possibly made your syncing experience better than mine. I had FPS override off and just shot at 23.976.
Maybe I will carry a slate with me at all times. Ha ha.

RenatoPhoto

  • Moderators
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1509
  • 5DM3 / 7D
Re: Uncompressed 14-bit RAW video testing - 5D Mark III
« Reply #67 on: May 20, 2013, 04:16:34 PM »
Quick test of new compile 5D3 May 20 3ab36d8a50de

Tried new Hack3D with inconsistent results.

The main issue I experienced is after using the Hack.  I switched to photo mode then back to LV mode and the image froze.  Could not get live view to work.  Had to reboot cam to work.  I happens every time. 

No more test were done

Update: Experiencing problems where LV is not updating after I use zoom mode WITHOUT using Hack so problem is not necessarily the Hack.
http://www.pululahuahostal.com  |  EF 300 f/4, EF 100-400 L, EF 180 L, EF-S 10-22, Samyang 14mm, Sigma 28mm EX DG, Sigma 8mm 1:3.5 EX DG, EF 50mm 1:1.8 II, EF 1.4X II, Kenko C-AF 2X

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: Uncompressed 14-bit RAW video testing - 5D Mark III
« Reply #68 on: May 20, 2013, 04:20:45 PM »
Turn off raw video before switching to photo mode or photo mode LV... when it hits photo mode it may allocate all 256M and then live view doesn't open. When I turned it off photo works just fine.

Shield

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 254
Re: Uncompressed 14-bit RAW video testing - 5D Mark III
« Reply #69 on: May 20, 2013, 04:23:28 PM »
Well guys I was skeptical until I tried this for myself - it's brilliant!

I am using the 32GB 1000x Lexar CF card - has anyone formatted the card for exFAT and enabled the greater than 4GB recording and gotten it to work?  What's the longest continual recording that anyone has gotten in which raw2dng will still work?

*Edit* To answer my own question, apparently the raw2dng.exe for Windows doesn't work with files >4GB.  Only works in Linux so far from what I've read.

Also, I couldn't get the audio to work until I stuck a SD card in the other slot, then I was fine.

RenatoPhoto

  • Moderators
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1509
  • 5DM3 / 7D
Re: Uncompressed 14-bit RAW video testing - 5D Mark III
« Reply #70 on: May 20, 2013, 04:30:57 PM »
Turn off raw video before switching to photo mode or photo mode LV... when it hits photo mode it may allocate all 256M and then live view doesn't open. When I turned it off photo works just fine.
Quick test of new compile 5D3 May 20 3ab36d8a50de

This was not the case for yesterdays or any other day build.  It started today on5D3.  I hope it gets fixed...  Thanks
http://www.pululahuahostal.com  |  EF 300 f/4, EF 100-400 L, EF 180 L, EF-S 10-22, Samyang 14mm, Sigma 28mm EX DG, Sigma 8mm 1:3.5 EX DG, EF 50mm 1:1.8 II, EF 1.4X II, Kenko C-AF 2X

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: Uncompressed 14-bit RAW video testing - 5D Mark III
« Reply #71 on: May 20, 2013, 04:32:21 PM »
Was the case for me since a few days ago, maybe went a way and then came back.

RenatoPhoto

  • Moderators
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1509
  • 5DM3 / 7D
Re: Uncompressed 14-bit RAW video testing - 5D Mark III
« Reply #72 on: May 20, 2013, 04:43:47 PM »
Quick test of new compile 5D3 May 20 3ab36d8a50de

I turned RAW video OFF when I switched to photo mode.  It work better but...  After a few test in Raw Video mode the zoom button stopped working so I had turn OFF RAW video, flip to photo mode, back to RAW video and it fixed.
Definitely repeatable.
http://www.pululahuahostal.com  |  EF 300 f/4, EF 100-400 L, EF 180 L, EF-S 10-22, Samyang 14mm, Sigma 28mm EX DG, Sigma 8mm 1:3.5 EX DG, EF 50mm 1:1.8 II, EF 1.4X II, Kenko C-AF 2X

RenatoPhoto

  • Moderators
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1509
  • 5DM3 / 7D
Re: Uncompressed 14-bit RAW video testing - 5D Mark III
« Reply #73 on: May 20, 2013, 05:59:29 PM »
Quick test of new compile 5D3 May 20 3ab36d8a50de

Also having problems with auto EXPOSURE:
In May 19th build in Tv mode I can point at dark place and settings adjust as needed, take a video and it is good.  Then I point at brighter exposure area and settings adjust automatically; take the video and it is good.  Since the cam is in Tv mode the ISO gets adjusted accordingly from 10000 (in dark)  to 500 in bright.

Now with May 20th build the ISO gets stuck at 10000 and when I point to bright area does not change.  Raw video is overexposed.  If I shut off video and go back to video and set for bright area, take a video, move to dark area and take a video, the iso remains stuck and video is underexposed.

Repeatable

http://www.pululahuahostal.com  |  EF 300 f/4, EF 100-400 L, EF 180 L, EF-S 10-22, Samyang 14mm, Sigma 28mm EX DG, Sigma 8mm 1:3.5 EX DG, EF 50mm 1:1.8 II, EF 1.4X II, Kenko C-AF 2X

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: Uncompressed 14-bit RAW video testing - 5D Mark III
« Reply #74 on: May 20, 2013, 06:05:20 PM »
Quote
After a few test in Raw Video mode the zoom button stopped working

Mine too... also the 1:1 preview is broken. I think its related.

AE/AEWB isnt' working because its turned off when shooting raw.