Author Topic: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording  (Read 749646 times)

coutts

  • Developer
  • Senior
  • *****
  • Posts: 401
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #825 on: May 15, 2013, 02:47:57 PM »
its time for a file manager module ;)

who does it?
chdk has a file manager gui i think, I remember using it back in my point & shoot days.

tackyattack

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #826 on: May 15, 2013, 02:56:46 PM »
So it turns out the 650d (t4i) can support the high speed UHS-I cards!!!!

Rush

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 159
  • 5D3, EOS M
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #827 on: May 15, 2013, 03:03:11 PM »
@Vicnaum - Thanks for the new benchmark. Ok, it's not really any different so it means we can probably use global draw without affecting bandwidth.
I just checked what affects RAW recording - Magic Zoom, Histogram, general Global Draw are ok (i'm not sure if MZ makes corrupted frames or not - it looks messed when use while recording). But focus peaking or zebras have great impact on frameskipping :( , so try to avoid it when recording RAW

Quote
So it turns out the 650d (t4i) can support the high speed UHS-I cards!!!!
Yes, and no. 40 mb/s maximum just like 6D - it is RAW 1280x720 max
Greetings from Russia!

ted ramasola

  • Moderators
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1250
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #828 on: May 15, 2013, 03:06:52 PM »
Did a couple tests. Nothing particularly special here, I just splashed some water on tree leaves and shook them around a bit:

As expected, the quality is still butchered a bit in this low motion video. The first clip is in crop mode and the second one in normal mode. You may notice that the video "judders" a couple times near the end of each clip. Not sure what's causing it.

Testing out Mega for file hosting. Never tried it before, but let's see if it works. This one was arbitrarily encoded to BD specs and looks much, much better.
https://mega.co.nz/#!eJsWWARR!T_0A3AH4IW7Ec71kncXg5x1dV2ZenFu2o1OkXJ-hN-8

I'm not gonna post the lossless RGB source because this video isn't particularly interesting and that it's nearly 5 GB lol.

Yoshiyuki,

What brand and specs of CF card are you using? You shot that on a 5d2 right?

5DmkII  / 7D
www.ramasolaproductions.com
Texas

daimon

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #829 on: May 15, 2013, 03:17:44 PM »
I just tried the new RAW feature after reading a lot about it, The detail is amazing!, thank you ML team.
The only problem I had are the vertical noise lines (more like pattern).
I uploaded a frame for you guys to check it out and tell me if I am doing something wrong.
https://skydrive.live.com/#cid=85F9A6A11BA54BA1&id=85F9A6A11BA54BA1%21105

vicnaum

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 104
  • 600D warrior
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #830 on: May 15, 2013, 03:20:26 PM »
@Vicnaum - Thanks for the new benchmark. Ok, it's not really any different so it means we can probably use global draw without affecting bandwidth.

@Rush posted earlier in this thread regarding best settings for the 600d. Here's what he wrote:

The best you can with 600D (550D/60D) is: (limited by hardware SD transfer rates)
- 960х540, upscale it to 1280х720 (24 fps max)
- 1280х400, tight aspect 3.20:1 (24 fps max)
In Canon's 720p - lineskipping 1.66х, so you should upscale to restore correct ratio:
- 1280x400 upscales to 1280x664 - near to 16:9 (24 fps max)
- 1280x360 upscale to 1280x600 - 2.13:1 aspect
- 1280x320 upscale to 1280x533 - 2.40:1 cinemascope aspect

It is only 1280px wide, but pretty nice looking though :)

Yes, saw that. Are these all partial sensor crop? Is there a full-sensor mode on 600d?

Rush

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 159
  • 5D3, EOS M
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #831 on: May 15, 2013, 03:24:32 PM »
Yes, saw that. Are these all partial sensor crop? Is there a full-sensor mode on 600d?
Yes, partial. Full sensor mode is only achieved with 1740x1160, but transfer rate is too high for SD controller to record 24p continuously.
Greetings from Russia!

Yoshiyuki Blade

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 103
  • 5D2
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #832 on: May 15, 2013, 03:25:20 PM »
Yoshiyuki,

What brand and specs of CF card are you using? You shot that on a 5d2 right?

Yeah, its with a 5D2. I used a Sandisk Extreme Pro 16GB 90 MB/s (600x). The benchmark gave me 54-55 MB/s write so it's just enough to do 1880x720 in normal mode, 1920x720 in crop mode.

ajay

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #833 on: May 15, 2013, 03:29:02 PM »
Yoshiyuki,

I'm not seeing those options (1880 x 1080 or 1880x1152). Is there something I need to set? I also have no idea how to use crop mode. Can you explain?

As far as 1920 x 1080, it states I need 82.9 MB/s and it works for a limited time and eventually stops or skips frames. 1920 x 960 now works w/o issues.

Thanks,

AJ

Interesting. So it can do 86 MB/s, but still can't quite do full 1080p? What does the raw recorder say when you set it that high? For the 5D2, it says it needs 81.2 MB/s for 1880x1080 and 86.6 MB/s for 1880x1152.

bumkicho

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 102
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #834 on: May 15, 2013, 03:41:38 PM »
Has there been any development about removing 4gb limit?

Yoshiyuki Blade

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 103
  • 5D2
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #835 on: May 15, 2013, 03:41:54 PM »
I'm not seeing those options (1880 x 1080 or 1880x1152). Is there something I need to set? I also have no idea how to use crop mode. Can you explain?

