Author Topic: uncompressed 14-bit RAW video recording  (Read 763127 times)

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: uncompressed YUV422 and 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #100 on: May 02, 2013, 05:26:23 PM »
Raw recording needs lv debug enabled... Also its still hardcoded to 5d3 for the 600D build.

Any chance to manually put the container on the raw files? I assume thats why they won't open.

N.Mendes

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 38
Re: uncompressed YUV422 and 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #101 on: May 02, 2013, 05:37:36 PM »
Can we translate your "technical words" by, "any chance to obtain a real 2k raw @24 fps on the 5d3"?

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: uncompressed YUV422 and 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #102 on: May 02, 2013, 05:44:11 PM »
Its not that good yet... although the 720P isn't far off from 1080P and can be stretched quite far.

You're getting like 2s at 24fps... maybe 1 on "2K" 1080 or zoom mode. CF card cameras will have more luck here, also depending on how much memory they have. 5d3 probably getting best frame rates so far with 6D close second and maybe 50D when it works will have enough memory to match or beat it since it has CF.

N.Mendes

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 38
Re: uncompressed YUV422 and 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #103 on: May 02, 2013, 06:04:05 PM »
The only thing i can say is, "good luck my friends", you're doing your best, and everyone knows that..

I'm french, and here in Paris, everybody is talking about what you're doing, about the Bmcc too, because your exploit could change the game..

Some are saying that the maximum you can obtain is a few seconds @ 24fps 2K raw, some others are saying that you can do that

Let's the time tell us who is right..

Again, Good luck from Paris

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: uncompressed YUV422 and 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #104 on: May 02, 2013, 06:06:48 PM »
Also for 600D how is the raw histogram looking... I'm not sure that its accurate. It looks squished and sometimes black level detects as 0.

Alia5

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 99
  • 600D
Re: uncompressed YUV422 and 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #105 on: May 02, 2013, 06:08:55 PM »
Raw recording needs lv debug enabled... Also its still hardcoded to 5d3 for the 600D build.

Any chance to manually put the container on the raw files? I assume thats why they won't open.

The RAWs are also corrupt in camera (when it saves them), i guess they really are broken, havent looked to deep into it though

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: uncompressed YUV422 and 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #106 on: May 02, 2013, 06:31:24 PM »
Most work ... I opened one 1740x1154 I think thats crop mode... also 1804x1020 works. I did not check with fps override yet... I basically compiled the bin and shot a few pics then went to sleep.

Andy600

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1857
  • Have you tried turning it off and on again?
Re: uncompressed YUV422 and 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #107 on: May 02, 2013, 07:00:48 PM »
I think there's a bug when changing pic size in the Canon menu (I'm using Tragic Lantern 2 on a 600d)



I can still change pic size in the ML menu but the Canon menu seems to be stuck like this now. Any ideas?
Colorist working with Davinci Resolve, Baselight, Nuke, After Effects & Premier Pro. Occasional Sunday afternoon DOP. Developer of Cinelog-C Colorspace Management and LUTs - www.cinelogdcp.com

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: uncompressed YUV422 and 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #108 on: May 02, 2013, 07:07:38 PM »
Change to valid pic size, not MRAW/SRAW from ML menu. Also change won't accept until you switch modes so switch to raw only and flip between the 2 modes you were in. Menu should go back to normal.

Plus still other bugs, like bit rate stuff isn't all done.

Andy600

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1857
  • Have you tried turning it off and on again?
Re: uncompressed YUV422 and 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #109 on: May 02, 2013, 07:16:10 PM »
Change to valid pic size, not MRAW/SRAW from ML menu. Also change won't accept until you switch modes so switch to raw only and flip between the 2 modes you were in. Menu should go back to normal.

Plus still other bugs, like bit rate stuff isn't all done.

Thanks! That sorted it :)
Colorist working with Davinci Resolve, Baselight, Nuke, After Effects & Premier Pro. Occasional Sunday afternoon DOP. Developer of Cinelog-C Colorspace Management and LUTs - www.cinelogdcp.com

N/A

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 576
  • Dreaming in 14 bit
Re: uncompressed YUV422 and 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #110 on: May 03, 2013, 09:29:12 PM »
Something I did on the 600D yesterday resulted in the camera never buffering out with yuv, got up to 400 or so frames and had to end up doing a batt pull lol. Think it had something to do with frame skip...
7D. 600D. Rokinon 35 cine. Sigma 30 1.4
Audio and video recording/production, Random Photography
Want to help with the latest development but don't know how to compile?

Rush

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 159
  • 5D3, EOS M
Re: uncompressed YUV422 and 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #111 on: May 03, 2013, 09:36:45 PM »
Something I did on the 600D yesterday resulted in the camera never buffering out with yuv, got up to 400 or so frames and had to end up doing a batt pull lol. Think it had something to do with frame skip...
You need a lot of frame skipping to make 600D to write continuously. It is sad, that 600D SD is limited to only 21 mb/s. So - only very short bursts (or timelapse) are usable.
Greetings from Russia!

kgv5

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 643
Re: uncompressed YUV422 and 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #112 on: May 03, 2013, 09:54:46 PM »
Is it possible to try YUV422 on 6d? How much those 600d yuv422 frames weights?
www.pilotmovies.pl   5D Mark III, 6D, 550D

N/A

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 576
  • Dreaming in 14 bit
Re: uncompressed YUV422 and 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #113 on: May 03, 2013, 10:37:57 PM »
If each frame could be truncated in-camera to ~1 MB, would still be better than h.264.