Those are the limits of the 5D2 (well, it can go up to 1880x1250 in normal mode) so those exact resolutions probably won't show up on the 5D3.

I'm not sure if my vocabulary is correct, but by crop mode I mean the zoom mode. You press the AF point selection button, which is the upper-right-most button on the 5D2 (next to the star). I don't know where it is on the 5D3. These buttons also double as a zoom in/out feature.

At the moment, the zoom mode is stuck at ~30 fps, but can be changed with FPS override. Once you're zoomed in and have the desired FPS set, you can record RAW from there.

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #836 on: May 15, 2013, 03:46:24 PM »
My fps override works in zoom on 6D. Haven't tried 600D.

squig

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 515
  • Crash test dummy MK3
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #837 on: May 15, 2013, 04:00:11 PM »
I just tried the new RAW feature after reading a lot about it, The detail is amazing!, thank you ML team.
They only problem I had are the vertical noise lines (more like pattern).
I uploaded a frame for you guy to check it out.
https://skydrive.live.com/#cid=85F9A6A11BA54BA1&id=85F9A6A11BA54BA1%21105

That's the fixed pattern noise from the sensor. Shoot a few seconds with the body cap on and push it 3-4 stops and you'll see exactly what it looks like. The Adobe RAW noise reducer is you friend.

daimon

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #838 on: May 15, 2013, 04:28:16 PM »
That's the fixed pattern noise from the sensor. Shoot a few seconds with the body cap on and push it 3-4 stops and you'll see exactly what it looks like. The Adobe RAW noise reducer is you friend.

Thanks a lot I will give it a try  :)

bumkicho

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 102
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #839 on: May 15, 2013, 04:35:14 PM »
Has there been any development about removing 4gb limit?

Has anyone tried this raw shooting with a hdmi monitor? I assume it won't affect anything, but want to confirm it if anyone tried.

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #840 on: May 15, 2013, 04:39:45 PM »
Might lower performance from using another edmac. Try it.

aaphotog

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 356
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #841 on: May 15, 2013, 04:42:30 PM »
So, everyone keeps mentioning crop and normal mode.
if I record with any 720 settings that would be a crop?
what are the true HD settings that I can record with?

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #842 on: May 15, 2013, 04:44:44 PM »
Video mode selects how big the raw image is.

Then you crop whatever you want from that.

Audionut

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3565
  • Blunt and to the point
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #843 on: May 15, 2013, 04:48:16 PM »
Is 5x or 10x zoom a 1:1 crop of the sensor?

squig

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 515
  • Crash test dummy MK3
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #844 on: May 15, 2013, 04:52:36 PM »
That's sarcasm I hope. Regardless of whether the 5D3 is shooting H264 or RAW it's still line skipping. It's very apparent in the RAW shots posted, except the 1-1 stuff. That said it's good enough for most people in most situations, I just strive for perfection. Magic Lantern is one of the keys, and Mosaic Engineering is the other.

If you want perfection get an Arriflex, I'm happy with satisfaction.

Pixel peep for aliasing till your eyes bleed.

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #845 on: May 15, 2013, 05:02:47 PM »
Quote
Is 5x or 10x zoom a 1:1 crop of the sensor?

Its pretty close.. you only get 1/2-1/3 of the height. I guess it would add up to the whole thing.

TjS

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #846 on: May 15, 2013, 05:28:40 PM »
hi guys - first of all big thanks to the whole ML team. Pretty incredible what you guys pulled off!!

I shot some tests today with 5d mk3 and the Lexar 64GB 1000x and have a couple questions/things that I noticed.

First of all here are two benchmark tests:

ML v2.3.NEXT.2013May13.5d3113


ML v2.3.NEXT.2013May14.5d3113


They seem fairly similar.

Now - with the May13 version I can run 1920x1080 at 23.976fps without skipping any frames - it is recording at around 83mbps.
While the May14 version 1920x1080 is only recording at around 51mbps and skips a lot of frames. I need to go down to 1920x840 to actually get a clean recording. 
That seems a bit odd or? Not sure if thats already a common problem - but I  thought it would be good to mention.

Other problems are:
- Sometimes (very randomly) its not possible to stop the recording. In the moment that I want to end the "Recording..." and press SET, it changes to "Stopping..." but then freezes and keeps recording.
- Also randomly when I press record it seems to start recording, the "Buffer usage: <* >" shows up, but nothing is happening. In that case it always creates a very small file thats a - i think, need to confirm though - 192kb .RAW file.

Cheers!

squig

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 515
  • Crash test dummy MK3
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #847 on: May 15, 2013, 05:37:12 PM »
Somebody else did mention that May 14 was dropping frames. I'm still on May 13.

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #848 on: May 15, 2013, 05:38:18 PM »
Ok, I put minimal buffers to 4 and now 6D allocates 4... but the last one is only 18MB.. there is 32MB still free but largest contiguous is like 1mb? what gives... is there  a way to reset the suite? It will allocate up to 6 but then it screws up because the latest buffers end up smaller and smaller.

OK, here is an idea... can we allocate the smaller double buffer AFTER allocating the other ones?

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12223
  • Maintenance mode
Re: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #849 on: May 15, 2013, 05:43:17 PM »
The tearing fix is eating quite a bit of RAM. Exmem is not yet fully understood.