Easier said than done I suppose.
7D. 600D. Rokinon 35 cine. Sigma 30 1.4
Audio and video recording/production, Random Photography
Want to help with the latest development but don't know how to compile?

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: uncompressed YUV422 and 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #114 on: May 04, 2013, 01:09:13 AM »
Yep, if they could be compressed to JPEG all problems would be solved.

EOSHD

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 46
Re: uncompressed YUV422 and 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #115 on: May 04, 2013, 01:27:00 AM »
Yep, if they could be compressed to JPEG all problems would be solved.

Is it a code problem or a CPU time issue? Is debayering and compressing to JPEG at 24fps just not possible?

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: uncompressed YUV422 and 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #116 on: May 04, 2013, 01:40:05 AM »
A1ex + G3ggo said it wouldn't work real time... nobody has tried to compress it in any way tho so who knows.

N/A

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 576
  • Dreaming in 14 bit
Re: uncompressed YUV422 and 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #117 on: May 04, 2013, 02:55:24 AM »
Random thought for music videos... Play the song back at half the bpm, have the singer perform along while recording raw/yuv at 12fps, and play it back in post at 24p. Feasible? Or just a choppy fuckin mess?

7D. 600D. Rokinon 35 cine. Sigma 30 1.4
Audio and video recording/production, Random Photography
Want to help with the latest development but don't know how to compile?

shuggyrasklat

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 38
Re: uncompressed YUV422 and 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #118 on: May 04, 2013, 04:20:19 AM »
this entire vid is comprised of 5x zoom recordings, 51 frames a piece, on the 5dmkii on a 60mb/s sandisk 16gb 2152x1076 comp size, all at 135mm.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=e7Pu6m8GhdM

P337

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 74
Re: uncompressed YUV422 and 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #119 on: May 04, 2013, 05:54:27 AM »
this entire vid is comprised of 5x zoom recordings, 51 frames a piece, on the 5dmkii on a 60mb/s sandisk 16gb 2152x1076 comp size, all at 135mm.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=e7Pu6m8GhdM

Hmm, still see some exposure hick-ups (or was that something actually in "the scene" or added in post processing during the 0:18-0:19 clip?) 

Was this filmed with the new "YUV/DNG recorder"?  I assume it was filmed with the older 14bit "silent burst pic" DNGs. 

Has anyone got the DNGs from the new recorder open yet? (and are the new DNGs still 14bit or just referenced from the 14bit raw image then compressed?  I don't understand yet why the DNGs from the new recorder won't open)

btw thanks for the test shuggyrasklat (looks sharp)

P337

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 74
Re: uncompressed YUV422 and 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #120 on: May 04, 2013, 06:12:36 AM »
Yep, if they could be compressed to JPEG all problems would be solved.

True for bandwidth, but from a purely image quality perspective wouldn't even the "Highest Quality" JPEG (8bit, 4:2:2, 2.6:1 compression) produce slightly lower quality than the YUV422 files or HDMI out?  If we had to resort to JPEG, is there even a point to use it over YUV422 or HDMI out? (for 5D3 users especially)

minimimi

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 68
Re: uncompressed YUV422 and 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #121 on: May 04, 2013, 06:20:47 AM »
I'm tried to aggregate FIO_WriteFile , like this ..
Because, I think contenious sequential access is most faster when we write file to filesystem.

Code: [Select]
@@ -416,8 +417,12 @@

         if(!skip_saving)
         {
-            FIO_WriteFile(save_file, UNCACHEABLE(&save_data->chunkData.chunkAddress[save_data->chunkData.chunkOffset]), avail);
+            memcpy(shmem+written,UNCACHEABLE(&save_data->chunkData.chunkAddress[save_data->chunkData.chunkOffset]),avail);
             written += avail;
+            if(written == length)
+            {
+                FIO_WriteFile(save_file, shmem , length);
+            }
+
         }

         length -= avail;
@@ -451,12 +456,20 @@
     strcpy(&data->fileSuffix[1], tmp);
 }

 void lv_rec_start()
 {
     int yPos = 3;
     lv_rec_data_t data;
     lv_rec_save_data_t save_data;

+    shmem = shoot_malloc(8000000);
+    if(shmem == NULL)
+    {
+        NotifyBox(3000,"8M shoot memory allocate failed");
+        msleep(3000);
+        return;
+    }
+
     /* set all values to zero */
     memset(&data, 0x00, sizeof(lv_rec_data_t));
     memset(&save_data, 0x00, sizeof(lv_rec_save_data_t));


But memcpy from DMA mem to shoot mem is really slow. Let me know more faster memcpy method, If you know.
Also , shoot mem is only allocated about 8MB. where located more fast and bigger memory?

Modified
5D3 has no dma_memcpy

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: uncompressed YUV422 and 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #122 on: May 04, 2013, 06:23:18 AM »
dma memcpy didnt' work? shoot_malloc(0) should be the big memory

minimimi

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 68
Re: uncompressed YUV422 and 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #123 on: May 04, 2013, 06:31:46 AM »
dma memcpy didnt' work? shoot_malloc(0) should be the big memory

Anybody didn't find it. and I did a actual test like this

shoot_malloc(4M)
shoot_malloc(8M)
shoot_malloc(16M)

and check these returns. Then , I can find only 8M to use from ML.

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: uncompressed YUV422 and 14-bit RAW video recording
« Reply #124 on: May 04, 2013, 06:36:28 AM »
Specific amount won't let you allocate the big chunk, its a new process.

dma mecpy is there, its called aj blt dma or something like that, just not renamed.